@Mitwah posted:

Did the hose break?

Never leave laundry machines on whenever you will not be at home.

No hose didn’t break. It leaked at bottom.

Too late for that warning πŸ™ we learned that lesson the hard way…well my son’s GF was washing but it’s not her fault. It could’ve happened with anybody. Thankfully my son and his gf did all the cleanup

May have to take out flooring and do all tiles now

W

Appliances are not what they use to be. I will tell you a story.

A few months before my first son was born we decided to buy our own washer and dryer because it was already getting expensive to pay to wash and dry in the laundry in the apartment.

So me and the "boss" went to the Brick this was in Feb1989. We bought a stackable washer and dryer Hotpoint plus the rack to put it on. I still have the receipt.(attached)

We used that thing for many many years.  Until 1998 when the washer broke and the cost to repair was not worth it.

So I went to Sears and bought a Kenmore washer, had to get the exact size to fit under the rack like the old washer.

We moved out of the apartment in 2011 and the wifey asked what will we do with the washer and dryer(the damn dryer was still working after 22 years lol)

I said like hell I am keeping them. Even though the house we bought had washer and dryer. So I put it in the basement in the laundry room in a corner.

A few years ago the washer that came with the house broke down and I had to wait a week for the part to fix it.

So guess what, out comes my old Kenmore to use for that week.

So the moral is, years ago appliances lasted for many many years.

Wildflower it is hard to make a choice.

Do your research and read reviews.

Do not always trust the sales man. These guys have to make their target.

I have a microwave oven that my father gave us for a wedding present MARCH 1986. The thing still works, I have only changed the fuse once and the bulb once. Its old for still going strong, 35 years and counting.

washer

• washer
Amral
Last edited by Amral

I broke my hash pipe a lil while back an yall rass never so much try to give me any advice.....stweeps.

True story dis. We had Kenmore from The Bruck (.with a name like Ken how can one go wrong? ) Anyway, one day after our dryer warranty ended, dryer bruk down.

...but they did finally take care of it no charge.

Cham, you playing hoity toity nuh, wuh wrong with washboard an beater an a cake ah Zex?

While this does not solve your immediate issue, I would recommend getting a couple of water sensors. The D-Link DCH-S161 is fairly inexpensive on Amazon for approx. $45. It is Wi-Fi enabled and will automatically detect any moisture on the floor and emit an audible alarm along with an alert on your phone via an app. Super easy to install, it will take about 5 min. It is battery powered so you can place it anywhere you want. Recommend you place them in areas of high risk of leaks, like washing machines and dishwashers. Given the amount of damage you can get from water leaks it’s a small price to pay. There are also more sophisticated sensors available (and more expensive) that will automatically shut off the main valves in case of leaks.

L

Chami....my only advise.....DO NOT buy front-load washing machine.

You have to leave everything open after every wash so machine can dry out otherwise it gets mold.

Like Mits....get the top-load without agitator.

My front-load is only 5 years old.....but I so want to get rid of it.

Oh no Deed, I had bad experience with front load at work…floods, mold, broken glass door. Thankfully it was govt so they always fixed quick.

no agitator? All reviews said that agitator washes cleaner than impeller

W
@cain posted:

I broke my hash pipe a lil while back an yall rass never so much try to give me any advice.....stweeps.

True story dis. We had Kenmore from The Bruck (.with a name like Ken how can one go wrong? ) Anyway, one day after our dryer warranty ended, dryer bruk down.

...but they did finally take care of it no charge.

Cham, you playing hoity toity nuh, wuh wrong with washboard an beater an a cake ah Zex?

Cain you know there are 2 Kens on here! My old washer n dryer are Kenless oops Kenmore πŸ˜€

I spent all day yesterday looking for zex n beater

W

Oow my friend, your clothes can't be that dirty.

Without the agitator you can easily wash bigger items....such as a comforter.

Agree with VB. We don't need the agitator. Without it we can wash our comforters. We got the LG with the Turbo drive and it is very quiet and efficient. Our old dryer is LG. The old machine was a front load and like VB mentioned I had to clean it so often to get rid of the mold and smell.

Yesterday I was Lowe’s, Rona, Costco, Home Depot, I even saw bossman

Will go to the brick which is where we bought all our other appliances n furniture

Mitwah, 10 year warranty? That’s great.
Did u take the extended warranty?

I got full refund when I did not use my extended warranty…it was actually a credit which I used towards another purchase that I had been shopping for before and had already negotiated a lower price than advertised

W
Last edited by Wildflower

Omg my neighbour gave me a washer πŸ˜„ if I could’ve  posted pics πŸ˜‚

the thing is about 20x20 square and yes it has agitatorπŸ˜ƒ. U full water, put in delicates, spin for 20 mins, u drain our water then spin with fresh water, then drain out and leave plug off so next spin water mostly gone☺️
he said it’s about 40 yrs old. I believe him! His dryer in his house is a Maytag from 1963!

W

Cainstah my neighbour has a 1963 Maytag dryer. He has to manually roll the barrel then close and start! πŸ˜‚ old miser dude! He is also a hoarder. Has a bungalow just like mine ( his parents and his uncle bought same time and we bought his uncle’s) that dude inherited the house and has never done any reno. His drywall fell off in bathroom and it’s just like that. He has 3bdrm full of STUFF he collected when bridlepath folks discarded…apparently he and is BF sleeps in living room whenever bf visits. He is a very nice and helpful old fella and he loves my food

W