Oh my…

yest was out 39th anniv…

i cant believe i have been married for 1 yr short of 40!!

My dad lived to see their 34th anniversary..

so imagine that..I beat my parents!!

It is hard  to think it is has been so many years but then my oldest girl is 37, so that makes it real ..lol

PS

anyone has stories abt yr wedding day experience?? Care to share?? ( no need to divulge personal stuff or go in details …but anything in general? Something funny..joke??

@cain posted:

Congrats Lynn.

Oh rant Django I was asking bout you a lil while back. Hey Django I seem to recall you worked at a music store where they sold song lyrics (some were poorly typed) Mohammed's was the store correct?

Wasn't that on Robb St?

That's correct started working in the year 1976 as an electronics technician for nine years and was workshop manager for six of the nine years.

@Amral posted:

Congratulations to you and yours. Mine was kept in the basement of my cousin house back in 1986. Very small (about 60 people) as compared to now. And also cheap lol

60min bsmt ..that was not small..

will share my exp later..have to head to work soon.  

Ps

ours had abt 10 folks plus our 3 witnesses…

all except 2 were known to us..

funny story

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn

Am I seeing right, Django posting? Like the chap was on honeymoon, scarce like flour in Forbes' time. 

Lol…flawah nah scare now Prezzo !!

i shud start a thred abt those times..lil bz now

back to work after 3months..on modified duties

lot of Continuing Education courses to catch up on plus SOP’s updates etc..n still doing physio twice a wk..

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

I rem that store…

i grad from high sch in 76 n started to teach in GT in Nov ..

my hubby was in same field but with office equipment

Georgetown was great in those years. My first stint living and working in GT was from 1970 to 1972 went back home on WCD. From 1976 traveled daily to work, hated the crowded ferry, it was better after the Demerara Harbor Bridge was built.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Congrats on your 39th wedding anniversary.

I just celebrated my 54th. A day will never forget. As I was leaving my home the bride's residence, the rain started to fall at 6 AM and didn't stop until 7 PM. I never heard so many cuss words from my friends before.

wow..congrats 54!!! Now that calls for a celebration!

my eldest bro got married in Nov 1972

haha…u probably ate from the pot!!

(i think my Ma used to say that..if u  eat from the pot, rain guh fall whn u get married..maybe i have it wrong…it was something like that)

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@Ramakant-P posted:

Congrats on your 39th wedding anniversary.

I just celebrated my 54th. A day will never forget. As I was leaving my home the bride's residence, the rain started to fall at 6 AM and didn't stop until 7 PM. I never heard so many cuss words from my friends before.

A friend had an arranged marriage and went home from NY for the wedding in 1981. On the wedding day, some friends went to bring the musicians to the girl's home, but terrible rain caused an accident, and there was no music at the wedding. The girl told her mom that the heavy rain and accident were bad signs, but her mom shut her up and sent her under the maro to marry the guy. I guess the girl had feelings of impending doom. The couple have a wonderful son, and that's the only good thing that came from that marriage.

Were they happy? The marriage must have taken place in the rainy season, just like mine.

Awwhhh..so sorry to hear?

dem ole people believed in dem β€˜signs’..my Ma was very superstitious n used to to getmad with me whn i paid no attention or dismissed her interpretations.  My dad used to teach us differently..he said β€˜belief is cure’!! Hahaha so being the smart laec..i used to say, i believe all dat is stupidness..’belief  is cure’ for sure!!  

Well my Ma used to ask me think me education mek me more smart than her!!

the sis before me used to wash bhartan n wet up she front part of her dress…my mom told her she guh getmarried to a drunkie…O LORDIE..dah wan come trutru…hehehe

even though i didnt believe in deze tings, guess wht?  Whn i was  preggy with 1st kid..i refused to cut the whole pumpkin!! Because i heard whn yuh belly big, if u cut d punkin, yr baby get cut-lip.  I WASNT TAKING A CHANCE THERE!! Lol

Lynn