Well since i injured my rt elbow (damaged tendon)last Dec, I havent been cooking a lot esp kneading flour

but i am slowly getting better n last night I decided to make my pizza again after 6 months..

made 2 ..1 veggies n other veggies with smoked turkey scraps..

(roasted the veggies: mushroom, eggplant, zucchini, red/gree/.yelow/orange sweet peppers, broccoli n cauliflower)

seasoned with eschallot n basil leaves..plus halved grape tomatoes n pineapple chunks on top

I also made  a crustless quiche using the same veggies (low carbs suitable for diabetics)

IMG_5056IMG_5057IMG_5055

Images (3)
  • IMG_5056
  • IMG_5057
  • IMG_5055

Off to work now..have agreat evening

ps

1 round pizza is vegetarian …for my co-workers..(some r vegetarian..others eat halal..others dont eat turkey)

N Cut pieces for hubby n my younger daughter! Ie With turkey

Lynn

Cooking some nice stew squash today with chkn

I saw a recipe on fb ..aloo paratha with liquid dough..so i want to try it!! Itis almost like a potato pancake !!

N i saw a person who made a paratha with seasoned oil..she put garlic, parsley n chili powder in the oil ..n whn on tawa, she brushed with ghee ..looks tasty..so i want to try it

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

N i saw a person who made a paratha with seasoned oil..she put garlic, parsley n chili powder in the oil ..n whn on tawa, she brushed with ghee ..looks tasty..so i want to try it

i think I have had that before.  BTW  nice squash

Amral
@Amral posted:

i think I have had that before.  BTW  nice squash

yeah it so big..have to cook it 3 times..as itis only myself nn hubby.

my fave greens r katahar, seim n squash(stewed with plenty tomatoes n  chicken or shrimps )

Lynn

girl I have not eaten katahar for a very very very long time. I think they sell it already cleaned and frozen. But I like it fresh.  I have started to make my own roti now. Tricky to knead but after its made its not bad.

Amral

I've started to clip the tops of my tomato plants, else by end of September, I will get too much green tomatoes. It's better to redirect the food to the existing blooms for larger fruits.

@Amral posted:

yes Mits it is recommended to clip the tops also that prevents them from getting too tall and tipping over. Also clip off any yellow leaves.

I have been clipping the leaves at the bottom to allow the air to circulate. This also help to prevent mold and rust to set in.  Yellow leaves become suckers.

@Amral posted:

girl I have not eaten katahar for a very very very long time. I think they sell it already cleaned and frozen. But I like it fresh.  I have started to make my own roti now. Tricky to knead but after its made its not bad.

I used to buy the frozen kind but ately i think they r using KOWAH..d ting hard ..tek long to boil n it nah gat taste.

Used to buy fresh but they were too young…ie the seeds r jelly like..i hate that.

kneading flour for sada is easy..as long as u nah mek plenty..!! I made 2 nice soft ones in 15 mins yesterday..n mine swell on d tawa..i used 1/2 n 1/2 whole wheat n unbleached white flour.

will make a video whn. I have someone with me ..so easy..

but i like mine  thick..

Lynn
@Mitwah posted:

I have been clipping the leaves at the bottom to allow the air to circulate. This also help to prevent mold and rust to set in.  Yellow leaves become suckers.

Mits bhaiya..i trimmed the bottom leaves as my cuz told me abt this a few years ago..but just last week i found out abt the tips!! I was telling my Italian friend how the tomatoes r not getting ripe..n then she toldme i have to cut the tips..n also to cut the leaves/stems so that the green ones can get direct sunlight.  Within 2 days they started to change color..

Lynn

good morning you two. Day off today and tomorrow. I plan on making a few aloo roti tomorrow. Hopefully it turns out ok. Might do some chowmein. ordering in food is expensive rass and not much variety for my tasting.

Amral
@Amral posted:

good morning you two. Day off today and tomorrow. I plan on making a few aloo roti tomorrow. Hopefully it turns out ok. Might do some chowmein. ordering in food is expensive rass and not much variety for my tasting.

Food is very expensive. Last week coming home from an appointment, we decided to order Chicken Biriyani rice, 2 mutton rolls. That was $40+. Anyway, we had cucumbers, tomatoes and lettuce from my garden. Haven't had aloo roti for a long time now.

Have a great day guys.

thats correct Mits, just to order food for me and my son usually runs close to 50 bucks, we do eat it twice most times, but just cannot do that too often.

Next thing you know order in will be almost 400 bucks a month. I can cook 1 pk chowmein or fried rice for under 10 dollars each and get at least twice the amount as order in quantity

If I order 1 of each it will hit us up close to 35 dollars with taxes.

Amral

Yeah..eating out is very costly..thanks God i eat my home cooked food n rARELY EAT OUT..

there is a Gyese Chinese close to us..Cane Grove n weekdays u can get enough to feed 2 person for just 9.30 n if u go before 3 pm..u get a  free pop..itis ther lunch special.  The food is ok..better than most of the chinese i have ought  here

Lynn
@Amral posted:

good morning, every time I open this thread, the first thing I see showing is those 3 pictures above that Lynn posted and it makes me wanting pizza

Oh lard BM…me sarry!! Well..u can take yr eyes off the pizza..i made this for a friend’s  bday in July

IMG_5493

• IMG_5493
Lynn
@Amral posted:

oh rass fresh salara and mauby is my calling

Talking abt mauby..i rem aunty Shairool selling outside of sch yar n d pine drink also n the other goodies.

i havent had mauby since i left  high sch…i prob had too Much (haha) as i didnt care for it after i left sch

Those were our snack on parika stelling ie mauby n pine drink with big chinks of ICE to cool down  from the heat…. With fresh fresh salara , cassava pone n sweet cassava bread n the cost was just 5 cets !!I opted for these  over  the cassava/aloo/eddo balls/bara/phulourie

Lynn
@Amral posted:

yeah Aunty Shairool learnt all that from, her mother (my grandmother).  These old people raised an entire family selling those things, was not much money then  but they managed.

Very hard work..waking early to. Make a ‘ton’ of snacks ‘ for hundreds of sch kids…break time n lunch time..

there were 2 ladies..Mr Goolcharran’s mom from back st Zb . I know some kids went early in the morning to her home to buy breakfast ..

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Oh lard BM…me sarry!! Well..u can take yr eyes off the pizza..i made this for a friend’s  bday in July

IMG_5493

Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm! That thing lookin good.

Heyyyy youall looks like yall keeping the fire goin here. I've been quite busy with the Lil ones, doing ole people stuff and so on. I see my buddy Ron tearing tail in his threads.

Tomorrow I plan to make some Bulla cake with the rugrats. Last time they came out like paper weights so I hope this time it works.

@cain posted:

Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm! That thing lookin good.

Heyyyy youall looks like yall keeping the fire goin here. I've been quite busy with the Lil ones, doing ole people stuff and so on. I see my buddy Ron tearing tail in his threads.

Tomorrow I plan to make some Bulla cake with the rugrats. Last time they came out like paper weights so I hope this time it works.

Ehe cain ..nice to see u …is weh yuh bin??

How do u make bulla cakes?? So the grands like it?

Summer almost done boy!

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@Mitwah posted:

I've started to clip the tops of my tomato plants, else by end of September, I will get too much green tomatoes. It's better to redirect the food to the existing blooms for larger fruits.

I did this amonth ago..my Italian gf advised me as i had so many young ones, she said they wont get ripe

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

I did this amonth ago..my Italian gf advised me as i had so many young ones, she said they wont get ripe

Wash them with Dawn detergent soap. Dry them, lay them out on a flat surface and cover them with news paper or towel. Perhaps at the end of September before the rust and fungus.

@Mitwah posted:

Wash them with Dawn detergent soap. Dry them, lay them out on a flat surface and cover them with news paper or towel. Perhaps at the end of September before the rust and fungus.

Oh ok..thnx.  

Lynn