@Amral posted:

good morning all, back to work today

Gd Aft to u BM n d rest of gni family!

Nice warm weather lately …i rather the RAIN than snow

enjoy the Monday n rest of week

Time for me to get ready for work..evening shift!!

Lynn
@Amral posted:

Tomorrow I am planning to cook some fish curry (Gilbaka), cookup rice and saltfish cakes. I am off now until next Monday

u getting plenty day-off BM..lol

well it’smy elder daughter’s bday..so we r doing dinner at the KEG

will make some biganee n baked custard for snacks/desert (along with a Tortuga Rum Cake )

Lynn

Oh lard..Cain i tried the cassava curry..man it nah come out good..lol

d cassava nah boil properly..

Ps

I cooked gilbakka curry last  nite with salmon cakes to go with dhal n rice n bhaji

will make some aloo choka n fry ochor later today

n some bhunjal chkn tomorrow

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Oh lard..Cain i tried the cassava curry..man it nah come out good..lol

d cassava nah boil properly..

Ps

I cooked gilbakka curry last  nite with salmon cakes to go with dhal n rice n bhaji

will make some aloo choka n fry ochor later today

n some bhunjal chkn tomorrow

I actually made cassava curry yesterday and it came out pretty good. I even have a bit left back for tomorrow's lunch.

@cain posted:

I actually made cassava curry yesterday and it came out pretty good. I even have a bit left back for tomorrow's lunch.

I had Dum Alloo with boiled eggs. ( Egg and Baby Potato Dum)

Very popular as a street food in India and Pakistan.

@Lynn posted:

wht is dum aloo..ive heard the name but never seen or eaten it

Here is a good recipe. You can vary it to your taste. Goes great with Roti or Naan. Skip the egg if you wanna go Vegetarian.

We use the small red potatoes peeled and whole.

https://www.indianhealthyrecip...oo-egg-curry-recipe/

Last edited by Mitwah
@Amral posted:

good morning all, whats for breakfast, I am hungry waking up now

Steel Oats with berries. We usually pass the oats thru the mill to make it more like a flour or powdery. When boiled it  becomes smooth.

@Amral posted:

I made some pholourie the other day though. Not perfect as yet, will work on it.

Tried again, got it better but not round, so halfway through I thought screw this, I just made them flat and now its bara lol

Amral
@Mitwah posted:

Steel Oats with berries. We usually pass the oats thru the mill to make it more like a flour or powdery. When boiled it  becomes smooth.

Healthy bfast!!  Add a prune or date  instead of sugar

Lynn
@Amral posted:

Tried again, got it better but not round, so halfway through I thought screw this, I just made them flat and now its bara lol

Oh boy..i sent u a good recipe which i followed n mine comes out round!!  

Keep trying..same thing with me..the texture wasnt coming out good..untili foru d that recipe.  Didu use yeast n let it rest for abt 30 mins before frying!

boy i nevermade these things in GY ..soi tried several times.  Thank God for the youtube videos ..i leanr to make a lotof guyanese treats from them..

Lynn
@Amral posted:

i had roti and stew fish, I have not had stew fish a long time, so 2 days I ago I had 3 pieces of gilbaka left and decided to stew it.

I never had stew gilbaka !! Lol

i love a stew fish by hubby doesnt eat whn i cook so i stopped cooking

When i lived in  i never cooked curry fish(because me nah bin know fuh cook am)

but i made a ‘masta’ stew..with banga Mary, butter fish n snapper!!

Btw..i used to buy the baby banga ray from Bourda..da ting sweet bad!! Fried with dhal n rice or split peas cook-up rice (kitchrie)

Lynn
@Mitwah posted:

Here is a good recipe. You can vary it to your taste. Goes great with Roti or Naan. Skip the egg if you wanna go Vegetarian.

We use the small red potatoes peeled and whole.

https://www.indianhealthyrecip...oo-egg-curry-recipe/

Thnx..will try it..i love eggs!!   I have seen dum aloo on menu but i never tried it!

Is it egg curry with aloo??

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@Amral posted:

suriname mullet is good too with dhal and rice and nice pepper

U know how long i want to eat suriname mullet!! I havent eaten it in more than 30 yrs n everytime i ask for it..they always sy

‘it nah run’

years ago  someone told me that i can buy smelts here..i tried it..it isnt the same..the bones r too hard unlike suriname mullet whn u  can chew up everything

lol

i rem kitchrie n that went down wll..n smoke herring choka too

Lynn

Phulourie …see video for step by step instructions

Ingredients and Measurements:

2 cups split peas (washed, soaked, and ground)

1/2 cup water to blend the peas

8-12 cloves garlic crushed

2-4 hot wiri wiri peppers salt to taste (I used about 1.5 tsp.)

1.5 tsp. turmeric

1 tsp. baking powder (you can omit or add less depending on your texture preference)

1/2 cup all purpose flour (will vary depending on how much water you use to grind the peas- use more or less)

oil to fry ________________

Lynn

Guyanese Pholourie

Author Jehan Powell

Ingredients

• 1 tsp crushed garlic
  • 2 scallion
  • 1 hot red pepper
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup yellow split peas flour or 1/2 cup yellow split peas soaked overnight
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 scallion finely optional
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 tsp yeast

Instructions

• If using split pea flour: in either a mortar and pestle or food processor, grind scallion, pepper and garlic into a fine paste, set aside.
  • Mix flours, cumin, turmeric and salt. In a separate bowl mix 1 cup warm water with yeast, leave for 10 minutes. Mix yeast, crushed garlic/scallion/pepper paste into dry ingredients. Allow it to rise for 40 minutes.
  • Heat enough canola oil in a pan to allow deep frying, about 3 inches of oil. When oil is hot, drop tablespoon amounts into hot oil, turn when edges are brown. Fry for about 2-3 minutes, remove from oil and drain.
  • Serve with mango sour or apple chutney.
  • **If using fresh split peas: Place split peas that's been soaked overnight in a blender with 1/2 cup water, garlic, pepper and scallion and puree.
  • Mix all purpose flour, cumin, turmeric and salt. In a separate bowl mix 1/2 cup water with yeast, let proof for 10 minutes.
  • Place split pea mixture in a bowl and stir in the yeast. Next stir in the dry ingredients and let it rise in a warm place for 40 minutes. Drop small spoonfuls into hot oil and fry until golden brown
Lynn

Well..look at this!!!

A bowl of hot soup with a daltjie after a long day of fasting, nothing better…
Salwaa's Dhaltjies / Chilli bites
Ingredients:
250ml pea/chana flour
30ml cake flour
1 small onion, grated
1 small potato, grated
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon coriander
½ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon turmeric
1 level teaspoon baking powder
2 teaspoons crushed dried red chillies
1 cup of roughly chopped spinach
100ml water to mix
Oil for deep frying
Method:
Add the flours, cumin, coriander, salt, turmeric, baking powder and dried chillies into a mixing bowl.
Add the grated onion, potato, chopped spinach and enough water to make a stiff mixture. Heat the oil until moderately hot. Do not over heat the oil as the dhaltjie will brown too quickly and the inside will not have cooked completely.
Drop spoonfuls into the hot oil, fry for approximately 3 minutes turning all the time.
Drain on absorbent kitchen towels, serve warm with chutney.
Lynn

Interesting..tomato choka, fried aloo n fried bake…

never seen a recipe like this for tomato choka..

n i cant make fry aloo..i have tried a few tines but it gets mushy.  My big sis used to make anice fry aloo n i loved it

this guy is right..itis a thin line bet burning d damn aloo n making it mushy

check it out

https://thekitchensingh.com/2021/09/19/a-return-home/

Lynn

Sunday …i had seim curry with nice eddoes  n sada roti..yummy n

Also made cook-up rice with black beans n spinach

Chicken ‘meat loaf ‘ on d side  n baked salmon in tikka masala sauce

today ..some bhaji n fry karailla to go with dhal n rice

have bora in fridge..will cook that later in d week

All yuh have a blessed Monday !

Lynn