Share you favourite foods...what you like to cook and  or eat.

I love to cook although not everything I cook I like to eat. I made shepherds’ pie last week and although everyone loved it all I had was a bite.  Same goes for lasagna.
I made apple curry yesterday and still thinking if I will eat any.
Also, made lamb stew which I love.  

I love

pachownie mmmmm must have generous hot pepper ( scorpion or wiri wiri)

dry down bounjal fine shrimps

papaya curry

——-

cainstah, this is a thread to tell us about that potato curry where u crack the egg in it😂 I am sure it was delish

Not surprised that your grandkids didn’t want to eat ur channa n potato curry...got to stat them young. My one yr old enjoyed some potato curry. Of course I did not put hot pepper.

Some of the foods I miss and wished I knew how to cook are all from Suriname.

I love making meatballs in red wine and tomato sauce. Okro soup, a favourite dish in parts of Africa, is another favourite. I like crab and lobster in it.

@Wildflower posted:

Share you favourite foods...what you like to cook and  or eat.

I love to cook although not everything I cook I like to eat. I made shepherds’ pie last week and although everyone loved it all I had was a bite.  Same goes for lasagna.
I made apple curry yesterday and still thinking if I will eat any.
Also, made lamb stew which I love.  

I love

pachownie mmmmm must have generous hot pepper ( scorpion or wiri wiri)

dry down bounjal fine shrimps

papaya curry

——-

cainstah, this is a thread to tell us about that potato curry where u crack the egg in it😂 I am sure it was delish

Not surprised that your grandkids didn’t want to eat ur channa n potato curry...got to stat them young. My one yr old enjoyed some potato curry. Of course I did not put hot pepper.

You wanna hear my mess up egg curry story again? Hehehe...egg and yolk floating in the curry taranted. So dem chiren at ages of 3 and 4 too old now to introduce dem to curry? Oh rassss they shoulda been bottle fed the stuff.

Today I made a meatless pie..threw some curry and Yves vegetarian mince into the filling Voila!

😂😂 No Cainstah, intro them grand piknee to mild curry. I do two pots. I cook everything without salt and pepper then when half cook, I take out a bit for my lildoll and let it cook with tiny bit salt in a lil pot.  I then add proper salt and some hot pepper to the big pot. Sometimes I put a little ketchup in the pot with curry for baby.

Do u eat mustard greens and kale? I have so much in the garden that I have to start throwing it out😔. Too bad u live 2 hrs away

W
@Wildflower posted:

😂😂 No Cainstah, intro them grand piknee to mild curry. I do two pots. I cook everything without salt and pepper then when half cook, I take out a bit for my lildoll and let it cook with tiny bit salt in a lil pot.  I then add proper salt and some hot pepper to the big pot. Sometimes I put a little ketchup in the pot with curry for baby.

Do u eat mustard greens and kale? I have so much in the garden that I have to start throwing it out😔. Too bad u live 2 hrs away

Throwing away good food ,wish i was near by.

You makin space for what? Pepper?  Dat no good for smokin, is what wrong to you eh?

Regarding me an cooking. One pot is good enough when I cook, if dem chiren want special fancy food they better larn fo cook.

@cain posted:

You makin space for what? Pepper?  Dat no good for smokin, is what wrong to you eh?

Regarding me an cooking. One pot is good enough when I cook, if dem chiren want special fancy food they better larn fo cook.

Talk about smoking, before I started to get injections in one of my 👁 the doctor said I could use cannabis to help alleviate pain! Man, if I take Tylenol I am high, don’t know what would’ve happened. I am allergic to cig smoke and just smelling weed gives me headache 🤕

W

Apparently CBD which is used for pain (and doesn't give you the same wompyeyed feeling) is not good to use for those with eye problems. How come I had to get dem injections..hehe.   I haven't had one of those eye needles since moving North..haven't seen the dr neither...going on four years. One day all my parts gonna jus stay so an fall off....is laff I gon dead with laff, unless my mouth fall off too.

One of our lady friend who visit here one one time told me her hubby been taking those needles for bout ten years.

Cainstahman, is it lucentis? I used to go to Don mills n Lawrence.  Did not go since March last year and may not go again. I used to have anxiety for days b4. All I thought about was 2 needles going in eye. So far eye seems ok with occasional pain

Tomorrow we chat pvte about dem eye needles

W
@Mr.T posted:

Some of the foods I miss and wished I knew how to cook are all from Suriname.

I love making meatballs in red wine and tomato sauce. Okro soup, a favourite dish in parts of Africa, is another favourite. I like crab and lobster in it.

Mr T! Time for some earl grey😉

I love ochre soup with any seafood.... I love seafood ( had the best seafood chowder in the Emerald Isle )

At a day after wedding soirée, I had a most delish fish soup with lots of spinach and ochro. I also like metem ( coconut milk soup)

W

It was Lawrence East of Brimley across from the Nursing home..the building housed a TD Bank previously if I recall correctly. I believe it is a branch of Bochner Institute. Dr Dingleberry could be his name ..nahhhh  it was Dr Cheskes.

@Wildflower posted:

Mr T! Time for some earl grey😉

I love ochre soup with any seafood.... I love seafood ( had the best seafood chowder in the Emerald Isle )

At a day after wedding soirée, I had a most delish fish soup with lots of spinach and ochro. I also like metem ( coconut milk soup)

. I catch your drift.

I enjoy tasty dishes. If it pleasing to my palate I take pleasure in every mouth full and never in a rush for the meal to finish. I am warned about my cravings. I figure, I would never say, well I wished I had eaten this or that. Pastries I love.

I always declare,"One day I am going to cook for myself."  A voice in another room could  be heard, "when yuh goan do it nah, please hurry up"

I really do not know if I could really cook anything. I promise to try. Ah! but time?

Siggy, you ever try an make a peanut butter sandwich?

Today is lef lef day. Lef over pizza, lef over fry rice, lef over something else I not sure what....

Fridge food reminds me of the calypso "Icy Ailene" I mek alot of noise if I have to eat cooked food out of the fridge. Put out comes to my mind.

Yes, I love peanut jelly sandwiches on White Bread.

That blasted Evelyn and she ice rice😂😂

in 1983 I met a very handsome young man who became my one true love...that man said he not eating “fridge food” 🙄 I was ok with that, caz I come from a very poor family who did not even have a fridge.
eh eh, near 5 yrs later we got our first child and when she was 16mths old I got my first real job in this beautiful country ( let’s not talk about them other factory jobs) Well not long after I started to work I see that same young man cooking and putting food in fridge😙 and he was a darn good cook. Almost 10yrs after we met, we got our second child....by then my not so young man was eating food that was 3-4 days in fridge. Just a bit over 15 yrs after we met we had our third child ( wow, I only just realized this) and by then my not so young man was eating anything from the fridge as long as it smell good. Thirty years later, he would say let’s cook  one day so that we have enough for almost all week🙁 He was the best ever .... not that he was perfect just that I am thankful for all that he was 💔

W

I'm really starting to not like much now yo know. I deh here in friken redneck gold mining country barely able go get potato an carrots and you talking all dem tings dah...steups..wuh really pissin me off is I know how you cooking taste an my mouth watering like hell here.

Around the corner about a two minute walk from me I went to a small spot to order fish an chips for me and burgers for the rest. One bite and the rest of my stuff went in the garbage...no friken flavour, is like they grab the fish, chuck it jus like dat in the oil and that was their style.

Dah ting was so bad, I thought of licking my butt to get rid of the taste.

Cainstah u had me buss out a big laff with  fish n chip thing. The other day I got some bangamary at no frills and I fry some to go with dhal n rice well my son came upstairs and made a fish on bread with some pepper sauce and he nyam down. Since they cooking downstairs he does hardly eat food that I cook except for curry

Ummmm as I said, drop by anytime u trek dat long drive back to civilization ( let me know ahead so I can Mek sure me gan out heheh)

today is zucchini with tomato and dem big shrimp from Costco. My daughter made a roti wrap LOL

W
@cain posted:

I'm lessening my shrimp intake mainly because of where most are sourced, China, Taiwan, Vietnam.

I have some frozen fine shrimps, dry fish and gilbaka from Guyana... I savour the flavour😋

today its stew red snapper with some paratha roti

i also have some ‘ice’ eddoes n shrimps curry 😃

W

Today I am not cooking....

I will be having home made pasta with home made pesto sauce ( my garden basil) with water Buffalo steak! I never even knew that Canada much less Ontario has a water Buffalo farm! Compliments of my son and his GF

W

On Saturday, I went to visit my sister in Brampton after not seeing them for almost a year!! (thank God we are all now fully vaccinated)

I cooked curried ochro with shrimps, dhaal and hot parathas. It was very delicious, if I do say so myself.

I am the only one in the family who curries ochro.

My sis made baiganee and phoulowrie, bhagee with green mango and mutton curry.

We had the best visit.

Villagebelle

Hey Wildflower - do you keep in touch with our "lil bro" from Florida?

Always wondered what happened with him - never kept in touch with him after he left this forum.

I have two Floridian lil bros. One moved to another state though and yes DEED, I have kept in touch with both. I suspect u are asking about the one had the ability to freak some ppl out😃I will tell him you asked about him

W
@Wildflower posted:

I have two Floridian lil bros. I suspect u are asking about the one had the ability to freak some ppl out😃I will tell him you asked about him

Yep,  that's the one!!

When he left the forum I had only one grandbaba......let him know I now have 5 of them.

Pass on my Salaam and best regards to him.  Had some really good gyaff with that group when the Social forum was the hot place to be.

Villagebelle

Yep,  that's the one!!

When he left the forum I had only one grandbaba......let him know I now have 5 of them.

Pass on my Salaam and best regards to him.  Had some really good gyaff with that group when the Social forum was the hot place to be.

Done! That lil bro of ours sends his Salaam for you.
yes indeed, those were some great times. We had lots of laffs

in the old days, this forum did a lot of good ( and some bad stuff happened too) relationships/ friendships were made and broken

We did fundraising for kidney recipients, got a Gnier to get meds in India etc

W

On the menu...made beans from garden; cooked it like bora with potatoes and tomatoes ( veg day) and roti

cain, I have so much calaloo that I’m going to pull up another batch and maybe throw in compost.

W