It's boring. I am sitting here talking to myself. What gives?
I think I am going for my 5 miles walk. See yee later.
Ah...missed Rama...he must have gone on his walk.
Hope Rama got GPS on his phone so that he can FIND HIS WAY HOME.
They only come out from hiding in PPP winning.
Expect Wednesday, July 1st to be much more alive.
What you want with yuh rum? I'm cooking.
PPP members are die-hard supporters and are here all the time. We do not back down in hard times. Did you have any plantain chips and cook-up rice?
@Former Member posted:PPP members are die-hard supporters and are here all the time. We do not back down in hard times. Did you have any plantain chips and cook-up rice?
There is an assumption that food is to label Afro Guyanese ,now the questions are what food should be used to label Indo Guyanese and other ethnic groups.
@Django posted:There is an assumption that food is to label Afro Guyanese ,now the questions are what food should be used to label Indo Guyanese .
Peas and beans?
@Django posted:There is an assumption that food is to label Afro Guyanese ,now the questions are what food should be used to label Indo Guyanese .
As an indian, that should be easy for u. Tell us.
@Ramakant-P posted:Peas and beans?
Never heard of that.
LOL
Uncle Rama losing it. Going off the deep end.
@Sheik101 posted:As an indian, that should be easy for u. Tell us.
The floor is open to others ,preferably i would like to be the last speaker.
@Sheik101 posted:LOL
I love how they said 'coffee is not my cup of tea'.
@Django posted:The floor is open to others ,preferably i would like to be the last speaker.
Nah. U go first. Im dying to hear what u come up with. ð And cook up rice shouldn't be a label for Afro Guyanese. Coolie people got their version too with less ingredients. They call it kitchree. ð
Pepperpot and Garlic Pork.
Long Live Democracy.
@Sheik101 posted:Nah. U go first. Im dying to hear what u come up with. ð
And cook up rice shouldn't be a label for Afro Guyanese. Coolie people got their version too with less ingredients.
They call it kitchree. ð
Ha..ha.. you know what it is.
True !!! we also have our own version of Methemgee.
@BGMAN posted:Pepperpot and Garlic Pork.
Long Live Democracy.
Pepperpot is Amerindian and Garlic pork is Cain.
@BGMAN posted:Pepperpot and Garlic Pork.
Long Live Democracy.
One is Amerindian and the other Portuguese.
Guyanese partake in all foods ,wish we could shed our differences ,no Foreigners will interfere.
@Django posted:There is an assumption that food is to label Afro Guyanese ,now the questions are what food should be used to label Indo Guyanese and other ethnic groups.
Dhal and roti.
@Former Member posted:Dhal and roti.
That's one ,there is another at the fore front.
@Django posted:Never heard of that.
Golden Grove special--fuel for Ramakant's battalion.
@Django posted:There is an assumption that food is to label Afro Guyanese ,now the questions are what food should be used to label Indo Guyanese and other ethnic groups.
I would not label it to a particular ethnic group. The majority of coolies eat cook-up rice and plantain chips. In Guyana, we always made cook-up rice. My mother always made plantain chips.
@Django posted:That's one ,there is another at the fore front.
Rice and curry.
@Former Member posted:Rice and curry.
Try again .
@Former Member posted:Rice and curry.
Some indian foods doesnt only require cooking skills. It require surgical skills as well.
Colounjee. U have to cut open the karila. Clean out the guts. Pack it back with bhunjal shrimps. Then, with needle and thread u have to painstakingly sew it up back up. This is a major operation here.
Then u cook it.
@Django posted:Try again .
There are a lot of Indian foods. Puri, alloo curry, phulowrie, parsad, etc,.
@Former Member posted:There are a lot of Indian foods. Puri, alloo curry, phulowrie, parsad, etc,.
Ayuh like to beat around the bush .
@Django posted:Ayuh like to beat around the bush .
Massa if you know one please say so. I left Guyana over 50 years and the culture has evolved and I am sure the foods have also.
@Django posted:Never heard of that.
You ever heard of dhal puri? Peas is dhal.
@Sheik101 posted:Nah. U go first. Im dying to hear what u come up with. ð And cook up rice shouldn't be a label for Afro Guyanese. Coolie people got their version too with less ingredients. They call it kitchree. ð
Kitchree and Cook up rice (pilau) are two different cuisines.
@Sheik101 posted:Some indian foods doesnt only require cooking skills. It require surgical skills as well.
Colounjee. U have to cut open the karila. Clean out the guts. Pack it back with bhunjal shrimps. Then, with needle and thread u have to painstakingly sew it up back up. This is a major operation here.
Then u cook it.
It looks like the cook has to graduate from medical school.
@Rochelle posted:What you want with yuh rum? I'm cooking.
What are you cooking today, Rochelle.
I do not drink alcohol and do not smoke.
Lawd allyuh. That menu real long but is a good reflection of our diversity no matter the political difference. I guess I need to start prep from this weekend.
Here what's on the menu for CCJ Decision Day:
- Cookup Rice
- Kitchree
- Dhalpuri
- Alloo curry
- Phulowrie
- Pepperpot
- Garlic Pork
- Colounjee
- Meetemgee
- Plaintain Chips
Anyone like fish? I can get some bangamary, hassa, cuffum and "Gilbakka" from a nearby Guyanese store owner who imports both sweet and saltwater fish.
One Nation. One People. One Destiny. Remember that.
@Former Member posted:What are you cooking today, Rochelle.
I do not drink alcohol and do not smoke.
I keeping it simply today: pepper shrimp and cabbage with some spinach rice. I in the kitchen as we speak.
@Rochelle posted:I keeping it simply today: pepper shrimp and cabbage with some spinach rice. I in the kitchen as we speak.
Very nice dish you are making, Rochelle.
It is early here ... in about an hour or so, I will be cooking rice, chicken curry with varied addition of vegetables.
Had Yorkshire Pudding, Roasted Potatoes, Ceasar Salad and Ice Tea for lunch. Apple Pie with Ice Cream and Indian Chai for desert.
I love your menu. Please add the bagamary , my favourite fish. We should wash it down with some chilled mauby.
Long Live Democracy.
@Rochelle posted:Lawd allyuh. That menu real long but is a good reflection of our diversity no matter the political difference. I guess I need to start prep from this weekend.
Here what's on the menu for CCJ Decision Day:
- Cookup Rice
- Kitchree
- Dhalpuri
- Alloo curry
- Phulowrie
- Pepperpot
- Garlic Pork
- Colounjee
- Meetemgee
- Plaintain Chips
Anyone like fish? I can get some bangamary, hassa, cuffum and "Gilbakka" from a nearby Guyanese store owner who imports both sweet and saltwater fish.
One Nation. One People. One Destiny. Remember that.
just cooked rice and Gilbakka curry with mangoes. best meal i've had in a long time
@Sheik101 posted:Some indian foods doesnt only require cooking skills. It require surgical skills as well.
Then u cook it.
all that work for bitter karila, no thank you