July 2020
Sorted by last update
For the past month, I couldn't watch any movie for any much longer than 1/2 hour. I find them very stupid and boring.
The jokes are too banal.
Because he lacks intelligence and WCD verified certification to make decisions, without Jagdeo controlling him.
Gyal Rochelle, you were beating your chest when PNC went once again to court in what Judges have now declared an abuse of court.
It's ok to be humble and accept defeat. In life, you win some and you lose some. PNC led by Harmon, Granger and Basil Jackass William lost every single case.
PPP lawyered up to defend democracy. What have you done for democracy lately ?
What do you say me lady ?

... says CARICOM Chairman Ralph Gonsalves
Appeal Court unanimously dismisses Misenga Jonesβ appeal of CJ ruling

The Appeal Court, by a unanimous decision, dismissed the challenge brought by APNU/AFC supporter Misenga Jones who was seeking to overturn the ruling handed down by Chief Justice (ag) Roxane George.
Jonesβ appeal was heard by Appellate Justices Dawn Gregory and Rishi Persaud, in association with High Court Justice Priya Sewnarine-Beharry.
All three justices, in their rulings, dismissed Jonesβ application.
Jones was seeking to overturn the Chief Justiceβs decision in a case she initially filed in a bid to compel the GECOM to utilize the 10 declarations by the Returning Officers as the basis for announcing the winner of the March 2 elections.
The Chief Justice had, however, dismissed Jonesβs application for judicial review on the ground that the issues were res judicata, which means that they have already been ventilated and pronounced upon by a competent court, and cannot be relitigated.
Justice George had reiterated that Chief Elections Officer Keith Lowenfield is not βa lone rangerβ and βcannot act on his ownβ; but is subjected to the direction of the Elections Commission.
Additionally, she expressly stated that the figures from the 33-day Caricom-observed National Recount should form the basis for the declaration of the results. In the appeal filings, Jones is contending that the Chief Justice erred in law when she dismissed the case.
[More details in a subsequent report]
βOnus on GECOM Chair to actβ β PPP/C PM Candidate
, Source - https://www.inewsguyana.com/on...-ppp-c-pm-candidate/
PPP Prime Ministerial Candidate Mark Phillips and Presidential Candidate Irfaan Ali
Following the unanimous decision on Thursday by the Court of Appeal, the onus is now of the Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission, Justice Claudette Singh, to act urgently in declaring the results of the March 2 General and Regional Elections.
This is according to Prime Ministerial Candidate of the Peoples Progressive Party/ Civic (PPP/C), Brigadier Mark Phillips, during a virtual interview programme titled βGovernment in Transitionβ on Thursday evening.
The Court of Appeal, in a unanimous decision, dismissed the challenge brought by APNU/AFC supporter Misegna Jones, and upheld Chief Justice (ag) Roxane Georgeβs recent ruling that the National Recount exercise is valid, and that the decision taken by the GECOM to use the Recount figures as the basis for a final declaration of the March 2 polls must be adhered to.
In the ruling handed down by Appellate Justices Dawn Gregory and Rishi Persaud, along with High Court Justice Priya Sewnarine-Beharry, it was asserted that the proceedings filed by Jones is an abuse of the court system, since many of the issues raised were previously dealt with in other litigations filed during the protracted electoral process.
According to Phillips, the CoAβs ruling was clear and definitive and hence, there is nothing preventing GECOM from declaring a winner and bring the long-delayed electoral process to an end.
βAs far as I see it, there is no other obstacle and the onus is now on the Chair of GECOM to call a meeting as early as possible and to proceed fearlessly towards finality, because that is what all of the people have Guyana have been waiting forβ.
The former Army head bemoaned the fact that citizens have been waiting patiently for close to five months to have the party they voted for assume the reins of power, adding that this unnecessary delay cannot continue any longer.
βSo I do hope that in the shortest possible time, GECOM can now act. Because the only thing left now is for a declaration (of the results) of General and Regional Elections 2020,β Phillips urged.
The PM Candidate also pointed to President David Grangerβs commitment on Thursday to accept the declaration by GECOM without any conditions and said that the nation will hold him to his words.
βWe all have to wait now and see if he will stick to what he has said.β
However, Phillips cautioned that while the President has given his commitment to accept the results without any conditions, the PPP/C has taken note of others within the APNU who are sending conflicting and dangerous signals.
He referenced the contradicting statement made by Coalition Campaign Manager, Joseph Harmon, whom he said is bent on pushing the false narrative about βvalid votes onlyβ, even though the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) has already pronounced that votes tabulated during the recount process are all valid except and until an elections court decides otherwise.
With a few of the hardcore APNU elements giving conflicting positions regarding acceptance of the results, Philips said: βThere is likely to be some implosion within APNUβ¦but we have to keep our eyes on Mr Granger and hope that he sticks to his word.β
APNU/AFC Presidential Candidate David Granger along with other members of the coalition at a campaign event in 2020
Phillips added that the APNU/AFCβs request for a βstayβ βwas just a bluffβ as he is certain that the Coalition would be embarrassed to return to the CCJ since the apex court had already ruled on these very matters.
Meanwhile, the PM Candidate lashed out at APNU/AFC-aligned Trade Unionist, Lincoln Lewis, for incorrectly using the term βregime changeβ.
He contended that Lewis is misusing the term since βregime changeβ means the replacement of one administration or a government by another, especially by means of military force.
βWe donβt have regime change hereβ¦what we have is a government that was voted out of office, through a democratic process, that it what we have in Guyana,β Phillips declared.
The national recount has confirmed that the PPP/C has won the March 2 polls with in excess of 15,000 votes.
Eid Mubarak to my Muslim sisters and brothers. Long live Hindu-Muslim unity.
With great sadness and heavy heart I have to say Herman Cain has from the Corona virus, this was announced by his family. He ran as a Republican presidential candidate. It was stated he got infected after attending a Trump Rally in Utah.
Guyana will lose if election results continue to delay Payara development plan- ExxonMobil
Posted by: Denis Chabrol in Business, News, Politics July 31, 2020 0
ExxonMobil on Friday cautioned that Guyana stood to lose a lot the longer government takes to approve the development plan for Payara.
βWithout final resolution of the election result and signing in a new government, there is a potential for delays to the schedule,β Senior Vice President, Neil Chapman told the second quarter 2020 earnings call.
Mr. Chapman suggested that itβs βvery importantβ that the consortium gets the development plan approved in August so that it could issue its Final Investment Decision (FID) in September. Referring to possible bad weather, he said if a certain time-frame is missed, the project could suffer further delay by βsome months.β
βWhat we continue to stress to the government is that if the project does get delayed, itβs a loss of value to the country and they understand that. Itβs very, very clear the government understands that. Itβs very, very clear the Ministry of Energy understands that,β he said.
He seemed impatient with little movement by Guyanese authorities in approving the development plan for the Payara well located offshore the oi-rich South American nation. Mr. Chapman said ExxonMobil was merely awaiting word from Guyana to make its FID.
βEverything we and the partners can do to progress Payara on schedule, we are doing and weβve done. I said to our organisation many times β we need to be ready to move as soon as the government is readyβ and we are ready. We are ready to FID this project but we need an approved development plan and that approved development plan needs to come from the government,β he said.
Referring to the Guyana governmentβs hiring of United Kingdom-headquartered Bayphase to evaluate the Payara development plan, the top ExxonMobil official said that has been worked βfor a long, long time.β
Mr. Chapman said the consortium that is exploring and producing oil offshore Guyana was also paying keen attention to the political climate in Guyana. βOf course, we are waiting for a resolution, like everybody else of the election,β he said, adding that the outcome of the March 2, 2020 general elections has been held up by the national vote recount and an ensuing string of court cases.
The ExxonMobil official said his company was in βregular contactβ with President David Granger and the Peopleβs Progressive Partyβs Bharrat Jagdeo and Irfaan Ali. βWhat we know is that all parties in Guyana want to progress this development,β he said.
The ExxonMobil official, meanwhile, assured that his company would continue to invest in Guyanaβs exploration and production operations. βWe would fund all the Guyana opportunities as they come forward,β he said even as he referred specifically to Liza 2 and Payara developments.
Mr. Chapman confirmed that ExxonMobil discovered two additional high-quality hydrocarbon reservoirs below and adjacent to Yellow Tail.
Looking ahead, the company official expects initial results from another prospect named Red Tail in August, even as it moves to Kaieteur Block in that same month. Hassar 1 and Bulletwood in the Canje Block are also earmarked for exploratory drilling this year.
Up to the end of June 2020, ExxonMobil had four drilling rigs β one on exploration and three on appraisal and project development drilling, the company said.
Liza Phase 2 remains on schedule for the 2022 start-up.
Click to Share This Article:http://demerarawaves.com/2020/07/31/guyana-will-lose-if-election-results-continue-to-delay-payara-development-plan-exxonmobil/
Claw-dette looking fuh lawyer
Jul 30, 2020 Dem Boys Seh, Features / Columnists 0 , Source - Kaieteur News Online - https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...-looking-fuh-lawyer/
Dem Boys Sehβ¦
Dem boys nah know how many of yaβll old enough fuh remember Dr. Hu. He used to cut go-dee. He used to cut it right deh in he clinic, stitch you up and send yuh home. He was not only a good go-dee doctor. He was also a smart man who know how fuh mek money pun dem lawyer who does like fuh play dem know all de tricks in de trade.
One day Dr. Hu put up a sign which read βMe cure any sickness fuh $100. If me canβt, me give you $500.β
A lawyer pass and see de sign and decide he gan mek some fast money off of Dr. Hu. He walk in de clinic and tell de doctor, β I canβt taste anything!β
Dr. Hu turn to he nurse and seh,β Bring bottle # 43. He put 2 drops pun de lawyerβs tongue. The lawyer quickly spits it out and holler, β Uhg! That taste like gasoline!β
Dr. Hu seh, β Dat will be 100 dollars. De lawyer pay up.
He went back de next day and seh, βDoctor, I lose meh memory!β
Dr. Hu tun to de nurse and seh,β Bring bottle #43.β
De lawyer shout, β But dat is de thing dat taste like gasoline.β
Dr. Hu tun to he and seh, βYuh memory come back. That will be 100 dollars.β
By this time de lawyer frustrated. He went back de next day with an unbeatable plan. He tell Dr. Hu how he blind. He canβt see.
Dr. Hu hold he hand and take him to de cash register. Dr. Hu tek out five $1 bills and give it to him.
De lawyer tun to Dr. Hu and seh. βBut you seh if you canβt cure me you gan pay me $500. How come yuh only give me $5.β
Dr. Hu tun to de lawyer. βDat will be 100 dollarsβ
Talk half and wait fuh see whether Nigel de Who gan rush fuh represent Claw-dette!
GECOM must now move urgently to declare elections winner β Jagdeo says after Court of Appeal ruling
By Editor , Source - News Room - https://newsroom.gy/2020/07/30...rt-of-appeal-ruling/
Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo [Photo: News Room]
Leader of the main opposition Peopleβs Progressive Party Bharrat Jagdeo has welcomed Thursdayβs ruling by Guyanaβs Court of Appeal in which it upheld the decision of Chief Justice Roxane George that the national vote recount is valid.
In dismissing the appeal as being frivolous and vexatious, the Court of Appeal also upheld that the Chief Elections Officer, as an employee of GECOM, must do as he is told by the Commission.
βWe are pleased that the decision was unanimous in this regard,β Jagdeo said during a virtual briefing moments after the judgment was handed down.
He believes that even in the face of a 24-hour stay granted by the Court of Appeal, that the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) must now move ahead with declaring the winner of the elections in keeping with the recount figures.
The recount shows the PPP winning the elections by over 15,000 votes.
βWe were shocked to see how the court tolerated the nonsensical arguments that were proffered to justify the stay and the court did not answer the question from Senior Counsel [Douglas] Mendes as to what precisely are you staying,β Jagdeo added.
Jagdeo said with the appeal dismissed, GECOMβs Chairman former Judge Claudette Singh is under no obligation to respect the stay granted particularly when the Court did not clarify what the stay was about.
βWe donβt know what this stay is about, what they are effectively doingβ¦ I would urge the Commission and Justice Singh to act urgently, the country has waited for a very long timeβ¦ it is time to move on,β the Opposition Leader said.
According to the Constitution, Justice Singh makes a declaration of the results of the elections after the Chief Elections Officer presents his advice.
But the CEO Keith Lowenfield has repeatedly refused to produce his report using the recount figures and instead invalidated hundreds of thousands of votes to hand the APNU+AFC coalition a victory.
The recount shows the coalition losing the elections by over 24, 000 votes.
Jagdeo was keen to point out that the Court of Appeal made it clear that Lowenfield must follow the direction of the Commission in preparing his report which cannot be done using declarations made before the recount.
Hammie mouth do mo dan slip
Jul 29, 2020 Dem Boys Seh, Features / Columnists 0 , Source - Kaieteur News Onloine - https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...outh-do-mo-dan-slip/
Dem Boys Sehβ¦
Dem boys bin jump but nah bin surprise when Hammie open he mouth the other day. He bin tell the de facto Presithent dat he should nah bother with the Constitution and the law and how he should rememba dat he is the Commander in Chief.
Hammie ketch himself quick. Dem boys nah know whether it gat fuh do with visa politics. But he backtrack and seh how he tongue bin slip.
Dem boys bin wan know whether dat was a Freudian slip β an intentional error wah nonetheless does reveal wah yuh thinking subconsciously. The psychoanalyst Sigmund Freud, bin put forward the theory dat a manβs true desires could only be known by paying attention to the βslips of the tongueβ and other clues from his unconscious mind.
If Hammie had a slip of the tongue when he talk about setting aside the law and the Constitution, then why he had to remind he mentee dat he was the Commander in Chief?
Dem boys believe dat Hammy had more dan a slip of the tongue. It was mo like a slide and ah fall down.
It mek dem boys recall the time when a matador talk about the fuss time he face one of the fiercest bulls. The man claim how when the bull charge, he slide to the right. The bull attack again, his horns bearing down like spears. The matador seh he then slide to the left. He seh he bin frighten because he nah bin know nutting about bullfighting. He seh he keep sliding till the bull get tired.
A man wah bin listening to the story tun to the matador and seh, βBut you lucky. If was me, I would a mess myself.β
The matador tun to the man and seh, βWah you think ah bin sliding pun?
Talk half and wonder bout Hammie slip!
... cites Granger for refusing to accept recount results
PNC's final lifeline will be choked out of them and it will be silly for them to take it all the way to CCJ.
I predict a ruling upholding the lower court ruling.
What do you say good people ?
As usual, Rochelle, Tota, Mitwah and the entire AFC PNC gang will be in hiding.
... lawyers say
UNANIMOUS
Misenga Jones case
I am obliged to observe elections declaration β Granger

Caretaker President David Granger this morning said he is obliged to observe whatever declaration is made by the Chair of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM).
He was at the time responding to questions from the media about what his position would be should the GECOM Chair Justice Claudette Singh declare the elections based on the recount results β which his party is falsely claiming are not credible.
βWith respect, my statements on compliance with the declaration is not conditional. I didnβt say if the rain is falling or the sun is shining, you know, if it comes by day or by night. I am obliged to observe the declaration of the Chairman of the Elections Commission,β Granger told reporters on the sidelines of an event.
While the APNU Leader noted that he is obliged to accept the elections declaration, he did not say whether he would. In fact, Grangerβs coalition party has been mounting court challenge after court challenge in a bid to block GECOM from making the declaration.
Granger had previously committed to accepting whatever results emanated from the national recount exercise but now, he has flip-flopped on his promise. Instead, his party wants a declaration based on the original tabulation of votes, including the fraudulent figures produced by Clairmont Mingo, the Returning Officer of the largest electoral district, Region Four.
Mingoβs figures were heavily inflated in favour of the APNU/AFC coalition β as observed by members of the international community.
In fact, it was Mingoβs production of concocted numbers that led to the undertaking of the National Recount exercise β which was agreed upon by caretaker President Granger and the Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo. It was also conducted under the auspices of the Caribbean Community β which Granger had described as the most important interlocutor in the process.
Caricom, in its report on the recount, deemed the results emanating from the process credible and asserted that it should be the basis of the declaration of the winner of the March 2 polls.
But APNU/AFC coalition refused to accept the findings and instead launched a campaign aimed at discrediting the recount activity, though it was hailed as a credible process by the international observers, local observers and nine other political parties that contested the elections.
Guyanaβs highest court, the Caribbean Court of Justice, has already ruled that the recount results must be used to declare the winner of the elections.
The CCJβs written judgment states: βUnless and until an election court decides otherwise, the votes already counted by the recount process as valid votes are incapable of being declared invalid by any person or authorityβ.