Reply to "Black unemplyment in the US hits historical heights"

Originally posted by caribj:
Originally posted by kidmost:
Originally posted by caribj:

Burnham looked and learnt from Jagan who attacked , rediculed , labelled and maligned the indian moderate leaders . Burnham went after the LCP like a pitbull and brought mulattoes and professional blacks to cringe . People like Martin carter , John Carter , Dolphin etc were made to cringe. Burnham gave the black masses the same cool aid Jagan gave the ignorant coolies who thought power by the people was realy for the people and they all got f*#cked by Jagan and Burnham .

east Indians gave up their language but held onto their culture , traditions and religion in ways far different from India . Afro Guyanese in the county of Berbice held onto the what remnants of their cutlure and traditions they had but people like A.J Seymour , Dolphin and other mulattoes made sure it did not spread because they were jockeying for power and wanted to be the voice for all blacks . It was Fatboy , yes Fatboy , who attempted to re-kindle and resurrect the last remnants of afro Guyanese culture . Dude , you gotta give due where it is due ! cuss fatboy all yuh want he was the only black man and leader to try to foster afro guyaanese culture no matter how adulterated it was .

The brits did the same with indian indentures , they split them up and their families . Brothers were placed on different ships and told they were goignto the same place but were sent to different colonies . Yes the conquerer always has his way.

If 10 people show up for a job and 10 are blacks and none qualify for the job it simply indicates the situation is chowtic !

Well this is how I conduct myself and this is what I support . favoritism , nepotism and curry favoring are not progressive ! It should and must be stamped out in Guyana where it thrives !

6 what people see , witness and experience is what creates their perceptions and beliefs . Everytime there were riots in Guyana and looting many black employees joined in the looting hence creating a nagative perception for blacks who are not like that just as guys like stereo type indians based on the behavior of the PPP .

Bai my business does not depend on race and gender it is based on financial ability . I am saying if people who believe themselves to be oppressed , marginalized and ostracized dont COOPERATE they will never rise up to become a bonafide contender . BTW , I do not deal in niche markets I deal in dollar value markets . However , if I can pillage a neiche market because businesses ignore it and I can meet their demands I will .

1. Agreed that Jagan and Burnham were a disaster and Jagdeo took notes from both. In addition he is a theif. Neither Burnham nor Jagan died rich and their kids have to work just like every one else. Jagdeo will die a billionaire. Even though he was even POORER than either when he began politics.

2. Burnham's emphasis was teaching Guyanese Trini culture. There was much emphasis on steel pan and kaiso. Virtually nothing on mobilizing true Guyanese culture. Which is why, despite having a rich indigenous culture too often Guyanese show case American/Trinidadian/Jamaican culture or that of classical North India rather than that which represents our folk, both Afro and IndoGUYANESE. How many Guyanese (including urban Indos) know that Guyana has a rich reportoire of IndoGuyanese folks songs? How many middle class Indos cringe when they hear them preferring instead some bad mimicry of kathak dancing or Bollywood instead.

Actually Billy Pilgrim did much with masquerade, the only indigenous Guyanese culture that was promoted under Burnham. Afro Burnham was no more interested in AfroGuyanese folk culture than were the black Dolphins or the mulatto Pilgrims. It should interest you that kwekwe is way more common now than it was in the 70s and many a Gtwn person will tell you that its only recently that they have even seen it.

3. The Indos and Afros were treated very differently by the Brits as part of their divide and rule. When you tell me that Hindu temples were burnt down, people arrested for beating tassa drums, and the children of indentures sold off never to be seen again, and the "wives" of slaves taken to cater to the needs of massa on pain of being sold then we can equate the two. When slave mothers were reduced to being baby making afctories and male slaves to being studs...ensuring that no bond developed between them, or with the kids who tehy sired.

Indentureship was horrendous and demeaning, but nothing like slavery. There is a reason why "child mother", and female headed households are integral to the culture of the TransAtlantic black, and it doesnt matter where you go, Brazil, Guyana, Martinique, Jamaica, Cuba or the USA. This is the "culture" which emerged in slavery, African family systems destroyed and long forgotten.

4. Did you ever think that if AfroGuyanese had a stake in the society and felt taht they had equal opportunities that they would join riots? When last were there riots any way. I know when I was in Guyana in 1999 when there was "slo fyah, mo fyah" the Afro vendors covered up their stalls and ran away just like teh Indo merchants. Criminal blacks will steal from where ever they can. A vendor being more vulnerable as they cant pull down the shutters and sic armed guards on the crowds.

5. Tell whites in the USA and Indo elites in Guyana your belief that blacks should unite and favor their own and boycott others. Tell them to encourage this and not attempt to stigmatize these efforts or intimidate those who plan them. In fact as you are/or used to be a Republican tell the Tea Party nuts that they shoudl advocate this. They certainly damned Malcolm X who said exactly that. paid some folks to kill him too!!! Same for Waddell in Guyana.

Caribj, the 1970s produced some great Guyanese singers. It was during the early 1970s' I heard of the great Mighty Enchanter and later Sammy Baksh, Sach Persaud, Eddie Hooper, the mighty Chief and Nisha Benjamin.

I am putting a link here for Sammy Baksh's music so that the young people can know what I am talking about.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NmLgMaW-HM4

The Guyanese people today need to know more about singers like Bill Rogers and his music of the 1930s Guyanese society.

I am putting a link here for Bill Rogers so that the young people can know what I am talking about.

http://guyaneseonline.wordpres...calypso-bill-rogers/
Wally