Reply to "Crime Tracker Guyana, since May 2015"

Party going passengers hijack taxi driver

OCTOBER 25, 2015 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

Taxi driver Oneil Calder, 25, of lot 72 Craig Street, Campbellville, Georgetown is thanking his lucky stars for life after three party-going passengers held him at gunpoint yesterday morning.

Hijacked car: The photo of the missing car

About 1:30hrs yesterday the father of one said that he picked up three young men on Vlissengen Road between DaSilva and Duncan Streets. The black Fielder wagon HC2738 carries a Pulse taxi service logo. “They said they were going to a party in Bel Air Gardens.”
All seemed well, until he arrived at Bel Air and was asked to stop by a cul-de-sac. One of the men who sat immediately behind him stepped out of the car and the sound of a gun cocking followed. “He opened my door pointed a silver 9mm pistol at me and say, ‘Where the money deh.’  I ask which money and he say, ‘Is taxi yah wukkin whole night so yah got to get money.’”
Fear gripped Calder but he said he kept his composure and showed the gunman the middle pocket of the car. “I had about $7000 in the pocket and the one in the front seat take it out as well as a cell phone I had in there.”
That was not enough for the gunmen, the driver said. “The other one behind me hold down me hand and they run through my pocket taking the li’l change I had in there as well as my other cell phone.”
He said the men then ordered him out of the car telling him to “cooperate and we ain’t going to do nothing to you. I was so scared that I begged them to take all what they want but don’t kill me.”
He said the men the ordered him to walk through the cul-de-sac and I started walking. “I beg dem to please don’t kill me.”
He said that as he was walking away he heard the car door close and when he looked back he saw them drive away.
He then walked to Sheriff Street and hitched a ride to the Kitty Police Station but was referred to the Prashad Nagar police outpost. Ranks visited the scene and a report was recorded.
“I’m glad to be alive but these bannaz are really crude and ruthless. I got me family to maintain, including me six-month-old son and they just take away my earnings and the car…I hope they leave the car somewhere that I can find it cause I got rent to pay and other bills and jobs ain’t deh right now. And is not even my car.”
The car is owned by businesswoman Yoland McKenzie who is seeking the public’s help to recover her vehicle. (Mondale Smith)