Reply to "Crime Tracker Guyana, since May 2015"

The Indians appear to be bearing the brunt of the fund raising activities by apnu/afc supporters. While the afc/apnu police twiddle their thumbs, refusing to do their jobs until they get their 50% wage hike, the citizens suffer.

Bandits escape with over $6M following Berbice robbery

Two armed bandits escaped with more than $6 million in cash and jewellery following a brazen daylight robbery in Port

Rhada Gobin

Rhada Gobin

Mourant, Corentyne.
According to reports, the two men went into Gobin’s Grocery Store at Port Mourant pretending to be customers but subsequently whipped out handguns and held the owners of the business hostage along with five staff members and 11 customers.
Co-owner of the store, Rhada Gobin told this publication that she was doing some administrative work when the bandits struck.
She said a popular beverage company truck had just arrived at the store for routine delivery and she was in the process of paying $1.1 million to the sales representative.
“Two boys walk in, well-dressed up, neat and ask ‘Aunty Rhada you have Heineken?,’ and Ah say no. So they turn to leave and them turn around and ask me if I have Guinness. They give me a $1000 and say they want three Guinness. Then they pull out a gun and put it on a lady head at the counter and say ‘nobody don’t move.’ Then tell every we to lie down pun the ground,”
She said one of the bandits discharged a shot in the shop and demanded that she hand over cash and jewellery. One of the bandits also threw a bag at her and ordered her to pack the money and jewellery into the bag.
“He tell me open all the draw and take out all the money. So I open all the draw and take out all the money and full up in the bag. Then he start to cuss nasty, saying ‘go and bring all the so-and-so millions what you get’ and Ah tell he that everything deh right here and he take the gun and hit me in the head and me fall own,” the traumatised woman related.”
The customers who were in the shop at the time were also robbed of their valuables including cash, jewellery and cellular phones.
Gobin said the men carried away about $500,000 in jewellery from her collection, in addition to the cash.
According to her, the robbers used an overseas-based Guyanese who was in the shop at the time, as a human shield as they made their escape.
“They put the gun at the lady neck and back to back to the road and jump on a motorbike and ride away.”
She said the men destroyed the surveillance footage from her CCTV cameras before leaving.
Shortly after, villagers went in search of the robbers but came up empty-handed.
The Police were called and have since taken one person into custody for questioning.

Share Button