A 63-year-old grandmother of Bush Lot, Region Two (Pomeroon-Supenaam) was left traumatised after she was terrorised during a robbery in the wee hours of Sunday.
Juliet Banwarie called “Doreen” is said to be still trying to come to grips with what took place early Sunday morning, but expressed her gratitude to God and her neighbours for her survival. She described her attack as horrific.
According to reports, Banwarie was attacked and robbed Sunday morning around 03:40h. During the attack, the woman was choked and robbed of $8000 cash.
Relating her ordeal, the grandmother said she was awakened by a loud noise that morning and the sound was continuous, hence she alerted neighbours. The still shaken woman recalled observing one of the louver windows was broken and a lone unmasked man was coming through it.
Subsequently, Banwarie said, the man began choking her. “He choke meh, trying to kill meh. I said ‘Ow God!’ and he still choking … my neighbours hear and come, by then he escape,” the elderly woman recounted.
After she was rescued, the elderly woman was taken to the Suddie Public Hospital where she was treated and sent away. The grandmother said she was presently recuperating from the entire ordeal and she did not want to repeat the horrific episode. She is hoping that the Police can provide justice and prevent a recurrence.
The Police were informed about the attack and immediately visited the scene. Fingerprints were taken and a 48-year-old suspect was arrested. The suspect has since confessed to stealing from the elderly woman and begged her to settle the manner out of court, stating that he was sorry. He is expected to appear before the courts shortly.
Of recent, the crime rates in Region Two have been escalating with many businessmen getting robbed and elderly women being raped. Many times Police do not have sufficient evidence and as such, the suspects walk free.
Membership Required
We're sorry. You must be signed in to continue.Sign In
or Register
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .
Welcome to the Original Guyanese Discussion Forums, first established in 1996. Here you can discuss, ask questions or generally debate anything related to politics, movies, music, health or just gyaff away your day/night here. A note of warning, the Political forum is not for the faint of heart. We do have some rules, so please adhere to them .
Welcome to the Original Guyanese Discussion Forums, first established in 1996. Here you can discuss, ask questions or generally debate anything related to politics, movies, music, health or just gyaff away your day/night here.
Please note while you do have free access to our Forums, the Political Forum will now be a Paid Membership Forum. What does this mean? To write in the Political Forum you must be a paying member. The fee is $25.00 US per year and is non refundable. Payment can be done through PayPal. Membership is not automatically renewed and you can cancel anytime We do have some rules, so please adhere to them.