A Linden man is presently in Police custody after he went berserk on Monday, stabbing to death his reputed wife and injuring his step-daughter in the process. Dead is Leolyn Sullivan, 34, of Phase 1B Wisroc and injured is her daughter Shemeka Campbell, 18. Reports are that Sullivan and her reputed husband, 54, had a domestic dispute at home around 02:00h on Monday when he allegedly whipped out a knife and stabbed her about the body. During the stabbing the woman’s daughter was also injured by the knife-wielding Lawrence Carter and is presently a patient at the Linden Hospital Complex. Carter, who is said to have inflicted injuries with a knife on himself after attacking the woman and her daughter, is also at the LHC where he was under police guard Monday. Speaking with this newspaper, another of Sullivan’s daughters, Saskia Campbell, 16, said her mother arrived home a short while before the incident occurred and an argument ensued. “I heard him saying, “How you could do this to me?” the teenager related, adding that Carter began stabbing her mother. She said that her sister Shemeka intervened, begging Carter to desist from attacking her mother when he turned the knife on her, too. This newspaper was told that the dead woman in an attempt to escape plunged through louvers window in her bedroom but was pursued by Carter. Saskia further related that she, her mother and sister managed to escape from the yard but were pursued by Carter. They were rescued by a neighbour who rushed them to the LHC. However, Sullivan, was a beverage vendor at the Mackenzie Market wharf, was pronounced dead on arrival at LHC. This newspaper was told that Sullivan was stabbed 19 times. Guyana Times understands that the relationship between Carter, a seasonal construction worker and Sullivan has been on the rocks for some time now and the woman was planning to leave him. Reports also indicate that Carter had accused the deceased of infidelity. Information reaching this newspaper further indicated that Sullivan had travelled to Georgetown Friday to conduct business and had returned late Sunday evening. She had reportedly confided in a friend that she and Carter were expected to meet with “Welfare” over some issues on Monday. A neighbour related that Carter was a “jealous” man and stated that the two had constant arguments. On the fateful morning, persons in the vicinity recalled hearing screams from inside the home. “Is run out she run out the bedroom to holler for she children them and he run behind she. The big girl stop he and confront he and he bore she up”, a neighbour related. Another related that the couple were engaged in an argument on Friday before Sullivan left home. “All I hear she telling he ‘I is a hard-working woman. You always at them bars’. But you could see she was afraid of him because when he roll up to she after that, whatever he tell she, it mek she stop talk. I ain’t see she back after that. This morning I hear he kill she. The two of them always quarrelling every day.” “He don’t want work, all he does want is she to mind he”, yet another stated. When Guyana Times arrived at the scene, a blood-stained mattress was in the yard, along with bloodstains leading up to the steps. A few wooden boards were placed to conceal the window which the deceased allegedly plunged through. There are reports that Carter alleged he sustained injuries to his neck by the woman’s daughter, however other reports indicated that he inflicted the wounds on himself. He reportedly underwent surgery for his injury and is assisting police with investigations.
Membership Required
We're sorry. You must be signed in to continue.Sign In
or Register
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .
Welcome to the Original Guyanese Discussion Forums, first established in 1996. Here you can discuss, ask questions or generally debate anything related to politics, movies, music, health or just gyaff away your day/night here. A note of warning, the Political forum is not for the faint of heart. We do have some rules, so please adhere to them .
Welcome to the Original Guyanese Discussion Forums, first established in 1996. Here you can discuss, ask questions or generally debate anything related to politics, movies, music, health or just gyaff away your day/night here.
Please note while you do have free access to our Forums, the Political Forum will now be a Paid Membership Forum. What does this mean? To write in the Political Forum you must be a paying member. The fee is $25.00 US per year and is non refundable. Payment can be done through PayPal. Membership is not automatically renewed and you can cancel anytime We do have some rules, so please adhere to them.