Reply to "Crime Tracker Guyana, since May 2015"

Fisherman, family terrorized, robbed of over $7M in cash, jewelry

MAY 3, 2016 | BY | FILED UNDER NEWS 

A Corentyne fisherman and his family were on Sunday evening attacked and robbed by four armed and masked bandits who relieved them of over $7 million in cash and jewelry. The man, Nakool Manohar, 47, called “Fire” resides at No. 43 Village, Corentyne, with his wife; Sattie Ettwaroo, 37, and their three children aged 17, 14 and 3 months. fishermen robbed
Also sharing the home is Ettwaroo’s father-in-law; Seepaul Manohar, 64, and a 14 year-old boy.
At the time of the robbery, Nakool Manohar, was not at home. According to his wife, Sattie, at around 02:15 hrs, the bandits who gained entry into the home by breaking a window started firing several shots. The traumatized woman added that she and her daughters immediately hid in the back room of the house.
“Three of dem come cause one binna watch outside and dem come seh we come fah all de money and jewels.”
She stated that the bandits started hitting her across her hand as she pleaded for her safety and her children. “One of dem say if she can’t give everything, bring one of she daughter dem. Me gon rape she daughter right hay in front she”.
The hapless woman relayed that she handed over all the cash and jewelry they had, to the bandits. The gun wielding bandits carted off over $1.5 million in local currency, US$4,000, SRD $13,000 and $1.6 million in gold jewelry. The bandits also escaped with three cellular phones; two Iphones, one Samsung cellphone and one Laptop computer.
She added that after the bandits left, they returned and demanded to be given hidden valuables. “One of dem seh dis is nah all you gimme hay. You gotta gimme more”.
Sattie Ettwaroo added that one of the bandits referred to his partner by the name “Kishan” as they were about to leave. “De one downstairs lash me father-in-law in he head wid a bottle and de other one seh Kishan leh we go lang now”.
According to Nakool Manohar, he was on several occasions denied a firearm licence. “I running a business hay and every time meh go in, dem always ah find fault”. Police sources revealed that two persons have since been arrested as investigations are in progress.
Meanwhile, the crime situation continues to worsen in the Corentyne, Berbice area. Over the past month, there have been multiple gun related robberies in Rose Hall, Port Mourant and Belvedere.