Burglars ransack Bath Settlement homes
Burglars on Tuesday ransacked two homes located at Bath Settlement, West Berbice leaving the families traumatized. Both owners were not at home at the time of the incident.
The bandits first targeted the home of 66-year-old Amaran Sukhi of Lot 1340 Block ‘D’ Bath Settlement. The woman relayed to this publication that she left her home at 6:00 am on Tuesday and returned home at 2:00 pm and discovered that her gate was damaged.
“Me come in and see meh gate bruck. Suh me go upstairs and meh see me door open and all ova tumble up. Every single room dem search up”. Ms. Sukhi stated that she had nothing of value in her home so the bandits searched and left.
Mrs. Suhki’s immediate neighbours also suffered at the hands of the thieves. This time, it was the home of teacher, Melissa Hamilton, who was at work when the bandits struck.
According to her mother, Dolly Fausett, she recieved a call from her daughter who stated that she came home around 21:00 hrs and discovered her entire house ransacked. “When she call me, I called the police and when they come, they say that the back door was broken. Like they come from the back door”.
Fausett said that the only thing missing from the home was a laptop computer valued $90,000 and a tablet valued $20,000. She also praised the officers at the Fort Wellington Police Station who arrived in a prompt manner.
According to information received from neighbours, they saw no suspicious activity in the area.
This has been the fifth recorded break-in in Berbice for the past week. According to police sources, for the year thus far they have recorded over 13 break and enter cases.
No arrests have been made. Investigations are ongoing.