Reply to "Crime Tracker Guyana, since May 2015"

Home > TOP STORY > Bandits attack Berbice family …threaten toddler, 12–year–old sister
The home of the Karamalalls

Bandits attack Berbice family …threaten toddler, 12–year–old sister

By Nafeeza Yahya

THE owners of a recently opened grocery parlor at 195 Nigg South, East Berbice, Corentyne are second guessing their investment after five armed men pounced on them as they were about to close for the day on WednesdayAccording to Nandeshwar Karamalall, known as ‘chill’ at around 19:00h on Wednesday evening, he was about to close the shop, which only opened its doors four months ago, when the masked men, who were armed with guns and cutlasses stormed the shop and attacked him.

Nandeshwar Karamalall

He said the bandits demanded cash and jewellery. “We about to close and five man run in the shop, them had guns and cutlass and as soon as them run in, them start fuh broadside me and me fall down and start fuh bleed from me nose,” the distraught man said.

His visibly traumatized wife Dharama Devi Karamalall said three of the gunmen jumped over the counter and one of them gun-butted her to the head while demanding money and jewellery; the other two remained on the other side with her husband.

“Three ah dem jump ova the counter one lash me head with a gun and demanded money and jewellery. Me tell them ok me guh give you everything me get,” the still visibly shaken woman said.

In tears, she recalled handing over a quantity of phone cards, approximately 60,000 in cash and cigarettes as the men held on to her three-year-old daughter threatening to hurt her if she does not comply with their demands.

“Them chuck up the lil baby and say if we nah give them everything, them guh hurt she… me give them everything and explain that only lately we open suh we nah get much money but them want more,” the woman said.

According to her, even after handing over the items, the bandits demanded more but her 12 – year – old got on her knees and pleaded with the men not to hurt her sister or parents.

The bandits gave up after the young girl held onto the feet of one of the bandits and pleaded with them. They collected a few items from the shop and made good their escape through the front entrance and left in the direction of Rose Hall Town on bicycles.

Meanwhile, Karamalall called the Albion Police Station, which is a mere five minutes away only to be told that there were no patrol vehicles available at the time. The police reportedly showed up approximately 45 minutes after the call was made.

The Karamalalls said they are rethinking their investment because they are fearful bandits will strike again