Reply to "Sugar workers prepare for countrywide strike Sunday"

Originally Posted by Tola:

The cane workers have a right to strike and the PPP will encourage them to do so, for political brownie points.  

Jus like Rohee de goat leading the sheep.

BUT, who might lose more in the long run, if the industry shuts down, 10,000 sugar workers or the government ?   Win or lose, government ministers and workers will still receive their pay cheque and have a job. Does the PPP have any brains ? 

If the sugar industry is shut down, Jagdeo and the PPP should fund the cane workers re-training programs at UG, for office jobs at Freedom House.

What will Komal Chand and GAWU do, when unemployed sugar workers not paying union dues ?

Maybe fish fa Gilbakka.  

Sorry Gil. 

No need to be sorry, my yarrow-catching friend. We're both fishing in the same muddy water that is this GNI pond.

Only last night, Suki tell me..... sorry, lemme rephrase ..... only last night, I said I was betting anyone that GAWU would contradict or ignore the OPM statement and call some strikes before the current crop ends. Me nah seh nutting wrang deh, banna. GAWU meeting today and the agenda is: To strike or not to strike?

Yuh see, budday, without the strike weapon GAWU is nothing. And for decades the PPP and GAWU have schooled sugar workers to use that weapon first and then talk after. In other words, strike to force talks. And I am saying bluntly here that GuySuCo and the government are foolishly ignoring that reality.

Also, we're seeing in practice the lashback that Cabinet salary increases was bound to cause. How can the government tell sugar workers there is no increase for them in 2015 when it awarded itself and its public servants increases in 2015? If APNU+AFC had set the example by waiting until next year for pay raise, it would have been in a strong moral position to persuade sugar workers to accept its reasoning.