Reply to "The Cummingsburg Accord Is Too Good to Be True Because It Is. Which President Surrenders "Domestic Affairs" to A Small Party?"

in most every real choice in life there is downside risk

on any rational scale, this one is low, and the potential payoff for Guyana is once-in-a-century transforming

the hysterics are, frankly, annoying

Why is it low? 

Not that long ago there was so much contention within the PNC that physical blows were exchanged, and a gun was discharged.  And that was WITHIN the PNC. 

We heard rumors of similar, even if less dramatic tensions within the AFC.  Indeed HM_Redux ranted about how selfish the black AFCites were not that long ago.  This suggesting some tension between the Hughes/Trotman wing of the AFC and the former PPPites brought in with Nagamootoo.

Does this mean that there will be fighting from the beginning? Doubtful.

But obviously this is a coalition of people who were  formerly mortal enemies, and are only together as they feel that this is the only way to get rid of the PPP.  So to say that the risk is low is quite naïve. 

There will be some PNCites who will feel that Granger gave away too much, given that at least 80% of the votes will be won in PNC strongholds.

There will be some AFCites (former PPPites) who will retain distrust for a large segment of the PNC.

When Nagamootoo makes his various appointments expect rancor if PNC members think that the gov't is too AFC oriented, especially of Nagamootoo relies heavily on the PPP refugee wing of the AFC.

So there is definite medium to long term risk.

alyuh try deh busying y'allself with petty what ifs, every which way whatever scenario speculations and hand wringing

perhaps if you had the intellectual wherewithal to step outside and see the big picture, u would understand (as i posted elsewhere) that what really matters is the overturning of the system we have lived with since 1964

this is bigger than the AFC, APNU, Moses, Khemraj, Nigel, Granger or PPP/Ramotar/Jagdeo for that matter

indeed sir, IT MATTERS NOT IF THE COALITION BREAKS UP AFTER WINNING OFFICE! what matters is letting the genie of new politics out of the bottle . . . something the status quo warriors are cleverly battling to prevent for as long as possible

best case scenario is a re-written constitution, meaningful coalition politics, transformative governance, properly independent, democratic institutions and the end of the criminal state . . . i'll take any one of those for a start!

looking at the potential upside . . . exactly what is the downside you envision that could be worse than what we have seen unfold before our eyes this past decade and a half?

how much more punctuation than Crum-Ewing! do you need?

am i clear now?