$100K for dead prisoners’ burial is not a legal obligation – Pres Granger

Officers holding back crowds that had gathered at the Prison

While complaints from the families of the prisoners that died in the Camp Street Prisons continue pour in, President David Granger has stated that the Government was not legally required to provide relief to the families.

The Government through the Social Protection Ministry has promised $100,000 to the families of the 17 inmates that died in the fire. This amount however has been rejected by the family members.

One of the arguments presented against the $100,000 being given to the families is that the men were in the care of the State at the time of their deaths hence the state should bear all costs associated with their burial.

Questioned on Tuesday, President Granger said that the monies were “ex gratia” meaning that the payment was done from a sense of moral obligation rather than because of any legal requirement.

President David Granger speaking with the media.

“This is an ex gratia payment, it’s a one of payment to bring relief to Guyanese citizens it’s not an obligation on our part but we want to make sure that children are in no way disadvantaged by what occurred,” the President noted.

Granger went on to say that the monies should not be seen as compensation, but rather as a form of relief for those affected.

“This is not a question of compensation this is a matter of relief and we understand the tragic circumstances under which people died last week and the government is attempting to assist the widows and the children,” said the President.(Jomo Brusheildon Paul)

The families of the murdered prisoners must immediately start a class action suit against the AFC/PNC administration and include Ramjattan in the action suit.

They will win.

The families of the murdered prisoners must immediately start a class action suite agains the AFC/PNC administration and include Ramjattan in the action suite.

They will win.

I agree with you.

The class action will be against the prison service,not the government and Ramjattan.

The families of the murdered prisoners must immediately start a class action suit against the AFC/PNC administration and include Ramjattan in the action suit.

They will win.

Yuji bai, the PNC is now judge, jury, and executioner.  I don't know if they will win.  The prisoners families are already helpless with grief and they seem to have very little resources at their disposal.

The families of the murdered prisoners must immediately start a class action suite agains the AFC/PNC administration and include Ramjattan in the action suite.

They will win.

I agree with you.

The class action will be against the prison service,not the government and Ramjattan.

So the Prison Service belong to you NOT the Govt.

The families must refuse the $ 500 US. It  is a disgrace and it is a strategy used by the Government to dupe the families in accepting an amount that would later be used against the families in a lawsuit.

Imagine, this administration values a life at $ 500.

The families must refuse the $ 500 US. It  is a disgrace and it is a strategy used by the Government to dupe the families in accepting an amount that would later be used against the families in a lawsuit.

Imagine, this administration values a life at $ 500.

Granger seh dem skont lucky he give dem dat cause he and Uncle Tom and Devany need new cars, trips abroad and nuff Food!!!

They will win.

Yuji bai, the PNC is now judge, jury, and executioner.  I don't know if they will win.  The prisoners families are already helpless with grief and they seem to have very little resources at their disposal.

I have to agree but a class action suite will further expose the brutality of this administration.

They value a human life at $ 500 U.S.

Most of the prisoners killed are Afro Guyanese. This will eventually open up the eyes of those who blindly voted for this ruthless and merciless administration.

They murdered Rodney and burned prisoners. I hope that the international community is watching. Where is Amnesty International when you need them ? They were backing the PNC. Where are they ?

New Govt, new Policy : Kill and Burn dem then give their Families 500 dollars!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yes bhai.

According the AFC/PNC, the value of a human life is pegged at $ 500 U.S.

They will win.

I have to agree but a class action suite will further expose the brutality of this administration.

Most of the prisoners killed are Afro Guyanese. This will eventually open up the eyes of those who blindly voted for this ruthless and merciless administration.

They murdered Rodney and burned prisoners. I hope that the international community is watching. Where is Amnesty International when you need them ? They were backing the PNC. Where are they ?

No one will intervene.  The aim is to destabilize the country with an eye on oil profits.  The more chaos in the land, the better it is for the stakeholders who will benefit from the oil money.  They will throw a few million dollars at Trotman and his friends to keep them happy and the Lion's share of the profits will end up in Exxon's coffers in the US.

They will win.

I agree with you.

So the Prison Service belong to you NOT the Govt.

Bhai... i meant APNU/AFC.

The next fire will start when them ppp low life turn guess of the state they already rob the tax payers u guys think we will mind them in jail we will burn the sin from their body.then u guys can sue .u ass know nothing about prison laws u all should ask the fool Anil 

warrior posted:

The next fire will start when them ppp low life turn guess of the state they already rob the tax payers u guys think we will mind them in jail we will burn the sin from their body.then u guys can sue .u ass know nothing about prison laws u all should ask the fool Anil 

Ah wha dis????????????

Baseman, Bibi, what does the law say about the Death of an Inmate in Guyana. In Canada, Correctional Services is responsible for the cost if the body is not claimed, else they have an amount to pay out if the body is claimed by relatives.

They will win.

No one will intervene.  The aim is to destabilize the country with an eye on oil profits.  The more chaos in the land, the better it is for the stakeholders who will benefit from the oil money.  They will throw a few million dollars at Trotman and his friends to keep them happy and the Lion's share of the profits will end up in Exxon's coffers in the US.

This is exactly where Guyana is headed.

A dictatorship and an administration which will implement a policy of destabilization of the country and divide and rule.

This will be ten times worse than Burnham.

They stole and murdered then they are locked up. They started a fire and destroy the buildings and in the process they killed themselves now they want the Gov't to bury them.

All all PPP idiots who are crying foul send a $500 US for the dead prisoners family.

warrior posted:

Shut up, go mek another fowl pen.

Baseman, Bibi, what does the law say about the Death of an Inmate in Guyana. In Canada, Correctional Services is responsible for the cost if the body is not claimed, else they have an amount to pay out if the body is claimed by relatives.

These now 18 prisoners were executed by FIRE under the care of the State, the government is responsible for their funeral and compensate their families. This is a slam down case for a good lawyer, and if you sue, you sue from the minister down.

President Granger erred,it's the prison service responsibility to bear the  funeral cost of the dead prisoners.Their demise was under their watch.

Oh rass. Me tawt you had bettah sense dan dis. Where is the prison service going to get the money from? They have their own printing machine to print their bills? It's the damn tax payers who are footing all these expenses. Whether is $20.00 or $20,000000.00, it's the taxpayers bro. The government uses the taxpayers money to do everything. Stop giving Jack "wan kiss me ass tear jacket".

President Granger erred,it's the prison service responsibility to bear the  funeral cost of the dead prisoners.Their demise was under their watch.

Oh rass. Me tawt you had bettah sense dan dis. Where is the prison service going to get the money from? They have their own printing machine to print their bills? It's the damn tax payers who are footing all these expenses. Whether is $20.00 or $20,000000.00, it's the taxpayers bro. The government uses the taxpayers money to do everything. Stop giving Jack "wan kiss me ass tear jacket".

You dissecting..Bhai

yuh buddy warria no show up fuh the day

These now 18 prisoners were executed by FIRE under the care of the State, the government is responsible for their funeral and compensate their families. This is a slam down case for a good lawyer, and if you sue, you sue from the minister down.

"executed" by whom?

You dissecting..Bhai

yuh buddy warria no show up fuh the day

Warria busy building calf pens. He's got his brand in his back pocket.

Shit head I do not have to educate u about prison law but ask yourself why the fool Anil Is not screaming sue I make a new brand for thief now I looking for your family 

warrior posted:

Shit head I do not have to educate u about prison law but ask yourself why the fool Anil Is not screaming sue I make a new brand for thief now I looking for your family 

Warria brother, I agree with you here. I have never been in a prison. You have spoken like a true professional criminal. Seeing that you know about prison law, please explain the "dropping the soap" law and effects. Please explain all the situations and lingo the boys used on you during your vacation there.  

That's right. This is an excellent opportunity to sue these AFC/PNC clowns.

warrior posted:

Shut up, go mek another fowl pen.

That's low. KP, I am disappointed with your comment.