$1B coconut water factory on stream — Businessman Roopan Ramotar says agro-processing is way to go

April 4, 2016, http://guyanachronicle.com/1b-...essing-is-way-to-go/

A section of the coconut water factory under construction

WITH the steep drop in gold and rice prices countrywide, farmers and miners have thrown their hands in the air in despair, but Essequibo Coast businessman Roopan Ramotar has found a way to navigate himself out of these difficult circumstances.This seasoned entrepreneur is building a state-of-the-art coconut processing plant at Land of Plenty on the Essequibo Coast, and is hoping that the investment will yield abundant returns.

Ramotar told the Guyana Chronicle that the downturn in rice and gold prices has forced farmers to be innovative and to think outside the box to remain in business; and they happen to be lucky, he says, because the Essequibo is a wealthy county.

“Essequibo is not only wealthy in precious mineral resources, but it has an abundance of land and fresh water. When gold prices crashed about two years ago, I had a few dredges in the mines and I found the mining operation was becoming a challenge in terms of being financially viable. So I packed up and moved out because I saw the ‘gold’ elsewhere. I told my friends and family that I stop mining for gold and will be planting ‘gold’ instead, and they look at me in bemusement.”

Ramotar invested a portion of his savings in developing some of his rice lands into a coconut plantation; and from his years of investment in the rice, gold, and lumber industries, decided to take a bank loan, which he combined with some money of his own to roll out his new dream — a modern coconut industry.

The factory, a billion-dollar investment, is near completion and is expected to be operable in another six weeks. It will provide direct employment for some 40 Essequibians, and indirect employment for another 60.

Outfitted with bottle-washing, office and storage areas as well as a workers’ lounge, the facility will be bottling coconut water for export and for local consumption.

MARKET SECURED
Ramotar said he has already been contracted to supply 10,000 litres of coconut water per week to a market in Trinidad and Tobago. He said he sees this market as a start, and pointed out that his intention is to tap into other Caribbean markets and ultimately the North American market.

“The opportunity is there. When you go to the United States, you see in their supermarkets bottled coconut water. It some stores they sell it for as much as US$10 per bottle, and it is full of additives. We can produce fresh coconut water here and bottle it right here (his factory), and gain a foothold into these markets by producing a product of high and reputable quality,” Ramotar reasoned.

Seventy-five per cent of the coconuts for Ramotar’s factory will be supplied by his farms. He has one which is some 200 acres large; and another, some 300 acres in size, is in the making. The businessman is hoping that, by 2020, his farms will be producing at least 10 million nuts per annum, which should be enough to cater for a projected expansion in local and export sales of coconut water.

He pointed out that though it was the current misfortune in the gold and rice industries that pushed him into further diversification, he was greatly encouraged by the message of President David Granger, who has been repeatedly urging farmers to get into agro-processing.

SUPPORT NEEDED
Ramotar noted that while the idea of farmers getting into agro-processing is an excellent one, the Government needs to offer them some assistance in this regard.

Things are good for now, he said, because the price of fuel has almost hit rock bottom, but when prices pick up again, he predicted, businessmen and women will again feel the squeeze of high electricity tariffs.

“Agro industries will develop and thrive if Government provides much-needed support to them. I am highly encouraged by the President’s vision for more people to get into the agro-processing business. A good way in ensuring that these businesses grow and develop is by offering concessions to them.

What the Government can do is consider offering a five-year VAT exemption to persons in the business of ago-processing.”

This, Ramotar explained, will enable these operators to move from being small enterprises to becoming medium and large-scale businesses.

Agro-processing is the way to go, he stressed, pointing out that rice, sugar, bauxite, lumber and gold — all major national export commodities — have taken a downturn on the international market.

For now, Ramotar’s factory will be producing and bottling coconut water; but in the years ahead, he will be looking to get into the production of virgin coconut oil, canning of coconut milk, and other value-added activities.

“I see a great future in the coconut industry on the Essequibo Coast, and I would like other investors to be partner in my operations, particularly big enterprises; so that this business can expand (and) create more jobs for Essequibians while producing quality products that will support the health of consumers. I look forward to partnering with a reputable company in the field of marketing. Proper marketing will enable my company to reach the heights I envision for it,” the impassioned businessman said.

Ramotar can be contacted by email at: ramotarinvestment@yahoo.com , or by telephone on number 680-7814.

Onward and upward for the agroprocessors.  This will do well for job creation in a region where many rice farmers were displaced and need to find employment soon.  Dem need couple more entrepreneurs like this to get the economy going since the current government has done nothing in almost a year for job creation.  So this banna related to the former President?

"WITH the steep drop in gold and rice prices countrywide, farmers and miners have thrown their hands in the air in despair, but Essequibo Coast businessman Roopan Ramotar has found a way to navigate himself out of these difficult circumstances.This seasoned entrepreneur is building a state-of-the-art coconut processing plant at Land of Plenty on the Essequibo Coast, and is hoping that the investment will yield abundant returns."

Congrats to Roopan Ramoutar.

Great for him. I wondered when an entrepreneur would get around to this particular venture in Guyana. So many coconuts go to waste in Guyana. I am really happy to see this type of investment.

Coconut  water is so nutritious, packed with electrolytes.  My family guzzles Vita Coco brand coconut water packaged in Tetra Pak in Brazil. 

Also coconut oil is now in vogue, being marketed as the best oil for cooking. And also for hair and skin care. Maybe producing the oil will be his next venture. 

susan posted:

Great for him. I wondered when an entrepreneur would get around to this particular venture in Guyana. So many coconuts go to waste in Guyana. I am really happy to see this type of investment.

Coconut  water is so nutritious, packed with electrolytes.  My family guzzles Vita Coco brand coconut water packaged in Tetra Pak in Brazil. 

Also coconut oil is now in vogue, being marketed as the best oil for cooking. And also for hair and skin care. Maybe producing the oil will be his next venture. 

Coconut oil production was big business in Wakenaam,we had a small business during the tough days,and used to purchase from a vendor for resale.

"WITH the steep drop in gold and rice prices countrywide, farmers and miners have thrown their hands in the air in despair, but Essequibo Coast businessman Roopan Ramotar has found a way to navigate himself out of these difficult circumstances.This seasoned entrepreneur is building a state-of-the-art coconut processing plant at Land of Plenty on the Essequibo Coast, and is hoping that the investment will yield abundant returns."

Congrats to Roopan Ramoutar.

With a name like Ramoutar, he cannot go wrong. Congratulations to Roopan.

I like this idea.  The key here is print the word 'ORGANIC' on the box/bottle and it will take to the market instantly.  There are a few Brazilian companies that are exporting coconut water already to the US, but more than likely there is still room in the market.  Organic products in stores like Whole foods, Trader's Joe etc. go for a high price.

Good luck to this fella!

This fella Roopan Ramotar is related to Donald. The government should give him and any new small business tax exemption for the next 5 years, this will encourage foreign investments. I notice very little is done for Essequibo in the recent budget, wonder why?? On the other hand ,Guyana is the same old place, now we have 20% Harmon in Charge, bribery at a higher level.

Who buys 10 dollar coconut water bottle. Not me. I can pick about three bottles for that price.

Good luck to this businessman. However, as Prak say about the price... currently one  can is $ 1.29.  

Demand for Virgin Coconut Oil is growing in North America. Study the market and come up with a plan to produce what companies abroad will buy. It calls for serious studies and planning.

Guyana will have the same problem as it does with sugar and rice. Other countries produce more, and do so more cheaply.

Guyana needs to learn how to be an efficient producer, or identifies high end niches where cost isn't a factor, we will have a problem.

I believe there are people with hidden talents and strong drive to achieve who can come up with a solution to the problems of efficiency.  Just provide the environment and the incentives to do so and they will have a go at it. Let them know that if they succeed the rewards will be big. 

Indian ingenuity will always move Guyana forward.  Granger needs to move away from Brooklyn and into Queens.  And he need to get away from the campaign mode and surround himself with thoroughbreds and not mules!

Demand for Virgin Coconut Oil is growing in North America. Study the market and come up with a plan to produce what companies abroad will buy. It calls for serious studies and planning.

Guyana will have the same problem as it does with sugar and rice. Other countries produce more, and do so more cheaply.

Guyana needs to learn how to be an efficient producer, or identifies high end niches where cost isn't a factor, we will have a problem.

I have to agree with Caribj the East Asians like Thailand (culture very similar to Indos of Guyana) and Vietnam have figured this out.

I sit here in Guyana and laugh when I read your posts. Shows how much you guys know about people in Guyana, on the Essequibo. One question, just one. What that is very profitable comes through Essequibo? The biggest craze here is trying to convert liquid assets to physical assets.

Z
Zed posted:

I sit here in Guyana and laugh when I read your posts. Shows how much you guys know about people in Guyana, on the Essequibo. One question, just one. What that is very profitable comes through Essequibo? The biggest craze here is trying to convert liquid assets to physical assets.

That is a grim indictment of a huge area and great number of people of the country.

Who knows this venture might well be very successful. Given that there are already a few brands offering a similar product, I hope that Mr. Ramotar and company can offer a comparable or better product at competitive prices. Don't know what his costs of production will be but I guess he would done his feasibility studies etc. 

I wish him success. 

Coconut water in packages for overseas consumption doan really taste like the real thing. 

My feeling is, it is not authentic coconut water. It is more like a flavored water, with coconut submerged and tumbled to extract the taste.

Anyone have an answer to my assumption?

I hope there are more aspiring entrepreneurs like Mr Ramotar. Guyana has lots of products that can be export.  

What ever happened to the Coffee Beans from Pomerune  and the cocoa .

Coconut water in packages for overseas consumption doan really taste like the real thing. 

My feeling is, it is not authentic coconut water. It is more like a flavored water, with coconut submerged and tumbled to extract the taste.

I am in agreement,taste adulterated.

ian posted:

I hope there are more aspiring entrepreneurs like Mr Ramotar. Guyana has lots of products that can be export.  

You know the pomeroon coffee has that very distinctive and wonderful aroma and taste! Someone once told me that the coffee beans cultivated in the pomeroon are called coffea  Liberica. A company once packaged the roasted and ground coffee in a gold hued foil vacuum pack branded "New Era" or "Era" (I don't recall which it was) but I don't think that it  available in the local supermarkets anymore. 

I, like a lot of people, like to grind my  own roasted beans so maybe even just roasting the beans and packaging them would be a good start -- without having  to grind and then package. 

ian posted:

U know, there isn't a product that could not be packaged and ready for the market place. However, selling it is a big big problem. It is an art in mass consumption.

Besides, Guyanese are too distrustful. Doan count on that patronage.

What Tim Hortons ( Canada largest coffee restaurant) did was working with the farmers in Columbia, Brazil... they invest with the farmers and bought the beans from them. These beans are store some where in Canada, roasted and blend right here. This is a guarantee market for the farmers.  

Hopefully the government can offer tax incentives to the farmers and they can explore these options.  

Guyana has Plantain and pine apple  also  West Indian culture is growing in North America.  

susan posted:
ian posted:

You know the pomeroon coffee has that very distinctive and wonderful aroma and taste! Someone once told me that the coffee beans cultivated in the pomeroon are called coffea  Liberica. A company once packaged the roasted and ground coffee in a gold hued foil vacuum pack branded "New Era" or "Era" (I don't recall which it was) but I don't think that it  available in the local supermarkets anymore. 

I, like a lot of people, like to grind my  own roasted beans so maybe even just roasting the beans and packaging them would be a good start -- without having  to grind and then package. 

I was speaking to people from Imam Bacchus yesterday  and they indicated that they were reducing their use of pomeroon coffee because they can acquire better and cheaper beans from abroad. One time, I purchased their packaged coffee from Guyana Stores and sent abroad to my daughter. She was dissatisfied because there was a strong taste of dried shrimp. Reveals the last time I purchased their packaged coffee.

Z
ba$eman posted:

Indian ingenuity will always move Guyana forward.  Granger needs to move away from Brooklyn and into Queens.  And he need to get away from the campaign mode and surround himself with thoroughbreds and not mules!

Brown bai KKK at work again.

Yes "black man lazy, savage, and violent and can make NO contribution to Guyana, so ignore him"!

ian posted:

What Tim Hortons ( Canada largest coffee restaurant) did was working with the farmers in Columbia, Brazil... they invest with the farmers and bought the beans from them.

These farmers;

1.  are competitive in price

2. consistent in product quality

3. reliable in supply.

I know a JAMAICAN guy who imported fruit concentrates into the USA, for sale to US corporations. He complained about the Jamaican farmers.  I suggested Guyana, and his response was that Guyanese were even worse, and in addition transportation was a problem.

He sources out of Costa Rica, Colombia, DR, and Brazil.

So folks can dream all they want.  Guyanese in North America aren't going to buy a substandard product, high priced product that is sometimes in the stores, and sometimes not.

Until producers in CARICOM understand the 3 criteria that I outlined, they will NEVER survive in extra regional markets!

U know, there isn't a product that could not be packaged and ready for the market place. However, selling it is a big big problem. It is an art in mass consumption.

Besides, Guyanese are too distrustful. Doan count on that patronage.

I actually agree with you here.

Those who think that Guyanese will accept an inferior product, merely because it is Guyanese, need to think again.

Look at Barons, St. Lucia based, but with a Guyanese owner. This is one of the most successful brands of West Indian pepper sauce in North America. 

And in fact it stands by itself, as the Jamaican and Trini communities are much bigger, and so boost brands from those countries.  The St Lucian population is much smaller, and few Guyanese no the Baron connection to Guyana.

There is also the Bello brand out of Dominica, which faces some challenges in finding distributers, but is well regarded outside of the ethnic market, for those who know it.

Guyanese prefer opening up shopping malls, or building 10 story structures (occupants unknown), and think that this is development!

Zed posted:
susan posted:
ian posted:

I was speaking to people from Imam Bacchus yesterday  and they indicated that they were reducing their use of pomeroon coffee because they can acquire better and cheaper beans from abroad. One time, I purchased their packaged coffee from Guyana Stores and sent abroad to my daughter. She was dissatisfied because there was a strong taste of dried shrimp. Reveals the last time I purchased their packaged coffee.

" there was a strong taste of dried shrimp"

Mustbe from oneadem sweaty gyal who been pickin the coffee, she musta sat in it for awhile. Anyway, BIGUP to the banna, hope he does well.

Pure coconut water does not have a long shelf life, the most two days, after that it goes bad. To export coconut water it has to be frozen and remain in that state to just before consumption. I brought coconut water  from Guyana and other other countries in frozen state and kept it frozen for weeks until I ready to use , then I allow to defrost, it taste fresh. In Cuba the locals are not allowed to pick the green coconuts, because the rest of the nut is wasted. When the nuts are dry, you still get some water, but also get the nuts, the fiber, and the shell, from the nuts you make the oil, the fiber makes mattresses and cushions and the shells make ornaments and can be used as a source of fuel.

alena06 posted:

I like this idea.  The key here is print the word 'ORGANIC' on the box/bottle and it will take to the market instantly.  There are a few Brazilian companies that are exporting coconut water already to the US, but more than likely there is still room in the market.  Organic products in stores like Whole foods, Trader's Joe etc. go for a high price.

Good luck to this fella!

You cannot simply slap on the label "Organic" and tink you will get away with it. It has to be certified "organic". You can say natural or all natural and no one would bother you.

So what else can people in GY export.  How about cassava flour?  - it's gluten free and costs quite a penny.  Gluten free products seem to be hitting the market with a force.  How about 'sour sop'  for it's 'supposedly' cancer fighting agents?

alena06 posted:

So what else can people in GY export.  How about cassava flour?  - it's gluten free and costs quite a penny.  Gluten free products seem to be hitting the market with a force.  How about 'sour sop'  for it's 'supposedly' cancer fighting agents?

Nuff Nuff thing them can export. 5 case a. Coconut water... 5 case a Marijuana