5 bandits killed during shootout with Police

…high-powered weapons recovered

Screen Shot 2018-07-25 at 8.23.07 PM

By Bhisham Mohamed

Five armed bandits who were allegedly attempting to rob a house at Pattensen, Turkeyen, Greater Georgetown were shot dead during a gun battle with the Police in the wee hours of Tuesday.
The dead men have been identified as: Timothy St Hill, 38, of Warlock, East Ruimveldt, Georgetown and also of Diamond New Housing Scheme, East Bank Demerara; Andrew Daly, 40, of Westminster, West Bank Demerara; Levi Braithwaite, 31, of North Ruimveldt and also of Albouystown, Georgetown; Ian Forde, and Jermaine Doobay.
Well-known criminal St Hill was charged in 2015 for possession of firearm and ammunition, and in 2016 was arraigned for narcotics possession. In 2017, he was slapped with attempted robbery and break-and-enter charges. In 2018, he was charged for setting on fire the Grove-Diamond Police Station while in custody.
According to Police, St Hill was instrumental in providing medical supplies, foodstuff and clothing to the notorious Camp Street prison escapees.
Levi Braithwaite was arrested in 2017 for armed robbery; while Daly was charged for break-and-enter and larceny in 2017. The Police are yet to confirm whether either Forde or Doobay had brushes with the law.
Preliminary reports from the Police detail that at about 03:00h on Tuesday, the five men were attempting to break into a house owned by a Guyanese who resides in Florida. The men had already cut the locks to the gate of the property, located at Lots 8 and 9 Pattensen, Turkeyen, Greater Georgetown, and had entered the compound. But as they attempted to gain access into the house, the caretaker and his family were alerted, and quickly retreated to a secure room in the house, from where they called 911.
At an emergency press conference, Acting Top Cop, David Ramnarine, explained that at the time the 911 call was received, an anti-crime patrol unit in ‘C’ Division was aware that a CID Headquarters plainclothes patrol was in the vicinity of Sophia, and when they contacted them, the two units joined forces and proceeded to the location.
“They proceeded rather cautiously, by ensuring that the vehicles were secluded in a particular area… As they arrived at the location, two men were seen in the yard with rifles. Police challenged them, the men opened fire on the Police, and (the Police) returned fire… Both men fell.
“A third man who was in the house ran out and was caught in the exchange of gunfire, and he collapsed on the ground. Seconds after, a white motorcar drove up, and two occupants exited and opened fire on the Police. The Police took cover and returned fire. Both males fell,” the acting Police Commissioner explained.
He further related that an AK-47 assault rifle and two magazines taped together were found close to the motorcar. In addition, a quantity of live rounds and two rifles were found in close proximity to the two men who were shot in the yard.
Also at the scene, three mobile phones, a pair of gloves, a nipper, two crowbars, a hacksaw, four warheads, a pair of slippers, an identification card, tope, bank cards, a membership card to Princess Casino and other items were found. The Police also retrieved 24 spent shells of two different caliber weapons at the scene.
The acting Top Cop also related that the front wall of the building was riddled with bullets, and several bullet holes were seen.
The shot men were transported to the Georgetown Public Hospital, where they were pronounced dead on arrival.
When Guyana Times visited the medical institution, a number of relatives of the dead men were seen in the mortuary area, waiting to get a glimpse of the bodies as they were being transported to the Lyken Funeral Home.
The relatives of the dead men accuse the Police of cold-blooded murder. They claim St Hill was seen in the company of a top-ranking officer of the Guyana Police Force on Monday evening.
Guyana Times was told that the men were after a safe which contained money in the house at the time of the attempted robbery. Information, however, remains sketchy as to how the men became aware that there was a safe in the house.

Pattensen residents recalled being awakened by the sound of gunshots. One man told the media that after hearing gunshots, he immediately contacted 911 to make a report, and was told that the matter was already reported and that ranks were already at the scene.
Another man posited that the standoff between the Police and bandits lasted for quite some time, and after the ordeal, they became aware that five bandits were shot and killed.
“I living here all meh life, and this never happen. I happy that they catch the bandits, because they (bandits) does only know to jump people house, rob them and kill them,” the man related.
The acting Police Commissioner explained that the Office of Professional Responsibility (OPR) is in the process of questioning the ranks who were involved in the shooting incident.
Meanwhile, he commended the lawmen for their bravery in protecting the citizenry, while noting that their efforts must be recognised, since, during the ordeal, they did not retreat, but rather put up a fight. No Police rank was injured during the shootout with the bandits.

• Screen Shot 2018-07-25 at 8.23.07 PM

Shut your stinking mouth. Are you Moses Nagamootoo ?

It is a new article. Check the date and source. It is full of details of the crime and take down by police.

Does anyone question you when you spam the board ?

It is a new article. Check the date and source. It is full of details of the crime and take down by police.

It's clear,your intended motive.

"Another man posited that the standoff between the Police and bandits lasted for quite some time, and after the ordeal, they became aware that five bandits were shot and killed.
“I living here all meh life, and this never happen. I happy that they catch the bandits, because they (bandits) does only know to jump people house, rob them and kill them,” the man related."

What’s the motive?

Yujii, you cutting into slop can boy earnings. How the man gun feed he pickney and save fuh retirement?  Maybe lilmohan gun give he a lil brace. 

Done retire,eat your heart out,

few hrs to work to cut some time.

What’s the motive?

Use your noodle you will figure it out.

Yujii, you cutting into slop can boy earnings. How the man gun feed he pickney and save fuh retirement?  Maybe lilmohan gun give he a lil brace. 

You see that as a point of envy? You just closer to the grave, in fact one foot already in the coffin given the health problems. 

Ha..ha..clean bill of health,no meds,good genes.

Worry about yourself bhai,Django doan wish bad things to anyone.

Worry about yourself bhai.

Bull crap, the after effects of the fumes from pnc slop can can have dire effects as well as the lead fumes from soldering bruck down electronics. 

Worry about yourself bhai.

Bull crap, the after effects of the fumes from pnc slop can can have dire effects as well as the lead fumes from soldering bruck down electronics. 

You are clueless,nothing to prove to you.

What’s the motive?

Answer me.  I don’t want to hear about noodle.  This is not a cooking contest.

What’s the motive?

Like you tun me momma.

Time will tell, don't forget Jalil another one who karma followed. 

Doan worry about others,think about your self.

Jalil was a good man,die hard PPP-ite,so i have heard.

Mitwah is another good example, he has lost his marbles. He cusses down everyone from left to right. Is that a sign like that of Jalil ?

What’s the motive?

Read how you drove alone to PA non stop. Dem depends must have been soaked. 

Mitwah is another good example, he has lost his marbles. He cusses down everyone from left to right. Is that a sign like that of Jalil ?

Could be, both battie and po heading for the graveyard.  Them chaps gun nack cuttas with jalil.

One can't defy the inevitable, the ones that wisheth are first to go,take note.

How low can some on go,making a mockery of the name of folks that gone beyond.

Both of you need some introspection.

One can't defy the inevitable, the ones that wisheth are first to go,take note.

How low can some on go,making a mockery of the name of folks that gone beyond.

Both of you need some introspection.

Like d2 borrow yuh handle, yuh knacking we with big word that you certainly didn't larn in school given your admittedly limited education.. 

Needless to say yall gun get what's coming via karma. 

Like d2 borrow yuh handle, yuh knacking we with big word that you certainly didn't larn in school given your admittedly limited education.

Needless to say yall gun get what's coming via karma

When did i say that ?

Suh you a wan judge too ?

Like d2 borrow yuh handle, yuh knacking we with big word that you certainly didn't larn in school given your admittedly limited education.

When did i say that ?

Then tell us what you have your masters degree in, spreading pnc propaganda?

When did i say that ?

You doan need a masters degree to excel in life,check you will find nuff tap daag don't have such.May be there is an envy.

When did i say that ?

You doan need a masters degree to excel in life,check you will find nuff tap daag don't have such.May be there is an envy.

True enough, but I didn't ask about excelling in life, but rather how educated you are. The under educated like yourself will normally use this line as an excuse for lack of education. Not that a lack of education is a sin, but it become so when dummies try to pass themselves off as intellectuals on forums. 

Give a reason why should i declare my education to you.

Now let ask you wan question what Django education got to do with you,no one else is saying anything,is there a grugde you have against him ?

I doan see you complain of others or question their education.

Well what can i say,you seem to think only the edumacted only have a say or be members of forums,is it because you can match some folks here.

Now let ask you wan question what Django education got to do with you,no one else is saying anything,is there a grugde you have against him ?

Well what can i say,you seem to think only the edumacted only have a say or be members of forums,is it because you can match some folks here.

You shouldn't share, there is no need to, we all can tell that you one short of a full dozen.  Others don't fetch pnc slop can and pretend to have intellect on matters beyond their comprehension.

You wanted to know,then back out like a beaten dog with his tails between the hind legs.

Who is the we ??

You getting chucked from corner to corner in retaliation you trying to belittle by name calling..etc..is that what you called debate and in the know.

Don't fool yourself from day one you can't match lots of folks here,including Django.

You wanted to know,then back out like a beaten dog with his tails between the hind legs.

Who is the we ??

You getting chucked from corner to corner in retaliation you trying to belittle by name calling..etc..is that what you called debate and in the know.

Don't fool yourself from day one you can't match lots of folks here,including Django.

I ain't the one here known as "slow boy". 

Who is the we ??

I ain't the one here known as "slow boy". 

Banna are you not tired of getting chucked from corner to corner on this forum.

Your sidekick Yugli,pulled that one when he was chucked like you.

That is the crew traits in retaliation.

What exactly is the problem as far as Yuggi is concerned? Is it that the police did not let the bandits escape even though they criminals were black? No doubt if the five bandits were Indians then Yuggi would be claiming:
1. Extra judiciary killing by the PNC police of a couple of armed guards defending the property of a Guyanese living abroad.
or
2. Part time policemen trying to burgle the house of a Guyanese living abroad were confronted by five armed guards of Indian descent, who were then murdered by the PNC police who came to their aid in order to make sure there were no witnesses.

Mr.T posted:

What exactly is the problem as far as Yuggi is concerned? Is it that the police did not let the bandits escape even though they criminals were black? No doubt if the five bandits were Indians then Yuggi would be claiming:
1. Extra judiciary killing by the PNC police of a couple of armed guards defending the property of a Guyanese living abroad.
or
2. Part time policemen trying to burgle the house of a Guyanese living abroad were confronted by five armed guards of Indian descent, who were then murdered by the PNC police who came to their aid in order to make sure there were no witnesses.

The problem is that you boys would scream extra judicial killing, was this ppp time.  Now you suddenly applaud police for taking no prisoners.