December 17,2017

The government collected US$18 million from ExxonMobil as a signing bonus and opened a floodgate of criticisms. The most recent of the criticisms was that “they intended to steal it,” that comment coming from none other than Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo.
I noted that the money was deposited into the Central Bank and that no fewer than six people were authorised signatories. That did not mean that six signatures were required for withdrawals, but there were checks and balances. But I wasn’t satisfied that the money would eventually disappear, so I began to wonder who would steal the money.
Of course, the Finance Minister would have access to the money, as would some other people in the Ministry of Finance. I then asked none other than Anil Nandlall about stealing money and hiding it. Nandlall said to me that it is easy to hide money, and opened my eyes to some things that had been troubling me for a long time.
I had been hearing reports of government officials stealing money from the public treasury. Being naïve, I thought that there would be some paper trail, but when the investigators failed to find many of them I began to understand that Anil Nandlall knew a thing or two which he was not prepared to share with me.
Then my mind shifted to my friend, Winston Jordan. I never knew him to be a thief and like me he was mortally afraid of jail.
I thought of some others and at each thought I realized that the Finance Minister would know when any money was being moved. But then again, my suspicious mind moved to the fact that my friend Winston could work in cahoots with the person trying to steal the money.
That didn’t add up, because thieves tend to work with people they trust. Winston does not trust too many people. So I began to think about a direct link to the oil company. Money could be offered to local individuals as they would say, under the table. It would have to be put in some account. If it is a local account, the bank would observe a suspicious transaction, unless the bank was in league with this person or persons.
President David Granger did not rule out the fact that people in his government could be compromised. He reminded that the Man above could not offer a guarantee that among his followers would not be people who would be compromised. But then he told me that the person would be caught and I did not doubt him.
The suspicion of theft must have lingered in my mind from days gone by. I remember at a press conference asking Mr. Bharrat Jagdeo whether he was a wealthy person. He told me to ask Glenn Lall that question, and I did, although I knew the answer.
My reason for asking Jagdeo that question was to determine the source of his wealth.
Anil Nandlall told me that when Jagdeo became president he had nothing. It meant that the wealth was accumulated over the twelve years of the presidency, so I looked at the salary and allowances. They did not add up.
I looked at others, one of them being Irfaan Ali. He too is a wealthy person. He had no inheritance, but he became wealthy without playing the stock market.
Anil Nandlall is wealthy, but he was a lawyer of some distinction.
He got his money from his profession. I perused the list of wealthy people who served in Government positions and concluded that money came from a variety of sources, most of them illegal.
That being the case, it is not difficult to understand why the accusation of theft would surface. From the opposition benches. Member of Parliament Juan Edghill is leading the charge, and for good reason.
He enjoyed the good life during the tenure of the previous administration, to the point where he too is comfortable, but not as comfortable as some of the others.
He wants a return to the seat of power and this time he would ensure that he never has to worry about his future. He would redouble his capacity to gain wealth.
But for all this I am still puzzled by the attitude of the Foreign Minister. He enjoys a close relationship with the oil giant, even closer than the Minister who has responsibility for Natural Resources.
He is pushing the hardest for Kaieteur News to back off on its criticisms and exposes of ExxonMobil. I can understand the development of a friendship, but this seems to be even more than a friendship. It is as if there is a relationship.
The oil company cannot be fazed by a small backyard newspaper, and if something happens, most companies would approach the newspaper either to lodge a formal complaint or to offer a chance at an interview to explain its position. This has not been done.
And there is the comment by the Foreign Minister that he advised President David Granger to keep the US$18 million a secret. Just a day before the president had spoken on the issue and had accepted responsibility.
In the world of politics, the Head of State invariably has the last say, so why did the Foreign Minister seek to comment after the president?
At Friday’s press conference hosted by President Granger I was tempted to ask if there was going to be any sanction, even at the personal level, but I let the opportunity slip. Indeed the Foreign Minister would be involved, because of the territorial issue with Venezuela.
That country is laying claim to the waters in which ExxonMobil is operating.
However, apart from giving assurances to the oil giant, I cannot understand anything else. The oil company complained to the Foreign Minister instead of to the Minister with responsibility for Information and the Foreign Minister communicated his displeasure with a reporter instead of the administration of the newspaper. Life is like that, I suppose.

Cobra posted:

Nandlall said to me that it is easy to hide money. Really? Did he have any practice of hiding money? 

Anil Nandlall told me that when Jagdeo became president he had nothing. It meant that the wealth was accumulated over the twelve years of the presidency, so I looked at the salary and allowances. They did not add up.

Here is another piece by Anil,

Wondering if there is any truth here.

"I looked at others, one of them being Irfaan Ali. He too is a wealthy person. He had no inheritance, but he became wealthy without playing the stock market."

Here is the other one,how can this young man became so wealthy with MInister Salary.

I have to hand it to them though. It's hard to crack the PPP for stealing money during Jagdeo and Ashni Singh time as finance ministers. Them boys are master chefs to cook the book. Lol 

Cobra posted:

I have to hand it to them though. It's hard to crack the PPP for stealing money during Jagdeo and Ashni Singh time as finance ministers. Them boys are master chefs to cook the book. Lol 

Certain software in the Accounting system at MOF,was not activated.

Papers can shredded or burn.

Classic for third world countries,shaat man and brassi cut tracks after PPP lost.

Look at these two slop can jackasses arguing about ppp stealing when it is pnc that looking to huff the money. In fact not one ppp jailed since pnc come to power, yet the the jackasses continue to bray about ppp corruption. 

Cobra posted:

Nandlall said to me that it is easy to hide money. Really? Did he have any practice of hiding money? 

When did you speak with Anil .. Djanjo . And you know he’s a lawyer by profession .. don’t you 

Cobra posted:

When did you speak with Anil .. Djanjo . And you know he’s a lawyer by profession .. don’t you 

"I looked at others, one of them being Irfaan Ali. He too is a wealthy person. He had no inheritance, but he became wealthy without playing the stock market."

Here is the other one,how can this young man became so wealthy with MInister Salary.

I don’t know if these guys help them selves .. I don’t have the evidence but Djanjo where is your evidence that the minister thief... we are still waiting for only one to be jail .

1. How do you know , they hasn’t taken loans / mortgage to built their properties .

if we are to compare their rise to fame financially to you , should we assume to were shipping drugs to the states . 

Dude , did you forget what the PNC did before PPP won in 1992  or you have amnesia .

here is another one ... how could you own all them property by just been a technician .. this is nothing personal against you but becareful of the questions you asked .

focus on what is happening now .

Yes the ppp violates the constitution in there 23 years in office .. these stooge in government now equate the same amount of time in just 3 Years ... focus on this .

stop look at others worth, you reminds me of the mud rat coolie that Prince would describe .

here is another one ... how could you own all them property by just been a technician .. this is nothing personal against you but becareful of the questions you asked .

Denial...denial.

What do do think Technician works for minimum wage ?.In the ole USA investing in properties are easy Pay down 20 % and shows the bank the property brings in income you are good to go.Further please be informed Django purchased a Business in 2005,by taking Bank loan and Equity from his residential home,made over 500k in five years,all by working long hrs,clean money bhai.

Can that be said of the crooks you support.

Denial...denial.

What do do think Technician works for minimum wage ?.In the ole USA investing in properties are easy Pay down 20 % and shows the bank the property brings in income you are good to go.Further please be informed Django purchased a Business in 2005,by taking Bank loan and Equity from his residential home,made over 500k in five years,all by working long hrs,clean money bhai.

Did you declare the cash payments under the table bai??

Denial...denial.

Dude, I applaud you for the risk you took to climb the success ladder .

1. What prevent the government ministers for doing the same like you .

Djanjo , I am asking you again to show the evidence of thief to prove your case . I will give to the entire week to go hunting .

DJANGO, THERE YOU GO AGAIN,WHO CARES IF YOU MADE OVER $500K TO SOME ON GNI THAT'S CHICKEN FEED. YOU SHOULD BE AWARDED THE BRAGGING RIGHTS ON GNI.

You see it as bragging,Django clears his name,question was asked about how his pennies were earned.

I don't care the pennies are chicken feed to others,good for them.

When your compadre boast you stay silent.

DJANGO, THERE YOU GO AGAIN,WHO CARES IF YOU MADE OVER $500K TO SOME ON GNI THAT'S CHICKEN FEED. YOU SHOULD BE AWARDED THE BRAGGING RIGHTS ON GNI.

You see it as bragging,Django clears his name,question was asked about his achievement.

I don't care what i earned is chicken feed to others,good for them.When your compadre boast you stay silent.

I never see anyone on GNI put a numeric value on their wealth. Everyone owns a house and car but don't have to display how expensive and how big. You are doing this too often, are you seeking attention.

You see it as bragging,Django clears his name,question was asked about his achievement.

I don't care what i earned is chicken feed to others,good for them.When your compadre boast you stay silent.

I never see anyone on GNI put a numeric value on their wealth. Everyone owns a house and car but don't have to display how expensive and how big. You are doing this too often, are you seeking attention.

Hogwash,

it was questioned how my pennies were earned,and an example was given.

Django is not the boasting type,material gains don't bother him.

Hogwash,

it was questioned how my pennies were earned,and an example was given.

Django is not the boasting type,material gains don't bother him.

KP has residual income. 

I would suggest that you drive along the West Coast Demerara highway and question all those big houses and big businesses and ask if all those people are thieves. You are suffering from a case of jealousy, if you were a clean coolie you would know that them are hard working people, they would eat dhall and rice but always save for hard times. My grandfather used to say," is not how much you earn, but how much you save". I'll suggest you stop this money talk, go to the business Forum.

Irfaan is getting married next week, hope he invite you.

I would suggest that you drive along the West Coast Demerara highway and question all those big houses and big businesses and ask if all those people are thieves. You are suffering from a case of jealousy, if you were a clean coolie you would know that them are hard working people, they would eat dhall and rice but always save for hard times. My grandfather used to say," is not how much you earn, but how much you save". I'll suggest you stop this money talk, go to the business Forum.

Better than that, is the Inland Revenue should call them in and review their change in Capital Net worth and see if they paid the right amount of property taxes during the PPP reign.

Why only the PPP regime? They should audit all the public servants who have large bank accounts.

I think they can only go back 7 years.

Kp,

i am not the jealous type,i admire when honest people move up the ladder,lf i can help i surely do.

We are discussing Politicians especially in third world countries,they are not clean as a whistle.

You guys have the habit of questioning posters gains,when ever they speak out against the crooked politicians.People have to hold their leaders accountable,tell them when they are wrong and pat their shoulders when they do good.Why turn the other side when they goofed up.

That's in Canada.

A company carrying on business in Guyana is required to keep proper accounts and records and is required to retain these accounts for a period of at least eight years after the completion of the transactions, acts, or operations to which they relate.

The Commissioner is empowered to raise an assessment for tax or additional tax within seven years after the expiration of the year of assessment.

I am not sure if same applies to Individuals. Most likely it does.

Django, you seem to agree with the statement, please list for us the wealth that Irfan Ali has in Guyana and outside of Guyana and the source of the information so that it can be verified.

just wanting to ensure that gossip or rumours do not get passed as facts. Also, after listening about all the allegations about theft by previous government ministers and none being jailed as yet.

Z
Zed posted:

Django, you seem to agree with the statement, please list for us the wealth that Irfan Ali has in Guyana and outside of Guyana and the source of the information so that it can be verified.

just wanting to ensure that gossip or rumours do not get passed as facts. Also, after listening about all the allegations about theft by previous government ministers and none being jailed as yet.

You must be blind like a bat dumb like a door knob.

And he forgot and posted the other day he drives an old car.  he also stated he will pay off for the business when he is 65. When you talk too much here people figure out all your lies😃😃

alena06 posted:

And he forgot and posted the other day he drives an old car.  he also stated he will pay off for the business when he is 65. When you talk too much here people figure out all your lies😃😃

Helena said she is 54. That makes you a granny 

Last edited by Mitwah
alena06 posted:

Wah you seh deh Bai Djangy? Pull a surprise Grainger excuse pun we.

alena06 posted:

Django, probably read the book "Rich Dad Poor Dad" and learned about Passive Income and Residual Income. This is not taught in Colleges or Universities. I learned about it from my associates. 

alena06 posted:

Lies...what do i have gain ?

Business paid off years ago,Commercial Property paying for itself,lots of dough in equity,the left over buy breakfast.

I still drive my 99 Chrysler TC,10 minutes from home to work,it has a sentimental value,will keep it until i expire.

alena06 posted:

Django, probably read the book "Rich Dad Poor Dad" and learned about Passive Income and Residual Income. This is not taught in Colleges or Universities. I learned about it from my associates. 

Tell them Mits,

Django don't trust Stock Market.

Zed posted:

You must be blind like a bat dumb like a door knob.

Mits, is that all you have? Well, I should not expect better from you. Maybe, answer the question for  Django because he has not gotten to it as yet

Z