GECOM may be the cause of civil disobedience in Guyana, one of the most important elections in our country's history. Since election day, citizens from both major political parties are standing their ground for fairness in the process. Today, they're protests in many areas with some incidents. If this is allowed to go on, we may see something that Guyana has never seen before. I pray for peace and goodwill to prevail for all Guyanese.
PNc THUGS are going to PPP PEACEFUL PROTEST AROUND THE COUNTRY AND STARTING TROUBLE!!
Diplomats concerned over âelectoral fraudâ, call on President Granger not to be sworn in
See full statement:
The Heads of Mission of the Embassy of the United States of America, H.E. Sarah-Ann Lynch, the British High Commission, H.E. Greg Quinn, the Canadian High Commission, H.E. Lilian Chatterjee, and the Delegation of the European Union, H.E Fernando Ponz-Canto, express deep concern over credible allegations of electoral fraud which may influence the results of this election.
We call on all to ensure proper procedures are in place to yield a credible election result. A fair and free process is vital for the maintenance and reinforcement of democracy in Guyana.
We call on President Granger to avoid a transition of government which we believe would be unconstitutional as it would be based on a vote tabulation process that lacked credibility and transparency.
I hope not. NO one wins in a civil War!! Destruction and mayhem wins!!
Welcome to the forum PHARAOH. Looks like you are up to a good start.
US, UK, EU, Canada reject Region 4 unverified count
APNU/AFC rigging gambit
âĶcall for GECOM to re-tabulate from SOPs
âĶbusinesses up in arms
After the controversial and unverified declaration of Region Four results without verifying the Statements of Poll on Thursday, the international community has united in rejecting the illegal declaration and urging the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) to return to the statutory verification process.
This was communicated in a joint statement issued by British High Commissioner Gregory Quinn, United States Ambassador Sarah-Ann Lynch, Canadian High Commissioner Lilian Chatterjee and European Union Ambassador Fernando Ponz-Canto.
In their statement, the group noted that âbased on our observation of todayâs GECOM proceedings at their Region Four office and the fact that the full count was not completed, we question the credibility of the Region four results published by GECOM todayâ.
âWe urge the Guyana Elections Commission and all relevant actors to expeditiously complete the tabulation on the basis of the statement of polls. We call on all Guyanese to remain calm and patient and for all leaders to exercise responsibility and restraint,â the envoys, representing the most powerful countries in the world, said.
Appalled
The western democraciesâ sentiments were in sync with the local business community which insisted that the electoral process that undergirds democratic governance should not be subverted. One of the largest business conglomerate, the Beepat Group, vowed to close the largest mall in Guyana until GECOM resolves the counting issue in Region 4. The owner, Roy Beepat, called upon other businesses to follow his lead.
Meanwhile, the Private Sector Commission (PSC) made it clear that they are appalled at GECOMâs attempts to trample on the statutory process. The Commission also noted that GECOMâs actions are occurring under the watch of Chairperson Retired Justice Claudette Singh.
âThe PSC is appalled at the blatant and deliberate attempts by GECOM to destroy our democracy by derailing the tabulation process of the 2020 elections results and attempts to subvert the will of the people. It is clear to all that the Chairman of GECOM is allowing without objection the attempts to perpetuate election fraud under her watch.â
âThe tabulation process has certainly raised doubts about the integrity of the GECOM Chair, the Chief Elections Officer and some of their staffers. The threats to withdraw accreditation from the International Observers further erodes confidence in the process.â
The Commission urged GECOM to return to the verification process. It also urged President David Granger to step up and ensure that credible elections are held, lest Guyana falls under the international sanctions that come with being a pariah state.
âThe PSC is calling on GECOM to recommence the verification of the remaining Statement of Polls for District 4 that will lead to a credible declaration of the results. The PSC is clear on the implications of not having a democratically-elected government.
âWe cannot allow our country at this time to be isolated and sanctioned by the international community. We call upon President Granger to ensure that the electoral process is completed in accordance with the law.â
During an interview with this publication, PSC Chairman, retired Captain Gerry Gouveia, made clear the implications for if President Granger is elected through a rigged process. According to him, the international community could come down on Guyana âlike a ton of bricksâ.
âWe have called on (GECOM) to return to the tabulation process. They must go back in and finish the tabulation process. Without that tabulation process, these elections will be nil, the President would be illegal and the government would not be a democratically elected government.â
âThe international community would come down on our country like a ton of bricks. If these elections are not endorsed by the international community, Guyana as a country will face enormous challenges internationally,â Gouveia also said.
I think that Granger should be allowed to keep his 'presidential ' vehicle along with nagamotoo and their entourage as part the negotiation for a peaceful Guyana
Claudie didn't turn out to be fit and propah after all ð
This is a slap on the face of all Guyanese. The Amerindian people votes have also been stolen by the PNC. I hope the ABC countries keep the pressure on. I have no faith Caricom to do something for Guyana.
Caricom??!! The only time they find their voice is when PPP in Govt. Go figure!!
Hmmm...Egypt Fayroh? Hey hey hey...bai deh need farrin support foh doh happen. Right now Jagdoe go get he poor Indos dem foh march in hot sun. Lewe see which malitia group dem go rely pon dis time...hey hey hey. A want dem know do gooder and godly chuchman Granger gat Cuba lock down...hey hey hey.
fayroh bai...Granja does go chuch and neel and pray Sunday and rig eleckshun Monday, tyes, wed, thurs, fri and saturday...hey hey hey.
@Former Member
They have to return all that Ismail the property of Guyana including their vehicles. Claudette Singh is a thief and should be put behind bars, as well as many others. And, what the hell you talking about negotiations? Are you out of your damn mind?
@Former Member
negotiate to elucidate the hapless bro, ie civil obedience
A PPPC government will give their supporters bread crumbs and give the opposition supporters the bread to show their one love ðĪ
I notice Indians are getting brave than anytime before. From all indication, they are in their rights and must commend to show courage. At the same time, not all of the supporters from APNU/AFC are the same and must not be looked down upon.
Agree. WE must not predict behavior but wait for the videos to show reality!! However, the PNC has the goods to stop the madness BUT Power not only blinds you but make you indifferent!!
Claudette Singh said all of Guyana oil cannot move her from carrying our duty according to the constitution of Guyana. Where is she? Did she see what is happening in the street?
Claudette is a PNC racist.
Talk is CHEAP! She had a PLAN with Granger, so it seems!!
Perhaps, Claudette Sing is speed-reading to get a glimmer of the Guyana Constitution and Laws.
@Former Member
How do you negotiate with a man with a known violent thief with Bible in his hand? It is up to the PPP supporters to hold their party leaders feet to the fire and demand equal treatment in every aspect of their lives and communities and country. Everyone, regardless of race should receive equal benefit from their elected government. Political leaders must understand that the people of their country are their employers and they are our employees.
Indians, Douglas and allies need to get their own country. That is the only way they will get the institutions to protect them from genocide.
People in Guyana are not sitting down. They spend many hours awake since Monday to see justice and fairness in our election process. To this day, GECOM Chairwoman cannot be seen or heard from. She has no regard for the will of the people or the safety of lives or whatever damage this will send to the rest of the world.
Region 4 Commander relieved of duties after refusal to remove PPP Commissioner from GECOMâs Command Centre
Assistant Commissioner of Police, Edgar Thomas was today relieved of his duties as Regional Commander of Georgetown/East Bank Demerara. A source told Guyana Standard that Thomas was instructed by his senior to remove Peopleâs Progressive Party/Civic (PPPC), Commissioner, Sase Gunraj from the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) Command Centre at High and Hadfield Street. The office of the Returning Officer for Region Four is also housed there.
Thomas refused to carry out the instructions saying that Gunraj is a legitimate member of the Commission. Sometime after, he received a call from his superior who told him that he was relieved of his duties. Thomas has since been transferred to another police division. Guyana Standard was unable to confirm which division. Superintendent Phillip Azore now replaces him.
Claudette Singh said all of Guyana oil cannot move her from carrying our duty according to the constitution of Guyana. Where is she? Did she see what is happening in the street?
Na she lack up in one room. Jagdeo say a room door na gat handle outside. The champion of SOP sey dem a hold she hastage. So she mus be lack up in de with the hostage takers. How she a get food an so bai? Guyana story gat melady.
@Billy Ram Balgobin If Justice Singh is a racist she musbe hate either she dadee or mamee. Which one?
So Gunraj can't go to work now?
What has happened to Singh, Lowenfield and Mingo? They too can't go to work either?
When all of this is done and it proves intentional fraud, Claudette Singh and GECOM CEO must be hung for causing Guyana and its people this much pain.
Look at Singh's face how it ugly. That is harsher than any amount of hanging. Look at Amna Ali how she fugly too.
Was there any rope in that room?
Ramsaroop can get back his money only if the Party borrowed the money from him and he has a receipt to prove it.
Totaram, Sorry buddy, Suicide is a crime.
Ksazma, Considering his age, and although grey in the hair, he is as handsome as ever.
Who has 200 us to give to 10 thousand people each in Guyana. I don't believe it in a second.
PPP won the election.
@Former MemberHow would I know if rope was in the room? Remember the door has no handle on the outside . Champion of SOPS said so--the video is on FB.
Re: Ramsaroop Mouth open story jump out . This is the kind of "crookishness" that now characterizes the PPP. Granger is right to stand firm.
Next thing Ramsaroop should address is how much he paid Charandass. Remember he was sitting right behind the man in parliament. He may have been protecting his money.
When will you stop fabricating story? Its been 2 months and still you cannot present any evidence of that UWI investigation you claimed you knew of . I gone call you latisha now ... the famous antiman in Guyana, because you seems to know everybody story.