A ‘dark period’ in Guyana

By Rickey Singh, Story Created: Jul 16, 2013 at 8:20 PM ECT, Story Updated: Jul 16, 2013 at 10:00 PM ECT, Source

IT HAS long been recognised that Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana have much more in common than the other 13 member  states  of our Caribbean Community, particularly in relation to ethnicities and cultures, though less so in the case of Dutch-speaking Suriname.

Apart from their predominant population of African and Indian descent and voting patterns that often reflect ethnic preferences, these Caricom members states have also had their respective share of grave political turmoils of varying dimensions.

Trinidad  and Tobago has had its attempted coups-one involving the military; and Guyana has endured recurring politically driven racial conflicts as well as political assassinations, the most infamous act being the murder of Dr Walter Rodney during the long dictatorial regime of the late president Forbes Burnham.

What, thankfully, Trinidad and Tobago has not experienced and which must not be an occurrence in any of our multi-ethnic, multi-cultural Caribbean societies is the heinous act of “ethnic cleansing” of which Guyanese of Indian descent became victims during one of the worst periods of political conflicts in Guyana’s pre-independence history.

Most regrettably, this tragic occurrence had to be recalled when partisan party politicking, with an inescapable racial overtone, surfaced earlier this month at a commemoration ceremony for 43 Guyanese of African descent, organised by the main opposition party which, ironically has “national unity” imbedded in its name—APNU (A Partnership for National Unity).

I have today chosen to share with Express readers aspects of an analysis originally done for Guyana’s Sunday Chronicle.

At the outset readers need to bear in mind that what  is operating today as APNU since the general elections of November 2011, is fundamentally the Burnham-founded People’s National  Congress (PNC) that held uninterrupted state power for almost a quarter, based on documented electoral fraud’.

APNU’s leader is the  68-year old  retired brigadier of the Guyana Defence Force (GDF)and with known association with the PNC.

Now,  as if committed to sustaining old political hostilities that fuel the racial divide that makes national unity in Guyana such a mountainous challenge, Granger, has expediently opted to overlook a most outrageous dimension of Guyana’s most painful fratricidal warfare during the 1960s.

It is all the more troubling, if not shocking, that the ex-GDF brigadier should have chosen to ignore referencing the single most despicable ethnic-cleansing political development of Guyana’s 1964 race-driven conflicts when addressing the memorial event marking the 49th anniversary of the horrendous bombing  tragedy of the transport vessel, Son Chapman on July 6, 1964.

Speaking at the memorial service two weekends ago at “Burnham Drive” (first name  of the late president Burnham), and against the backdrop of an imposing monument  bearing the names of the 43 victims who perished on board the privately-owned Son Chapman in the Demerara River, APNU’s Granger claimed:

“….The communities of Mackenzie—(renamed Linden, while Burnham was in power)—Wismar, and Christianburg, had been targeted for terrorism by ‘the masterminds of terrorism…They succeeded”, he added, noting that “over 176 persons were killed during that dark period and thousands of buildings were burnt…”

As the chief reporter of the then British-owned Guiana Graphic newspaper, I  was among media colleagues providing first-hand accounts of tragedies like that of the Son Chapman, as well what directly followed but, astonishingly, APNU’s Granger—conveniently failed to mention.

It was the  infamous political reprisal that was to ferociously dislocate once harmonious multi-racial communities in the Upper Demerara River region, some 65 miles away from the capital Georgetown.

It came to be more popularly described as “the Mackenzie/Wismar massacre” when hundreds of Guyanese of Indian descent were specifically targeted as victims for ‘ethnic cleansing” and forced to flee via a ferry boat under armed security forces.

The crimes of murder, rape, arson, robbery and other degrading acts of reprisal, which had swiftly erupted in that politically-inspired “ethnic cleansing” process in the wake of the Son Chapman tragedy, are well chronicled in the official report by an independent Commission of Enquiry.

Those now piously  talking—like APNU’s Granger—about a “dark  period” of Guyana’s pre-Independence history and glibly refer to “the masterminds of terrorism”, should also acquaint  themselves with relevant available  documents, such as an  infamous “X-13 Plan” uncovered by the police at the headquarters of the People’s National Congress (now absorbed in the Granger-led APNU) and exposed the culpability of the party’s involvement in the then ongoing  political violence.

Now, in 2013, it  may be fun politics for some, like APNU’s Granger, to fake amnesia of convenience when talking about the “masterminds of terrorism” while being aware about the dread involvement by both PPP and PNC in the internecine warfare of the 1960s.

Then American and British intelligence were deeply involved in funding  as well as providing other resources to destabilise and eventually remove the PPP-led government headed by Dr Cheddi Jagan.

It is perhaps commendable that there is now a monument located at ‘Burnham Drive’ to remind all and sundry of the 43 innocent victims who perished in the ‘Son Chapman disaster’.

The harsh reality, however, is that the shocking Son Chapman disaster is integrally linked to the unprecedented ethnic-cleansing tragedy that followed.

If, as the political reasoning goes, the PPP strategists were involved in the Son Chapman disaster as an extension of widening opposition to the government it led in Georgetown, then it would be simply puerile to disassociate  PNC’s involvement in the execution  of what some prefer to reference  as the “Wismar/Mackenzie massacre”. 

Altogether some 176 Guyanese of Indian and African descent were killed during that “dark period” when, for the damning politics of “ethnic cleansing” had its outrageous manifestations in Guyana.

Anyone who believes the PNC is new, reformed and has good intentions, think again.  All the katahar a55h0les calling for the fall of the PPP will have Indian blood on their hands for colluding with satan.

Rickey Singh: "If, as the political reasoning goes, the PPP strategists were involved in the Son Chapman disaster as an extension of widening opposition to the government it led in Georgetown, then it would be simply puerile to disassociate  PNC’s involvement in the execution  of what some prefer to reference  as the “Wismar/Mackenzie massacre”." 

the proper "reasoning" would contextualize the Sun Chapman terror bombing (not "disaster") as retaliation for the 1st pogrom against Indians 2 months earlier (Wismar I) . . . leading directly to the more deadly Wismar II

as a former "chief reporter" covering these events, the malodorous Rickey Singh should know [actually, does know] better

"puerile" indeed!

Anyone who believes the PNC is new, reformed and has good intentions, think again.  All the katahar a55h0les calling for the fall of the PPP will have Indian blood on their hands for colluding with satan.

No one gives a sh.t if the PNC has changed or if the PPP's corrupt practices  reflects a chronic deficiency in Indian culture other than morons like you and racist button pushers who need a race based hegemony to feel secure.

The mistake here is to to see people as honorable and good as the default condition rather than to see that an institutional edifice is constructed and put in place so as to coerce human discipline according to set rules. You constantly harping of who has blood on their hands or who is liable to steal more in light of the chronic murder for hire gang of rapacious crooks in office secures the necessary conditions that will lead us down a path to political violence. 

You like Rickey Singh would suffocate your integrity ( if natural  or fail to foster its growth if it comes by nurture)to maintain those crooks in office at all cost on the pretext that there are bigger crooks waiting in the wings. Instead of helping our people by looking at the systemic failings of our political system and aid in the architecture of the  necessary changes, you massage racist button pushing sentimentality.

Anyone who believes the PNC is new, reformed and has good intentions, think again.

Nothing has changed with the leadership and approach since the PNC was formed after the 1957 general elections.

Anyone who believes the PNC is new, reformed and has good intentions, think again.

Nothing has changed with the leadership and approach since the PNC was formed after the 1957 general elections.

i suppose this is the "carrion" y'all does drop all over the place when the going starts to get rough . . . i thank the low-functioning PPP contractor baseman for the oh so apt characterization of y'all latest works

oh, and btw, we fully understand that the intendend 'cleverness' here is to induce an inadvertent 'defense' of Burnhamism suh y'all PPP antimen can prance and bray . . . "see, see dey supporting and excusing blackman dictatorship"

ole and stupid is no excuse fuh u bai

Unfortunately lots have changed with the PPP, they got worse.

Note that Rickey Singh blames blacks 100% for teh violence of 1964 and seriously expects us to believe that the PNC was bringing explosives from Gtwn to McKenzie when explosives were easily available to any one who needed them in that bauxite town.

The PPP can hatch all the conspiracies that they wish in order to deny a fact that all honest people know.

Once it became inevitable that elections were to be held in 1964, that these would be the last elections prior to independence, and that the PNC and the UF were in alliance, the PPP, fearingt a loss to this coalition did their best to create an environment of instability to force the cancelation of these elections.

They can peddle a lie that PNC operatives bombed the Sun Chapman as they seek to evade the fact that the PPP was as involved in ethnic cleansing as was the PNC.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

No one gives a sh.t if the PNC has changed or if the PPP's corrupt practices  reflects a chronic deficiency in Indian culture other than morons like you and racist button pushers who need a race based hegemony to feel secure.

The mistake here is to to see people as honorable and good as the default condition rather than to see that an institutional edifice is constructed and put in place so as to coerce human discipline according to set rules. You constantly harping of who has blood on their hands or who is liable to steal more in light of the chronic murder for hire gang of rapacious crooks in office secures the necessary conditions that will lead us down a path to political violence. 

You like Rickey Singh would suffocate your integrity ( if natural  or fail to foster its growth if it comes by nurture)to maintain those crooks in office at all cost on the pretext that there are bigger crooks waiting in the wings. Instead of helping our people by looking at the systemic failings of our political system and aid in the architecture of the  necessary changes, you massage racist button pushing sentimentality.

Yes, we do, you don't speak for 99.5% of Indians and most other non-Afro and a decent portion of Afros also.  You are an anomaly.  I give you credit for the few katahars crabs like Chief, Kari, etc.

You can speak for who ever you want but 51% of Guyanese, regardless of race said two years ago that they do not want the PPP.

And indeed upwards of 90% of African AND mixed Guyanese said so.

The PNC polls a consistent 41% and you have to respect the fact that they are CONSISTENTLY chosen by a sizeable % of the population.

Guyana has no where to go if you think that you can continue to ignore 40% of the population, or treat them as third class citizens.

Banna you always with this statistical crap. Tell us how many American Presidents won the elections with under 50 per cent of the votes. Also show us your comments when this happened.

You can speak for who ever you want but 51% of Guyanese, regardless of race said two years ago that they do not want the PPP.

And indeed upwards of 90% of African AND mixed Guyanese said so.

The PNC polls a consistent 41% and you have to respect the fact that they are CONSISTENTLY chosen by a sizeable % of the population.

Guyana has no where to go if you think that you can continue to ignore 40% of the population, or treat them as third class citizens.

And the managed to rule from 1964 to 1992 with that support base.

Originally Posted by Ronald Sugrim:

Banna you always with this statistical crap. Tell us how many American Presidents won the elections with under 50 per cent of the votes. Also show us your comments when this happened.

Here are some statistics about presidential races in the US, the country in which you live. In 1968 Nixon won 43.4 per cent of the votes and he ruled and you said nothing. In 1992 Bill Clinton won 42.9 per cent of the votes and he ruled. You said nothing. In 2000 George W. Bush won 47.8 of the votes and he too ruled. Not a word from you about minority government in the US. Now go and Analyse That.   

You conveniently forgot to mention that those US Presidents could be impeached. Indeed Nixon was. He lost his job. The US has checks and balances and the President cannot do everything he likes. Guyana they have the Burnham constitution.  

Guyana they have the Burnham constitution.  

The needed changes to Guyana constitution requires the support of two-thirds or more of the votes in the national assembly.

When has the PNC and AFC made concrete attempts to make the changes?

Originally Posted by Pointblank:

Ricky Singh is one of the most racist out of the Caribbean

Why? Because he mentioned ethnic cleansing of Indos? My parents, relatives , drove cars and trucks up to McKenzie to bring down entires families, raped young girls, children to Georgetown because their house, businesses, even mosque was burnt down.

Young people like me don't care what Rickey Singh has to say. PPP and PNC are the same. 

That's because you never experienced rule of the PNC. When I left Guyana my last view was GDF soldiers raiding stores that sold bread, yes, BREAD, piling them up on the road and stomping the bread into crumbs while little children looked on. The brutality of their reign is unforgettable.

Those who forget the past are condemned to repeat it.  It is incumbent on the generation who lived under the PNC to let the youths understand.  Many Black youth in the USA don't appreciate the struggles of the previous generations.

Remember, it was not only the GDF and other institutions, it was also the mind-set of the Afro Joe public with tacit support of many members of the GPF. Afros felt it was their national right to abuse, rob and brutalize Indians.  This was a natural daily occurrence as the predator and prey mentality of the law of the jungle.

This mentality and mindset is just below the surface waiting to burst out and show itself.

Originally Posted by TI:

Why? Because he mentioned ethnic cleansing of Indos? My parents, relatives , drove cars and trucks up to McKenzie to bring down entires families, raped young girls, children to Georgetown because their house, businesses, even mosque was burnt down.

ahmmm, no . . . i suggest u purchase a better quality of 'cleverness' and try again

btw, "cars and trucks" in 1964? . . . hmmmm?

Originally Posted by TI:

Young people like me don't care what Rickey Singh has to say. PPP and PNC are the same. 

That's because you never experienced rule of the PNC. When I left Guyana my last view was GDF soldiers raiding stores that sold bread, yes, BREAD, piling them up on the road and stomping the bread into crumbs while little children looked on. The brutality of their reign is unforgettable.

indeed bai . . . but i suggest dat u come again with something more blood curdling than PNC raiding stores for smuggled items; u sound like a 'reaching' fool

now tell we lil bout de voluminous, even worse depradations of alyuh kriminal PPP regime . . . i think the people of Linden right now building a monument to the innocents gunned down in cold blood by PPP police

oh wait . . . i forget dey doan count fuh y'all because dem blackman guilty of original sin; nah suh bai?

Those who forget the past are condemned to repeat it.  It is incumbent on the generation who lived under the PNC to let the youths understand.  Many Black youth in the USA don't appreciate the struggles of the previous generations.

Remember, it was not only the GDF and other institutions, it was also the mind-set of the Afro Joe public with tacit support of many members of the GPF. Afros felt it was their national right to abuse, rob and brutalize Indians.  This was a natural daily occurrence as the predator and prey mentality of the law of the jungle.

This mentality and mindset is just below the surface waiting to burst out and show itself.

yaaaaaawwwn . . . more smelly ejaculate from GNI's antiman fuhrer; yuh (right, left?) hand must be breeding calluses from jerking off to de blackman demon ting hay

i guess this is a small selection from your ample stock of carrion yuh took such care to enlighten us about

'good' times fuh alyuh PPP catamites . . . nah suh bai?

Originally Posted by TI:

ahmmm, no . . . i suggest u purchase a better quality of 'cleverness' and try again

You did not even have a donkey. Barefoot and shirtless in the Pasture shitting.

Originally Posted by TI:

You did not even have a donkey. Barefoot and shirtless in the Pasture shitting.

dis waan above yuh pay grade bai . . . suh staan easy

weh TI deh?

My last day in Guyana.

On my way to the airport we stopped at McDoom Gas Station to buy gas.
A black guy on a motorcycle pulled in front, took the pump and started pumping gas in his motorcycle. When the Indo owner came over to collect payment, the black guy threatened to beat him up, and rode away without paying.  His last words were, " I eat ****** fuh breakfast".  

Digest this and imagine life in Guyana in those days.
Originally Posted by TI:

I have no reason to doubt that. Fact is my only memory of Guyana today is a corrupt politicians enriching themselves at the expense of everyone else. I say theft is worse than stomping bread.  

Originally Posted by TI:

My last day in Guyana.

On my way to the airport we stopped at McDoom Gas Station to buy gas.
A black guy on a motorcycle pulled in front, took the pump and started pumping gas in his motorcycle. When the Indo owner came over to collect payment, the black guy threatened to beat him up, and rode away without paying.  His last words were, " I eat ****** fuh breakfast".  

Digest this and imagine life in Guyana in those days.

nothing to "digest" . . . everybody (Black and Indo) has 'anecdotes' . . . what's your point?

be a man and address the nonsense i pinned to the wall in your earlier post

Originally Posted by TI:

TI family like they owned their own highway to McKenzie in 1964? 

Originally Posted by TI:

Yu mean the nonsense you post is actually a response? I thought you were merely jabbering to increase post count

ummmmm . . . actually, we want to know more about the "cars" going up the Mackenzie trail in 1964

even your lies/"anecdotes" are poorly thought out and mediocre

Originally Posted by TI:

There are many who do not know nor have first-hand experiences of the harsh realities of what happened at that period.

Originally Posted by TI:

Boat brought people to Soesdyke. Error on my part.  I was a small boy, so forgive lack of details. Check with the old people.

Soesdyke and at Georgetown.

Originally Posted by TI:

Boat brought people to Soesdyke. Error on my part.  I was a small boy, so forgive lack of details. Check with the old people.

caught lying without clothes . . . so much for your "anecdotes"

Originally Posted by TI:

I said it was an error on my part. Are you denying that the little girls who were mass raped were not brought down to Georgetown?

red herring mr LIAR . . . no sale

your embarrassment is complete . . . i suggest u staan easy fuh awhile and hope people forget de carnage hay today