http://www.boston.com/news/loc...0DGiYfnjL/story.html

Guyana trip shifts Greenfield pastor's world view

In an email, THE PASTOR wrote, β€˜β€˜There is NO RELIEF here β€” from the heat, humidity, torrential downpours ... or from the poverty, pain, unemployment, corruption, garbage, congestion, noise, danger, illness ... and on. Relief is a concept very few can afford. ... These are not temporary problems that come and go like our seasons. They are their perpetual state of affairs, that people today have inherited from their forebears, and now those children are also destined to have as the reality of their lives.’’

In an email, THE PASTOR wrote, β€˜β€˜There is NO RELIEF here β€” from the heat, humidity, torrential downpours ... or from the poverty, pain, unemployment, corruption, garbage, congestion, noise, danger, illness ... and on.

The Pastor know who is responsible for the seven items above? If he don't, he needs a good buggering. 

In an email, THE PASTOR wrote, β€˜β€˜There is NO RELIEF here β€” from the heat, humidity, torrential downpours ... or from the poverty, pain, unemployment, corruption, garbage, congestion, noise, danger, illness ... and on.

The Pastor know who is responsible for the seven items above? If he don't, he needs a good buggering. 

Oh rass Cobra, watch out with dat "B" word. Word has it, people gettin ban for usin it.

The point the good pastor makes is the oppressive hopelessness that he witnessed. Specifically he addressed the barbaric way mental patients are warehoused out of site in that inhospitable environment that is well known to all of us as the "mad house". The pastor said it is a Dickensian. hellhole. I never visited the place so I do not know what it looks like inside or the present protocol for housing or handling patients. I am sure the man is not lying and it is the toxic place he says it is that we have hidden away behind those manicured lawns.

This "pastor" (If he is one..maybe an impostor) is comparing conditions in America and that of a third world country. I agree conditions should be improved. Food for the unfortunate should come first. If he is so concerned about unfortunate beings, he should clean up his own backyard before trying to help his neighbors.

He is a pastor. You can check. The point he makes is we can do better. TIme for warehousing people as is done there is long past.

Why should he stay home if as free human his choice is to go where he thinks he is most needed. You just made a distinction of a third world status vs here. Additionally, it is quite presumption of you to say he does not help his neighbor since it may be a criteria for his personal moral and god centered life.

The extend some of us go to be critical of the person thinking to be helpful by showing us the snot in our noses!

if this pastor see you and  nehru he will realize their is more mad people outside than inside

Like yuh bin inside already?

Let us express our disappointment if these conditions really exist for the mentally ill. These people need to be treated with dignity and not locked away and thrown in these horrible conditions.

If this is true and the media can confirm this article, then we can hold the minister of health responsible for treating the mentally ill like cattle and depriving them of human dignity.

This is a tragedy for the mentally ill and their loved ones in Guyana. I am certain that the pastor does not hold any political affiliation and speaks with faith and compassion as he his entitled to do.

And please folks, stop using the term "mad people". These people suffer from a horrible mental illness that can be treated. I wish to express my disappointment with the PPP is this article is proven to be true.

β€œWhat I saw made me embarrassed to be a human being.”

JANUARY 12, 2014 | BY  | FILED UNDER FEATURES / COLUMNISTSFREDDIE KISSOON 

If you read these words anywhere in the world coming from a journalist, UN official, visiting politician, medical doctor, nurse or a scholar on a research project, you would definitely think that he/she is referring to a country that is at war and what they see are just horrible manifestations of the tragedy of life.
Guess which country that quote refers to? Bet you would not believe it. Yes, your own land of birth, Guyana.
These words were written by a visiting Catholic priest and given wide coverage in different newspapers in the United States. Father Dennis LeBlanc who runs a counseling service in the US traveled to Guyana in October last year on a voluntary stint with the St. Joseph Mercy Hospital and St. John Bosco’s Covent run by Guyanese heroine, Sister Mary Noel Menezes
The priest has traveled all over the world but thinks that Guyana is the worst, miasmic-stained country he has ever seen. Let us quote him; β€œthere is no relief here from the poverty, pain, unemployment, corruption, garbage…these are not temporary problems that come and go like our seasons … they are their (sic) perpetual state of affairs…”
Here is the part that made him feel that Guyana was not a civilized land; β€œI will say that the filth, squalor, poverty, and disregard for humans (sic) life made me embarrassed to be a human being. β€œ
LeBlanc ended his description of Guyana with the following expression; β€œIt was a sad and depressing experience.” He said he is not coming back
If any journalist from China, the US, Europe and elsewhere read LeBlanc, they must believe that Guyana is a country at war and war’s ravishes have left the land a dead piece of earth with just filth and garbage and death. Not one soul on Planet Earth reading LeBlanc would believe he is describing a country in the English-speaking Caribbean that houses the headquarters of the Caricom integration movement and is in the process of completing a Marriott Hotel
I have argued on this page the past five years, but especially last year, that once a visitor comes to Guyana, sees those mud-filed gutters, the forests inside the alley-ways and the ubiquitous mountains of garbage around Guyana (not Georgetown alone – my visiting in-laws couldn’t believe the farm of pigs roaming in a ocean of garbage right at the western entrance of Rosignol a few years ago – still have the pictures) they would declare Guyana as a failed state
This is exactly what Dennis Le Blanc did, only that he did not use the concept of a failed state so popular in the literature of political theory. Can any of us as Guyanese use our imagination to understand what the priest was looking at when he saw Guyana? Imagine someone from Japan, South Korea or Scandinavia where the surroundings are impeccably clean coming to Guyana and witnessing what the priest saw?
I am saying most unambiguously that such a person would demand a flight out of Guyana immediately. Human beings do not live in such a country where there are no violent upheavals. They will bear the environmental atrocities during the war, knowing that after the war, things will get better. But as the priest said in that article, what he saw seems to be a permanent state of affairs in this country
Every nation has its fools, but when a country is thinly populated like Guyana and you have so many fools, then maybe the country has become a national circus. There are idiots in this land who are so shameless that they announce that the investment climate in Guyana is being unduly affected by crime, crime reporting and political disunity.
Who would want to invest in Guyana when they see what the Catholic priest saw? Ask yourself as a human being, if you take a few million American dollars and you travel to another territory to invest that money and you see inside that country what obtains in Guyana, whether you would put your capital in such a country.
I did not meet the Catholic priest when he was here, but I am positive that if I had a discussion with him, I may have endangered his health when I revealed to him that the UN Environment Committee made the then President of Guyana, Mr. Jagdeo, a Champion of the Earth. The priest would have had a heart attack. Of course the conferring of such an honour on Mr. Jagdeo when he was President, given the ubiquitous filth that overran Guyana under his presidency, only goes to show that the UN is not without its quota of fools too.

Let us express our disappointment if these conditions really exist for the mentally ill. These people need to be treated with dignity and not locked away and thrown in these horrible conditions.

If this is true and the media can confirm this article, then we can hold the minister of health responsible for treating the mentally ill like cattle and depriving them of human dignity.

This is a tragedy for the mentally ill and their loved ones in Guyana. I am certain that the pastor does not hold any political affiliation and speaks with faith and compassion as he his entitled to do.

And please folks, stop using the term "mad people". These people suffer from a horrible mental illness that can be treated. I wish to express my disappointment with the PPP is this article is proven to be true.

Wellsaid Yugi!!

Oh stop it Skeldonmnan, another lame one here. In another thread you also thought that Guyanese should still be living in the past with using boiling water,forget the soap, etc.

Why do you think people in Guyana should not be lifted out of the shit hole they're being left in?

You are in a good position I guess, so who the hell cares about those left behind...correct?

No relief in Guyana according to a US Pastor.

Quoted from the Boston Newspapers.  Rass we gone international now.

In an email, he wrote, β€˜β€˜There is NO RELIEF here β€” from the heat, humidity, torrential downpours ... or from the poverty, pain, unemployment, corruption, garbage, congestion, noise, danger, illness ... and on. Relief is a concept very few can afford. ... These are not temporary problems that come and go like our seasons. They are their perpetual state of affairs, that people today have inherited from their forebears, and now those children are also destined to have as the reality of their lives.’’