Does anyone know where sells banana leaves in the Pickering Scarborough area? I looked it up and it says Asian stores but I need first hand info, I plan on making conkie and don't have much time to run around. I'm gonna start heading North soon and plan on taking up some Guyanese items to make while there.
@cain posted:Does anyone know where sells banana leaves in the Pickering Scarborough area? I looked it up and it says Asian stores but I need first hand info, I plan on making conkie and don't have much time to run around. I'm gonna start heading North soon and plan on taking up some Guyanese items to make while there.
There is a store on Kingston Rd name Pacific they carry ethnic food.
@kp posted:There is a store on Kingston Rd name Pacific they carry ethnic food.
Oh in Scarborough, you have Skyland ,Fusion,Jian Hing at Markham and Lawrence
Oi man thanks but the question is..do they carry banana leaf? I doan have time to stop in every Asian store hence my question.
@cain posted:Oi man thanks but the question is..do they carry banana leaf? I doan have time to stop in every Asian store hence my question.
I am almost certain they do.
@cain posted:Does anyone know where sells banana leaves in the Pickering Scarborough area? I looked it up and it says Asian stores but I need first hand info, I plan on making conkie and don't have much time to run around. I'm gonna start heading North soon and plan on taking up some Guyanese items to make while there.
Try substitute mango leaves.
@Viper posted:Try substitute mango leaves.
Do you know what is conkie? You need a large leaf that can wrap.
@kp posted:I am almost certain they do.
Maybe I'll call em before leaving. I have a couple hrs drive South , pick someone up then head six hrs North and get there before nightfall. An eight hr drive could turn out over ten depending on weather.
@kp posted:Do you know what is conkie? You need a large leaf that can wrap.
What about rice paper?
@Ramakant-P posted:What about rice paper?
You use that to write letter. LOL.
@Ramakant-P posted:What about rice paper?
Rice paper? Whuderass? You try making roti with rice paper and when you done lemme know how it turned out.
@cain posted:Rice paper? Whuderass? You try making roti with rice paper and when you done lemme know how it turned out.
I get it here at my end from the Chinese Supermarkets and the Shri Lankan grocers.
Thanks Mits. So now I got nuff leads I should mek tennis roll instead..hehehh
@cain posted:Thanks Mits. So now I got nuff leads I should mek tennis roll instead..hehehh
Mek sure de tennis roll na get stale. Cause when our son was at university and working at Timmys. He said if you hit someone with a stale do-nut, it can do severe damage.
@cain posted:Thanks Mits. So now I got nuff leads I should mek tennis roll instead..hehehh
Hope you have the Lemmon essence.
Are you sure you're wrapping conkie or you plan to roll some herb in those leaves?