It could be warria too.

In any civilized country, this lady would be given mental health attention. But in Guyana she's just another PPP voter.

Bai Shaitaan, I heard black people cussing down coolie people too. They also use you "F" coolie. So, do we want to say she's another PNC voter?

It could be warria too.

In any civilized country, this lady would be given mental health attention. But in Guyana she's just another PPP voter.

Bai Shaitaan, I heard black people cussing down coolie people too. They also use you "F" coolie. So, do we want to say she's another PNC voter?

I'm sure that happens too. But unfortunately, youtube is not fair and balanced so the rest of the world now thinks we're all just a bunch of low class illiterates with a pathological hatred of blacks.

It could be warria too.

I'm sure that happens too. But unfortunately, youtube is not fair and balanced so the rest of the world now thinks we're all just a bunch of low class illiterates with a pathological hatred of blacks.

There is racism in all races. Guyanese coolies and blacks, because of politilcal differences, seem to display their racism more vociferously.

Originally Posted by TI:

That lady brave. When I was in Guyana people used to get beat up for opening their mouth against black people. I guess times change

Abbe pon tap now bhai. Did you miss dat?

PPP has secured us our right to be publicly rude and obnoxious to black people. Finally, I can die a happy contented coolie

Originally Posted by ball:

Moral decay of the mind leads to profane actions, the people them nah gat no decency  

Moral decay started wid Jagdeo as Champion of the Dirt.

De Dr...Dr...Dr...Dr...[wo]man scratchin he balls in public.

Ramu follow by callin AmerIndians stupid.

An he want dem vote, guess who  dem AmerIndian think is stupid.   

Originally Posted by TI:

That lady brave. When I was in Guyana people used to get beat up for opening their mouth against black people. I guess times change

PPP has secured us our right to be publicly rude and obnoxious to black people. Finally, I can die a happy contented coolie

Want to see Indian privilege.  Several years ago a Guyana Expo was arranged at York College.  When asked how things were in Guyana some of the blacks looked fearfully around to see who was listening and then whispered "well you know those Indians......." looked around and then became too afraid to say more.

Black people have no power base and so even a mental case thinks that she can insult them without repercussions.

Like they say "ahbe time now......black man time DONE".     Well as the Indian population shrinks and engage in what you think is genocidal behavior (producing more mixed babies) some one else might start screaming "collie man time DONE".

That is why they say that one should always be nice to people on the way up, just in case you meet them on the way down, as life can get quite cruel.

Black people learned that since 1992.  Indians might have their turn soon, as Guyana becomes more and more a mixed nation.

Originally Posted by TI:

Want to see Indian privilege.  Several years ago a Guyana Expo was arranged at York College.  When asked how things were in Guyana some of the blacks looked fearfully around to see who was listening and then whispered "well you know those Indians......." looked around and then became too afraid to say more.

Black people have no power base and so even a mental case thinks that she can insult them without repercussions.

Like they say "ahbe time now......black man time DONE".     Well as the Indian population shrinks and engage in what you think is genocidal behavior (producing more mixed babies) some one else might start screaming "collie man time DONE".

That is why they say that one should always be nice to people on the way up, just in case you meet them on the way down, as life can get quite cruel.

Black people learned that since 1992.  Indians might have their turn soon, as Guyana becomes more and more a mixed nation.

I see why we don't agree on the issue of Indian Privilege. You seem to be using your own English dictionary. If you want to term what some Indians (usually our dullest and poorest) experience a psychological balm or are paid a DuBoisian "psychological wage" in that an Indian elite dominates then yes I can accept that limited definition and countersign this theory.

I don't consider this a "privilege" per se. Perhaps Indian Triumphalism is more apt.

And your friends at York College probably were probably doing what all people usually do when they're about to say something racist...look around nervously first before you speak I don't think that's necessarily fear of the Indian Jackboot but fear of societal reprimand for expressing racial verbiage.

I see why we don't agree on the issue of Indian Privilege. You seem to be using your own English dictionary. If you want to term what some Indians (usually our dullest and poorest) experience a psychological balm or are paid a DuBoisian "psychological wage" in that an Indian elite dominates then yes I can accept that limited definition and countersign this theory.

I don't consider this a "privilege" per se. Perhaps Indian Triumphalism is more apt.

And your friends at York College probably were probably doing what all people usually do when they're about to say something racist...look around nervously first before you speak I don't think that's necessarily fear of the Indian Jackboot but fear of societal reprimand for expressing racial verbiage.

A Grenadian visited Guyana and was driven around by an Indian taxi driver, who eagerly pointed out to him evidence of Indian wealth and African poverty.  While clearly he wasn't rich the fact that many of those who he identified with were gave him a psychic boost.  He saw the world in a positive light.

A black taxi driver who took me around when I went there told me that the black taxi drivers try to gauge how many non Indians arrive on a plane and how many Indian taxi drivers are around.  This man, a well dressed, well spoken man told me how Indians would walk passed him looking for an Indian taxi driver, and then only come back to him If they didn't see any.  When he sees that virtually all the decision in Guyana are made by Indians, and even some ordinary Indian returning on a trip for Trinidad engages in racial exclusion, his view of life is less rosy.

So you see even those who don't benefit directly from the ethnic privileges enjoyed by their fellow ethnic elites, often derive some psychic glee and a more optimistic view of life.

Which is why, despite the fact that Burnham was a monster I am encountering blacks who are under 35 claiming that he was a hero. 

What was particularly noteworthy was at a forum where Guyana politics was being discussed, this black woman in her mid 30s got up and stated that we middle aged blacks who have left Guyana, and who lambaste Burnham don't know that we are tearing down all that "black people have". 

Clearly black people did NOT benefit from the Burnham era (or they would have been better positioned to protect themselves against the Indo elite's hostility towards them).  What I gathered from her is a fake nostalgia about a time when black people in Guyana had power. Obviously from her age, she didn't know how all of that ended when the economy collapsed due to Burnham's dictatorship.  So she was appalled at a bunch of blacks tearing down this "hero".

The black exhibitors were talking about being excluded by Indians as blacks. And how vindictive the Indian power structure is, and not just the PPP.

Now I know that this is a racist sentiment these days, even as calling Burnham's Guyana an apartheid South Africa, isn't.

You see blacks must just take blows and say nothing, except to scream praise to the Indian elite.

1. A Grenadian visited Guyana and was driven around by an Indian taxi driver, who eagerly pointed out to him evidence of Indian wealth and African poverty.  While clearly he wasn't rich the fact that many of those who he identified with were gave him a psychic boost.  He saw the world in a positive light.

2. A black taxi driver who took me around when I went there told me that the black taxi drivers try to gauge how many non Indians arrive on a plane and how many Indian taxi drivers are around.  This man, a well dressed, well spoken man told me how Indians would walk passed him looking for an Indian taxi driver, and then only come back to him If they didn't see any.  When he sees that virtually all the decision in Guyana are made by Indians, and even some ordinary Indian returning on a trip for Trinidad engages in racial exclusion, his view of life is less rosy.

So you see even those who don't benefit directly from the ethnic privileges enjoyed by their fellow ethnic elites, often derive some psychic glee and a more optimistic view of life.

3. Which is why, despite the fact that Burnham was a monster I am encountering blacks who are under 35 claiming that he was a hero. 

What was particularly noteworthy was at a forum where Guyana politics was being discussed, this black woman in her mid 30s got up and stated that we middle aged blacks who have left Guyana, and who lambaste Burnham don't know that we are tearing down all that "black people have". 

Clearly black people did NOT benefit from the Burnham era (or they would have been better positioned to protect themselves against the Indo elite's hostility towards them).  What I gathered from her is a fake nostalgia about a time when black people in Guyana had power. Obviously from her age, she didn't know how all of that ended when the economy collapsed due to Burnham's dictatorship.  So she was appalled at a bunch of blacks tearing down this "hero".

1. Dis chap is clearly delusional is my book and I seriously hope his opinions like the gold teet brigade here in GNI represent a distinct minority. I have recently toured the black slums of Georgetown and almost had a heart attack. I had never seen anything like it. Like wading through disease infested water to get to people's shacks which are not even fit for pigs. This one shack was tiny and surrounded by water and it was on the ground. Not even during the worst days of the PNC era had I seen anything like it.

2. This sounds disturbing and appalling. This actually disturbs me. It is insidious and petty. I hope this is some kind of abherration and not indicative of common occurrence. I will take your word for it that it is though.

3. I've noticed this pro-Burnham trend too as a protest against the current state of things. It's a shame but understandable.

1. Dis chap is clearly delusional is my book and I seriously hope his opinions like the gold teet brigade here in GNI represent a distinct minority. I have recently toured the black slums of Georgetown and almost had a heart attack. I had never seen anything like it. Like wading through disease infested water to get to people's shacks which are not even fit for pigs. This one shack was tiny and surrounded by water and it was on the ground. Not even during the worst days of the PNC era had I seen anything like it.

2. This sounds disturbing and appalling. This actually disturbs me. It is insidious and petty. I hope this is some kind of abherration and not indicative of common occurrence. I will take your word for it that it is though.

3. I've noticed this pro-Burnham trend too as a protest against the current state of things. It's a shame but understandable.

1.  Maybe there are fewer like that Indo taxi driver as disillusionment with the PPP seems to be spreading.

2. This was not an aberration. I saw it again in G/town.  A minibus with a black driver and conductor arrives and the Indians were about to board, until they see another one arrive with an Indian crew and FULL.  Now why would they squeeze into that one?  And note that the bulk of the passengers in the Indian bus were blacks.

Like I said the creole culture has a broader definition of nationhood so black people will jump in any taxi.  Some Indians define nationhood more narrowly so will AUTOMATICALLY jump in the taxi driven by the Indian.  I am not going to say that this is because they hate black people.  Its because their notion of their nationhood is more defined by being Indian than being Guyanese. 

What should disturb you is that this fuels the feeling in the black taxi driver that blacks will jump into any taxi if the driver looks decent and the car is clean, whereas Indians will boycott his services. and he doesn't feel the need to discuss anything beyond "Indian people racial and clannish".  And Indians will happily take their money.  

So in his view Indians are out to squeeze him out, and when he looks and see that CBJIA is almost totally Indian managed, then it furthers a sense of this exclusion.  So showing him an impoverished Indian doesn't interest him. All he sees is an Indian run Guyana where his rights as a black man are limited. 

This is a hard working man, out to create his own opportunities, so the usual "lazy black man" doesn't apply.  As far as he is concerned  he is not looking for favors.  He is looking for fairness.

3. Yes I too am disturbed by this renewed adoration for Burnham by a generation who only like him because they see in him a strong black leader.  The fact that blacks suffered as a result of their misrule they don't know because all they know is an Indian dominated Guyana, which excludes them because they are black.  This woman is a college educated person who left Guyana, even though she doesn't like the USA, but sees no future for her as an educated black woman.

Yes the poverty and the low morale of Guyanese blacks has been noticed by many Caribbean people visiting Guyana.  They ask what happened to Guyana, as Afro Guyanese were renowned in the 50s and 60s for being a proud and very educated and ambitious people.

1.  Maybe there are fewer like that Indo taxi driver as disillusionment with the PPP seems to be spreading.

2. This was not an aberration. I saw it again in G/town.  A minibus with a black driver and conductor arrives and the Indians were about to board, until they see another one arrive with an Indian crew and FULL.  Now why would they squeeze into that one?  And note that the bulk of the passengers in the Indian bus were blacks.

Like I said the creole culture has a broader definition of nationhood so black people will jump in any taxi.  Some Indians define nationhood more narrowly so will AUTOMATICALLY jump in the taxi driven by the Indian.  I am not going to say that this is because they hate black people.  Its because their notion of their nationhood is more defined by being Indian than being Guyanese. 

What should disturb you is that this fuels the feeling in the black taxi driver that blacks will jump into any taxi if the driver looks decent and the car is clean, whereas Indians will boycott his services. and he doesn't feel the need to discuss anything beyond "Indian people racial and clannish".  And Indians will happily take their money.  

So in his view Indians are out to squeeze him out, and when he looks and see that CBJIA is almost totally Indian managed, then it furthers a sense of this exclusion.  So showing him an impoverished Indian doesn't interest him. All he sees is an Indian run Guyana where his rights as a black man are limited. 

This is a hard working man, out to create his own opportunities, so the usual "lazy black man" doesn't apply.  As far as he is concerned  he is not looking for favors.  He is looking for fairness.

3. Yes I too am disturbed by this renewed adoration for Burnham by a generation who only like him because they see in him a strong black leader.  The fact that blacks suffered as a result of their misrule they don't know because all they know is an Indian dominated Guyana, which excludes them because they are black.  This woman is a college educated person who left Guyana, even though she doesn't like the USA, but sees no future for her as an educated black woman.

Yes the poverty and the low morale of Guyanese blacks has been noticed by many Caribbean people visiting Guyana.  They ask what happened to Guyana, as Afro Guyanese were renowned in the 50s and 60s for being a proud and very educated and ambitious people.

I absolutely join in declaring instances as such where Indians deprive an honest man his daily bread on account of his race and/or due to some misplaced tribal loyalty as disgusting, immoral, and wrong. You will never find any sympathy from me for this kind of behavior.

I hope you do not get the impression that this sort of behavior finds favor or even excuse from me in any manner. It does not.

In all of this, I beseech you not to grow cynical about our humanity (Indians that is). There are legions of Indians (I don't know who represent the majority) who find this type of behavior to be intolerable and shameful. Just as it would have been wrong to paint all blacks during the dictatorship in a certain negative color, it would be equally wrong to do so to Indians now.

All of a sudden this thread gonna get shut down, wait till fite buss out. hehe

You would think that my 50% terrorist origins would offer me some measure of protection. But alas, this is what happens when yuh fullaman muddah douglarize wid a hindu-christian man. Dem bais juss kick you out de masjid.

Posted by caribny:

I hope you do not get the impression that this sort of behavior finds favor or even excuse from me in any manner. It does not.

In all of this, I beseech you not to grow cynical about our humanity (Indians that is). .

I can only repeat what the man said.  He didn't say one Indian.  He didn't a few Indians. He said most Indians.  He said that the Toronto flight is a waste of time, as it was mainly Indians, and that even LIAT, with fewer passengers, was more worthwhile for him.  He isn't going to refuse business on a flight from Toronto, unless he had the experience that those arriving on that flight did not want his services.

And as I said I don't think that it is because they hate him, or that they are even aware of how their behavior is perceived.  Its because they have a different notion of nationhood than he does. He is a Guyanese.  They are Indian. 

He includes them as Guyanese within his notion of nationhood.  He sees a nation as a home with several bedrooms, he occupying one, they occupying another.  But with every one meeting in the living room and the kitchen.

They see him as living in a different house, not part of their family and therefore not some one who they will bond with, except maybe as neighbors.  It will be like me going to China and meeting a Guyanese.

When you babble about your isolation and screams of purity and bla bla bla, this is what happens.

Maybe it is better if Indians form their own territory and live away from the rest of us, if they don't see themselves as part of this Guyanese nation.  This is where your screams of being a separate nation will lead to.

Posted by caribny:

In all of this, I beseech you not to grow cynical about our humanity (Indians that is). .

I can only repeat what the man said.  He didn't say one Indian.  He didn't a few Indians. He said most Indians.  He said that the Toronto flight is a waste of time, as it was mainly Indians, and that even LIAT, with fewer passengers, was more worthwhile for him.  He isn't going to refuse business on a flight from Toronto, unless he had the experience that those arriving on that flight did not want his services.

And as I said I don't think that it is because they hate him, or that they are even aware of how their behavior is perceived.  Its because they have a different notion of nationhood than he does. He is a Guyanese.  They are Indian. 

He includes them as Guyanese within his notion of nationhood.  He sees a nation as a home with several bedrooms, he occupying one, they occupying another.

They see him as living in a different house, not part of their family and therefore not some one who they will bond with.  It will be like me going to China and meeting a Guyanese.

When you babble about your isolation and screams of purity and bla bla bla, this is what happens.

Maybe it is better if Indians form their own territory and live away from the rest of us, if they don't see themselves as part of this Guyanese nation.  This is where your screams of being a separate nation will lead to.

when you guys divide up guyana i want a seafront property