IS THE BEST IN THE WORLD.

Education Month rally - President tells thousands of students they are the ‘young builders of Guyana’PDFPrintE-mail
Written by Chriseana Ramrekha   
Friday, 13 September 2013 23:12

THE Ministry of Education yesterday successfully held the largest education rally ever, with thousands of students, parents, and education officials being led by Education Minister Priya Manickchand and other senior officials of that ministry, rallying from Parade Ground in Middle Street through several routes into the National Park in

Georgetown as part of the calendar of activities for Education Month, 2013.

alt

President Donald Ramotar addressing the historic Education Month rally in the National Park yesterday.

This rally saw participation of students from Georgetown and other districts in the country, representing all levels of the education system, carrying small placards with various slogans, such as “Good parents ensure that children attend school regularly”, “More than 70% trained teachers nationally”, and “Achievement of universal primary education”, gathering in the stands which they filled to capacity. Delivering the event’s feature address, President Donald Ramotar told the students that they will have the opportunity to be builders of Guyana and to help realise the dreams of generations of Guyanese who have struggled constantly to make the country a better place.
alt

A student from St. John’s College holding a sign calling for more parental involvement in education (GINA photo)

“And we are here at this juncture when I believe that we have the capacity and the capabilities to take our country to a higher level; and it is you, you young builders, that will have the honour of doing this at this historical juncture in our country’s development,” he declared. Ramotar affirmed that the most important factor for development is, in the final analysis, the quality of people that Guyana has and the quality of people that the country will build. Pointing out that the world is changing at a rapid pace, he remarked that education will always be very important, and the process of education will not end when the students leave school, but will last throughout their lives. The President told the students that school is important because it will teach them to think critically, and will equip them to be able to cope with the changing world, so that Guyana can always be competitive and will not be left behind. “We cannot stand still, we cannot be contented with those things that we have achieved, but we have to continue to strive for the next level at every turn,” he stated.
alt

President Donald Ramotar, Education Minister Priya Manickchand, Chief Education Officer Olato Sam and other senior Education Ministry officials walk around the tarmac of the National Park greeting the students.

The President said that, more and more, education is playing a bigger role in the economy of our society, and has and is becoming indispensable in preparing younger generations in the face of the challenges which lie ahead. He advised the students to take the time to prepare themselves for the exciting future that is ahead of them, and to ensure that they learn. However, he noted that while learning the academic subjects is of extreme importance, they must also aspire to be good citizens and role models for their communities, for their country, and for the world. President Ramotar encouraged the students to always be ready to lend a helping hand to the disadvantaged, and to pay attention to the core subjects as well as to their moral upbringing and cultural life, which are also very important.
alt

The audience of predominantly students at the National Park.

He added that integrity and honesty are very important in their all-round development as students, and he urged them to be respectful to their teachers. He highlighted the recent spate of violence against teachers in the school system, which is often seen in the press or discussed at Cabinet. He said violence is either committed by the minority of students or by some parents. “We will not tolerate this, because it is our teachers who have the responsibility of moulding you to be good citizens,” he affirmed. The President said that all Guyanese must be ready to make sacrifices to contribute to ensuring that students learn and make Guyana free of many of the social ills that affect its citizens, particularly poverty. “I am therefore excited, in the years that I have left, to be working with you so that we can build our country and make it even more beautiful than it is today,” he concluded.
alt

Students perform for the education rally held at the National Park

Also delivering remarks at the event, Education Minister Priya Manickchand declared that the only way equal access to education for all Guyanese can be achieved is through a strong multi-stakeholder partnership, which would ensure that every student is educated to the best of their ability. “I see a country where you will be leaders in various fields; a country that will see nobody in want; a country that will see all being treated equally; a country that will see services extended to every region, every child, every parent equitably,” she proclaimed. Manickchand likened the entire process of educating the nation’s children to that of a relay race, when every single leg has to be strong; and if anybody in that leg is weak, it would affect the speed at which the baton should be moved.
alt

In front row, from left to right, are Chief Education Officer Olato Sam; Education Minister Priya Manickchand; and Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Education, Ms. Delma Nedd, led the Education Rally yesterday.

She spoke about the partnership between the Government of Guyana and the Education Ministry; the involvement of the school administrations with teachers and parents; as well as the need for strong and disciplined students. “Our leg is strong. We are there with that baton, and we will pass it on at the quickest rate to the next person,” she assured. Manickchand also assured that she and staff at the Education Ministry are committed to working their hardest to make sure each and every child has the best available opportunity at self-development. The school administration and teachers, she said, also have a pivotal role to play in the education process; and she acknowledged that there are teachers who work way beyond the call of duty.
TEACHERS – GOOD ROLE MODELS She acknowledged that teachers are the backbone of the education system, saluted them for their hard work, and asked them to continue being the good role models they are to the weaker

Ramotar is one of Fred Kissoon's students.

OH RASS dat is a problem cause Freddy needs an Education himself. I hope Uncle Ramo did not take notes nor listened to him.

Uncle Ramo seh he was a good role model.

Fat ass bench warmer. Jabba the Hutt fiddled while the sugar industry burned and squatted on OMAI's board while they left us a hole in the ground a quarter of a mile deep by a mile wide all to never make a profit. Education is not a matter for this one. A moral center is his lacking.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

Fat ass bench warmer. Jabba the Hutt fiddled while the sugar industry burned and squatted on OMAI's board while they left us a hole in the ground a quarter of a mile deep by a mile wide all to never make a profit. Education is not a matter for this one. A moral center is his lacking.

Donkey Brain, I like dat name it fits you like a hand made suit, You sit on your Fat ASS and Daydream.

You need to watch yourself in the mirror you old fool. You got me by 4 years at 57 and me to you is like a puppy to an old dog. Did 12 miles single tracking this morning climbing some 3000 feet. Your pathetic ass would have a heart attack walking a mile.  I guess that laziness shows up in your mental acuity. You workable vocabulary is limited to 10 words and your information out put is incoherent attempts at cuss downs  Clearly you are not a cognitive scientist as you claim. You cannot be mistaken for one even if you paste the label on your head.

You should take a deep breath before posting. Your mind is full of hate and personal vendetta. BTW, this is about Priya Manickchand, Donald Ramotar and education in Guyana. Since we're on the topic of education, you should enroll in a course of mannerism. Never rely on book smart to speak louder in a changing world that you know little about.  

This is hate you dimwitted little girly man
https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/9-11
On this day in the year 2001, the entire Islamic world was jumping for joy and praising almighty Allah. Praise be unto his faithful soldiers who made the ultimate sacrifice to bring America's infidels to ashes.

I do not need to response to the rest of your post. The answer is self evident. We are talking about two fat assed bench warmers and crooks

Wait Mr Ramotar is Freddie's student and turned around and fire his teacher?

As a reminder this topic is about education month and Guyanese children of tomorrow. This is a moment to celebrate and encourage our youths the value of education. The reformed PPP is all about the future of Guyana and the involvement of youths in nation building and education. The older folks should stand by and salute this moment.

Education is the enemy of your PPP party. If the people are well educated the PPP is history. So don't kid yourself. 

I never knew that. What I know is more schools are build by the PPP government while more schools are being destroyed they the opposition.

Mr Snake,

Do not be fooled by the schools being built. Party contractors get the money to make the buildings and the Ministers receive kick-backs. Education is not improved.