Both Bill de Blasio, Joe Lhota say schools should close on Muslim holidays

The mayoral candidates agree that schools should recognize Eid al-Fitr and Eid al-Adha, the holiest days of the Muslim year, just as they do Jewish and Christian days. De Blasio says that schools must 'respect Muslim faiths,' and Lhota says he has been calling to close schools on the two days throughout his campaign.

Comments (92)

Thursday, October 17, 2013, 1:27 AM

Print

NYC PAPERS OUT. Social media use restricted to low res file max 184 x 128 pixels and 72 dpi

Corey Sipkin/New York Daily News

Bill de Blasio at an event for Muslim Americans in Columbus Park, Brooklyn, on Wednesday. The Democratic mayoral candidate, as well as his Republican rival, Joe Lhota, says that schools should close on the two holiest days of the Muslim year.

No matter who is elected mayor next month, city kids will likely find two new vacation days on the school calendar: Eid al-Fitr and Eid al-Adha, the holiest days of the Muslim year.

Both Democrat Bill de Blasio and Republican Joe Lhota say schools should close on the two holidays, just as they do for major Jewish and Christian days.

It's a matter of "respect" for a religion practiced by an estimated 13 percent of city school kids, de Blasio said Wednesday at a campaign rally with Muslim groups in Brooklyn.

PHOTOS: NEW YORK CITY MAYORAL CANDIDATE JOSEPH LHOTA

"The origins of this nation (are) people of many different faiths coming together … That's why we have to respect Muslim faiths by providing the Eid school holidays for children in our school system," de Blasio said.

Republican mayoral candidate Joe Lhota says he's been calling for schools to close on the two holidays throughout his campaign.

Mark Bonifacio/New York Daily News

Republican mayoral candidate Joe Lhota says he's been calling for schools to close on the two holidays throughout his campaign.

The two holidays fall at different times during the year but often land on school days, including in 2006 when they coincided with a state-wide test.

“A child who has an exam on a day that right now is one of the Eid holidays, they're either respecting their religious obligation or they're doing what their education requires of them,” de Blasio said. “They can't do both under our current system."

PHOTOS: NEW YORK CITY MAYORAL CANDIDATE BILL DE BLASIO

Lhota said he's been calling for to close schools on the two days throughout his campaign. "We have a growing Muslim community in the city of New York and their religion needs to be respected as all other religions are respected," he said Wednesday.

"We're not going to lose the school days,” he added. “We'll have to extend the school days by those two days. But nonetheless those who are Muslim will be allowed to have that day off to celebrate their holidays."

Women exchange greetings after Eid prayers outside Masjid Darul Quran Muslim center in Bay Shore, L..I., during Eid al-Fitr on October 26, 2012.

Pavel Rahman/AP

Women exchange greetings after Eid prayers outside Masjid Darul Quran Muslim center in Bay Shore, L..I., during Eid al-Fitr on October 26, 2012.

Advocates have been pushing for the city to give kids the days off for years, but faced strong opposition from Mayor Bloomberg, who raised concerns that adding Muslim holidays to the school calendar would open the door to a flood of similar requests from other religious and ethnic groups.

"Everybody would like to be recognized, but the truth of the matter is we need more school days, not less," Bloomberg said in 2009.

The city's school calendar currently has 13 days off for kids, including the Rosh Hashana Jewish New Year and Good Friday.

Since the current school calendar includes no Muslim holidays, many parents who practice the faith are forced to keep their kids home from school on their holy days.

De Blasio [center) says the city has to 'respect Muslim faiths' by providing Eid school holidays.

Every child must be in school on all superstition observance day. If every religion wanted to close school doors due to some god-fearing observance, then we wouldn't have school anymore. There are about fifty different religious faith out there. Soon you may have to vote to win a faith of choice.The politicians are ready to sell NYC to the enemies. 

Ditto, all superstition anyway.  They can allow excused absences and do not hold exams on those days but not close the school and cause others to miss.

I think it is just Politics as usual. It would be nice for every Religion to have Holidays BUT I is just not practical. Both of them are probably saying that to get the Muslim Votes. It is OK for them to do that.

We as muslims benefitted from some of the things that our Jewish brothers achieved here in NYC. One of them is having the department that issue death certificates open 24 hrs ,seven days per week.

Today we are allowed suspension of parking rules for the two Eid and now we will get school holidays for our kids. 

We are getting there.

Chief, I think what I stated went way, way over your head.

The thing is you do not know what you stated.

I rest my case. Laad Ah Mercy now ah gun dream hubu Backdam.

Chief, read my lips, no holidays, but if you can get parking suspension, every day during the years that would be one major achievement for me to park my vehicle anywhere without getting a ticket. I hate the city for two reasons paying tickets and selling our children's education for votes.

Your lips will become dry very soon.

Secondly you have reveal that you can sell yourself just for free parking. You are hoe!!

The school system should not cater for every religious holiday.  They should offer floating days and log those day to ensure no exams are given on those days.  This should apply to all, but it would be hard to reverse the many Jewish holidays.

It's apropos that Dumb and Dumber show their biases side by side. Look at those two faces.... shittybattie and shittyPoke...

Hey Kari-fullah, like you bounce yuh head one too many times.

The school system should not cater for every religious holiday.  They should offer floating days and log those day to ensure no exams are given on those days.  This should apply to all, but it would be hard to reverse the many Jewish holidays.

Is religion more important than an education? Religion should never have influence over schools? Let's do away will all religious holidays. I am not favoring one over the other. We have two months in summer and two weeks spring break. Let all the religious freaks fit their holidays into the off school period. Chief is preaching brotherhood between Jews and Muslims, and he's competing with the Jews and protesting City Hall to get the same preference as Jews. Jews build America while chief's brethren destroy it. The Jews are well established in America, and they're American patriots. If they get a few holidays, then so be it because they earn it. What is Chief and his brothers done for America? They build Mosque all over the city, but not one school or nursing home for the poor and elderly. Everything is streamed down to Islamism and dedicated to Muslim. There is nothing universal to encourage another faith to bond and understand each other. NYC is the mosaic city where people from all over the world live together. Where does chief stand in this colorful city?

And an IED here and there!

Muslims are relatively new here in this colorful city. The vast amount came here within the past decade or two.The Jews were here long before us, they are very successful and has wide influence on decision making here in the city and the state of NY.

For the short time we are here , Muslims have made tremendous strides, and as you can see, both Mayoral candidates are in favor of giving us school holidays for Eid.

The building of Masjids is a teaching from our holy and noble Prophet, Muhamad (uwbp). During the Hijra, when he migrated from Mecca to Medina, the first thing he did was construct the House of God. There are several Islamic Schools and hopefully , in the near future, we will see Islamic Universities as well.

As for nursing homes, that is also in the works, insha Allah things will fall in place and we will get there.

If you can  be a little more fair and objective you will not cry that Muslims destroy America. Currently , if  am not mistaken, 32% of all Doctors in the US are Muslims( These number can easily be verified). Again for a religion that is relatively new we have MADE PROGRESS IN POLITICS AS WELL,we have  Members of Congress and locally we have City Council members. There are also several States that have Muslim State Senators and Assembly Members.

Halal Food, do you hear the name Halal Food, is in more demand and is being sold in NYC more than any other street food including American Hot Dog and Pretzels. Halal or Zabiha Meat can be found all over the USA in major chains including Restaurant Depot , Costco and BJ'S.

Just as how some folks hate  our Jewish brothers  because of their achievement , we muslims are also aware, that success breeds it own enemies.  

Bottom line my friend, by the grace of God , Muslims are forging forward despite  the  folks who love to deem everyone of us as bad people. The Italians made great strides despite being labelled as Mafioso, so we muslims have to see idiots like you, not as a stumbling block but as  stepping stone.

Muslims are relatively new here in this colorful city. The vast amount came here within the past decade or two.The Jews were here long before us, they are very successful and has wide influence on decision making here in the city and the state of NY.

For the short time we are here , Muslims have made tremendous strides, and as you can see, both Mayoral candidates are in favor of giving us school holidays for Eid.

The building of Masjids is a teaching from our holy and noble Prophet, Muhamad (uwbp). During the Hijra, when he migrated from Mecca to Medina, the first thing he did was construct the House of God. There are several Islamic Schools and hopefully , in the near future, we will see Islamic Universities as well.

As for nursing homes, that is also in the works, insha Allah things will fall in place and we will get there.

If you can  be a little more fair and objective you will not cry that Muslims destroy America. Currently , if  am not mistaken, 32% of all Doctors in the US are Muslims( These number can easily be verified). Again for a religion that is relatively new we have MADE PROGRESS IN POLITICS AS WELL,we have  Members of Congress and locally we have City Council members. There are also several States that have Muslim State Senators and Assembly Members.

Halal Food, do you hear the name Halal Food, is in more demand and is being sold in NYC more than any other street food including American Hot Dog and Pretzels. Halal or Zabiha Meat can be found all over the USA in major chains including Restaurant Depot , Costco and BJ'S.

Just as how some folks hate  our Jewish brothers  because of their achievement , we muslims are also aware, that success breeds it own enemies.  

Bottom line my friend, by the grace of God , Muslims are forging forward despite  the  folks who love to deem everyone of us as bad people. The Italians made great strides despite being labelled as Mafioso, so we muslims have to see idiots like you, not as a stumbling block but as  stepping stone.

Just don't try to screw up the school.

And an IED here and there!

Looks like an IED exploded in what passes for brains in your head.