Woman burnt with ‘canari’ of hot oil succumbs

AUGUST 24, 2012 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

- relatives call in the police

The police on the East Coast of Demerara are reviewing the circumstances surrounding the death of 33-year old Kumarie Beharry called ‘Shanta’, who succumbed at theGeorgetown Hospital three days after she suffered severe burns about her body.
The police review is stemming from the arousal of suspicions among the woman’s relatives, while they were preparing her for burial yesterday.

Kumarie Beharry

Family members observed that the woman’s body bore extensive burns contrary to what was reported to them.
This is coupled with the fact that they were only told about her condition two days after she was admitted to the hospital by the persons who were eyewitnesses to her burning.
In fact, it was not until the relatives were made aware of her condition that a report was made to the police.

Beharry who resided at Mon Repos, with her husband, worked as a kitchen hand in a food business in the same village, making egg balls and pholourie.
Relatives were initially told that on Friday last a huge ‘canari’ full with hot oil fell on the woman, burning her from the hip down.
Her brother, Rakesh Singh, told this newspaper that he learnt of his sister’s plight on Sunday and he immediately went to the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation, where he learnt that she was in a critical state in the Intensive Care Unit.
He subsequently reported the matter to the police at Beterverwagting and Vigilance on the East Coast of Demerara.

“De people wha she ah wuk with nah report de matter. Dem say dem nah know dey had to do it,” Singh told this newspaper.
Singh did not get to see his sister that day but returned the following day and saw her briefly. A few hours later Beharry succumbed.
According to Singh, relatives were told that Beharry’s foot had struck a fire wood under the ‘cahari’ and it overturned on her with more than two gallons of hot oil.
Following the post mortem examination, relatives were told that Beharry received burns to her lower body, but it was not until they were preparing her for cremation yesterday that they realized the actual damage to her body.
“Dem tell me she get burn from she hip go down, all two foot burn out. But I see she belly burn, she neck burn, all pon she ears and nose burn,” Singh explained.
This newspaper confirmed their concerns with photographs taken of the woman’s body.

They said that they also observed what appeared to be black and blue marks as well as evidence of a broken right hand.

Interestingly, the dead woman’s husband, who belatedly turned up at the funeral parlour yesterday, recalled the woman’s last words which could incriminate one of the persons who was an eyewitness to last Friday’s incident.
He claimed that his wife had blurted out the name of the persons, saying that they will go tojail since she would not survive.

“This whole thing sound fishy and people gat fuh talk wha really happen,” said Singh, who as well as other relatives, are not convinced that Beharry was burnt by accident.
The police were quickly summoned and they assured that they will review the matter and prepare a report.

Jumbie is to be blame for this child's murder but not the rum. This story couldn't have been any more painful to know the child's mother ingested kerosene to end her life after a sound beating from her husband, but fate forced her to go home to another tragedy.

Boy, 7, buried as accused killer appears in court

AUGUST 24, 2012 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

One day after reportedly confessing to the brutal murder of a seven-year-old boy that shocked the Corentyne area, an unemployed man from Number 67 Village, East Berbice, was yesterday refused bail.
Several angry and curious Berbicians gathered at the Springlands Magistrate’s Court to get a glimpse of the accused but many were kept out of the courtyard by watchful police.

Accused killer: Fazal ‘Mongoose’ Mohammed

Fazal ‘Mongoose’ Mohammed, 21, was not required to plead to the indictable charge when he appeared before Magistrate Khrisendat Persaud at the Springlands Magistrate’s Court. He was remanded and will have to make his next court appearance on September 13th.

Mohammed was the last person seen, on Monday, in company of little Saheed ‘Buddy’ Muknauth, of Number 68 Squatting Area.
The boy was buried yesterday, hours after his accusedmurderer appeared in court.
Mohammed, neighbours had said, left with the boy from his flooded home to buy food on Monday afternoon. The accused was well known to the Muknauth’s family.
Muknauth’s body was discovered by a village search team at the back of a rice mill on Wednesday afternoon. An on-the-spot post mortem revealed that he died from a fractured skull. His body was found with the face badly disfigured and large portions of one of his legs stripped of the skin.

Kaieteur News understands that Mongoose allegedly confessed to killing Buddy and claimed he was drunk and was troubled by demons.

Muknauth was buried yesterday at Number 66 Cemetery with the expenses paid by the Number 68 Village Community Policing Group.
According to reports, the boy and his five siblings were left at home without adult supervision on Monday. The oldest child is 12 with the youngest, just two months old.

Earlier in the day, the boy’s mother, Anita Persaud, 34, was beaten by her reputed husband, who is a fisherman by profession. Frustrated, the woman ingested kerosene early Monday morning and was admitted to the Skeldon Hospital. However, worried about her six children, she decided not stay at the hospital but return home.

Dead: Saheed ‘Buddy’ Muknauth

Her reputed husband was taken into police custody for the domestic abuse, this newspaper was told.
The boy’s funeral was attended by his grandmother, aunts and uncles of Annandale, East Coast Demerara. His father is unaware of his death since he is currently on sea working aboard a fishing trawler.
The case has stirred anger amongst Guyanese for its very brutality and conditions under which the children were left.

Would you trust your neighbors? Well, we would all want to trust our neighbors, but living in Guyana you may want to think twice.

There was robbery that took place on the East Coast Demerara on a business man property as he was returning home with his family. The man managed to escape with his two young daughters, but his wife get held by the bandits as she went to open the door. There were five bandits, three with guns and two with cutlass. During the 15 minuted ordeal, the woman managed to escape and later claim she recognize one of the bandits to be her neighbor's son.

There is a simple message to this story: If you work hard, play by the rule, and have a little business of your own, you may be a target of robbery or death. While you're working hard to maintain your business and provide food for your family, your neighbor is watching every move you make. This is just not fair!

This is true, that is why you see exclusive communities springing up in Guyana away from the rif raff. Just like the US, the society has good neighborhoods and bad ones where bad things happen. 

I brought up this story because I have first hand experience where your neighbors would operate as a mole to inform the bandits of your business and activities. Even as you visit Guyana from abroad you may be surprise to know how people learn of your arrival so quickly ever before you unpack. This is very scary! 

It's true some people would give notifications to criminals regarding overseas based visitors, but this is not always the case. I suppose it's where you live or who you live among that matters. So far I've had no problems with my visits. 

Most of these things happen in the country side. I know a fella by the name of "Joshua" aka "Jashee", he almost got my wife and her family killed because he go a big mouth. When he receive some good broad-side, he started to sing instead of talking. He should understand when thief come to visit foreigners they don't leave empty handed.  

Are you seriOriginally Posted by ABIDHA:

Most of these things happen in the country side. I know a fella by the name of "Joshua" aka "Jashee", he almost got my wife and her family killed because he go a big mouth. When he receive some good broad-side, he started to sing instead of talking. He should understand when thief come to visit foreigners they don't leave empty handed.  

Strange none of this flashed across my radar. I must ask officer 'Rags' concerning this.

How come you missed this.

Featured ArticlesOverseas based Guyanese robbed, wife raped

Overseas based Guyanese robbed, wife raped

By Editor

August 6, 2012

gun

Horror holiday for Canadian couple…

The Guyana holidays for a young Canadian-based couple got off to the most horrible start thanks to bandits who attacked them, hours after they had arrived in the land of many waters. The two who are stopping at a West Coast Demerara address were on their way home from a barbeque on Saturday night when three bandits robbed them of cash and jewellery before subjecting the female to a savage sexual assault, while her husband watched helplessly. Reports reaching this newspaper stated that the 27-year old male visitor was driving his brother’s minibus heading home with his 29-year old wife when another car bumped into the back of their vehicle. Thinking that it was a normal accident, the visitor and his wife stopped and came out of the bus to examine the damage with a view to settling with the other motorist. Within seconds they were pounced upon by three men who were carrying guns. The men held up the visitors and bundled them into their car, while one of them took control of the mini bus. The gang proceeded to a deserted spot where the assault took place. During the attack, the men stripped the bus of its music set, valued at $1.5M. This was after they had relieved the couple of their cellular phone, $2000 in Canadian currency and jewellery to the value of $6000 Canadian dollars. According to reports reaching this newspaper, the husband was tied up and thrown into a nearby bush while his wife was left to the mercy of the bandits. When they were done, the bandits tied up the woman also and threw her into the bushes with her husband. It appears as if the attack was well planned, since before leaving, the men told the couple that they were sent by someone to carry out the attack. After the men left, the visiting couple managed to free themselves and make their way to safety. The matter was subsequently reported to the police but so far no one has been arrested

Would you trust your neighbors? Well, we would all want to trust our neighbors, but living in Guyana you may want to think twice.

Gone are the days in GY when your neighbor used to look out for you. Now they look out to see waht they can get from you especially when you doing better than them.

Pointblank

It appears as if the attack was well planned, since before leaving, the men told the couple that they were sent by someone to carry out the attack.

This couple couldn't figure out who was after them from the details they receive from the bandits? Strange, but sad.

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

It appears as if the attack was well planned, since before leaving, the men told the couple that they were sent by someone to carry out the attack.

This couple couldn't figure out who was after them from the details they receive from the bandits? Strange, but sad.

I doubt this part of the story. No criminal would actuall say something like this. It's a dead giveaway. But then again, and all things are possible in Guyana. Nevertheless, from all appearances this appears to be a setup. And not a pleasant one either.
Suh when you heading in, bai?