Govt. makes no effort to recover $27M from former GPL Deputy CEO

November 11, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

– DPP has no such file, no report made

It was in July 2015, that Government first made the shocking announcement that two top Guyana Power and Light (GPL) executives – former Deputy Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Aeshwar Deonarine and Director Carvil Duncan – had paid themselves some $28M in back pay they felt they deserved.

In August it had also been reported that Deonarine, who had left the jurisdiction, had requested time to repay the money, as it had been transferred to his personal bank account(s) in the United States.

Since that disclosure, however, the case against Deonarine appears to be in limbo. Efforts by this publication to verify the whereabouts of the file detailing his transgressions, on Monday revealed that the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) has not received the file, nor has a formal police complaint been made.

This is in stark contrast to reports carried in sections of the media that the DPP Chambers has the file in its possession. Efforts by Kaieteur News to speak to Minister of Legal Affairs, Basil Williams, on Monday were futile. Through auxiliary staff, this publication was referred to Minister of Public Security Khemraj Ramjattan.

Minister of Public Security Khemraj Ramjattan

Deputy GPL CEO Aeshwar Deonarine

The discovery of the suspicious monetary transfers was made by independent auditors who were probing the PetroCaribe Fund, which held proceeds of oil shipments taken from neighbouring Venezuela. Some of the monies were used to buy Wartsila engines for GPL, among other things.

It was while tracking payments from the fund to GPL that auditors unearthed the unusual transactions. Deonarine reportedly signed off on payments to himself totaling $27M from the fund. Duncan received some $948,000.

Deonarine was sent on administrative leave and subsequently left the country. The reason for the Executives taking it upon themselves to pay each other, stems from the fact that there are two Deputy Chief Executive Officers in GPL – one for administration and one for operations. Deonarine was responsible for administration.

Deonarine is reported to have wanted to receive the same level of pay as the Deputy Chief Executive Officer (Technical), Colin Welch, but his approaches to the Board of Directors were rebuffed.
The payments to himself, representing back pay for the period January 2013 to June 2015, were reportedly made between May and June last, shortly after the new Government took office. The payments were allegedly countersigned by Duncan as Director.

Attorney General Basil Williams

Carvil Duncan

Duncan’s backpay, meanwhile, represented the 48 months he would have been a Director. Again, both Duncan and Deonarine signed off on the payments.

It was disclosed that when Minister of Public Infrastructure David Patterson confronted Duncan, he kept changing his story. In the first instance, Duncan said the Board approved it. When told that officials of the Board denied this, Duncan then said it was the Chairman, Winston Brassington. But Brassington reportedly also denied granting approval.

Duncan then said it may have been former Prime Minister, Samuel Hinds. Hinds when contacted distanced himself from the payment. Confronted again, Duncan then suggested it may have been former President Donald Ramotar.

According to Minister of State, Joseph Harmon, Government has taken steps to ensure that no interference will come as a result of the findings.

It was in July 2015, that Government first made the shocking announcement that two top Guyana Power and Light (GPL) executives – former Deputy Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Aeshwar Deonarine and Director Carvil Duncan – had paid themselves some $28M in back pay they felt they deserved.

In August it had also been reported that Deonarine, who had left the jurisdiction, had requested time to repay the money, as it had been transferred to his personal bank account(s) in the United States.

Since that disclosure, however, the case against Deonarine appears to be in limbo. Efforts by this publication to verify the whereabouts of the file detailing his transgressions, on Monday revealed that the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) has not received the file, nor has a formal police complaint been made.

This is in stark contrast to reports carried in sections of the media that the DPP Chambers has the file in its possession. Efforts by Kaieteur News to speak to Minister of Legal Affairs, Basil Williams, on Monday were futile. Through auxiliary staff, this publication was referred to Minister of Public Security Khemraj Ramjattan.

The discovery of the suspicious monetary transfers was made by independent auditors who were probing the PetroCaribe Fund, which held proceeds of oil shipments taken from neighbouring Venezuela. Some of the monies were used to buy Wartsila engines for GPL, among other things.

It was while tracking payments from the fund to GPL that auditors unearthed the unusual transactions. Deonarine reportedly signed off on payments to himself totaling $27M from the fund. Duncan received some $948,000.

Deonarine was sent on administrative leave and subsequently left the country. The reason for the Executives taking it upon themselves to pay each other, stems from the fact that there are two Deputy Chief Executive Officers in GPL – one for administration and one for operations. Deonarine was responsible for administration.

Deonarine is reported to have wanted to receive the same level of pay as the Deputy Chief Executive Officer (Technical), Colin Welch, but his approaches to the Board of Directors were rebuffed.
The payments to himself, representing back pay for the period January 2013 to June 2015, were reportedly made between May and June last, shortly after the new Government took office. The payments were allegedly countersigned by Duncan as Director.

Carvil Duncan

Duncan’s backpay, meanwhile, represented the 48 months he would have been a Director. Again, both Duncan and Deonarine signed off on the payments.

It was disclosed that when Minister of Public Infrastructure David Patterson confronted Duncan, he kept changing his story. In the first instance, Duncan said the Board approved it. When told that officials of the Board denied this, Duncan then said it was the Chairman, Winston Brassington. But Brassington reportedly also denied granting approval.

Duncan then said it may have been former Prime Minister, Samuel Hinds. Hinds when contacted distanced himself from the payment. Confronted again, Duncan then suggested it may have been former President Donald Ramotar.

According to Minister of State, Joseph Harmon, Government has taken steps to ensure that no interference will come as a result of the findings.

Wah happen? Jail nah get room fuh dem? You bin preach dat the PNC gat room fuh dem. Dem sell you out like a cheap dusche.

go graze on another thread ole bigot fool . . . u waste my time

Will you volunteer to arrest them and throw them in jail?

You are quick to call people names, so why post or cut and paste if you don't want comments, You should choose another site.

I've been waiting a looooong time for news on these 2 TEEF MEN. One confessed and offered to pay back and HE IS STILL NOT CHARGED AND HAS FLED OVERSEAS!!!!! This coalition is a freaking disgrace! All a bunch of shit talk about "corruption" and "audit" and not one teef man brought to justice. There truly is no hope for Guyana.

Originally Posted by Itaname:

I've been waiting a looooong time for news on these 2 TEEF MEN. One confessed and offered to pay back and HE IS STILL NOT CHARGED AND HAS FLED OVERSEAS!!!!! This coalition is a freaking disgrace! All a bunch of shit talk about "corruption" and "audit" and not one teef man brought to justice. There truly is no hope for Guyana.

more things change...you know the rest

It wuss bai. Notice how the PPP corrupt class now invited to join APNU/AFC (Persaud, nandawhatever and so on). The coalition govt underway bai...the NCT it gon be called. NATIONAL COALITION of TEEFMEN!!!!!

them men need help fuh teef to...so they recruiting

One thing Indian and black man can unite pon. TEEFING! Guyana is about to have a covert coalition government made up of APNU/AFC and former PPP teefmen. All heading to the trough fuh dem last hurrah before flying off or dropping dead and leffing the po Guyanese people in abject poverty. Sickening man!

TEEFMEN and TERRORISTS of APNU/AFC and former PPP teefmen.

It was written here that the coalition will put a stop to all the thieving. Remember those days? 

Is it possible that the US may have a hand in this? They might be trying promote further antagonisms with the government and opposition...in the interest of "unity". This is my guess. 

It wuss bai. Notice how the PPP corrupt class now invited to join APNU/AFC (Persaud, nandawhatever and so on). The coalition govt underway bai...the NCT it gon be called. NATIONAL COALITION of TEEFMEN!!!!!

APNU/AFC will end up no different from the PPP.  Except that these are a bunch of old men, so might be inclined to steal smaller amounts as they have less time to spend it.

The Coalition is as crooked as the PPP although not as savvy.

Politics is who gets what, when and how. I guard myself against relying on anything a Politician says. A good example is that dog and pony show last night on FBN.

It was written here that the coalition will put a stop to all the thieving. Remember those days? 

bai me and u will go back and hang all them thief man i hope we do not have to hang non of u family 

Originally Posted by ksazma:

Politics is who gets what, when and how. I guard myself against relying on anything a Politician says. A good example is that dog and pony show last night on FBN.

The savviness of the PPP is limited to9 theft, and strategies to disguise the theft.

I have been asking for examples about how the PPP managed the economy well, and I havent received any answers.  The economy was stagnant until gold began to pick up.  Rice lucked out because of some failed Asian harvets, though now production is back to normal, the inefficiency of the Guyanese rice industry has been exposed once again.

The economy grew largey because of speculative activity coming from remittances, gold, and other underground activity. This is what drove construction and retail.  Now that this is over we are seeing the reality.

who cares who wrote what? Deal with reality. The reality is black people are criticizing this government after 6 months in cases where there are clear instances of fault. You and yuh PPP henchmen sit hay for decades justifying every teefing move of the PPP all because dem is alyuh own.

Yes let them know that when Jagdeo said "run", they ran, and when se screamed at them for running, they stopped, quaking in fear.

No one can remain in the PPP and be vocal against Jagdeo. No Indian can criticize the PPP without being called a "dirty" Indian.

This people ought to be ashamed of themselves.

Yes let them know that when Jagdeo said "run", they ran, and when se screamed at them for running, they stopped, quaking in fear.

No one can remain in the PPP and be vocal against Jagdeo. No Indian can criticize the PPP without being called a "dirty" Indian.

You forgot that many people left the PPP, including many here on this forum. So what you are saying is not true about Indians blindly following Jagdeo. In fact Jagdeo has not been in power for years but yet you are fixated on him. While he was in charge the economy was in good shape, he even led the country into prosperity despite the financial meltdown. Your lies will not fly as the evidence is there to prove otherwise. 

You have a point here, Ita. On other social media I see blacks openly venting their frustration with the coalition.

Re: Deonarine and the missing $27M.

I'm disappointed the police haven't arrested and charged him. Deonarine admitted he put the money in his personal overseas bank account and promised to repay. His failure to honor that promise warrants legal action.

The savviness of the PPP is limited to9 theft, and strategies to disguise the theft.

I have been asking for examples about how the PPP managed the economy well, and I havent received any answers.  The economy was stagnant until gold began to pick up.  Rice lucked out because of some failed Asian harvets, though now production is back to normal, the inefficiency of the Guyanese rice industry has been exposed once again.

The economy grew largey because of speculative activity coming from remittances, gold, and other underground activity. This is what drove construction and retail.  Now that this is over we are seeing the reality.

Well enough that the new government can afford to double their pays even before they actually did any work. They thank the PPP profusely for that opportunity.

I'm disappointed the police haven't arrested and charged him. Deonarine admitted he put the money in his personal overseas bank account and promised to repay. His failure to honor that promise warrants legal action.

Gilly, this new government don't give a rat's ass about the actions of the previous government. They are too busy grabbing at the nation's purse strings.

You'll listen to my brother Ksazma,

Diwali symbolize

the victory of light over darkness,

(May 12 2015)

knowledge over ignorance,

(Moses over Jagdeo)

good over evil,

(Alliance over PPP)

and hope over despair.

(Guyanese Vote to End Racism).

And as my Brother say

We must Enjoin what is Right

and Forbid what is wrong...

and Lock up All Thieves

from the Previous Govt....

No one can argue with that...

You forgot that many people left the PPP, including many here on this forum. So what you are saying is not true about Indians blindly following Jagdeo. In fact Jagdeo has not been in power for years but yet you are fixated on him. While he was in charge the economy was in good shape, he even led the country into prosperity despite the financial meltdown. Your lies will not fly as the evidence is there to prove otherwise. 

Yes,  they criticized Jagdeo so they had to run.  TUC and many others criticize the APNU and the REMAIN in APNU.

Pity you are too DUMB and racist to notice this difference.

The fact that Jagdeo dumped Ramotar and is once again heading the PPP indicates that he never stopped controlling it.  15 years running a party is quite a long time.

The PPP did NOT lead Guyana to prosperity.

1.  It remained the poorest country in the English speaking Caribbean.

2.  It remained the country with the WORST performance in CXC.

3.  It remained the country with the HIGHEST levels of child labor.

4.  It remained the country with the highest poverty levels.

The economy grew because gold prices were high.  At its peak gold accounted for over 50% of the exports, growing exponentially over a short period.

So now prices are down, and so is production, as many small miners cannot compete (note they aren't asking for price guarantees, or wailing that the gov't has an obligation to ensure that they remain in the industry).  The economy has slowed.

But a racist and dumb jackass like you has the cognitive inability to understand this.  Your drug consumption is what has addled four brain DrugB.

You have a point here, Ita. On other social media I see blacks openly venting their frustration with the coalition.

Please teach drugB to read and comprehend so that he can see this.

He thinks that APNU supporters are meek and mild and follow blindly.

burnham gave these jackasses rice flour to eat and gave his children wheat flour BUT DEm still kisS his Batty.  RACIST DOGS LIKE THESE WILL ALWAYS BE HAPPY WHEN AN INDIAN NOT RULING GUYANA AND SAD WHEN AN INDIAN IS THE RULER OF GUYANA!!!