AFC proposes implementation of National Procurement Commission

November 8, 2011 | By | Filed Under News 

The establishment of a National Procurement Commission as a constitutional body will be one of the immediate measures to be introduced if the Alliance for Change (AFC) is able to secure sufficient votes to assume administrative power.
According to the Party’s Economic Advisor Sasenarine Singh, “immediately we are going to have savings on two aides of the budget, on the current side, which is how they do buying of stationery, fuel and includes everything else, and on the capital side where we are going to be having savings as it relates to how we do capital contracts.”
This move, however, does not mean that there will be a reduction of capital works but rather, the country will be poised to benefit from better works, Singh asserted.
“We are not going to have a Fip Motilall Road which is being tendered at multiples of what it’s worth. We are going to be having better value for money,” he confidently assured.
The Economic Advisor underscored, too, that it is time that the public understands the mentality in the Guyana capital budget today, adding that there is an element that has to go towards ‘kickbacks’.  He made reference to the point that about 15 per cent of the total national budget could be re-directed to sorting out issues such as salary increases.
“This has to be a systemic change and the first thing we have got to do to exercise change is to do what the Jagdeo/Ramotar (regime) has been avoiding for the last five years, which is to establish the constitutional body called the National Procurement Commission.”
This body, according to Singh, should have an individual who is powerful and independent enough to be free of the executive.
“The president should not be able to call this person and say ‘boy I got a friend help he out with a contract or order’. That is what happens today in the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Government,” Singh opined.
According to AFC Presidential Candidate Khemraj Ramjattan, the party is aware that there are static funds totalling in excess of $6.4 billion all across the budget in various accounts.   Static funds, he explained, are like slush funds hiding away.
“I understand from two senior ranking officials in the Finance Ministry, whose names I can’t give, that these (accounts) are there to prove to international agencies that the government is not doing so well with revenue collection or with the state of its revenue so that it can give what is called a deceptive status quo positioning of the government.”
They have hid this around the place in about six or seven accounts,” Ramjattan asserted.
Moreover, he said that “we in the Parliament cannot see how the NICIL funds, the Privatization Unit Funds, the Lotto Funds, the Gold Board Funds and a number of other funds are being spent.”
According to Ramjattan, a legal opinion, which was done by Mr. Ramson, had informed that there was no need for the monies from the various accounts to be placed in the Consolidated Fund when such a demand was made by the Auditor General.
“When we go into Parliament we scrutinise what is left in the Consolidated Fund, but as we do more and more scrutiny of the budget, we are finding monies that are not in the Consolidated Fundâ€Ķstatic funds, slush funds, Lotto, this, that and those monies that are coming are a humongous amountsâ€Ķ”
With the monies that have been detected, Ramjattan said that more money can be paid to workers. He pointed out that when workers are paid more, unlike what the Jagdeo administration is doing by saying that workers have to produce more like the cane cutters before they get more pay, the AFC is of the view that “if you pay the workers more they will produce more; that is our philosophy,” Ramjattan asserted.

Originally Posted by Ronald Narain:
The establishment of a National Procurement Commission as a constitutional body will be one of the immediate measures to be introduced if the Alliance for Change (AFC) is able to secure sufficient votes to assume administrative power.

If this, if that, if the other, etc., nothing of substance but, as usual, AFC's wishful daydreaming in 2011, prior to and even after the date.

You have got to be senile to be posting hogwash.

YES the AFC have the power to tell the PNC and PPP what is right and what is wrong?

AFC is tightly wrapped and completely controlled by the PNC to abide with its-PNC wishes and desires.

Pure shit. Do you read the shit you post here daily?

Mits...de ole bhai swimming in eee own mess.

eee cant remember just a few weeks ago the AFC voted with the PPP to pass some good bills in Parliament.

Leff eee.....eee does forget things when eee pee eee pants and eee release a Ocean of schit suddenly like a high tide.

YES the AFC have the power to tell the PNC and PPP what is right and what is wrong?

AFC is tightly wrapped and completely controlled by the PNC to abide with its-PNC wishes and desires.

Mits...de ole bhai swimming in eee own mess.

eee cant remember just a few weeks ago the AFC voted with the PPP to pass some good bills in Parliament.

Leff eee.....eee does forget things when eee pee eee pants and eee release a Ocean of schit suddenly like a high tide.

Perhaps he missed his medication. Perhaps not.

In reality, the AFC don't have any power of their own and so is APNU/PNC. AFc can flex its muscles because both party need each other badly to do their dutty work in parliament. That's all, the one seat shit house calling again.

Dont they already have a National Tender Board???

The Constitution intend public tendering to be a National Cross Sectoral transparent activity.  It made provisions ofr it in the Constitution.

The National Tender Board is a PPP creature controlled by Asni and the Ali Baba Gang of thiefs.

The PPP chose to not follow the rule of law this time because it will prevent the FIRST MAN - BABBY FROM CHARGING THE PEOPLE SIX TIMES AS MUCH FOR MEDICAL SUPPLIES.

THE PPP GIVE BABBY 80% OF THE MEDICAL SUPPLIES CONTRACT BY A SOLE SOURCE ARRANGEMENT (NO COMPETITION) - G$3.5 billion every year for the first man!

The first man gets it is fives:

1.  5 times $700 million in no compete contracts;

2.  five radio licences;

3.  five tv licences;

4.  five pools;

5.  five BEEs for friends and male lovers  - bharat, the chinese Brain, boyar, brazzy, and the other brian

A responsible hand-cuff on the PPP's excesses is just what's needed.  The AFC is fulfilling this in this instance.  The PPP has to learn to work with the other side on issues of common national interest.

The Constitution intend public tendering to be a National Cross Sectoral transparent activity.  It made provisions ofr it in the Constitution.

The National Tender Board is a PPP creature controlled by Asni and the Ali Baba Gang of thiefs.

The PPP chose to not follow the rule of law this time because it will prevent the FIRST MAN - BABBY FROM CHARGING THE PEOPLE SIX TIMES AS MUCH FOR MEDICAL SUPPLIES.

THE PPP GIVE BABBY 80% OF THE MEDICAL SUPPLIES CONTRACT BY A SOLE SOURCE ARRANGEMENT (NO COMPETITION) - G$3.5 billion every year for the first man!

2.  five radio licences;

3.  five tv licences;

4.  five pools;

5.  five BEEs for friends and male lovers  - bharat, the chinese Brain, boyar, brazzy, and the other brian

Are you aware that THE HONORABLE DONALD RAMOTAR HIS MAJESTY is President of Guyana????

2.  five radio licences;

3.  five tv licences;

4.  five pools;

Are you aware that THE HONORABLE DONALD RAMOTAR HIS MAJESTY is President of Guyana????

You really think he is the Prezzy?  I thought he was the poster boy for the the real power behind the scene - the FIRST ANTI-MAN AND HIS FIRST MONEY MAN BABBY.

If at the election in 2011 Moses Nagamootoo was the PPP/C presidential candidate, would he be saying all the things he is voicing now?

If u were a wise ole man.....the only Question to be asked .....is....

If at the election in 2011 Moses Nagamootoo was the PPP/C presidential candidate,would the PPP be a Minority Govt as it is Today Under Ramotar and Jagdeo????

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

If AFC's leaders like Naga and Ramjattan are true to the beliefs of the late CBJ then why the PNC does not attack them? Is there something here that I'm missing?

Billy ....even De Goat-man know Ramotar and Jagdeo are being attacked by the PNC for their Corruption, Fraud, Scandals, Crime, Drugs and Nepotism.

Billy Bhai use yuh brains lil and U will know Ramotar, Jagdeo and the Funny Fellas are not attacked because they are..... are true to the beliefs of the late CBJ......They are attacked for their thiefing.

If AFC's leaders like Naga and Ramjattan are true to the beliefs of the late CBJ then why the PNC does not attack them? Is there something here that I'm missing?

Don't forget that when Moses' name was mentioned for the speaker ship the PNC was solidly opposed to it....

Originally Posted by Churchill:

Don't forget that when Moses' name was mentioned for the speaker ship the PNC was solidly opposed to it....

SO was the KFC. He was too "******" to be Speaker of the KFC. Go Figure. Hes TOLD that he cannot be TRUSTED by the Youth Arm of KFC. What a bloody SHAME.

Bhai......Moses or  the AFC aint losing sleep over what Nehru, De Ole Fella or Ramotar and Jagdeo think.

AFC happily accepted the Position as Speaker because they were the only one Qualified to offer true leadership.

PPP as a Minority Govt Failed......and their choice....best or otherwise could not gain majority support.

And AFC would not support a PNC candidate as Speaker....

The AFC is happy the way things are with Moses cutting out Ramotar & Jagdeo waste, thiefing and corruption in parliament.....

and Ramkarran exposing them outside of Parliament....

Now all their thiefing ways getting exposed all over

The PPP’s 30th Congress

Conversation-tree.gy

March 24, 2013 · By Staff Writer · 5 Comments Next Article Âŧ

The twice postponed 30th Congress of the PPP will be held in Port Mourant, Corentyne, on August 2 – 4. It will provide an opportunity for the Party to seek out inspiration from the birthplace of its founder. It was in Berbice, the traditional stronghold of the PPP, that the greatest loss of votes took place and the greatest apathy among PPP supporters was detected at the 2011 elections.

Congress is the major event in Party life. The approximately 1,000 delegates and observers from all across Guyana expect that their views will be heard and taken into consideration in determining future Party and Government policies.

The Plenary sessions of the Congress are usually set pieces with no controversy.

At the Workshops members debate a wide range of issues relating to government policy and party work, ‘guided’ by a Chair who is a Party leader. The conclusions of each Workshop are reported to the plenary and are usually adopted for implementation. Little is heard of these reports after the Congress. But attempts are made to broadly capture their sentiments in decision making, although not always successfully.

A much anticipated event at the Congress is the election of 35 members of the Central Committee (“CC&rdquo . Substantial campaigning goes on, both positive and negative, and is sometimes orchestrated in favour of friends or against those out of favour. The intensity varies from Congress to Congress. All campaigning is frowned upon and frequent complaints are made.

At the Congress in August 2008, I was voted down from between my usual 7th to 10th place to 22nd. This was highlighted in a front page story in the Stabroek News at the time. The reporter had personally witnessed the campaigning in the school compound.

What is not publicly known was that at the elections for the Executive Committee a few weeks later, I was voted down from between my usual 4th or 5th place to 14th or second to last. The centrally directed campaigns against me at the Congress for the CC and afterwards for the Executive Committee were fiercely negative and vulgar. It was the worst since that against Balram Singh Rai in the 1960s. Its objective was not merely to let the membership know that I would not be favoured as the presidential candidate but to publicly deliver a heavy dose of humiliation and demoralization. Long before the Congress there were clear indications consciously given that I would not be the candidate. But that was not enough.

When Mrs. Janet Jagan complained about the campaigning at the first CC meeting after the Congress, it was brazenly justified to silent CC members. Many of my close colleagues, friends for decades, then fell in line with the delivered ‘wisdom’ about me at the Congress. A few refused and paid the consequences. I have hesitated to use my subjective, personal, experiences for analytical purposes, lest the usual howls of ‘sour grapes’ and ‘bitterness’ detract from what I am trying to achieve by writing on this matter. My purpose is to expose the same basic methodology at work today in other forms which, unless discontinued, will further damage the Party.

It was again used against me immediately after the elections in 2011 to assert my ‘unsuitability’ for potential inclusion in the Cabinet. It was used more recently to let a comrade know his/her place.

And it will be used against that comrade at the elections of the CC at the Congress to reinforce the message to the comrade and to let the membership and the public also understand that the comrade has a place but can go no further. Unless at the Congress this growing cancer is excised, the supporters and the electorate will combine to deliver a blow to the Party from which it will take years to recover, if at all. If the Party leadership is demonstrably not fair to its own leaders and schemes against them, the electorate will conclude that it cannot be fair to the citizens of Guyana and will scheme against them also.

The PPP does not need a Congress where the expected outcomes are achieved, amidst populist sloganeering, with a superficial show of unity, but simmering discontent and a collapsed organizational infrastructure below the surface.

It does not need a Congress which accuses the opposition, the press and poor organization for its worst crisis in twenty years and one of the most challenging in its history.

It needs a Congress which smells the coffee, sheds the Party’s negative images, democratizes, tackles corruption, renews its commitment to and restores the pride and inspiration of its members in its great mission of liberation and social justice, involves them in developing the policies of the Party and gives them free rein to frankly and freely discuss and debate where the Party went wrong in 2011, and the options of whether the Party should go forward alone or together with the opposition.

I dare the leadership to place on the agenda of the Congress these two options for the way forward in the present political impasse and shifting electoral sentiments, take no position on it, do not privately campaign against it, and allow a full, free and balanced debate. Then take the decision by secret ballot. (www.conversationtree.gy)