AFC afraid to face corruption charges against its leadersPDFPrintE-mail
Written by   
Wednesday, 24 October 2012 19:47

DESPITE Moses Nagamootoo’s assurance that the Alliance For Change (AFC) wanted more debates organised by the National Communications Network (NCN), that party absconded from the October 16, 2012 segment which dealt with claims of corruption and conflicts of interest against opposition members. In a Kaieteur News article on September 24, 2012, Nagamootoo applauded the initiative of the NCN debates and urged its continuation. A few weeks later, the AFC absconded from the debate that dealt with serious matters of public concern regarding several issues of conflict of interest involving its ‘own’  leaders.

An official from NCN confirmed, that particular segment was postponed on four consecutive occasions to facilitate the AFC’s participation but, at the end, no representative from that party appeared on the panel.

The official said that it accommodated the AFC’s request to have one of its representatives observe the feedback desk through which members of the public were sending comments and questions during the debate. The opposition had criticised the feedback segment of the debate, saying it was stage-managed and was not a true reflection of the concerns of the public. NCN insisted the feedback segment was legitimate and without interference.

A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) exited after the first debate in which its Member of Parliament Carl Grenedge appeared.

However what was intended to be a debate evolved into a discussion moderated by Al Creighton with a panel comprising Minister of Agriculture Dr. Leslie Ramsammy and PPP/C Member of Parliament Manzoor Nadir on allegations of corruption and conflicts of interest involving  several  AFC leaders, including Nagamootoo, Khemraj Ramjattan and Nigel Hughes, among others.

The two-man panel, during the discussion, made references to claims of corruption against Nagamotoo in the NICIL contract he had secured in which there were allegations of him double-charging for the relocation of residents for the construction of the Berbice Bridge. Several other allegations were levelled at Nagamoottoo which were deemed conflicts of interest.

Allegations against Ramjattan also surfaced, involving claims of him swindling a client of his  property and his illegal sale of his duty-free privilege. Several examples of what appeared to be extortion by AFC leaders were also cited.

The question is being asked resoundingly whether the AFC’s absence was out of the fear of facing allegations involving its leaders, which implicate their integrity and characters.

Many viewed the NCN debate series as a success and have been requesting a continuation of the debates which focus on important national issues of corruption. NCN said it was about to commence a two-part series on claims of discrimination and was looking forward to the support of all the parties it has invited.

NCN said the public has been involved in determining the focus of the debates, hence its focus on allegations of corruption and conflicts of interest among opposition members.

Ramjattan attacks NICIL, ‘fat cats’ at AFC Rosignol meeting

| By | Filed Under News 

Gail Teixeira– $800,000 a month; Odinga Lumumba– $660,000 a month; you got some of the relatives of Ramotar– one of his sons– $3M a month! Reepu Daman Persaud, who could hardly walk these days– he also collecting a salary– $500,000 I understand—as a spiritual adviser!”

Khemraj Ramjattan who made these disclosures, added that those persons have gardeners, enjoy duty- free concessions and “some of them don’t work. “All these old time PPP guys doing nothing but collecting half a million dollars and more every month and then they come and tell you that they don’t have salary increases for you, that GuySuCo doing bad.”

Ramjattan, the Leader of the Alliance For Change (AFC), said that the new dispensation in Parliament is bringing out all of the corruption in government, including NICIL.  He said that the AFC is bringing out this corruption to show that better can be done for Guyanese.

In addressing a crowd at Rosignol Village, West Berbice Thursday evening, the politician said that a number of demands the party made in the 2012 National Budget were not made. “Although we have lots of monies in this country– plenty money is being siphoned off into irregular devices like NICIL– companies that are not supposed to have the monies and then they come and criticise us for making cuts in the budget!”

He said that there has not been an honest declaration of what all the incomes are in Guyana . “This government has siphoned off more than $50B in NICIL!”
The Member of Parliament said that the money would be used to build certain projects they alone [the government] will enjoy like the Marriot Hotel”. He alluded to what Dr. Cheddi Jagan said that you “can’t start Mercedes projects with a jackass economy”.

“We do not need fancy hotels which Jagdeo and his boys are going to go to,” he said.

Ramjattan noted that the government wants to siphon the money for purposes of enjoying it themselves. He said that the people must appreciate that NICIL is not an organisation that is very transparent.

“We have to ask so much questions to see where the money is going and we are not getting answers– billions and billions of dollars are being cut in the budget not by the AFC or APNU but by this government and they are preventing us from utilising the monies for increases that you so desire”.

He said that even APNU lost faith in the discussions with the government. “After a while (the government) promised APNU the whole world without the AFC; and then APNU had to come back and then we started to make these rational cuts”.
Ramjattan said that the people are told that the cuts are irrational, “but I stand here as Chairman of the AFC and a Parliamentarian for over 25 years– indeed, everything we did in Parliament is justified!”

The AFC Leader said when all of the monies are calculated, they amount to over $100M annually in salaries. “What we did, because of the fact that we cannot in all good conscience continue this thing, we cutting back”.

Speaking about the cuts on NCN, Ramjattan said that the government must have a news agency, “but the money we cut from NCN was based on the fact, that NCN, through advertisements, make $500M a year.”

He said that private TV stations do not make so much advertisement money. “We decided we will not give them because that TV station can earn its own monies and it must also– another conditionality– it has to be more balanced!”

In the coming days and weeks, he said that the AFC will be carrying on a relentless battle to get all the monies “so we can make life for you Guyanese far happier and far better”.

The AFC would be well served working on some original ideas of their own, as contained in the Action Plan, rather than expending energies and political capital on vengeful witch hunts.

The PPP itself had to shift focus away from recouping the billions stolen by the PNC and rebuild the nation.  You need to prove yourself by delivering some of the things you talked in the campaign, things that really matter, start with VAT and move on.

Beating up on the PPP will get you nowhere.  You come across as dejected and angry willing to do anything to take revenge regardless of consequences.  The people now eye you with great reservation and trepidation and not sure what you really bring.  Your anger makes you dangerous.

The AFC would be well served working on some original ideas of their own, as contained in the Action Plan, rather than expending energies and political capital on vengeful witch hunts.

The PPP itself had to shift focus away from recouping the billions stolen by the PNC and rebuild the nation.  You need to prove yourself by delivering some of the things you talked in the campaign, things that really matter, start with VAT and move on.

Beating up on the PPP will get you nowhere.  You come across as dejected and angry willing to do anything to take revenge regardless of consequences.  The people now eye you with great reservation and trepidation and not sure what you really bring.  Your anger makes you dangerous.

Dat is woh de AFC gat foh do. Dem gat foh stap fussin over personal fights like that corrupt jackass Rohee and get one wid de big issues. De people a watch. Dem a watch we, Dem a watch PPP, Dem a watch APNU.

The PPP itself had to shift focus away from recouping the billions stolen by the PNC . . . Your anger makes you dangerous.

yesss . . . and focus hard on out-tiefing and out-murdering them

YOUR mental deformities and intellectual limitations make you . . . STUPID

The PPP itself had to shift focus away from recouping the billions stolen by the PNC . . . Your anger makes you dangerous.

On a discounted basis, nothing rivals the looting carried out by the PNC.

"discounted basis" . . . uh huh

pleeease stop trying so hard to hint that u know 'stuff' . . . it has long been established on this BB [by me and others] that U are nothing but a poser, racist and (more to the point) a DOLT

Now, rather than engaging in useless demagoguery, tell me if you think i'm incorrect.

. . . tell me if you think i'm incorrect.

huh . . . ??

What, you out of breath or you gatt a sungu flair-up.

huh . . . ??

if u want me to indulge you in S P E L L I N G out the obvious . . . at least ask an intelligent question

huh . . . ??

if u want me to indulge you in S P E L L I N G out the obvious . . . at least ask an intelligent question

I did, now you hardly know Guyana, how do you know where to start.  Stick to emptying your garbage you lil clown.

huh . . . ??

I did, now you hardly know Guyana, how do you know where to start.  Stick to emptying your garbage you lil clown.

bai, u wasting meh time tonite u know . . . tell we mo bout dem "negroes" nuh [more your style] . . . oh wait . . . yuh have to switch handles to engage FULLY in that 'intellectual discussion'

my bad

Quit the bull. There are no legacy rich men of the PNC era and in the one decade less tenure of the PPP all of its cabal of crooks have suddenly become obscenely rich. The PNC never experience the largess of international aid so their looting was limited by the available cash to steal.

The biggest complaint of the PPP was about Corbin's barge and in one scoop the Fip deal out did him by 700 percent. Which of the dozen or so failed enterprise of the PNC was handed over to cronies and failed because they looted the place? We have too many to count in this era.

Further the PPP never give away our land or assets to foreigners, We have a noutar Indian furniture maker owning 4% of our land and to the present no one knows why or how he came by it. He already shipped 50 containers of prime hardwood and why?  And how come our national forest need an alien Indian to head it? You despicable folks are without any grasp of how  amoral context of this regime in comparison to that one. Add salt to the wound... it is under the guise of a democracy!

And then there is NICIL and the misuse of NCN, This a crooked corrupt irredeemable government within the context of our present system. They are like a tumor that must be excised.

Stormborn, you are so right on the money . . .; and PPP soldiers like Baseman are fully aware of the facts, but believe they are clever; i re-post from Nov 12:

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/displayF...7#296419281948951807

[Redux]: "The counterfactual nonsense vomited by Skeldon_man is a favorite in the toolkit of BIG LIES the racists and felons in Freedom House deploy from time to time to excuse away the brazen, WORLD CLASS rape of the Guyanese people by PPP criminals.

Well, listen up you big belly, small dick tiefmen . . . Burnham was a SOCIALIST dictator who consolidated POWER in the hands of the STATE which he and his mainly Afro cronies headed but did not own. The country collapsed NOT BECAUSE of tiefin, but because the communist planners of the economy imposed bankrupt ideas on the people, created a repressive police state to enforce this, ended up on the wrong side of history, and consequently ran out of money.

If you want to offer a critique of the disastrous Burnhamite economy and the dictator's crimes against the Guyanese people, feel free . . . but don't LIE about Burnham being "one of the richest men in the world," while muttering stupidly about phantom PNC billionaires (blackman of course) plundering non-existent riches in a moribund economy with no VAT and no credit.

IT JUST DIDN'T HAPPEN!!

This is cheap stuff, and exposes you people as either fantasists OR 2-cent propaganda antimen desperately reaching for an impossible equivalency to smokescreen the Yeltsin-era scale transfer of wealth in Guyana to the NEPS criminals . . . all midwived by Jagdeo and PPPCrime.

I suspect the latter"

Quit the bull. There are no legacy rich men of the PNC era and in the one decade less tenure of the PPP all of its cabal of crooks have suddenly become obscenely rich. The PNC never experience the largess of international aid so their looting was limited by the available cash to steal.

The biggest complaint of the PPP was about Corbin's barge and in one scoop the flip out did him by 700 percent. Which of the dozen or so failed enterprise of the PNC was handed over to cronies and failed because they looted the place? We have too many to count in this era.

Further the PPP never give away our land or assets to foreigners, We have a noutar Indian furniture maker owning 4% of our land and to the present no one knows why or how he came by it. He already shipped 50 containers of prime hardwood and why?  And how come our national forest need an alien Indian to head it? You despicable folks are with out any grasp of the amoral context of this regime.

And then there is NICIL and the misuse of NCN, This a crooked corrupt irredeemable government within the context of our present system. They are like a tumor that must be excised.

You certainly have a comprehension problem...to be generous.

The biggest complaint of the PPP was about Corbin's barge and in one scoop the flip out did him by 700 percent. Which of the dozen or so failed enterprise of the PNC was handed over to cronies and failed because they looted the place? We have too many to count in this era.

Further the PPP never give away our land or assets to foreigners, We have a noutar Indian furniture maker owning 4% of our land and to the present no one knows why or how he came by it. He already shipped 50 containers of prime hardwood and why?  And how come our national forest need an alien Indian to head it? You despicable folks are with out any grasp of the amoral context of this regime.

You certainly have a comprehension problem...to be generous.

I know I have no way of comprehending or making sense of the babble of amoral skunks  or idiots

huh . . . ??

bai, u wasting meh time tonite u know . . . tell we mo bout dem "negroes" nuh [more your style] . . . oh wait . . . yuh have to switch handles to engage FULLY in that 'intellectual discussion'

my bad

Now, is that your intellectual comeback?  The woman pegged you right, now run along and take out the garbage.

Now, is that your intellectual comeback? 

u flatter yourself bai; why would i waste my 'intellect' on feeble minds like yours . . . hmmm?

anyway, check my re-post; consult with your brain?trust and get back to me

doan tek too lang, arrite?

u flatter yourself bai, my 'intellect' is wasted on feeble minds like yours . . . anyway, check my re-post; consult with your brain?trust and get back to me

Are you a retard or Rainman.

u flatter yourself bai, my 'intellect' is wasted on feeble minds like yours . . . anyway, check my re-post; consult with your brain?trust and get back to me

Are you a retard or Rainman.

feeble and confused on your part . . . but better than nothing

Originally Posted by Mahen:

Region 8 - total valid votes 2,570.

APNU  - 739

AFC   - 995

PPP - 741

This will happen in the other 9 regions soon.

Wait and see.

Seems you enjoy self-induced orgasms, now play with Region 9 and it's 2,600 votes.

Leave the opposition to the AFC to figure out whats best for the people, instead you should take your advise to the PPP to figure out what is constitutional in their capacity as minority government status they now reduce to due their corruption and thiefing for the past 20 years.

Advise them that the free ride to use the state assets as their personal bank account is over. Tell them to the people money is not pay for cronies building Marriot hotels while they are handed thiefing text books. 

APNU  - 739

AFC   - 995

PPP - 741

Wait and see.

Seems you enjoy self-induced orgasms, now play with Region 9 and it's 2,600 votes.

Just a minor correction, for the record, I was talking about Region 8, the AFC won region - Cuyuni/Mazaruni.

APNU  - 739

AFC   - 995

PPP - 741

Wait and see.

Just a minor correction, for the record, I was talking about Region 8, the AFC won region - Cuyuni/Mazaruni.

My point still stand.

“Then there really was no point in me asking that, you really do not know Guyana, do you? Unless you wanted to distract me it is clear you are geographically dunce. You didn’t want to distract me, did you, Baseman?”

I was not commenting on geography.  Now are you talking 2,600 or 26,000 voters?

Originally Posted by FC:

Glad this dude showed his true colours after posing as an AFC supporter. The AFC does not want people with his mentality.

This "dude" supported and still do, the AFC's Action Plan.

Originally Posted by FC:

Glad this dude showed his true colours after posing as an AFC supporter. The AFC does not want people with his mentality.

you're a news carrying antiman and PPP double agent . . . no one of integrity in the AFC trusts u

gwaan suh . . . u stinking abscess

Originally Posted by FC:

you're a news carrying antiman and PPP double agent . . . no one of integrity in the AFC trusts u

gwaan suh . . . u stinking abscess

Baseman have no direct connection with any PPPites, never did even as a youth in GT, so you shooting in the dark.  But you, you see, are one of those trojan horses who conned the AFC and tried to con Indians to split the Indian vote so the PNC could rise and rule with the GDF indefinitely.  It did not work so now you angry that you have to sit it out in Brooklyn or where ever awaiting your turn to hop on the PNC gravy train.  I hope you are a very patient man.

DESPITE Moses Nagamootoo’s assurance that the Alliance For Change (AFC) wanted more debates organised by the National Communications Network (NCN), that party absconded from the October 16, 2012 segment which dealt with claims of corruption and conflicts of interest against opposition members. In a Kaieteur News article on September 24, 2012, Nagamootoo applauded the initiative of the NCN debates and urged its continuation. A few weeks later, the AFC absconded from the debate that dealt with serious matters of public concern regarding several issues of conflict of interest involving its ‘own’  leaders.