Is Old School PNC'ites

Harmond, Williams & Felix

undermining the

Moses/Granger Govt???

Charges against Dr. Westford breach amnesty – Neil Boston

November 13, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

– Attorney cites executive abuse

Senior Counsel, Neil Boston, has maintained that the institution of criminal charges against Former Minister of Public Service, Dr Jennifer Westford, and her Personal Assistant, Margaret Cummings, breaches an amnesty promise made by Minister of State, Joseph Harmon, during a press conference earlier this year. Boston made this claim yesterday, when he addressed the court on why court proceedings against the former Minister and her Personal Assistant, should not go forward. Boston contended that there is evidence for the Magistrate to “stay indefinitely these proceeding”.

The Attorney made an hour-long submission before City Magistrate Fabayo Azore in the Georgetown Magistrates’ Courts. In his opening remarks, Boston assured the court that his application has nothing to do with prejudice or fairness. He affirmed that it has to do with “executive abuse”.

The lawyer recalled that over the years, the court has frowned over the attempt by any executive to wrongfully misuse the process of the court. Police Prosecutor, Bharrat Mangru was given until November 30, to reply to the Attorney’s submission.

Sixteen witnesses are slated to testify on behalf of the prosecution if the matter goes to trial. The former minister was placed on a total of $800,000 bail after she pleaded not guilty to eight charges.

The charges alleged that between July 17, 2014 and June 23, 2015, she attempted to transfer eight state vehicles to four persons, including her husband, Gary Beaton, Osbert McPherson, Wayne Walker and Delroy Lewis.

Dr. Jennifer Westford

Margaret Cummings

Westford’s former Chief Personnel Officer, Margaret Cummings, was also slapped with four counts of forgery.

Cummings also pleaded not guilty to four charges which alleged that she forged documents for the purchase of the eight motor vehicles. She has been released on a total of $1.2M bail.

AMNESTY During his submission, Boston informed the court that the Minister of State had announced an amnesty for persons in possession of state assets.

He revealed that the amnesty was brought to light during a June 19, press conference, which he said was aired on HPGTV.

Boston stated that Harmon had promised that once the vehicles were returned-no prosecution will take place.

He added that during the press conference, Harmon said, “They can quietly bring them (vehicles) back to the Ministry, in which they came from or to the Office of the President (OP).  They can park them outside the gate…”

However, Boston said that all the vehicles were returned to the OP and in spite of the official pardon, his clients were charged.

The lawyer argued, “The institution of the charges breached the promise (Harmon made). And the court proceeding against Westford and Cummings should be stayed indefinitely.” He noted that the court process is wrongfully being misused by the filing of the charges.

As such, the attorney stated, “It offends this court’s sense of justice and priority to be asked to try the two defendants in the circumstances…”

Before criminal charges The lawyer told the court that his clients were employed in the Public Sector before May 11. He said that Westford was Minster of Public Service and Cummings was acting Permanent Secretary.

Boston explained that subsequent to May 11, there were allegations to the effect that attempts were made to transfer Government vehicles from the Ministry of Public Service, which was over sighted by OP. He stated that the vehicles were purportedly transferred to several persons, inclusive of Westford.

According to the lawyer, it was a matter of several breaking stories in the media.

Boston exclaimed, “Harmon joined the breaking news train. He had to get in his punches.”

Press Conference In early June, Minister of State Joseph Harmon, had told the media that it was brought to his attention that some documents  were sent to the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA), purportedly signed by Permanent Secretary of the Public Service Ministry, Hydar Ally.

This was done under Ally’s letterhead, but signed by someone else. “He had no knowledge of this transaction,” Minister Harmon had stressed.

It was Ally, who directed Harmon

to the discrepancy in the paperwork

forwarded to GRA for

the transfer of eight vehicles.

In light of the overwhelming evidence,

the vehicles were returned to the government.

The police were called in to investigate and

Westford was charged while Cummings was sent on leave.

Is Harmond and .....

others from PNC Old School

really supporting Moses & Granger

efforts to clean up and

Charge all Senior officials

from previous govt

who were involved in Corruption?

It was a Senior PPP's Member

Hydar Ally

who Blew the Whistle

on Westford .......

former PNC/House of Israel Supporter.

De Old School PNC'ites

giving Jagdeo more Fuel

to Cry Discrimination

and weaken Moses & Granger's

official Position on Corruption.

Another

PNC Old School mess up....

Former GPL Deputy

goes to court

to defend $28M back pay

Suspended: GPL's Deputy CEO, Aeshwar Deonarine

Suspended: GPL’s Deputy CEO, Aeshwar Deonarine

More than three months after accusing a deputy head of the Guyana Power and Light Inc. (GPL) of giving himself $28M in back pay, Government is facing legal hurdles in recovering the monies.

Aeshwar Deonarine, the Deputy Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of GPL, was sent on administrative leave late July after an audit of the PetroCaribe Fund raised questions about the payments.

Explaining, Minister David Patterson  during a Joseph Harmond press conference at the Ministry of the Presidency  on July 22nd had said that there are two Deputy CEO in GPL- one for administration and one for operations. Deonarine was responsible for administration.

The Minister reportedly said that Deonarine had applied for the same level of pay as the Deputy CEO (Technical), Colin Welch, but his approaches to the Board of Directors were rebuffed.

The payments to himself, representing back pay for the period January 2013 to June 2015, were reportedly made between May and June, shortly after the new Government took office.

The payments were allegedly countersigned by Carvil Duncan, a Director who was also accused of signing off on $948,000 in payments to himself.

Earlier this week,

Kaieteur News reported that

efforts by Government

to recover the millions

appear to be at a standstill.

Deonarine has reportedly

transferred the monies

to an overseas account and

is said to be out of the country.

In a letter yesterday to this newspaper, Deonarine’s lawyer, Murseline Bacchus, insisted that his client did not pay himself any money. “He was entitled to that sum, as his salary was lawfully increased retroactively by those concerned of GPL.”

As a matter of fact, the attorney-at-law said that Chief Justice (ag), Ian Chang, has granted orders, asking that Minister Patterson explain why his decision to send Deonarine home on July 22nd, should not be quashed as being unlawful, in excess or lack of jurisdiction, irrational, erroneous in law and ultra vires.

According to the lawyer, the order was entered on the November 6th and served on Minister Patterson on Wednesday.

The matter returns to court on November 20th.

“GPL is not in any position to dispute

that my client was entitled

to the sum paid to him.

It would be a travesty of justice

if my client is charged with any offence

in view of the documentary evidence

that would be with GPL and

which I expect would be part

of the “crime file” if any.”

The discoveries of the “suspicious transfers” were made by independent auditors who were probing the PetroCaribe Fund, which hold proceeds of oil shipments taken from neighbouring Venezuela.

Some of the monies were used to buy Wartsila engines for GPL, among other things It was while tracking payments to GPL that auditors unearthed the strange transactions.

With regard to Duncan, Patterson in July reportedly said that the Board of Directors of GPL had approached Government to raise the Directors’ fees from $5,000 to $20,000 monthly, but no decision was made.

His back pay represented the 48 months he would have been a Director.

Again, both Duncan and Deonarine signed off on the payments.

Patterson disclosed that he had confronted Duncan who kept changing his story.

GPL is a state-owned entity that has been under fire for its spending and high tariffs. It is handling billions of dollars.

After Govt discovered Fraud....

Harmond Jump in and say

he work out a Deal.....

for the Return of the Money

Back to GPL Account.....

Harmond & Basil Williams....Claim

to be PNC Old School Top Lawyers

and Demander top Salaries & Benefits 

from new Govt.

Is Old School PNC'ites

undermining the

Moses/Granger Govt???

Senior Counsel, Neil Boston, has maintained that the institution of criminal charges against Former Minister of Public Service, Dr Jennifer Westford, and her Personal Assistant, Margaret Cummings, breaches an amnesty promise made by Minister of State, Joseph Harmon, during a press conference earlier this year. Boston made this claim yesterday, when he addressed the court on why court proceedings against the former Minister and her Personal Assistant, should not go forward. Boston contended that there is evidence for the Magistrate to “stay indefinitely these proceeding”.

The Attorney made an hour-long submission before City Magistrate Fabayo Azore in the Georgetown Magistrates’ Courts. In his opening remarks, Boston assured the court that his application has nothing to do with prejudice or fairness. He affirmed that it has to do with “executive abuse”.

The lawyer recalled that over the years, the court has frowned over the attempt by any executive to wrongfully misuse the process of the court. Police Prosecutor, Bharrat Mangru was given until November 30, to reply to the Attorney’s submission.

Sixteen witnesses are slated to testify on behalf of the prosecution if the matter goes to trial. The former minister was placed on a total of $800,000 bail after she pleaded not guilty to eight charges.

The charges alleged that between July 17, 2014 and June 23, 2015, she attempted to transfer eight state vehicles to four persons, including her husband, Gary Beaton, Osbert McPherson, Wayne Walker and Delroy Lewis.

Dr. Jennifer Westford

Margaret Cummings

Westford’s former Chief Personnel Officer, Margaret Cummings, was also slapped with four counts of forgery.

Cummings also pleaded not guilty to four charges which alleged that she forged documents for the purchase of the eight motor vehicles. She has been released on a total of $1.2M bail.

AMNESTY During his submission, Boston informed the court that the Minister of State had announced an amnesty for persons in possession of state assets.

He revealed that the amnesty was brought to light during a June 19, press conference, which he said was aired on HPGTV.

Boston stated that Harmon had promised that once the vehicles were returned-no prosecution will take place.

He added that during the press conference, Harmon said, “They can quietly bring them (vehicles) back to the Ministry, in which they came from or to the Office of the President (OP).  They can park them outside the gate…”

However, Boston said that all the vehicles were returned to the OP and in spite of the official pardon, his clients were charged.

The lawyer argued, “The institution of the charges breached the promise (Harmon made). And the court proceeding against Westford and Cummings should be stayed indefinitely.” He noted that the court process is wrongfully being misused by the filing of the charges.

As such, the attorney stated, “It offends this court’s sense of justice and priority to be asked to try the two defendants in the circumstances…”

Before criminal charges The lawyer told the court that his clients were employed in the Public Sector before May 11. He said that Westford was Minster of Public Service and Cummings was acting Permanent Secretary.

Boston explained that subsequent to May 11, there were allegations to the effect that attempts were made to transfer Government vehicles from the Ministry of Public Service, which was over sighted by OP. He stated that the vehicles were purportedly transferred to several persons, inclusive of Westford.

According to the lawyer, it was a matter of several breaking stories in the media.

Boston exclaimed, “Harmon joined the breaking news train. He had to get in his punches.”

Press Conference In early June, Minister of State Joseph Harmon, had told the media that it was brought to his attention that some documents  were sent to the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA), purportedly signed by Permanent Secretary of the Public Service Ministry, Hydar Ally.

This was done under Ally’s letterhead, but signed by someone else. “He had no knowledge of this transaction,” Minister Harmon had stressed.

forwarded to GRA for

In light of the overwhelming evidence,

the vehicles were returned to the government.

The police were called in to investigate and

Westford was charged while Cummings was sent on leave.

Is Harmond and .....

efforts to clean up and

from previous govt

Hydar Ally

who Blew the Whistle

on Westford .......

De Old School PNC'ites

giving Jagdeo more Fuel

to Cry Discrimination

dude, i am having a hard time following the FACTS and logic of your random, instinctive, i-loathe-blackman (Granger included) rant

i fear for the coalition and the future of Guyana every other day, understanding that unhinged race ideologues like you have the ear of Moses Nagamootoo

Harmond & Basil Williams....Claim

to be PNC Old School Top Lawyers and Demander top Salaries & Benefits from new Govt.

seriously, is that your takeaway from the salary increase imbroglio . . . its genesis, and its resolution?

racism is now becoming an incurable mental illness

smfh

8 minutes ago

Is Old School PNC'ites

undermining the

Moses/Granger Govt???

Dr. Jennifer Westford

Margaret Cummings

forwarded to GRA for

Is Harmond and .....

efforts to clean up and

from previous govt

Hydar Ally

who Blew the Whistle

on Westford .......

De Old School PNC'ites

giving Jagdeo more Fuel

to Cry Discrimination

dude, i am having a hard time following the FACTS and logic of your random, instinctive, i-loathe-blackman (Granger included) rant

i fear for the coalition and

the future of Guyana every other day,

understanding that unhinged race ideologues like you have the ear of Moses Nagamootoo

Please do not tell us

Harmond & His PNC Old School Comrades

are listening to Redux.....

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Redux wants Facts......and Logic

Lets Give Redux facts......and Logic

Since Moses & Granger won the Elections

Harmond and the Old School PNC

has been trying to undermine the new Govt.

Redux....

which part of that statement

you do not understand?

Which part of that statement

you see as an attack on Blackman?

Redux.....If you Love or

Support the PNC Old-School...

That's your Deal...

The Moses/Granger Govt is not Part

of any Deal made with Harmond....

The Moses/Granger Administration is aggressively

going after the Corruption of the Previous Govt.

a Senior PPP's Member.....Hydar Ally

Blew the Whistle.....on Westford .......

a former PNC/House of Israel Supporter.

While Moses & Granger telling Guyanese

all members of the former Govt will be charged

for any wrongdoings committed.....

Harmond is Promising Amnesty to certain people.....

Is Harmond undermining Moses & Granger?

Redux....

you do not understand?

Redux.....If you Love or

That's your Deal...

Redux yuh want more Facts & Logic?

Harmond & the Old School PNC undermining Moses/Granger Govt.

Harmond & Basil Williams... Claim to be PNC Old School Top Lawyers and Demander top Salaries & Benefits from new Govt.

Redux....

you do not understand?

Redux.....If you Love or

That's your Deal...

seriously, is that your takeaway from the salary increase imbroglio . . . its genesis, and its resolution?

smfh

Redux where is the Racism or

Hate for Blackman

yuh keep talking about &

Yuh Keep INVENTING ????

jalil, your stink smoke and nonsense fool no one

Joe Harmon is effectively President Granger's Chief of Staff!

Harmon's tendency to talk stupidness aside, ALL POLICY emerging from Office of The President reflect President Granger's decisions - NOT Harmon's

but u and i know u already know that, rite?

now, you are on record here pointing to amorphous blackman in both APNU and AFC as the problem in the Coalition [taking care to offer that all non-Black ministers are unsoiled if i remember correctly]

in jalilworld, PPP lifer Hydar Ali is a hero, and Black PPP tiefman minister Westford is by virtue of her blackness re-christened part of Harmon/Granger's evil PNC gang . . . hmmmm?

blackman Felix, Trotman, Harmon (proxy for Granger), Jordan u have already named as rawan  . . . tell us what exactly are their crimes - FACTS not race venom, lies, tribal speculation or biliousness please

thanks

Harmon's tendency to talk stupidness aside, ALL POLICY emerging from Office of The President reflect President Granger's decisions - NOT Harmon's

now, you are on record here pointing to amorphous blackman in both APNU and AFC as the problem in the Coalition [taking care to offer that all non-Black ministers are unsoiled if i remember correctly]

Who is AFC Minister

Hon David Patterson?.....a coolieman?

in jalilworld, PPP lifer Hydar Ali is a hero, and Black PPP tiefman minister Westford is by virtue of her blackness now re-christened part of Harmon/Granger's evil PNC gang . . . hmmmm?

"Your Logic or Lies???"

blackman Felix, Trotman, Harmon (proxy for Granger), Jordan u have already named as rawan  . . . tell us what exactly are their crimes - FACTS not race venom, lies, tribal speculations or biliousness please

"Your Logic or Lies???"

thanks

Redux....

So Using your Logic....

Who is AFC Minister Hon David Patterson?

Your Black nonsense and Love for Harmond do not stick.

Who is AFC Minister

in jalilworld, PPP lifer Hydar Ali is a hero, and Black PPP tiefman minister Westford is by virtue of her blackness now re-christened part of Harmon/Granger's evil PNC gang . . . hmmmm?

blackman Felix, Trotman, Harmon (proxy for Granger), Jordan u have already named as rawan  . . . tell us what exactly are their crimes - FACTS not race venom, lies, tribal speculations or biliousness please

thanks

Redux....

So Using your Logic....

David Patterson is a Black Guyanese . . . so is Kathy Hughes . . . so is Carl Greenidge

what's your STUPID point?

read what i posted again or have one of your more literate PPP bhais explain fuh u

*oh, i forgot blackman Basil Williams for your rawan collection . . . did i miss anyone else important?

Harmond & Basil Williams... Claim to be PNC Old School Top Lawyers and Demander top Salaries & Benefits from new Govt.

smfh

Hate for Blackman

yuh keep talking about &

Yuh Keep INVENTING ????

u wanna talk FACTS and INVENTING, eh?

address what i said about the salary increase u tap-dancing, racist jackass

Who is AFC Minister

"Your Logic or Lies???"

thanks

Redux....

So Using your Logic....

Redux get Stumped....

Where is the Racism?

Where is the attack on Blackman Ministers?

and Yes Westford de thief......

is part of the Black House of Isreal Gang

Imported by Jagdeo (Lamumba, Hamilton, Kwame, Westford)

into Freedom House & Office of the President after 1997.

Jagdeo Baptised them all as House Of Israel Hindus same time.

smfh

Hate for Blackman

yuh keep talking about &

Yuh Keep INVENTING ????

u wanna talk FACTS and INVENTING, eh?

address what i said about the salary increase u tap-dancing, racist jackass