AFC Chairman, Nigel Hughes puts resignation on hold

The Sheila Holder Centre for Change- the AFC's headquarters located on Railway Embankment Road, Kitty.

The Sheila Holder Centre for Change- the AFC’s headquarters located on Railway Embankment Road, Kitty.

The Alliance For Change (AFC) on Wednesday announced that Attorney-at-Law, Nigel Hughes has put his resignation as party Chairman on hold until a review is conducted, following a meeting with party leader, Khemraj Ramjattan.

“After a most productive working session it was agreed that Chairman Hughes’s resignation will not take effect at this time and he will instead proceed on a leave of absence from the duties and responsibilities of Chairman for a period of reflection and review after which a mutual decision will be taken,” the party said in a statement.

But Hughes told Demerara Waves Online News that “I have not put anything on hold” and he subsequently sent what he said was a statement that he had agreed to that says “After a most productive working session it was agreed that  consideration by the Party of  Chairman Hughes’s resignation letter will be deferred and he will instead proceed on a leave of absence from the duties and responsibilities of Chairman for a period of reflection and review after which a mutual decision will be taken.”

Demerara Waves Online News was told by a well-placed source that Hughes would make a firm decision in another two months about his post of Chairmanship.

A source said AFC Vice Chairman, Moses Nagamootoo would perform the duties of Chairman.

Hughes resigned following the issuance of a post-retreat statement that called for Minister of State, Joseph Harmon’s powers to be reduced in the wake of certain questionable decisions that he had made in recent weeks.

Emerging from that high-level “frank discussions” that included AFC, General Secretary, David Patterson the party said during the period under review Hughes would continue to serve the party and contribute to various policy and legal areas in keeping with its electoral promises. “It was further agreed that during the interregnum of his absence from active duties as Chairman he will continue political and policy work on behalf of the Party by concentrating his efforts on three critical and important pillars of the AFC’s agenda, those being Constitutional Reform, Broadcast Legislation and other core legal matters which the AFC has committed itself to advance in the interest of the Guyanese society,” the party said.

The AFC said that Hughes has reiterated firmly and unequivocally that he remains fully committed to the AFC and its development agenda for the country and he would remain an active and vocal member of the Party. “The leadership of the AFC wholeheartedly recognises the significant contribution of the Chairman of the Party and accepts his decision to recalibrate his focus and attention at this time as the Party continues its historic mission on setting Guyana on a firm and steady path of sustained progress.”

Less than one day after news broke that Hughes had resigned from the AFC’s Chairmanship, he said on Facebook that his post had become “difficult and untenable.”  This is not the first time that he has resigned and recanted his decision.

quote "Hughes resigned following the issuance of a post-retreat statement that called for Minister of State, Joseph Harmon’s powers to be reduced in the wake of certain questionable decisions that he had made in recent weeks." unquote

In terms of ministries and departments, Harmon is responsible for
1) The Ministry of the Presidency,
2) Office of the President,
3) Cabinet Office,
4) Department of Defence,
5) Guyana Defence Force,
6) Joint Intelligence Coordinating Centre,
7) Central Intelligence Committee,
8) Regional Intelligence Committees,
9) Civil Defence Commission,
10) Guyana Lands and Surveys
11) Commission and Lands Registry,
12) Guyana Energy Authority,

Department of the Public Service,
13) Personnel Division,
14) Training Division,
15) Department of Citizenship,
16) Registration, Immigration and Naturalisation,
17) General Registrar’s Office,
18) Advisory Body on Sciences and Technology and the
19) Institute of Applied Science and Technology.

http://demerarawaves.com/2016/...ay-dr-henry-jeffrey/

This guy is in everything. he is like a God.

Nigel Hughes needs to make firm statements rather that announcing his resignation and then shortly after rescind that decision.

Did he say that he rescinded it?  I think that the AFC is trying to get him to do so.   The leave of absence is a mere attempt to let what ever triggered his decision to be resolved.

Personally I think that there are cracks between the Trotman and Moses AFC factions.

Nigel is showing himself to be a real premadonna. It appears like he does have periods like a woman.  

Why?  If he no longer wishes to be chair ought he not be honest about it?

It is clear that the AFC has lost its direction, mission, and sense of what it is.  It was only being absorbed within the APNU sphere that gave it longer life. 

And now its fast losing its identity as an independent force.

Nigel Hughes needs to make firm statements rather that announcing his resignation and then shortly after rescind that decision.

Did he say that he rescinded it?  I think that the AFC is trying to get him to do so.   The leave of absence is a mere attempt to let what ever triggered his decision to be resolved.

Personally I think that there are cracks between the Trotman and Moses AFC factions.

Personally, I agree with you.  Keep your eyes on Trotman.  When he walks, it's game over!!!

The deck of cards will come falling down faster than we think.

The deck of cards is full of Jokers!!!!!!   

Why don't you go cheer your hero Jagdeo while he screams that he "consolidated the East Indian support base", and rants that he didn't see the rest of the population as being worthy of his time, even though its now more than 50% of the voting age population?

Jagdeo is taking the PPP down the Potaro River, and just now it will tumble over the falls.

The deck of cards will come falling down faster than we think.

The deck of cards is full of Jokers!!!!!!   

Why don't you go cheer your hero Jagdeo while he screams that he "consolidated the East Indian support base", and rants that he didn't see the rest of the population as being worthy of his time, even though its now more than 50% of the voting age population?

Jagdeo is taking the PPP down the Potaro River, and just now it will tumble over the falls.

Don't scream too hard.  Soon y'all will be begging Jagdeo to come and rescue the whole country from the bottom of the Potaro river!!!!

Personally, I agree with you.  Keep your eyes on Trotman.  When he walks, it's game over!!!

You need to watch Jagdeo, he is adamant in his plan to destroy the PPP, as he reinforces its image of being an ethnic party at a time when no party can win based purely on an ethnic vote.

Don't scream too hard.  Soon y'all will be begging Jagdeo to come and rescue the whole country from the bottom of the Potaro river!!!!

Jagdeo said that he isn't interested in any one who isn't East Indian.  Given that I have absolutely NO East Indian ancestry (as reported by Ancestry DNA) I cannot scream or beg for Jagdeo, as he doesn't think that I am worthy of his attention.

Now go and cheer him on as he turns the PPP into a "40%" party.

You need to watch Jagdeo, he is adamant in his plan to destroy the PPP, as he reinforces its image of being an ethnic party at a time when no party can win based purely on an ethnic vote.

Jagdeo is adamant in his plan to save the country from the PNC.  Of course, that will be right after the PNC destroys the AFC.  Priorities are in order.

Jagdeo said that he isn't interested in any one who isn't East Indian.  Given that I have absolutely NO East Indian ancestry (as reported by Ancestry DNA) I cannot scream or beg for Jagdeo, as he doesn't think that I am worthy of his attention.

Now go and cheer him on as he turns the PPP into a "40%" party.

I can sign a petition to bring you in as an honorary member of the PPP!!!!!!  

But Hughes told Demerara Waves Online News that “I have not put anything on hold” and he subsequently sent what he said was a statement that he had agreed to that says “After a most productive working session it was agreed that  consideration by the Party of  Chairman Hughes’s resignation letter will be deferred and he will instead proceed on a leave of absence from the duties and responsibilities of Chairman for a period of reflection and review after which a mutual decision will be taken.”

ian posted:

De man a play dead to see what kind funeral he will get - AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!

Jagdeo is adamant in his plan to save the country from the PNC.  Of course, that will be right after the PNC destroys the AFC.  Priorities are in order.

And how can Jagdeo save Guyana from the PNC when he refuses to woo some of those who traditionally support that party, given its recent victory at the polls.

Now a smarter man would have known that there is no way that the PPP would lose the 48 majority Indian NDCs, so it should have proven its pointed by contesting in the municipalities which were traditionally PNC.

I mean if a radially Democratic state like NYS voted for people like Pataki, Bloomberg, and Guiliani, even though they haven't supported a GOP candidate in the presidential elections since Ronald Reagan, then why couldn't the PPP have gone into G/town, Bartica, and New Amsterdam and told them that they will collect garbage and clean the drains effectively?

No they played the "coolie people party" game, and so lost Lethem, and now Mabaruma!  These being areas that have been traditionally hostile to the PNC!

ian posted:

Bunch of comedians.  

You mean like Jagdeo, who has openly admitted that the PPP is a "coolie people party", in a country where the Indian vote is declining, and where increasing numbers wish not to vote solely on the basis of ethnicity!

caribny posted.

The PNC will be a loser attempting to do that,i they are contemplating rigging of elections to stay in power that means they are being backed by external forces to keep the PPP out.

The notion that I will be a member of the brown bai KKK is hilarious. 

They call themselves the "coolie people party". 

They boast that their goal was to "consolidate the East Indian support base". 

They campaigned last year on the basis that "if the PNC wins straight haired people will be killed". 

Their rag the Chronicle painted a whole editorial screaming that Africans are lazy bloodthirsty savages, who have made no contribution to Guyana.  The PPP never apologized.

The daughter of a senior PPP official ranted on her FB about blacks being low class, and she refused to apologize.  Her father wailed that he didn't see what she did wrong.

You have to be kidding.

They campaigned last year on the basis that "if the PNC wins straight haired people will be killed". 

Their rag the Chronicle painted a whole editorial screaming that Africans are lazy bloodthirsty savages, who have made no contribution to Guyana.  The PPP never apologized.

The daughter of a senior PPP official ranted on her FB about blacks being low class, and she refused to apologize.  Her father wailed that he didn't see what she did wrong.

You have to be kidding.

I am not brown Bai KKK.  I am sweet gyal BBB!!!

You have to be kidding.

If you join the brown bai KKK then the most you can claim to be is a brown gyal KKK.  Because the PPP is the brown bai KKK.

You have to be kidding.

If you join the brown bai KKK then the most you can claim to be is a brown gyal KKK.  Because the PPP is the brown bai KKK.

What if the brown gyal like the black panther boys????!!!!

HANIFFA, the PPP has taken a page out of the Republican Party's Play Book and will forever consign itself to being a minority party if it believes only the Indian vote can give it close to 50%

Kari posted:

HANIFFA, the PPP has taken a page out of the Republican Party's Play Book and will forever consign itself to being a minority party if it believes only the Indian vote can give it close to 50%

Where the ra$$$ you get that from?  Me never say that!!  Wha wrang wid you??  

Jagdeo said this.  You scream that he is a hero, therefore YOU agree with this.

Were Jagdeo smart he would have understood that APNU has a problem with its base, which now feels used.  They could have gone into the strongholds and campaigned on the basis of "clean drains and no garbage".  They didn't.

So the PPP has deepened the notion that it is indeed the "coolie people party" that Rohee said that they were last year when he agreed with Jagdeo's claims that this is how the PPP is perceived.

Jagdeo said this.  You scream that he is a hero, therefore YOU agree with this.

Were Jagdeo smart he would have understood that APNU has a problem with its base, which now feels used.  They could have gone into the strongholds and campaigned on the basis of "clean drains and no garbage".  They didn't.

So the PPP has deepened the notion that it is indeed the "coolie people party" that Rohee said that they were last year when he agreed with Jagdeo's claims that this is how the PPP is perceived.

You don't assume what I agree with.  If you keep repeating the same five lines on GNI for umpteenth number of years to the point where you can't see the truth anymore, you won't fool anyone.  Keep repeating your racist chants to the wall.  It can hear you.

You don't assume what I agree with.

If you don't state that you disagree, and scream that Jagdeo is a hero, then clearly you do agree.

Jagdeo is a racist, and so the fact that you think that he is God, means that you share his views.