July 03, 2014

The Alliance For Change today denounced the attack last evening by acting Foreign Minister Priya Manickchand on outgoing US Ambassador Brent Hardt at a reception at the Ambassador’s residence to mark the US’s independence anniversary.

The AFC release follows.

The Alliance For Change listened to and subsequently read with increasing horror the  language of the acting Foreign Affairs Minister Ms Priya Manickchand on the occasion of the celebration of the anniversary of America’s Independence at the Ambassador’s residence on the evening of the July 2, 2014.

No doubt inspired by the old Guyanese folk song “Oh Satira”, the Minister displayed behaviour that even the most socially challenged citizens would be hard pressed to admit let alone defend.

Not only was the Republic embarrassed by the tone and sentiments expressed by the Minister but also the occasion and circumstances in which they were delivered were unforgivable.

The Alliance For Change wishes, in the strongest possible terms to disassociate itself from the statements made by the Honourable Minister as they clearly do not reflect the sentiments of the people of Guyana who have continuously expressed their support and gratitude for Ambassador Hardt in his unfailing and persistent efforts to advance the quality and way of life of all Guyanese.

We view the tenure of Ambassador Hardt’s posting to Guyana as extremely positive and beneficial to the national good.

We take this opportunity to express our thanks to him and wish him the very best in his continued professional progress.

Perhaps the Minister should have taken note of the geography and circumstances in which “Satira” found herself when she opted to express her personal views on loss and despair.

http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...and-attack-us-envoy/

Jeers and boos drowned out the remarks of acting Minister of Foreign Affairs, Priya Manickchand when she last evening launched verbal salvoes at her host, outgoing US Ambassador Brendt Hardt, over his criticisms of government officials over long awaited local government elections.

http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...ttack-us-ambassador/

Americans are patriotic to their country and cause. Granger and Ramjattan are patriotic to America and their cause. Ramotar and the PPP are patriotic to Guyana and Guyanese. That is a clear message by their own convictions.

Don't you agree that the audience's response of booing and jeering is a reflection of the dismal failure of our immature politicians' ability to mold a nationalistic approach by fellow Guyanese at home?

No doubt inspired by the old Guyanese folk song “Oh Satira”, the Minister displayed behaviour that even the most socially challenged citizens would be hard pressed to admit let alone defend.

I am not surprise. Ramjhaaaaaaatan, Mose and Hughes on the CIA Payroll.

Like u forget where u living Mr. Neemakaram. Cobra we know, all serpents wuk fuh de devil.

Then you know nothing. BTW, this is not about me, so let's stick to the subject.

Like u forget where u living Mr. Neemakaram. Cobra we know, all serpents wuk fuh de devil.

I know exactly where I living JACKASS. Facts are Facts but you are accustomed to KISS ASS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

U need a fine cutass to ketch some sense. Perhaps yuh catch something at Gaumont that eating at yuh brains.

You are old enough to remember what Kennedy and Churchill did to Guyana or your memory not as good any longer???

I know what Jagan tried to do in BG-he tried to enslave us to soviet doctrines. And Kennedy should have done the same thing to him as he did to the President of South Vietnam. Then we wouldn't have had morons running the country.

Jeers and boos drowned out the remarks of acting Minister of Foreign Affairs, Priya Manickchand when she last evening launched verbal salvoes at her host, outgoing US Ambassador Brendt Hardt, over his criticisms of government officials over long awaited local government elections.

I don't agree with her attacking if she did.  On the other hand, if she came for US independence gathering, why did the US rep politicize the event attacking the GoG?  Why did he tolerate hecklers against an invited guest.  This is undiplomatic and in appropriate regardless how you feel about the local politics.  It appears she was set-up by the ambassador.

Thanks for the endorsement!

ahmmm baseman . . . which moron from OP fed u get dis foolishness that alyuh idiot minista was 'responding' to Brent Hardt "attacking the GOG" in his remarks at the "independence gathering"

as usual, u are thoroughly confused and poorly informed, but love the sound of your own bray

listen to the tape and stop making a confounded ass of yourself, arite?

What Bullox?  How can an ambassador set up a Government?

This was pre-meditated and that is why Gail was there to ensure she delivered the PPP message.

What Bullox?  How can an ambassador set up a Government?

This was pre-meditated and that is why Gail was there to ensure she delivered the PPP message.

Gail is the only one with Stalinist steel balls in the Gang of 8.

The Ambassador spoke his mind and the Minister spoke hers. That is democracy is it not? Or is it okay for a foreign power to say what they like in our backyard and we must stay quiet and not respond? I think not!

Priya, tell them not in your backyard!    

The Ambassador spoke his mind and the Minister spoke hers. That is democracy is it not? Or is it okay for a foreign power to say what they like in our backyard and we must stay quiet and not respond? I think not!

THis banna Hardt just too much involved in Guyana politics.  He throw mud, he got a little thrown back.

how about your house the dog pen