Bholan Boodhoo

Alliance for Change (AFC) Economist Bholan Boodhoo was killed this morning in an accident while taking his usual jog along the JD Singh Road, in the vicinity of Camp Ayanganna, Georgetown. Boodhoo was a central figure in crafting his party's position on matters pertaining to the economy. He was said to have been struck by a minibus.

The incident took place mere hours after the AFC joined the PNC'S APNU in voting against the anti-money laundering bill. Guyana's failure to pass the bill before a November deadline will result in sanctions by the international community which could hamper the continued development of our economy.

I am shocked.

When I attended my first PPP group meeting at Leonora Pasture 44 years ago, I met Bholan Boodhoo. He was living at Stewartville and I at Uitvlugt.

Shortly after that he joined the Georgetown Constabulary as a city policeman. Later on he read for a B.Soc Sc degree at UG, majoring in Economics.

During President Hoyte's time Bholan worked at the State Planning Secretariat, before Bharat Jagdeo started working there.

Bholan and I kept in touch throughout the years.

The last time I met him, the PPP was in government and Bholan was out of State Planning Secretariat.

He was always a humble guy; he didn't look like an economist.

I offer my condolence to his family.

Early morning exercise leaves one dead, one critical

November 9, 2013 | By | Filed Under News 

What was usually an early morning jog for a book store proprietor ended fatally in the wee hours of yesterday morning when he and a companion were struck down by a contracted minibus.

Dead: Bholan Boodhoo

The dead man identified as Bholan Boodhoo, 65, of lot 41 Third Street, Alberttown, was a long standing member of the Alliance for Change and an adviser to the political party on matters of Economics and Finance for several years. According to the police, investigations revealed that the driver of minibus BGG 4671 was proceeding north along the roadway about 04:45 hrs, allegedly at a fast rate when Bholan Boodhoo reportedly attempted to cross the road and was struck down. The police further claimed that Boodhoo’s jogging partner, 59-year-old Bibi Baksh of Stanley Place, Kitty, who was also attempting to cross the road was struck by the vehicle. They were both rushed to the Georgetown Public Hospital where Boodhoo was later pronounced dead. Baksh was admitted. Boodhoo’s wife, Mahadai Boodhoo, said that her husband had just returned to Georgetown from an out of town trip on Thursday. She said that as a usual practice since 2006, her husband would frequently go on early morning jogs along with a companion. “I don’t go with him and he usually leaves at 04:30 hrs but this morning (yesterday) he came down at four o’ clock and I came down with him. I know he don’t lock the gates properly so I went behind him just to make sure he did and he gave me the keys,” the grieving wife said. The woman added that about 05:00hrs she was awakened by a phone call notifying her that Boodhoo was involved in an accident and was rushed to the GPHC. “I say is which customer calling me at this hour, and I get up and answer the phone. Me husband friend, ‘Kato’, told me that dem boys at the National Park call he and tell he that me husband get in accident,” Boodhoo bewailed. The widow said that she immediately boarded a taxi and travelled to the National Park. “When I jump in the car the taxi man tell me is not the National Park they had one by JP Singh road and he took me to the scene and then took me to the hospital,” Boodhoo explained. The woman said that when she arrived at the hospital, one of the police officers greeted her with the news that her companion had passed away. “The police lady say, ‘Tek a seat; I want you take a seat.’ I go there expecting broken bones but I didn’t expect her to tell me is fatal. Then she tell me I have to be strong and then I start hollering,” the wife lamented. The woman said that while at the Kitty Police Station, she saw the driver whom she said was in a drunken state, and the bus which took her husband’s life. Boodhoo remembered her husband as the number one fan of Wrestle Mania. “I remembered at one time we were at a function and he left me to walk all by myself because he needed to ketch the wrestling pon TV,” the wife remembered. Meanwhile, Leader of the AFC Khemraj Ramjattan, in a release, said that the members of the Alliance for Change are saddened at the death of its long-standing member. The release added, “He obtained a first degree in Economics at the University of Guyana in the early 1980’s and completed his Masters in England thereafter. “He served in the State Planning Secretariat for a number of years and also in the Ministry of Finance in the 1990’s and early 2000.  At the time of his death he was country agent for English Text Book Publishers, Longman/Hieneman Publishers of texts book out of England.  He was originally from Stewartville, West Coast Demerara. “He was recently assigned by the AFC leadership to participate in the 2014 tripartite budget talks.  He has been advising the AFC on matters of Economics and Finance for several years now.”

Clearly a ppp hit, I was expecting it to be TK, however karma is not always accurate. 

BGee:

Now we know why TK bolted from the AFC---they respected and paid heed to economist Boodhoo while putting TK on ignore---and so poor TK/redux left the AFC in a huff and went running into the arms of Granger.

Clearly a ppp hit, I was expecting it to be TK, however karma is not always accurate. 

BGee:

Now we know why TK bolted from the AFC---they respected and paid heed to economist Boodhoo while putting TK on ignore---and so poor TK/redux left the AFC in a huff and went running into the arms of Granger.

Envy, bitterness and ignorance are eating you up. 

BGee:

Could it be that tk put the hit on Boodhoo for taking his thunder in the afc?

There you go folks. The PPP has acknowledged murdering Mr Boodhoo. Yet another political assassination. 

Clearly it is not tk as you are still here. 

Mr murderer. How do you justify murdering Mr Boodoo who is a wonderful human being. 

There you go folks. The PPP has acknowledged murdering Mr Boodhoo. Yet another political assassination. 

Mr murderer. How do you justify murdering Mr Boodoo who is a wonderful human being. 

Not me but the ppp, go take it up with them if you are so sure. 

Don't pretend. You are are one of the OP/NICIL/MOF hooligan. 

BGee:

That's an interesting point. The possibility exists. When men are scorned and rejected they are inclined to do evil things. Hope it wasn't TK who engineered the hit on Boodhoo out of envy and jealousy.

BGee:

That's an interesting point. The possibility exists. When men are scorned and rejected they are inclined to do evil things. Hope it wasn't TK who engineered the hit on Boodhoo out of envy and jealousy.

He already said this and after being caught, changed his tune. He is a slimy bastard. Read again what he said.

Here we see Goads implicating the PPP in this man's death. Is he telling us the truth or??

Exactly Mr Cain. The BGurd_see is obviously from OP/MOF/NICIL like Mr Rev who is here to promote the stealing of OP/MOF/NICIL. He slipped and is now trying to blame Mr TK. Slimy indeed. Rev is also a slimy snake who steals and murders. 

BGee:

Envy, jealousy and ignorance are your cup of tea. Mr loser/murderer. 

Bookshop owner killed in road accident

Posted By Staff Writer On November 9, 2013 @ 5:11 am In Local News | 

Economist and bookshop owner Bholan Boodhoo, 65, died early yesterday morning after he was struck down by a Guyana Power and Light (GPL) minibus along the JB Singh Road.

Police said investigations have revealed that the driver of minibus BGG 4671 was proceeding north along the roadway

Bholan Boodhoo

allegedly at a fast rate when Boodhoo, who was reportedly attempted to cross the road, was struck down.

Bibi Baksh, 55, of Stanley Place, Kitty, who was also crossing the road, was hit by the vehicle as well.She is currently a patient at the Georgetown Public Hospital (GPH). The driver of the bus is in police custody.

Boodhoo’s wife, Mahadai Boodhoo, speaking with Stabroek News from their Lot 41 Third Street, Alberttown home, said an early morning jog has been part of her husband’s routine for the past 17 years.

Mahadai said yesterday her husband got up around 4 am and prepared to take a walk. She added that she followed him out to their gate before she realised he had forgotten his cap. As she wiped the tears from her eyes, Mahadai said her husband told her he would go without his cap.

She added that she then ventured into their home, proceeded to cook breakfast and put together a fruit salad for her husband. The accident occurred at 4:45, according to police.

“Around 5.45 am, the phone start to ring. Ah seh, ah who this tek them eyes fuh pass me? Calling so early in the morning,” Mahadai said.

When she answered the phone, a caller by the name of Peter Cato informed her of the calamity that had befallen her husband.

Mahadai said she did not think much of the call, since her husband had left on foot and she did not anticipate anything serious.

She added that she then called her friend who accompanied her to GPH and subsequently to the scene of the accident.

At the hospital, Mahadai said, she was told to take a seat before she could be informed of her husband’s fate.On being told that Boodhoo had died on the spot, she said, the shock and emotional pain was excruciating.

Boodhoo, who was the owner of the Horizon Bookstore, was described as a very accomplished man.

He studied at the Swansea University in the United States of America and at the Bradford University in United Kingdom, among other places.

Friends and family members said he was also very peaceful, quiet and well respected. Mahadai struggled to comprehend her loss and worried about receiving justice for the death of her husband.

She exclaimed that her husband was the best husband she could have ever asked for and added that he took care of her.

The couple had been married for over 20 years and Mahadai said they had lots of plans that have now been cut short.

A post-mortem examination is scheduled for Monday. Meanwhile, AFC leader Khemraj Ramjattan, at a press conference yesterday, said that AFC was filled with sadness at the death of Boodhoo, who he described as a member of the party and a political colleague.

“He has done a lot of work for us and only recently we have called upon him again to be a part of the budget talks at Ashni Singh’s office,” Ramjattan explained.

“It saddens us all and our condolences go to his family, his daughter and grandchildren,” he added, after noting that on only on Thursday afternoon Boodhoo had attended a seminar on children books in Linden.

Boodhoo is survived by his wife, daughter and three grandchildren.

BGee:

This sort of thing happened back in the 50's. Guyana communists were trained to do those sort of things. Maybe, they still up to it these days. Many of the emporers and empresses are not too far away from serving prison time. They might appear powerful but their future lies in the ballots of the impoverished ppl of Guyana.

BGee:

Very interesting question. We may never know.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

Bholan Boodhoo

Alliance for Change (AFC) Economist Bholan Boodhoo was killed this morning in an accident while taking his usual jog along the JD Singh Road, in the vicinity of Camp Ayanganna, Georgetown. Boodhoo was a central figure in crafting his party's position on matters pertaining to the economy. He was said to have been struck by a minibus.

The incident took place mere hours after the AFC joined the PNC'S APNU in voting against the anti-money laundering bill. Guyana's failure to pass the bill before a November deadline will result in sanctions by the international community which could hamper the continued development of our economy.

Karma never fails to take it's course. This man should have persuaded the AFC to vote in favour of a single bill that would have benefitted the Country as a whole.

RIP.

When PPP's Reepu passed away, many of the AFC supporters said the nastiest things. 

Bholan Boodhoo

The incident took place mere hours after the AFC joined the PNC'S APNU in voting against the anti-money laundering bill. Guyana's failure to pass the bill before a November deadline will result in sanctions by the international community which could hamper the continued development of our economy. Look how this Black House of Israel Thug Councie can turn around and Skin eee B@tty on someone who Joined Dr Jagan to give his life in the struggle for the people of our country.

Bholan Boodhoo

The incident took place mere hours after the AFC joined the PNC'S APNU in voting against the anti-money laundering bill. Guyana's failure to pass the bill before a November deadline will result in sanctions by the international community which could hamper the continued development of our economy. Look how this Black House of Israel Thug Councie can turn around and Skin eee B@tty on someone who Joined Dr Jagan to give his life in the struggle for the people of our country.

Pictures of traitors to a nation need not be printed.

Bholan Boodhoo

What about those like Jagdeo, Ewe-gee & Kwame

who supporting Buggery.

Bholan Boodhoo

What about those like Jagdeo, Ewe-gee & Kwame

who supporting Buggery.

Yugs is into buggery too.

Yugi22 is a crablouse. Bhai Bholan gave his most productive years to the PPP.

My condolences to his family.

Krishna arpan!

Mits, yuji22 is trapped in a steel-hard PPP mindset.

Since the PPP's formation 63 years ago, thousands of Guyanese joined the Party voluntarily with high hopes and thousands left the Party reluctantly in disappointment and exasperation.

Notwithstanding their contribution of time, money, effort, etc., the PPP never gave those thousands a Thank You note.

Instead, all these people were labelled traitors, opportunists, snakes, turncoats and other nasty names.

yuji22 is merely parroting a despicable and ungrateful position of the PPP leadership.

And, living in self-denial, that leadership doesn't believe its ungratefulness and malice is costing the PPP votes by the thousands. The people are wiser now.

Yugi22 is a crablouse. Bhai Bholan gave his most productive years to the PPP.

My condolences to his family.

Krishna arpan!

Mits, yuji22 is trapped in a steel-hard PPP mindset.

Since the PPP's formation 63 years ago, thousands of Guyanese joined the Party voluntarily with high hopes and thousands left the Party reluctantly in disappointment and exasperation.

Notwithstanding their contribution of time, money, effort, etc., the PPP never gave those thousands a Thank You note.

Instead, all these people were labelled traitors, opportunists, snakes, turncoats and other nasty names.

yuji22 is merely parroting a despicable and ungrateful position of the PPP leadership.

And, living in self-denial, that leadership doesn't believe its ungratefulness and malice is costing the PPP votes by the thousands. The people are wiser now.

Thanks Gilly. Much appreciated.

Man remanded for allegedly killing AFC economist

Rate this item
(0 votes)

A man who allegedly struck down and killed Alliance For Change (AFC) Economist Nolan Boodhoo was Monday slapped with a charge of causing death by dangerous driving.

Boodhoo was also the owner of Horizon Book Store.

37-year old Otis Jamieson of 290 Thomas Street, South Cummingsburg, Georgetown pleaded not guilty when he was arraigned before Chief Magistrate Priya Sewnarine-Beharry.

After hearing grounds for objecting to bail, the magistrate refused the man his pre-trial liberty and ordered that he return to court on November 26.

Bail was refused although Jamieson’s lawyer, Pete Hugh, said his client was willing to lodge his passport.

The prosecution alleged that on November 8 on the JB Singh Road (a section formerly Vlissengen Road), Jamieson drove in a manner dangerous to the public causing the death of Boodhoo.

The prosecution’s case is that around 4:50 AM, Jamieson was driving PGG 4671 at a very fast rate of speed when the front of the vehicle collided with two pedestrians who were walking on the western side of the road. Boodhoo was dragged 130 feet while his companion, Bibi Baksh, was pitched some distance away.

The unconscious pedestrians were rushed to the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation (GPHC) where Boodhoo was pronounced dead on arrival and Baksh was admitted in a critical condition