160TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE CHINESE ARRIVAL

Posted by in Press Releases

This month marks the 160th anniversary of the arrival of the Chinese to Guyana. On January 12, 1853, on the ship Glenntaner, 305 men arrived in Georgetown. This arrival of Chinese to Guyana is a significant milestone in our history, not only of the Chinese community, but for the Republic.

The children with ancestry from China have made a priceless contribution to the development and achievements of Guyana and among their icons have been a former President of Guyana His Excellency Arthur Cheong, Mr. Ian Chang, Chief Justice (ag), Ms. Marlene Kwok Crawford, former Deputy Headmistress of Bishops High School, R.V. Wong, the first Chinese-Guyanese to become an executive member of the Guianese Government, Dr Ray Luck, distinguished international pianist; Godfrey Chin, social historian and writer, and our very own Guyana cricketer, Jonathan Foo.

This is just but a sub-set of the talented Guyanese with Chinese heritage. Our very own Speaker of the Parliament, Raphael Trotman is a descendant of Lai A Poo, who arrived in 1860.

Descendants of Chinese indentured immigrants continue to make significant contributions to the Guyanese society, especially in business, medicine, law, politics and commerce. Their cultural impact is pronounced and lasting, especially in areas of food and festivals.

We have a rich legacy of a plural, multi-cultural society, thanks to the supreme sacrifice of our ancestors, including Chinese. It is time that we give sober reflection on the significance of slavery and indentureship in this month of remembrance of our Chinese immigrants. Let us use this opportunity to show a greater sense of mutual respect, tolerance, appreciation and understanding of each other as we commemorate this important part of our history.

In fact as I noted before on another thread, the Chinese are driving local entrepreneurs out of business but flooding in the market with cheap Chinese products. Now locals are forced to up the ante and travel all the way to China to get cheap goods. Of course the AFC is suddenly Chinese friendly as if is negative for locals. 

9 hours ago

AFC is in backpeddling overdrive after their failed attempt to terrorize the Chinese community. Their anti Chinese investment agenda is quite visible on this BB. Shame on the AFC.

9 hours ago

In fact as I noted before on another thread, the Chinese are driving local entrepreneurs out of business but flooding in the market with cheap Chinese products. Now locals are forced to up the ante and travel all the way to China to get cheap goods. Of course the AFC is suddenly Chinese friendly as if is negative for locals.

The two of y'all stupid like rass, one say the AFC terrorize the Chineyman, the other say the opposite, mind you, bothadem pon de same wrong side.

This is just but a sub-set of the talented Guyanese with Chinese heritage. Our very own Speaker of the Parliament, Raphael Trotman is a descendant of Lai A Poo, who arrived in 1860.

The ancestors of many Guyanese including AFC former leader and Presidential Candidate Raphael Trotman come from the indentured Chinese - poor people who came to this country, worked hard and made Guyana a better place.

There is a difference between these poor people and the capitalist merchants who impoverish a local business class by sell last class products cheaper that the local private sector, thus running them out of business.

Walk in Stabroek Market and ask all the East Indian businessman - how is business?

They will tell you the Johnny come lately Chinee running them out of business.

Originally Posted by Devindra:

The ancestors of many Guyanese including AFC former leader and Presidential Candidate Raphael Trotman come from the indentured Chinese - poor people who came to this country, worked hard and made Guyana a better place.

There is a difference between these poor people and the capitalist merchants who impoverish a local business class by sell last class products cheaper that the local private sector, thus running them out of business.

Walk in Stabroek Market and ask all the East Indian businessman - how is business?

They will tell you the Johnny come lately Chinee running them out of business.

Now you ketch sense, the Chinese are indeed driving locals out of business with their deep pockets and links to China where they know how to get cheap goods. 

There is a massive difference between a Guyanese of Chinese descent, and a Chinaman who is from China and wants to take our jobs away.

The PPP is not employing Guyanese people for the Marriott drugs den. The PPP settled from Chinamen from Guandong and Shenseng province. Dem gonna eat out we dags and snake and after that is we wild animals in the jungle dem gonna tek back as sex potions. Watch out. There is a thiefing Chinaman about. And he wearing a PPP badge of honour.

Originally Posted by Ronald Narain:

Timely message.

Nice work AFC to remember the Chinese.

HEHEHE ROBBER BARRONS, SHAMELESS CUt THROATS, THIEVES suddenly are "Friends" of the Chinese. This is too FUNNY.

A decent government would have create employment for its people but instead them got chinese laughing all the way to the bank with the tax payers money...now them chiney bais gat money, they need entertainment..suh yuh can guh bend over fuh dem let ream yuh kakahole good and prapa...yuh nah get enough reaming from the PPP... 

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

I brought Chicken Chowmein for lunch today.

Thanks to our Chinese brethrens for their contributions

to our Guyanese cuisine

Bai, dem is not Chinese. Dem is Guyanese like all a we.

These slave labourers, many of whom are death camp prisoners who are allowed to work out their sentence, are not Guyanese. They stealing our jobs. They gonna steal us next. How we know dem don't eat Guyanese kids? The PPP has no say which Chinaman enters the country. The triad and 14K is going to set up a gangster base. You watch. I man was married into the Chinese mob. I know damn well what the score is.