APNU/AFC Govt defaults on $20B debt in 2015
October 17, 2016 By Editor
…a dangerous Burnham tactic that will burden
future generations – economist

Guyana last year defaulted on payments of in excess of $20 billion that was supposed to be utilised to pay off in part, sections of the nation’s Public Debt—a dangerous situation that has since grabbed the attention ofsase-singh economists.
The fact that $20 billion was not used by the coalition A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance for Change (APNU/AFC) Government is documented in the nation’s audited accounts for 2015 undertaken by the Auditor General’s Office−the first such for the coalition government since taking Office.
In that 2015 Report, it is highlighted that Central Government’s current (recurring) expenditure was under the 2015 budget allocation by $25.8 billion.
This shortfall, according to the Auditor General, was mainly due to $20.3 billion under Public Debt, for servicing of loans, which was not utilised.
The remaining amounts that were not utilised was $2 billion for the Guyana Elections Commissions (GECOM) hosting of Local Government Elections which was not held that year; $1.2 billion which was unspent by the Finance Ministry; $280 million not used by the Ministry of the Presidency; and another $658 million allocated to the Health Ministry for activities not fully executed.
On the matter of the Finance Ministry failing to honour or pay its public debt by in excess of $20 billion, the once AFC aligned economist Sasenarine Singh has since questioned whether President David Granger is even aware of this development.
“Does President Granger know that his Minister of Finance (Winston Jordan) under-paid the debt by G$20 billion… If not, who really is the Finance Minister accountable to?” Singh queries.
Dangerous Burnham tactic
According to the economist, “not paying the debt down as budgeted is a debased financial strategy especially when there is money to fund this promise.”
Calling the development dangerous and reminiscent of the practices of the Forbes Burnham Administration, Singh is adamant that “not paying one’s debt, as promised, is a bad thing since it translates to the future generation being saddled with these debts as a brought forward from the past.”
He posits, “This means more taxes for the primary and secondary school children of Guyana when they grow up… Is this the legacy of the Granger administration?”
According to economist Singh, “It is the children of Guyana who will have to bear this future burden because of this misstep under the Granger administration.”
According to the economist, “This is a dangerous development and it harks one back to what happened under the Burnham administration when that government refused to pay the debt leading to the debt burden climbing to 98 cents of every dollar earned by 1990.”
Singh has since laid the proverbial gauntlet at the feet of the Fourth Estate saying, “The local media should demand an explanation from the Minister of Finance as to why he did not liquidate the promised amount of the national debt, when there was enough cash to take care of business.”
Meanwhile, as was the case with the significant shortfall in expenditure with regards to government’s recurrent expenditure, Singh has observed too that 2015 Auditor General’s Report highlights that Central Government failed to achieve their anticipated levels of capital expenditure activities during 2015, resulting in a shortfall of G$8.5 billion.
This shortfall was attributed primarily to delays in the implementation of key infrastructure projects.
According to Singh, the appalling performance by Public Infrastructure Minister, David Patterson, comes as no surprise, “as I observed his performance as he struggled to compile a basic list of candidates in 2011.”
Singh also used the opportunity to take a swipe at the President’s address to Parliament on Thursday last calling it, “most uninspiring” and “illustrates he is definitely out to sea.”
Singh was also critical of the administration’s failure to garner its projected revenues for 2015 and points to the fact that even though revenue collection fell short, the administration was still on a spending spree.
Current revenue fell short in 2015 by $741 million and according to Singh, “when a nation cannot collect on its revenue but continues to spend on parades and marching parks like there is no tomorrow, then it means there will be less money for real Police services, real healthcare services, real services to the poor and the vulnerable and most importantly real educational services… Can you understand why President Granger cannot face the Teachers Union (GTU)?”
According to Singh, a government is as good as its first 100 days and “if this was President Granger’s 100 days, then God help Guyana.”

http://www.guyana-times.com/category/top-stories/

Quote from AFC strongman Sase:

"Current revenue fell short in 2015 by $741 million and according to Singh, “when a nation cannot collect on its revenue but continues to spend on parades and marching parks like there is no tomorrow, then it means there will be less money for real Police services, real healthcare services, real services to the poor and the vulnerable and most importantly real educational services… Can you understand why President Granger cannot face the Teachers Union (GTU)?”

Look ah story hey.  Cain, D2, Gilly, Mars, Django and Carib quiet as a mouse. They got their black government in power and now they not holding them accountable. 

Defaulting on debt payment in 2015 does not necessarily mean that it will recur in 2016. The coalition was in power for only 7 months in 2015 and had other priorities considering the perilous state of the inherited Consolidated Funds. If the government does in fact default this year, that would certainly be bad practice. Gilly is waiting to see what happens.

That's old news well a few days old  "alyuh digging and scratching"

As Gilly said if the gov't default in 2016 it's a matter for concern,I am in agreement.

Tha chap S.Singh just huffing and puffing.

So the PPP raked up a huge debt, and then scream that the AFC/PNC did not pay for it.
Going through those figures, many of them are related to monies allocated in 2014. What is striking is that Sase has very little, if any, idea what he is talking about. Did this guy buy his diplomas in accountancy?

Look ah story hey.  Cain, D2, Gilly, Mars, Django and Carib quiet as a mouse. They got their black government in power and now they not holding them accountable. 

Defaulting on debt payment in 2015 does not necessarily mean that it will recur in 2016. The coalition was in power for only 7 months in 2015 and had other priorities considering the perilous state of the inherited Consolidated Funds. If the government does in fact default this year, that would certainly be bad practice. Gilly is waiting to see what happens.

You have been awarded The Wait And See Prize of the year.  You always have to wait and see.  Stop wait and see.  Many of us predicted that PNC Part 2 will be worse than PNC Part 1 since May 2015.  And we are right on target!   We don't have to wait and see.  We knew from day 1 what was going to be the outcome of the Coalition.

Mr.T posted:

So the PPP raked up a huge debt, and then scream that the AFC/PNC did not pay for it.
Going through those figures, many of them are related to monies allocated in 2014. What is striking is that Sase has very little, if any, idea what he is talking about. Did this guy buy his diplomas in accountancy?

All countries have debt. But the PNC mismanaged the budget, instead hustling to blow money on 50% raises, sporting and wine down for 50th anniversary. This is not unexpected from these crooks in office, sport today and forget about tomorrow, now the chickens have come home to roost. 

Mr.T posted:

All countries have debt. But the PNC mismanaged the budget, instead hustling to blow money on 50% raises, sporting and wine down for 50th anniversary. This is not unexpected from these crooks in office, sport today and forget about tomorrow, now the chickens have come home to roost. 

Dem bin ah dance "gyal wine down low", sport up and now dem nah gat money fuh pay dem creditors. Sounds like some rum shop story. The guys buy up big and when time to pay, they say they don't have money. Baap re baap! Wah gun happen now? Like Nehru sah "Guyana gone fuh channa". 

Mr.T posted:

What does "Accountancy" have to do with anything?

This is the debt which funded the Govt investment in the nations economy allowing to grow exponentially since 1992.  It's the Govt's responsibility and obligation to ensure the revenues (mainly taxes) are captured and flows to the treasury to service the debt.

What is happening, since 2015 the economy had stalled or declined but Govt spending has ballooned, which is not sustainable.  Baseman (and many others) said the rapid growth in spending since May 2015 coupled with the flat-line to declining revenues will break the bank.  This is the first sign of the goose coming home to roost!!

Worse days are ahead.  The PNC/AFC has created a structural problem in 18 months which will be difficult to unwind!

This Guyana Times story above is fit for the latrine.

http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...dings-govt-spending/

Jordan refutes Auditor General’s findings on gov’t spending

- says debt payments up to date, defends use of contingencies fund

October 18,2016 

Minister of Finance Winston Jordan yesterday took issue with criticisms by the Auditor General of government’s spending last year, while stressing that the public debt payments are mostly up to date and defending the administration’s resort to the Contingencies Fund.

Jordan, responding to findings contained in the Auditor General’s 2015 report, which was laid in the National Assembly last week, said Auditor General Deodat Sharma should have consulted the ministry’s specialists before he sought to comment on budgetary matters.

Jordan noted that the Auditor General’s report was in the past edited by the Ministry of Finance before being presented to the public, but now the Auditor General does not have to seek a comment from the minister before presenting the report. “The Auditor General is now under the Public Accounts Committee. He doesn’t have to ask the minister anything. He could write what he feels like writing…,” Jordan told reporters in the boardroom of his Main Street office, while adding that the Auditor General is also now reporting on matters, including budgetary matters, which he did not report on before.

“If you want to dabble in those areas, what we are asking for is an opportunity to be heard. You make a statement saying we did not spend $20 billion in capital expenditure and revenues were short by $781 million. These are budgetary matters; if you are going to comment on them, ask the people who are the specialists,” he stressed. Sharma, in his report, had stated that for the 2015 fiscal year central government’s current expenditure was under the budget allocation by $25.785 billion, largely due to $20.292 billion under public debt for servicing of loans not being paid. He also noted that $8.452 billion, which accounted for 21% of capital allocation, was not spent.

Sharma explained that this shortfall resulted primarily from delays in the implementation of key infrastructure projects and resulted in the return of $1.094 billion, which had been requested by the Inter-American Development Bank from loan agreements for a Road Network Upgrade and the Expansion Programme and Sustainable Operation of the Electricity Sector and Improved Quality of Service.

Jordan stressed that he has no intention of telling the Auditor General how to do his job but called for it to be done with “integrity, professionalism and competence,” rather than playing to the gallery.

He challenged the suggestion that the government had not serviced loans. “Guyana has not defaulted on anybody’s debt. Guyana is up to date with every single creditor, with the exception of those under the Paris Club Agreement, with whom we have not been able to reach an agreement; these were inherited from the last government. There are five countries, [with whom], despite the efforts of the last government and this government, we have not been able to reach an agreement. Every single creditor has been paid on time; we have not defaulted,” Jordan said.

‘Exigencies’

Further, with regard to the Contingencies Fund, Jordan declared that the AG’s opinions about the suitability of spending “doesn’t count under the law.”

Sharma reported that of the $799.898 million drawn from the fund, $604.034 was to meet “routine expenditure.”

Jordan defended this spending, while stating that the AG should have asked the circumstances surrounding the expenditure. “The law gives the minister the sole right to determine exigencies and soon thereafter bring it to Parliament. He does not have to consult the AG. He consults the Cabinet. It is the Minister of Finance who determines and you can’t come six months after and tell me that the motor car I bought, for example, was not an emergency. You don’t know the circumstances and I’m the only one you can ask to explain,” he maintained.

Jordan also called for an opportunity to be heard, while stating that he was “not asking for praise; all we are asking is for factual reporting and let other people form their own opinions.

“If we fall short and you want to write that in your report, go ahead but ask us… so that a reason could be attached to it and it won’t stand unexplained. You want to talk about a revenue shortfall, tell the people the government had a shortfall because they lost X amount from the environmental tax after they lost the Rudisa case at the CCJ,” he said

While Jordan claimed that his ministry was not asked to respond to the findings, other findings under the programme of the Ministry of Finance included responses from the ministry.

Accountant General Jawahar Persaud explained that for the six years he has been at the ministry, the Auditor General has been consulting with the Finance Ministry’s team before publishing his report. “He would send out an initial audit report as per normal audit and we are required to respond and in that regard myself, the Deputy Finance Secretary, who is the accounting officer of the ministry, and the Finance Secretary will attend that meeting and we will have a discourse with the Auditor General where we would iron out certain misinformation or corrections to his report,” he said.

It is not clear why these issues were not discussed at the meeting.

You have been awarded The Wait And See Prize of the year.  You always have to wait and see.  Stop wait and see.  Many of us predicted that PNC Part 2 will be worse than PNC Part 1 since May 2015.  And we are right on target!   We don't have to wait and see.  We knew from day 1 what was going to be the outcome of the Coalition.

I understand you. You all believe from head to toe that PPP stands for People's Perfect Party. So the PPP is omniscient, omnipotent, infallible, incorruptible and beyond reproach. Yes, I do understand you. Let's wait and see what will happen to the PPP in 2020.

Thank you very much for awarding me the Wait And See Prize for 2016. I shall wait and see if you will give me the same prize next year.

Next Year Prize will go to Carl Greenidge for being the first Minister in any government, anywhere in the world, to bankrupt the same country twice, in two different era.  I am starting to see a Guinness Book Award also in his future.

But nah tek worries, you getting you "Bibi Told Me So" award in 2016.

I understand you. You all believe from head to toe that PPP stands for People's Perfect Party. So the PPP is omniscient, omnipotent, infallible, incorruptible and beyond reproach. Yes, I do understand you. Let's wait and see what will happen to the PPP in 2020.

Thank you very much for awarding me the Wait And See Prize for 2016. I shall wait and see if you will give me the same prize next year.

Nah, the truth lies somewhere between what you type above and what you (PNC types) actually accuse them of!  No one's perfect, not the PPP, but they are also not the "satans" you people portray them!!

Next Year Prize will go to Carl Greenidge for being the first Minister in any government, anywhere in the world, to bankrupt the same country twice, in two different era.  I am starting to see a Guinness Book Award also in his future.

But nah tek worries, you getting you "Bibi Told Me So" award in 2016.

Quite possible.

Carib has decided that he has better things to do than spending all day with ignoramuses like you.

Find something productive to do!