A national basketball player is among 22 persons injured in two separate accidents- one a collision between two cars at Mahaicony and the other a smash-up of two minibuses at Agricola. 

The accident victims at Agricola were robbed  by several persons.

The sportsman, 34-year old Royston Silas, was up to late Sunday night being treated at the Accident and Emergency Unit of the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation for unspecified injuries. As with the other victims, his condition was not immediately known.

Silas and a friend were heading to Georgetown when the car he was driving slammed into an oncoming car that was taking several family members and friends back to Berbice.

Two of them were referred by the Mahaicony Cottage Hospital to GPHC. They are Sanjay Backreedy, 13, and 55-year old Bibi Seegobin.

In the case of the Agricola accident, eyewitnesses said a Route 32 minibus, BJJ 6588, was driving in front of the Route 45 minibus, BRR 1955, that was returning from a creek on the Linden-Soesdyke Highway. The eyewitnesses further related that the speeding Route 45 bus clipped the back of the Route 32 bus, slamming it into the Alpha Hotel fence. The Route 45 bus spun in the air at least thrice before landing on its roof.

The Route 45 bus was carrying 17 persons and the Route 32 had 12 passengers.

Those injured in that accident are Echenaya Bourne,3, Kaddeen De Jonge,3, Cynilla Bourne,10, Kevin Granderson, , Althea Bourne, 31, Lily Park,30, Asif Juman,21, Shaune Bourne,71, Lorson De Jonge,24,  De Santos (last name only), Trimelle De Jonge,24, Rocky Moore,44, Mickesha Moore,1, Kenwin Isaacs,18, Dhaney-Ann Abrams,15, Zahid Ali,25, Montelle Lawrence,18 Wynol Park,34, and 25-year old Romain Hinds.

Eyewitnesses also said that moments after the accident, several youths stormed the two buses and began stripping the vehicles and robbing the hapless passengers.

Heston Rodrigues, who was one of the hundreds of motorists caught up in long lines of traffic, was so moved by the robberies that he posted this slightly edited comment on his Facebook. “"You have to wonder whether the ghetto youth of Agricola have any compassionate bones in their bodies...grisly scene at Agricola Rd head involving two badly mangled mini-buses, which ordinarily would bring out the humanity in us, but nah...you should've seen the glee on these faces, just another opportunity to rob, pillage and steal from hapless drivers stuck in traffic,” said Rodrigues.

i wonder who is in control of the police force

Warria,

You ah wan real cunny you know.

Why you ah put palatiks in dis? Dem pickney pappa ah prappa teach dem good ting. You see me ah tell you, all dem peeple dis good fah ah fah tief an bun down wah dem na own.
Dem young negras get to de place fuss. Read dis wah de man seh:

“"You have to wonder whether the ghetto youth of Agricola have any compassionate bones in their bodies...grisly scene at Agricola Rd head involving two badly mangled mini-buses, which ordinarily would bring out the humanity in us, but nah...you should've seen the glee on these faces, just another opportunity to rob, pillage and steal from hapless drivers stuck in traffic,” said Rodrigues.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

To date the joint opposition hadn't come out to condemn the attack on the injured by the hooligans in Agricola.

Why they should they condemn behavior by bnadits?  What does that achieve in the face of incompetent police who harrass innocent people, but refuse to arrest those who are criminals?

What they ought to condemn is the fact that the police play with bandits and harrass innocent people, and then people like you criminalize an entire village by justifying this.

In a small village like this the police ought to know who the criminals are, and most likely do.

Originally Posted by TI:

Dude, the last time the police went in Agricola, the AFC and PNC protested vigorously.

And do you know whether criminals were harrassed, or just ordinary black people, who as we can see, have as much to fear from criminals as do any one else.

Or yes I know that people like you think that an innocent black man is only a criminal who hasnt been caught so you have a problem of figuring out that extrajudicial killings, where guilt has not been determined, cannot be tolerated in a democracy.

Originally Posted by TI:

Eyewitnesses also said that moments after the accident, several youths stormed the two buses and began stripping the vehicles and robbing the hapless passengers.

Heston Rodrigues, who was one of the hundreds of motorists caught up in long lines of traffic, was so moved by the robberies that he posted this slightly edited comment on his Facebook. “"You have to wonder whether the ghetto youth of Agricola have any compassionate bones in their bodies...grisly scene at Agricola Rd head involving two badly mangled mini-buses, which ordinarily would bring out the humanity in us, but nah...you should've seen the glee on these faces, just another opportunity to rob, pillage and steal from hapless drivers stuck in traffic,” said Rodrigues.

This happens a lot in places like Nigeria and Congo.

Originally Posted by TI:

Dude, the last time the police went in Agricola, the AFC and PNC protested vigorously.

And do you know whether criminals were harrassed, or just ordinary black people, who as we can see, have as much to fear from criminals as do any one else.

Or yes I know that people like you think that an innocent black man is only a criminal who hasnt been caught so you have a problem of figuring out that extrajudicial killings, where guilt has not been determined, cannot be tolerated in a democracy.

The poor chaps need to rob to survive. The PPP has marginalized Agricola, the AFC/PNC stronghold.  

Originally Posted by Conscience:

If the police had caught a few of the residents who allegedly robbed the injured persons involved in the accident, its clear who would had represented them in the court....

Maybe you think some of the police children were in this incident? Remember, It's Agricola, a PNC stronghold we're talking about. Every moment of the day these people are scheming how to rob, burn and kill.

Originally Posted by TI:

The poor chaps need to rob to survive. The PPP has marginalized Agricola, the AFC/PNC stronghold.  

I feel their pain!

i wonder who is in control of the police force

Warria,

You ah wan real cunny you know.

Why you ah put palatiks in dis? Dem pickney pappa ah prappa teach dem good ting. You see me ah tell you, all dem peeple dis good fah ah fah tief an bun down wah dem na own.
Dem young negras get to de place fuss. Read dis wah de man seh:

“"You have to wonder whether the ghetto youth of Agricola have any compassionate bones in their bodies...grisly scene at Agricola Rd head involving two badly mangled mini-buses, which ordinarily would bring out the humanity in us, but nah...you should've seen the glee on these faces, just another opportunity to rob, pillage and steal from hapless drivers stuck in traffic,” said Rodrigues.

******* the ppp cannot help the people in guyana were crime is concern how many indian people was kill within the past year by crimminals why you ppp racist donot addmit this rohee promise the SWAT TEAM how long ago