Home > TOP STORY > There is no handout to rice farmers
There is no handout to rice farmers

…says Minister Ramsammy
AGRICULTURE Minister Dr. Leslie Ramsammy yesterday made clear his disagreement with A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) Member of Parliament, Keith Scott’s contention that the $500M allocation to the rice sector is an unnecessary handout to farmers and the rice industry.Ramsammy said in a statement, “I disagree with Mr. Keith Scott that the allocation of $500M to the rice sector is a handout to rice farmers. I reject outright any assertion that the rice farmers do not deserve any support. The PPP/C Government will stand with rice farmers and we will continue to build a strong rice industry.”
The rice industry contributes about 5 per cent of GDP in Guyana and accounts for more than US$240M in export earnings. More than 40,000 people directly depend on the rice industry for livelihood and the industry provides employment for more than 20,000 people.
According to the Minister, in terms of food security, rice has helped to secure Guyana’s status as a food-secure country.
“Mr. Scott is politically motivated, and I can understand that he has to try to find a political slant. In retrospect, I am certain Mr. Scott would regret his words,” Minister Ramsammy said, adding:
“However, Mr. Scott should know that the PPP/C Government assisted farmers last year in securing more affordable fertilisers that saved the industry almost $800M.
“This year, we have already begun negotiation to procure about $800M worth of fertilisers that will help to keep cost down for farmers. We hope that this injection will help save about $1B overall in fertiliser acquisition cost. This injection of funds will assist in ensuring that cost of production is further reduced.
“In addition, we will procure a number of laser levellers to locate in Regions 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 to help increase yields.
“Further, we will expand our research facilities to introduce higher yielding seed paddy. This year we will spend about $70M to operationalise the Number 56 Seed Facility and to introduce a larger storage capacity for the industry.”
Ramsammy reiterated his rejection of the notion that the $500M allocation to the industry is a handout.
“We will strenuously reject all efforts to cut the rice allocation. Mr. Scott has revealed a sinister intention of APNU and I call on the RPA (Guyana Rice Producers ‘Association) and rice farmers to reject this position. I call on the AFC to demonstrate that they are no poodle of APNU and to join me in rejecting Mr. Scott’s handout shame.”
The rice industry is projected to grow by a moderate one per cent this year, with a production target of 540,793 tonnes, coming off the bumper crop of 2013.
By Vanessa Narine

Here again the APNU leaders PUT their feet in their mouths.

Keith Scott should be banished from Parlaiment for losing the APNU the potential to secure thousands of votes from rice farmers.

These chaps got AIR in their heads.

PNC refuses funding for Rice farmers while AFC supports the PNC.

Shame both the AFC and PNC.

AFC/PNC Racism towards Indo Rice farmers must not be tolerated. 

Speak out Now !

“Mr. Scott is politically motivated, and I can understand that he has to try to find a political slant. In retrospect, I am certain Mr. Scott would regret his words,”

Fuh PNC, coolie man hard wuk nah count. Gee dem PNC stranghold free electricity. Dem coolie muss wuk and pay fuh dem(lindeners) free electricity.

If Keith Scott's reported words are a reflection of APNU's position on the allocation of $500 million to the rice industry, I think APNU is crushing its chance of winning significant votes in upcoming elections.

Whatever flaws bedevil the rice industry, one indisputable fact is that farmers have been contributing more than their fair share to Guyana's GDP.

The rice industry is a winner and should be given the necessary financial impetus to win more for the nation.

It's disappointing that APNU appears not fully sensitive to rice farmers' needs.

If Keith Scott's reported words are a reflection of APNU's position on the allocation of $500 million to the rice industry, I think APNU is crushing its chance of winning significant votes in upcoming elections.

Whatever flaws bedevil the rice industry, one indisputable fact is that farmers have been contributing more than their fair share to Guyana's GDP.

The rice industry is a winner and should be given the necessary financial impetus to win more for the nation.

It's disappointing that APNU appears not fully sensitive to rice farmers' needs.

Unfortunately he (Scott) said it and the PPP get one more LIFE.

Another Viera!

Granja got to dump all these confuse anti-East Indian bigots.

Keith Scott should be banished from Parlaiment for losing the APNU the potential to secure thousands of votes from rice farmers.

I agree with you there.  APNUs problem is that they don't seem to have an over arching objective.  Its good that they block the PPP from misguided ventures. But what else?  Are they just the party of "no"?  What plans do they have for Guyana as a whole, and for their core bases in G/twn and Linden?

Gold and rice are the only two vibrant exports oriented sectors.  APNU should have been working with the rice farmers to help them against the rice millers, who apparently have ben gouging them. But what can we expect of G/twn elites who know no world outside pf parliament.

This is why they will remain the main opposition party, and this only because of ethnic paranoia and AFC ineptitude.

I agree with you there.  APNUs problem is that they don't seem to have an over arching objective.  Its good that they block the PPP from misguided ventures. But what else?  Are they just the party of "no"?  What plans do they have for Guyana as a whole, and for their core bases in G/twn and Linden?

This is why they will remain the main opposition party, and this only because of ethnic paranoia and AFC ineptitude.

You mek sense there Carib.

Boy as Skelly seh, we got to go and form the new party.

In sha allah!

You getting my drift heh? I sensed all along you have political ambition. Make sure you name the party BTKB party. I'll go to Guyana and vote for you. At least you will get one vote. I can't say you will vote for yourself.

Not because the subsidy is for rice one must accept it. Get to the crux of the matter. The rice for oil is a ponzy scheme. It is on the backs of rice farmers. They further suffer more indignities given this system of barter demands miller refrain from paying farmers for eons. This is an injustice.

Remedy this by making brokers buy the rice from the farmers, pay them for

it and let these few people deal with the millers.  The longer the money is out of the hands of the farmer the more they are subsidizing the business of the miller and the rice board. This is bad business.

To now come back and say that these very people who rob the farmers are now to be subsidizes under the guise of subsidizing the rice industry is a travesty! Did they say who is getting the money?

APNU believes Moses and Ramjattan will bring home the bacon for the party (PNC). A little vote-splitting combined with a little bit a rigging will ensure  victory for APNU. 

Come on PPP!  You have to wake up the people from their slumber.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

APNU believes Moses and Ramjattan will bring home the bacon for the party (PNC). A little vote-splitting combined with a little bit a rigging will ensure  victory for APNU. 

Come on PPP!  You have to wake up the people from their slumber.

the topic is about rice and subsidizing the only industry that seem to be doing well but which is suffocated by their ponzy rice for oil scheme. Quit the silly campaigning on everything.

Gold and rice are the only two vibrant exports oriented sectors.  APNU should have been working with the rice farmers to help them against the rice millers, who apparently have ben gouging them. But what can we expect of G/twn elites who know no world outside pf parliament.

APNU done bai. Dem dunces in that party squanda de lil good will dem had. All dem cyan say is NO NO NO. Dem gat no vision. No plan rasss. No alternative. All dem cyan do is say no.  De PPP will win. Dem cyant get 51% but dem getting 46-47 pussent. And den yu gat dem loud mouts like Lincon Lewis and Mark Benchop, Sase Singh and Rose cranking ole bai Harmon and Greenide. Bunch of jokers.

In sha allah!

Here comes another water wash party.  AFC break up, PNC in mass confusion.

Time for PPP to sit back and watch the self destruction of the opposition.

Speak out Now !

stink mouth you ever plant rice,well let me enlighten you hoyte make rice farmers rich in guyana

Speak out Now !

stink mouth you ever plant rice,well let me enlighten you hoyte make rice farmers rich in guyana

He does not live in Guyana and he has no interests. He is just a racist pig. He is  allowed to have sex only for procreation. I feel sorry for Bhoujee.