AFC scrambles to reverse Persaud’s resignation

Attorney Charrandas Persaud

– as infighting, divisions deepen - BY MICHAEL YOUNGE

The Alliance For Change (AFC) is now scrambling to reverse the resignation of Attorney Charrandas Persaud, who decided to leave the party over “recognition issues”, which have been added to a long list of other concerns that are yet to be addressed.

Persaud’s resignation now brings the total high-profile resignations this month to five after several other persons decided to cross the floor to join the main opposition party, A Partnership for National Unity (APNU), because of unresolved conflicts and differences on policy issues and decisions taken by the AFC’s current leadership.

The attorney told Guyana Times on Thursday afternoon that he would not be aligning himself to any political party over the next few weeks and months.

AFC leader Khemraj Ramjattan

He explained that as of Thursday no one from the party’s leadership team contacted him to discuss his resignation or made any attempts to resolve the conflict.

Persaud said he made his decision based upon his conscience and the fact that he believed that the leadership of the party was “taking him for granted” and appeared unappreciative of the hard work he was doing in Regions Five and Six.

He said the AFC failed to recognise the amount of work its representatives have been doing in Berbice and will learn about the value of the people’s support and efforts in due time.

Unappreciated, disrespected

“The AFC will realise that the cow only recognises the use of its tail during mosquito season. So they will find out how the work that Charrandas did could have been to their benefit. They have to learn,” he stressed.

He explained that the disrespect and lack of appreciation climbed to new levels when he turned up for a planned television show only to be told that the party had sent a pre-recorded programme to be played instead.

Additionally, the party has not made any moves on several of his recommendations, including lobbying government to add more items to the list of products that will not attract Value Added Tax (VAT). He also noted that the party cancelled a public meeting at which he was the main speaker, in Rosignol, without proper reason and failed to reschedule.

Persaud, who is also an AFC councillor, said the party has also failed to inform him why it made a somersault on its initial position on the Amaila Falls Hydro Power Project. “Am I not entitled to know so that I can inform our people in Berbice and defend the party?” he asked.

Dictator:

“I refuse to bend over backwards for a dictator …,” he declared during the interview, explaining that he plans on leaving the country in early October to commence a well-deserved vacation.

Persaud’s concerns also extend to other matters related to the leadership style of some of the executives and the party’s failure in some instances to “walk the ground” and respect the views of its supporters on other national issues.

AFC executive member Dominic Gaskin, speaking at the party’s press conference on Thursday, confirmed Persaud’s resignation. He appeared to be suggesting that the party at that late hour would have made overtures to Persaud with the aim of “reversing” his decision to resign.

He did not deny the claims made by Persaud, saying that “perhaps the party has not communicated its appreciation for his work as “sufficiently” as it should. Gaskin said that the party was “disappointed” by his decision to resign and was only “willing” to speak with him to address his concerns.

At the press conference, AFC leader Khemraj Ramjattan acknowledged that the recent defections to the APNU and Persaud’s resignation would “affect” the party.

He, however, became defensive, explaining that if people did not want to adhere to founding principles of the AFC and what it stood for, they were free to go. According to him, the party must remain independent, not pandering unnecessarily to either the APNU or the ruling People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP) or it will lose its identity.

“If people inside of the party do not want to hold to the course that this ship is on in this political ocean, we will have to say thank you for services, but you are now free to lead different political lives,” he told media.

The recent resignations and defections are just a small part of the problems plaguing the AFC, which is now being threatened by the non-support of larger numbers of its financiers and supporters across the country, according to a top AFC source.

Persaud bhai, join the PPP and help us stop that AFC donkey cart that's fetching water for a power-thirsty PNC. Lets not reverse democracy and put our country in the hands of crooks and criminals again. Guyana is better off without them.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Persaud bhai, join the PPP and help us stop that AFC donkey cart that's fetching water for a power-thirsty PNC. Lets not reverse democracy and put our country in the hands of crooks and criminals again. Guyana is better off without them.

Not everyone is motivated by opportunism like you. If you read Mr Persaud's comments he is clearly a man of ideas. He will do well to take those ideas to Pro-Guyana.

The party failed to align itself with these vibrant leaders like Errol, Ryan Crawford and others in the Berbice area.

Many of their supporters who came over from the PNC in allness and New Amsterdam etc. Have all moved back to APNU. 

The AFC has failed to recognize how they have neglected their supporters on the ground this is a classic case of a significant failure to lead. How can you as a Leader be running such a complex organization and you do not speak to key leaders like Charran and other folks at least once a month?

This demonstrates not only a failure to communicate but it seems like what they AFC has done since the elections is they have not included these guys like Charran into their executive decision making process. He is not part of the club but meanwhile he is the man charging and driving to get the votes to allow Cathy and Nigel Hughes along with Prak to collect money from Sithe Global.

This is a complete and colossal failure of the AFC. This is their own doing they can blame all whoever they want but at the end of the day this is squarely at the feet of the leadership of the AFC.

The PPP is their only hope...    For years, the Pack of four cursed the PNC and now they embraced the kaka for what they are..

HEHEHEHE ONLY LAST WEEK THE KFC WAS THE GREATEST INVENTION SINCE SLICE BREAD   SNAKEOIL ANYONE??? LAAD AH MERCY AND THESE IDIOTS ARE CONVINCED THAT THEY ARE FOOLING THE GUYANESE PEOPLE. hahaha

They are now worshipping the "kaka" that David Granger of APNU/PNC excretes. And they have the gall to expect the masses in Guyana to foolishly join them in their "kaka" feast.

Rev, please don't slurp when you are licking the butta from Kwamee's BT.

Dictator:

“I refuse to bend over backwards for a dictator …,” he declared during the interview, explaining that he plans on leaving the country in early October to commence a well-deserved vacation.

He also said he is not seeking to join a party in weeks or months.
Right there and then he has his option open. Weeks or months will fly by in three months or so. He may make a fresh start in January 2014. I don't think Mr. Charrandas have problems with Ramjattan alone; he may have problems with another power-hungry members as well. I also think he will not go where the defected parasites are going. Ramjattan gave them the silent treatment for a reason. Means - wait until they get the message that their service is no longer needed. 

Ramjattan is a poor leader. If you are building political consensus and a party of this scale and you have not spoken to some of your key people in years what does that tell you?

Ramjattan has also abandoned his leadership responsibilities by having Cathy and Nigel hughes run a big corrupt sham right in front of him and the idiot that he is he cannot say jack why? because he has failed to bring people of substance into the party on a significant scale. 

So no matter what kinda dutty panty Catthie give him he has to smell am and say why dis is de best ting I ever smell since I was in de PPP wid reverse.

Ramjattan is another one the Jagans proteges. It is expected that they are visionless and are only power hungry.

Nagamootoo is also useless. They should be put to pasture.

RamKaran is another fool. These men still honour the name Jagan.

Ramjattan is another one the Jagans proteges. It is expected that they are visionless and are only power hungry.

Nagamootoo is also useless. They should be put to pasture.

RamKaran is another fool. These men still honour the name Jagan.

Al YUIh Baxside deh DEAF when AH tell Al YUh or Jumbie run up Al Yuh Batty suddenly.

Okay here is the ting. HM Redux and JB happen to be TK. They are one and the same. So TK is giving us inside info about the AFC under these handles. The point is that the AFC will experience more defections. Moses is primed up to leave and join the PNC under the banner that he wants to heal the country.    

Originally Posted by Ronald Sugrim:

Okay here is the ting. HM Redux and JB happen to be TK. They are one and the same. So TK is giving us inside info about the AFC under these handles. The point is that the AFC will experience more defections. Moses is primed up to leave and join the PNC under the banner that he wants to heal the country.    

This is a game that will not materialize well in the long term. They have nothing new to offer APNU that would get the people's attention. Take a look at most of the threads and see what they're made of. GNI is becoming a comedy central. I am still waiting to see something of substance from them.

Ronald Sugrim yes I am TK and also that fly next to you is TK and that mole on your face is also TK.

TK TK TK TK TK TK TK here TK over there TK everywhere. TK really has tormented some of you poor souls on here.

Tk Bhai when you gonna come back here so dem bhai's dis can see you rather than imagine dem shadow is TK?

Its not about changing who i am it is about clearing your sinuses so you can think better. That brain of yours needs some exercising it has not done much work lately as we can see from here.

Thank goodness your brain is working. Look where it led you, to jump ship. And to praise those that bit your butt. 

the pnc heal the nation these fools that keep jumping from one party to the next is only fooling themself the ppp is laughing at the AFC and APNU when will you guys follow history the only change you can get in guyana is by the barrel of a gun

Ronald Sugrim yes I am TK and also that fly next to you is TK and that mole on your face is also TK.

TK TK TK TK TK TK TK here TK over there TK everywhere. TK really has tormented some of you poor souls on here.

Tk Bhai when you gonna come back here so dem bhai's dis can see you rather than imagine dem shadow is TK?

Lol! I emailed Dr TK to join but he is busy. Jesus Christ Rev and Ronald are damaged mentally. 

You emailed yourself and the answer is that Granger gat you locked off as his football, TK.

Mr Sugrim you're paranoid. 

Ronald McDonald dem like the Hamburgler violate you bai?

You signed off for the night but you had to come back to test the virility of young Ronald. You just can't stay away, both of your handles in fact, TK.

If a make believe world makes you feel like a big man go right ahead. After all when reality hits you are a little man. 

Really? That is not what TK thinks.

Poor tormented soul. 

Their guru Dick Morris will return to the rescue. He will guarantee a landslide victory this time (maybe about 75% of the votes?).

Mit,

Does the AFC have a portofolio ready for you?

He IS the NY AFC.  The real question, does he have a portfolio ready for the AFC.

What is NY AFC? i heard that is a virtual entity with no one in it. True?

You were part of it TK, now you bad mouthing it hiding under another handle.