AFC pressing for international Commission of Enquiry into Linden killings

Posted By Stabroek editor On July 22, 2012 @ 1:28 pm In Local |

The AFC says that the possibility of protracted arguments over the eligibility of persons to sit on the Commission of Enquiry into the shooting of Linden protestors is real and significant and this is why the party is advocating for a full international Commission.

“Guyana is a small community and the chances of finding Commissioners who will not be the subject of suspicions from one side or the other before the Commission is constituted are slim,” the party said in a press statement today setting out its position on the matter. The Alliance For Change has said that an International enquiry is a precondition of any investigation or enquiry into the events of July 18 during which three Linden protesters were shot.

A fuel truck stranded at the Kara Kara bridge today

“The degrees of separation in Guyana are too close. This places the acceptance of the results of any such commission in jeopardy long before the inquiry even begins. A Commission consisting only of international commissioners under the auspices of a credible international body mitigates the arguments about local bias and interest in the outcome of the investigation,” the party said. “Surely the purpose of whatever steps we as Guyanese take on this matter must be driven by our desire for justice for the victims,” the AFC added.

The party earlier said that there are two aspects to any inquiry/investigation into the events of July 18th 2012. “First and foremost, a credible, uncompromised, independent forensic investigation of the homicides,” it said.

According to the AFC, it is a fact that the further away from an incident one goes the more likely the chances are that the available evidence will be compromised. “There is no suggestion that anybody other than the Guyana Police Force had fired weapons on Wednesday last so there can be no dispute about who fired. The ballistic evidence which would be available on the spent shell, warheads and other fragments recovered from the bodies of the dead and wounded would indicate who fired the weapons which resulted in the death or injury to the victim,” the party said.

It said that the police records should indicate the identity of police officers who were in possession of the weapons which fired bullets which killed and wounded the victims. This would isolate the principal suspects, the AFC said. Further, it added that the preservation of critical evidence recovered from the bodies of wounded prior to death and its isolation from possible contamination is of critical importance. “We have no doubt that the weapons used on Wednesday would have had to have been lodged after the day’s escape and hands should have been swabbed to confirm who fired weapons on the day. If the ballistic evidence has been handed over to the police in Linden under the Command of the one of the principal suspects, then the integrity of the evidence was in serious jeopardy,” the party charged.

“In other words the prime suspects would have been handed the evidence which incriminated them in the crime, to keep and preserve for a trial which could result in their conviction. In local terms we asking the cat to watch the milk and expect it to be there when we are ready for it,” the AFC said.

The party also pointed out that it is accepted scientific fact that the closer the recording of the statements of eye witnesses to an event the more likely the accuracy of their recollections. “Attempting to take statements from eyewitnesses after they have discussed the incident with other persons who were present, is more likely to influence the accuracy of their recollection,” it said.

The AFC said that four years after international assistance was offered and refused in the Lindo creek massacre, it learnt last week of the police handing over the remains to the families of the deceased without any conclusion to the investigation. “It is interesting that the same officer who headed the police party in the Lindo creek incident was in command of the policemen last Wednesday,” the statement said.

“If the services of international forensic experts were immediately engaged then the chances of a credible investigation would have been increased. Waiting until the victims have been buried or worse after the 2nd August 2012 to conduct any form of international forensic investigations is of marginal value. It is also an insult to the cries for justice by the families of the victims of the shooting,” the party declared.

The AFC is dead in the water with this, just like their position on the core issue, they seem to pick losing battles.  They will walk away empty-handed.

Sunlight . . . bane of PPP criminals & GNI cockroaches.

Better kneel down and pray rather than kneeling down and doing the other thing

The AFC is dead in the water with this, just like their position on the core issue, they seem to pick losing battles.  They will walk away empty-handed.

Sunlight . . . bane of PPP criminals & GNI cockroaches.

Better kneel down and pray rather than kneeling down and doing the other thing

Desperation, desperation.

Originally Posted by Tar_K:

What the AFC should do is engineer a no-confidence vote against Rohee. That would be better than international inquiry. Let's see if the AFC is really serious.

Another losing proposition.  The PNC is on the side of the PPP and Brummel has defended the police.

What the AFC should do is engineer a no-confidence vote against Rohee. That would be better than international inquiry. Let's see if the AFC is really serious.

Another losing proposition.  The PNC is on the side of the PPP and Brummel has defended the police.

===

Well...let the PNC side with PPP. They have always colluded...that we know. The Jagdeo/Corbin collusions are legendary. The AFC can only win with this one. Propose the motion AFC and let PPP and PNC say NO!

. . . four years after international assistance was offered and refused in the Lindo creek massacre, it [the AFC] learnt last week of the police handing over the remains to the families of the deceased without any conclusion to the investigation. “It is interesting that the same officer who headed the police party in the Lindo creek incident was in command of the policemen last Wednesday,”

De ruling party insists that throwing dust in yuh eye is a national pastime and a particular PPP privilege . . . a matter of sovereignty and nat'l pride.

de AFC traitors want dem wite pepl fuh peep we cyard.

Tank gawd Cde Rohee and Cde Donald havin none of dat!

===

Well...let the PNC side with PPP. They have always colluded...that we know. The Jagdeo/Corbin collusions are legendary. The AFC can only win with this one. Propose the motion AFC and let PPP and PNC say NO!

The PPP and PNC has 90% of the voters, the AFC's positions on may issues are irrational and not very sound.  Linden voted 90% PNC just a few months ago, so most will view the PNC's position as a credible representation of the people and their rights.

There will be no international involvement apart from a briefing.  This is a losing proposition by the AFC, it's firing angry shots in thin air.

===

The PPP and PNC has 90% of the voters, the AFC's positions on may issues are irrational and not very sound.  Linden voted 90% PNC just a few months ago, so most will view the PNC's position as a credible representation of the people and their rights.

There will be no international involvement apart from a briefing.  This is a losing proposition by the AFC, it's firing angry shots in thin air.

=====

Well...we know that. But the AFC should go to Parliament and let the PNC say no.

===

=====

Well...we know that. But the AFC should go to Parliament and let the PNC say no.

And exactly what is the AFC hoping to achieve?  Why are you spending your ammo on a losing battle?  Does the AFC hope to win the admiration of the Afros in Linden or anywhere else?

They will kick you in the teeth like they did on Nov 28, and the Indians you won over will kick in the ass.  Understand, the people now view the AFC as an obstructionist force, similar to the TEA party in the US.  Even it's credible positions are being undermined by these irrational stances.

The electricity rate issue was nonsensical in the first place and now these shootings are being exploited to the hilt.  Does not matter what anyone thinks, the people of Linden and most other Afos view the PNC as their representative, not the AFC.

If you do not pick your battles, you will lost the war.

===

=====

And exactly what is the AFC hoping to achieve?  Why are you spending your ammo on a losing battle?  Does the AFC hope to win the admiration of the Afros in Linden or anywhere else?

They will kick you in the teeth like they did on Nov 28, and the Indians you won over will kick in the ass.  Understand, the people now view the AFC as an obstructionist force, similar to the TEA party in the US.  Even it's credible positions are being undermined by these irrational stances.

The electricity rate issue was nonsensical in the first place and now these shootings are being exploited to the hilt.  Does not matter what anyone thinks, the people of Linden and most other Afos view the PNC as their representative, not the AFC.

=====

The electricity issue and the killing of innocent protestors are very different matters. Now that SN is saying that the special squad killed those folks adds another dimension. I have said here several times the AFC is picking the wrong battles...but not this one. Rohee must go.

=====

The electricity issue and the killing of innocent protestors are very different matters. Now that SN is saying that the special squad killed those folks adds another dimension. I have said here several times the AFC is picking the wrong battles...but not this one. Rohee must go.

They are connected, it's one which led to the other.  The extremists of Linden may not have taken the aggressive stance which led to the disaster if they were not led to believe their cause was just.  The AFC was forefront in leading the futile and misguided charge.

If seeing Rohee go is your personal ambition, then this will not achieve it.  Leroy Brummel has already inserted himself between Rohee and the security force.  The die has been cast.

. . . And exactly what is the AFC hoping to achieve?  Why are you spending your ammo on a losing battle?  Does the AFC hope to win the admiration of the Afros in Linden or anywhere else?

They will kick you in the teeth like they did on Nov 28, and the Indians you won over will kick in the ass. 

Even in a time of sorrow, harsh exchanges and fear . . ., something this corrupt stands out.

You denigrate the AFC pursuit of TRUTH and JUSTICE for the dead CITIZENS of Linden as hoping "to win the admiration of Afros" . . ., and express certainty, indeed HOPE, that Indians they [previously] won over will kick them "in the ass" for the effort.

Thank God small 'men' like you do NOT speak for Indian Guyanese. In your existential quest to shield the criminals in the PPP from accountability @ all costs, the price of your soul approaches the devil’s low-ball bid.

. . . And exactly what is the AFC hoping to achieve?  Why are you spending your ammo on a losing battle?  Does the AFC hope to win the admiration of the Afros in Linden or anywhere else?

They will kick you in the teeth like they did on Nov 28, and the Indians you won over will kick in the ass. 

Even in a time of sorrow, harsh exchanges and fear . . ., something this corrupt stands out.

You denigrate the AFC pursuit of TRUTH and JUSTICE for the dead CITIZENS of Linden as hoping "to win the admiration of Afros" . . ., and express certainty, indeed HOPE, that Indians they [previously] won over will kick them "in the ass" for the effort.

Thank God small 'men' like you do NOT speak for Indian Guyanese. In your existential quest to shield the criminals in the PPP from accountability @ all costs, the price of your soul approaches the devil’s low-ball price.

Hey, it's a losing battle.  What's needed is an impartial inquiry, which I fully support.

What you should be criticizing are political opportunists exploiting first the electricity rate issue and now the killings which followed.  The best way to respect the dead is to stop the political pandering and let the responsible parties do their job.

You are one of those shameless opportunists.  How low is YOUR price.

The best way to respect the dead is to stop the political pandering and let the responsible parties do their job.

Correct Baseman.

Level heads must prevail.

Thank God small 'men' like you do NOT speak for Indian Guyanese. In your existential quest to shield the criminals in the PPP from accountability @ all costs, the price of your soul approaches the devil’s low-ball bid.

Hey, it's a losing battle . . .

Have you consummated the deal for your soul yet . . .? You seem to be claiming omniscience.

What the AFC should do is engineer a no-confidence vote against Rohee. 

Actually, it rather seems that their forte is engineering political violence.

The AFc/pnc are only bluffing, as it turns out some sources on the ground are saying that it was the AFC/PNC agents who, in cover of the mayhem, killed the protesters with live rounds and blame the police to cause political unrest. An international inquiry would reveal them to be the true culprits. 

I would not rule out that scenarios as there were radical elements there.  However, till now the police have not denied the use of live ammo from their side, so it's more likely than not the shots were fired by the police.

We also demand an independent international inquiry into allegations of fraud and theft regarding election funds within the AFC as per revelations by members of the executive branch of the AFC.

Many months later and we are still awaiting on an answer from the AFC. Note how they are quick on their feet to call for an international inquiry while allegations of fraud and corruption within the AFC is swept under the carpet.

Shame on the AFC.

AFC = All for Fraud and Corruption.

The AFC is bent on destroying Guyana. Linden pays $ 15 per kilowatt while Berbice pays $ 53 per kilowatt. This is the AFC definition of fairness.

Welcome to the new Tea Party in Guyana...... AFC.

The AFC and PNC are revealing their true colours.

We also demand an independent international inquiry into allegations of fraud and theft regarding election funds within the AFC as per revelations by members of the executive branch of the AFC.

Many months later and we are still awaiting on an answer from the AFC. Note how they are quick on their feet to call for an international inquiry while allegations of fraud and corruption within the AFC is swept under the carpet.

Shame on the AFC.

AFC = All for Fraud and Corruption.

The AFC is bent on destroying Guyana. Linden pays $ 15 per kilowatt while Berbice pays $ 53 per kilowatt. This is the AFC definition of fairness.

Welcome to the new Tea Party in Guyana...... AFC.

Silly man, coloring the text red does not increment its truth value. Rather it highlights the fact it is a flame!

If  you want an investigation into elections funding violations, you would have to ask the PPP to first agree to sign reform election funding laws. The combined opposition will be tabling those soon and then the PPP and its sycophants like you will find another reason not to want them.

If you care about corruption, you would want the crooks and known failures on the Sugar board gone. You would want transparency on NIS, NBS and more pressing NICIL. But clear PPP theft is not something you care about.

You care about inventing them as a basis for your self deception. Alas, not everyone care to drink the blue pill. Most do not care for the pain of knowing the truth.

I will not stoop to your level and call you silly since most here know that you are on welfare and spend all day here defending the AFC and PNC. Look at the amount of time that you spend here and the time of your posts.

The rest of Guyana works very hard and understand that you MUST pay for what you use and the current rate in Berbice is $ 53 per kilowatt and that Linden MUST pay the same rate.

Guyana is not a welfare state to pay for the poor spending habits of Linden. Those in Linden who cannot afford $ 53 per kiolwatt must find a job so that they can afford to pay.

Why must the rest of Guyana pay for Linden ?

I will not stoop to your level and call you silly since most here know that you are on welfare and spend all day here defending the AFC and PNC. Look at the amount of time that you spend here and the time of your posts.

The rest of Guyana works very hard and understand that you MUST pay for what you use and the current rate in Berbice is $ 53 per kilowatt and that Linden MUST pay the same rate.

Guyana is not a welfare state to pay for the poor spending habits of Linden. Those in Linden who cannot afford $ 53 per kiolwatt must find a job so that they can afford to pay.

Why must the rest of Guyana pay for Linden ?

you know I am on welfare as you know the circumstance you contest here. You simply pull your facts from your rear end.

Lindeners or any other are most certainly good hard working folks as any. Even your PPP will accede to that. The matter here is electric rates nothing else.

Guyana is a beggar state. It survives on hand out. We have never in our history balanced a budget on account of what we earn. If any house was run that way the inhabitants would be living in a refugee tent and alas many of  our people are doing marginally better than a tent on account the government leverage its development on its ability to beg.

The sugar industry is on the dole. It does not support itself. If it is on the dole because of the PPP too big to fail conclusion then the workers for that company on life support are benefactors of that support. That amounts for 30 thousand souls who are directly or indirectly attached to the sugar industry.

You may not want to hear it but it is the case. It has nothing to do with if the people work hard or not but if the nations assets are managed well.