Afro-Guyanese achieved more under PPP- Jagdeo

Former President Bharrat Jagdeo on Wednesday said the records show that Afro-Guyanese have achieved more during the PPP’s 23-year rule, even as he maintained that the David Granger-led administration has been discriminating against Indo-Guyanese.

“In terms of business ownership, in the tenure of the PPP at no time in our history have there been so many Black-owned businesses for every type of service,” he said. They range from security, computer, hairdressing, taxi service and construction. “I am prepared to put our record on the line comparatively…our record will speak for itself,” he said.

Jagdeo recalled that the predominantly Afro-Guyanese public sector that had been eventually pauperized due to the devaluation of the Guyana dollar in the 1980s that had resulted in a decline in the minimum wage to US$25.00.

Afro-Guyanese, Indo-Guyanese and Amerindians, he said, have made “tremendous progress under the PPP. “I am proud of that record and I am prepared to put that record on the line, not the gaff of some of these fringe elements but real, hardcore, fact-based assessments that you will see the progress,” he said.

He added that under the People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPPC)-led administration, the predominantly Afro-Guyanese town of Linden got a brand new hospital, two new secondary schools, new  housing schemes at Amelia’s Ward and Block 22, a new potable water supply system and subsidized electricity, Other achievements by Afro-Guyanese, he listed, were access to land, public service jobs and home ownership. “I am proud of our record how we have moved this country forward and a lot of our people, in fact all of our people made progress,” he said.

The former Guyanese leader highlighted the removal of street lights from Bath Settlement since the APNU+AFC took office as an example of racial discrimination against Indo-Guyanese, while spending GYD$100 million in installing street lights in Linden and Sophia.

Now Opposition Leader, Jagdeo reasoned that since the current APNU+AFC elected officials had criticized the then People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) of racial discrimination against Afro-Guyanese then those office holders could also be classified as racists. He observed that only when Indian rights are being defended that people like himself are deemed racists while Afro-Guyanese speak out against discrimination they are labeled “freedom fighters.” “If that’s the standard, then this government is made up of a bunch of racists,” said Jagdeo.

He noted that APNU+AFC political appointees such as Professor Clive Thomas, Professor David Hinds, Desmond Trotman, Tacuma Ogunseye, Foreign Affairs Minister Carl Greenidge and President David Granger have all claimed that Afro-Guyanese were being discriminated against. “The President has to be racist too for saying some of the things that he has done in the past and he continues to say so I will not stop representing people,” said Jagdeo.

Jagdeo maintained that his criticisms of the Guyana government about discrimination against Indo-Guyanese and other PPP supporters  in remarks to a social gathering in Queens, New York was nothing new. He said the PPP remained in office for 23 years because “we have been even handed” to all of Guyana’s race groups. “No government can be as partisan as this government and last in the long term” he said. “It’s true and I repeat it here again. It discriminates against Afro-Guyanese,” he said, adding that Afro-Guyanese and Amerindians, who support the PPP, are also “facing the brunt of assault from government.”

The Opposition Leader has already stated that the PPP’s mission is to consolidate its Indo-Guyanese support base and reach out to non-traditional supporters.

"Indians did quite well under Burnham.  Look how many of them became wealthy out of trading".  This is what many Burnhamites say.

Maybe this fact will make you see how illogical Jagdeo is.  The fact that a group survives DESPITE what they have to go through doesn't negate the fact that there was a political environment which had an intent to exclude.

37 heads of state corporations and committees were Indians, and one or two were black.  NONE of the appointed heads of mission under Jagdeo were black, despite the talent which exists, and is evident with the current pool of ambassadors.   Many blacks were left in acting capacities, jeopardizing their retirement benefits.  Lists have been provided of blacks who were dismissed by the PPP.  In fact  Jagdeo blocked Greenidge from being appointed to a senior job at an international agencies.  The fact that they wanted to hire him means that they thought well of him.

So Jagdeo can engage in his tribal screams, but he should instead be asking why is it that the PPP made NO inroads into the African and the rapidly growing mixed population in its 23 years!   Maybe if he listened to what the majority of blacks say about how they were treated under the PPP he would learn something.

But the black hating racist that he is (and that you are) will mean that he will TELL blacks what their life experiences were during the "23" years.

He sounds like the old slave masters from the South who told their slaves that blacks up North suffer and that they are better off as slaves.

ba$eman posted:

Afro-Guyanese achieved more under PPP- Jagdeo

The Opposition Leader has already stated that the PPP’s mission is to consolidate its Indo-Guyanese support base and reach out to non-traditional supporters.

Here is the PPP recognizing that it is an ethnic party, and seriously pretending as if it wants to reach out to other ethnic groups, when it had 23 years to do so.  It didn't, but instead peddled the black bogey rapist to terrify Indians.

Well Indians are no longer enough to ensure victory, and the Amerindian vote isn't reliable (as the loss of Lethem and Mabaruma, two staunch PPP areas in the past).   So Jagdeo can continue to panic blacks that he will "take away Guyana for Indians".  His message was received loud and clear, and confirmed by Ramkarran.

But like every racist from the Jim Crow South, from slavery days, and from Apartheid South Africa Jagdeo will wail that he knows every thing about the negroes, and that its just uppity "N" who rile them up.

This even as he knows that 90% of the black/mixed vote rejected him, and his 2011 vote that the PPP would win in Region 10 ended up looking really stupid when the PPP was demolished.  In fact I suspect that its the Amerindians who live upriver who were voting PPP. One can wonder if they will flee the PPP as did their counterparts in Lethem and Mabaruma in the recent LGE.

Listen Caribj, large swathes of the Afro Guyanese population ran away using whatever means under the PNC.  Few Blacks did well, but most of you decended into destitution.  The PNC destroyed just about everything so no one was immune.

As i said in another thread, Blacks need a thriving economy for gainful employment as they are not self starters or business people.  There is nothing wrong with that, just facts how it is. So the PPP built a thriving economy which helped Blacks much more than under the PNC, except for a few.

You saw recently, Guyana is now an Upper middle income nation, illegal migration slowed significantly, and everyone, including Blacks did better.

Fact is, Blacks were better off in 2015 than any time in Guyana's short history.  Now you can go choke on that.

“In terms of business ownership, in the tenure of the PPP at no time in our history have there been so many Black-owned businesses for every type of service,” he said. They range from security, computer, hairdressing, taxi service and construction. “I am prepared to put our record on the line comparatively…our record will speak for itself,” he said.

Here are some contributing factors:

1. Newer businesses (like computer-related businesses). So Blacks did not own these businesses until the PC-era hit Guyana during the middle of the PPP's 22 years in office.
  2. A culture change (hairdressing, use of taxis) where Blacks have a comparative advantage in Afro hair-styling.
  3. Construction - more money-laundered opportunities.
  4. A changing demographic as more Indians emigrate and more moved into Government related jobs thus leaving more opportunities for Blacks to open up their own businesses.
  5. Investment from families abroad, barrel-revenue and materiel, etc.

Awrite.....some of you may find humor in the above.

Kari posted:

1. Newer businesses (like computer-related businesses). So Blacks did not own these businesses until the PC-era hit Guyana during the middle of the PPP's 22 years in office.
  2. A culture change (hairdressing, use of taxis) where Blacks have a comparative advantage in Afro hair-styling.
  4. A changing demographic as more Indians emigrate and more moved into Government related jobs thus leaving more opportunities for Blacks to open up their own businesses.

Listen little shameless man, it might just do you well to get that in vogue Afro hairstyling.  It might just suit you wonders!

ba$eman posted:

Listen Caribj, large swathes of the Afro Guyanese population ran away using whatever means under the PNC.  Few Blacks did well, but most of you decended into destitution.  The PNC destroyed just about everything so no one was immune.

As i said in another thread, Blacks need a thriving economy for gainful employment as they are not self starters or business people.  There is nothing wrong with that, just facts how it is. So the PPP built a thriving economy which helped Blacks much more than under the PNC, except for a few.

You saw recently, Guyana is now an Upper middle income nation, illegal migration slowed significantly, and everyone, including Blacks did better.

Fact is, Blacks were better off in 2015 than any time in Guyana's short history.  Now you can go choke on that.

I wonder why you are arguing with me when you know full well that my opinion is that Burnham put a curse on blacks that rendered them vulnerable to the PPP.

The fact that Burnham destroyed blacks doesn't mean that Jagdeo can scream that they benefitted from the PPP.  To the extent that some prospered it was for the same reasons that some Indians prospered under Burnham. Hard work, grit and ample help from overseas relatives.

So go find some one who sings Burnham's praises to carry your nonsense to.

Jagdeo is a racist and the strong performance of the post 2008 economy was due to the same causes which led most South American economies to boom, and that was high commodity prices.  Within the last few years these same economies have slowed, and in the case of Venezuela and Brazil even entered deep recession.  The fact that Guyana still ekes out a 2-3% growth is credit to it. 

None of you were able to point to any specific actions by the PPP that stimulated growth.  What we do know is that the industry over which they had the most control, sugar, they have all but destroyed. Jump. scream and prance like a chimp but GuySICKO was bankrupt, and insolvent when the PPP left office.  Had APNU AFC not pumped more cash into it that company would no longer exist.

And but for remittances and periodic migration to the Caribbean many blacks would be in destitution. It is easy to see that Guyanese blacks are by far the worst off blacks in the Eastern Caribbean.  Even visitors from the Caribbean remark on that.

ba$eman posted:
Kari posted:

Listen little shameless man, it might just do you well to get that in vogue Afro hairstyling.  It might just suit you wonders!

Very thoughtful and insightful observations oh me'lawd!!! 

little shameless man (how does 5ft 10in and 190 lean pounds sound to you?)

get that in vogue Afro hairstyling.  Pulled from that deep reservoir of knowledge.

Kari posted:
ba$eman posted:
Kari posted:

Very thoughtful and insightful observations oh me'lawd!!! 

little shameless man (how does 5ft 10in and 190 lean pounds sound to you?)

get that in vogue Afro hairstyling.  Pulled from that deep reservoir of knowledge.

(how does 5ft 10in and 190 lean pounds sound to you?). When was this? I can see the 5' 10''..but lean 190?

Kari posted:

Gym wuk bai. Trying to lose some pounds but I only adding. Q82 to 184 was my normal walk-around weight. I feel supple at 175 lbs. That's my target.

5:10 and 190 sounds flubby stubby.  Base is 6'0 and 178, moderate gym workout.

ba$eman posted:

I wonder why you are arguing with me when you know full well that my opinion is that Burnham put a curse on blacks that rendered them vulnerable to the PPP.

The fact that Burnham destroyed blacks doesn't mean that Jagdeo can scream that they benefitted from the PPP.  To the extent that some prospered it was for the same reasons that some Indians prospered under Burnham. Hard work, grit and ample help from overseas relatives.

So go find some one who sings Burnham's praises to carry your nonsense to.

Jagdeo is a racist and the strong performance of the post 2008 economy was due to the same causes which led most South American economies to boom, and that was high commodity prices.  Within the last few years these same economies have slowed, and in the case of Venezuela and Brazil even entered deep recession.  The fact that Guyana still ekes out a 2-3% growth is credit to it. 

None of you were able to point to any specific actions by the PPP that stimulated growth.  What we do know is that the industry over which they had the most control, sugar, they have all but destroyed. Jump. scream and prance like a chimp but GuySICKO was bankrupt, and insolvent when the PPP left office.  Had APNU AFC not pumped more cash into it that company would no longer exist.

And but for remittances and periodic migration to the Caribbean many blacks would be in destitution. It is easy to see that Guyanese blacks are by far the worst off blacks in the Eastern Caribbean.  Even visitors from the Caribbean remark on that.

Banna, you have been complaining about the Black situation the entire history of Guyana.  You cuss Burnham, not you cuss BJ, in 190 years, you will be cussing Granger and Harmon.  You are a lost cause.  It's good you found your way to the USA, at least ypu will get a job and enough to eat, drink and be merry!

ba$eman posted:

Baseman the dominant business groups in Guyana in the early 60s were companies owned by Bookers and Alcan, and the Portuguese owned companies.

Contrary to what you will think the Indian "business man" in G/T apart from a few like Kirpalanis were the little 5'4" men with their cows begging people for grass, and offering to cut it.

By 1992 the dominant business group were Indians. Bookers and Alcan had left as did the Portuguese.  All praises to Burnham using your logic!

And in fact there are many PNC supporters who will tell you that Indians did well under Burnham so shouldn't complain.  You sound a lot like them.

ba$eman posted:

Banna, you have been complaining about the Black situation the entire history of Guyana.  You cuss Burnham, not you cuss BJ, in 190 years, you will be cussing Granger and Harmon.  You are a lost cause.  It's good you found your way to the USA, at least ypu will get a job and enough to eat, drink and be merry!

So should I praise Burnham?  Would that make you happy?

And I don't think that the PPP gives thanks to the colonials given the way that sugar workers were treated.  Should they be on full bended knees praising those worthy gents in the LegCo who loved to send soldiers and policemen to shoot down striking workers, of all races. And who were thrilled when the blood of the "lazy natives" coursed down the streets!

So really your only problem is that I don't praise Jagdeo. But then why should I given that Freddie K and Nigel Hughes proved that he was an institutional racist?  Luncheon was tasked with proving that Jagdeo wasn't a racist, but he was unable to furnish a single iota of proof.

Listen the issue of blacks under the PPP has already been proven. The fact that blacks opened up businesses was INSPITE of rather than because of the PPP.   If anything blacks should praise Hoyte for liberalizing the economy.