Breaking

After declarations by eight regions, PPP/C leading by 52,583 votes

-Regions 4,7 still outstanding

This story is developing and will be updated.

With eight regions having declared results, the opposition PPP/C is leading APNU+AFC by roughly around 52,500 votes in Monday’s general elections with Demerara/Mahaica and Cuyuni/Mazaruni still to be declared.

The regions declare results on the regional section of the ballot paper and these mostly mirror what appears on the general section and what will be finally declared by Chief Election Officer Keith Lowenfield. (See box in opposite column.)

The PPP/C lead may be difficult for APNU+AFC to make up in Region Four  and Region Seven. In 2015,  in Region Four, APNU+AFC registered 112,362 votes and the PPP/C 69,986 – a difference of 42,376 votes. If that trend holds, APNU+AFC would not be able to overtake the PPP/C. In Region Seven in 2015, APNU+AFC secured 4,533 votes and the PPP/C 2,973 votes for a difference of 1560.

The Region Four result is therefore anxiously awaited. However, the Region Four Returning Officer, Clairmont Mingo terminated proceedings early last night saying that he was tired. Today, he fell ill and had to be rushed to the Georgetown Hospital. He was discharged and returned to work but a new controversy has erupted at the Region Four office in High Street over Statements of Poll and this has further delayed the process. The new controversy is being keenly watched by  international observers and the political parties at the Ashmins building.

It is now unclear when Region Four might declare and when a final declaration of results from Monday’s election might be possible.

PPP win de election foh true. Meh no longer use eleckshun when talkin bout me lord Bharrat. He get shun in 2011 and 2015. But Bharrat win de election war after losin two battle. PNC is eleckshun...de eleckshun shun dem...hey hey hey. 

Anyhow ayoo get ready foh de destabilise. Ayoo cyant seh Labba didnt seh dis was comin. Hey hey hey...

KP,  thanks for posting this... this is a relief 

The PPP/C lead may be difficult for APNU+AFC to make up in Region Four  and Region Seven. In 2015,  in Region Four, APNU+AFC registered 112,362 votes and the PPP/C 69,986 – a difference of 42,376 votes. If that trend holds, APNU+AFC would not be able to overtake the PPP/C. In Region Seven in 2015, APNU+AFC secured 4,533 votes and the PPP/C 2,973 votes for a difference of 1560.

@ Labba

You underestimate BJ again.
BJ has friends deep in the belly of the army and wid Abbie army man as PM. Dem better not try anything stupid. 

FK granger and Moses. 
GECOM titivate in 2015. It was his victory too. 

@Django: Brother I just want you to take a look at region 6 numbers. I have been telling you all along that your numbers don't jive. Just remember, it was not only coolies that got disenfranchised by closing the sugar estates. Rain nah fall aha wan man door. PPP more than double up on the PNC/AFC. Granger listened to the Alliance For Clowns and promised them a trip to the moon(ask Uncle Nehru) only to be set on a ballahoo over the Kaieteur Falls. Dem Kark duck and PPP eat dem bait, hook, and sinker.

Nehru:

I am sure they are taking this court. An injunction will possibly be filed to prevent any declaration of a winner ( their usual ploy) and a prolong  court battle will ensue. 

D2: Should the court not order a recount of the region instead of allowing them to file an injunction? They know that the court of appeals might rule in their favor and there will automatically be an appeal if the supreme court rules against them. Then the long journey to the CCJ.

The declaration by GECOM does not necessarily mean that they courts can stop the swearing in. GECOM declaration is constitutional. Precedence has been set.

The swearing in will proceed and they can file their objection if needed.

ABC and OAS may advise PNC that their efforts are futile and this may not be as bad as some people are speculating. In fact, I understand that preparations are already in place, just waiting GECOM pronouncement. 

This is not pre 1992.

@Skelly

That is a possibility but I dont see that happening. He will yield to international pressure. The minute GECOM makes a pronouncement that PPP won, thats constitutional. Thats why GECOM was stalling.

Let us even assume that they were to rig and make a declaration that PNC won and Granger gets sworn in, game over.

Sometimes I wonder if Django has a hand in the rigging machinery,  he was so confident that PNC will win even by how much. He did not take into account the presence of foreign observers watching over the process like bees to honey.

I can safely say that the PNC and tribe are brazen CROOKS  I have see enough, thanks for social media.

East Indians should stay off of the streets and start arming themselves in their homes with knives, hammers, sharp cutlasses etc as a precautionary defensive measure.  This thing looks like it is heading for trouble.