After heavy rains floods…

Guyana standing by to assist Eastern Caribbean islands

- President Ramotar offers sympathy to PM Anthony, PM Gonsalves

Saturday, 28 December 2013, Source

GUYANA is standing by to assist several Eastern Caribbean islands where people have died and infrastructure was damaged due to severe rains, heavy winds and floods, the Foreign Affairs Ministry indicated recently.

President Donald Ramotar

No details of the assistance were provided but, in the past, this country has deployed soldiers as part of a Caribbean contingent to islands such as Grenada and Montserrat that were ravaged by hurricanes.

Oil-rich Trinidad and Tobago has already announced that it would be aiding in recovery efforts. Dominica, St. Lucia and St. Vincent and the Grenadines have been badly affected by the weather conditions since Christmas Eve.

Prime Minister of St. Lucia, Dr Kenny Anthony

The British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) reported that eight persons were killed in St. Vincent and the Grenadines, where there has been heavy flooding and landslides.

In St. Lucia, one policeman was killed while, reportedly, trying to save persons who were in difficulty after torrential rain on Christmas Eve and the bodies of four other persons were found.

Prime Minister Dr. Ralph Gonsalves

President Donald Ramotar, in a telephone call on Boxing Day, extended his sympathies to Dr. Kenny Anthony, Prime Minister of St. Lucia, on the loss of lives and damage to property and infrastructure caused by the severe rains and heavy winds which swept over the Eastern Caribbean over the 24-hour period from Christmas Eve to Christmas Day.

The Government Information Agency (GINA) reported that, on account of communication difficulties, President Ramotar was unable to reach Dr. Ralph Gonsalves, Prime Minister of St Vincent and the Grenadines to convey similar sentiments.

St. Vincent and the Grenadines was also severely affected by the weather system, with lives lost and several communities across the country affected by power outages and cut off by damaged bridges and blocked roads.

RECOVERY EFFORTS
According to GINA, the Government of Guyana will continue to monitor the situation and reports from the Caribbean Disaster Emergency Management Agency with a view to supporting the recovery efforts of the affected Member States of the Eastern Caribbean.

The Caribbean Disaster Emergency Management Agency Thursday afternoon reported that:
* Severe rains and high winds, due to a low level trough system would have impacted the participating States of CDEMA’s Central Sub-Region of Saint Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines and Dominica through Monday, December 23 to Wednesday, December 25.

The prognosis by the Caribbean Institute of Meteorology and Hydrology (CIMH) stated that a small low level trough had moved into the Eastern Caribbean under the influence of a mid to upper level trough. The orientation of the eastern side of the upper level trough had, significantly, enhanced showers and thunderstorm activity over the States of the Eastern Caribbean.

Between December 23 and Dominica 24, Grenada, St. Vincent and the Grenadines and St. Lucia began reporting heavy showery activity with accumulations over that 12 to 24 hours period.

'GUYANA is standing by to assist several Eastern Caribbean islands where people have died and infrastructure was damaged due to severe rains, heavy winds and floods, the Foreign Affairs Ministry indicated recently'

Ramoutar should be thinking of his flooding at home first before offering assistance to anyone else.

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

'GUYANA is standing by to assist several Eastern Caribbean islands where people have died and infrastructure was damaged due to severe rains, heavy winds and floods, the Foreign Affairs Ministry indicated recently'

Ramoutar should be thinking of his flooding at home first before offering assistance to anyone else.

We took care of the Floods now is time to use our expertise to help our bloody neighbors.   god will always bless Guyana. is al yuh gt people blocking up the bloody trenches.  we need to teach al yuh baxside cleanliness.

We took care of what??  You rass don't know jack shit what's appening in Guyana, but you're quick to to agree on the Govt. decision to help others. I don't see any other caribbean countries rushing to aid us, do you?

That is why GOD loves Guyana. We did not receive help but we are willing to help others. Read the Bible, Koran or Bhagwat Gita and you will understand why Bhai. Say Guyana, say sweet sweet Guyana.

We took care of the Floods now is time to use our expertise to help .....

An excellent approach to offer support.

You might need a cup of red rose green tea to bring you back on track if you truly agree with  this nonesense.

"now is time to use our expertise to help our bloody neighbors"

This is the biggest joke I've heard in a long time. what expertise, Nehru. please tell me.

We managed the greatest Floods, heavy Rains since Noah times and Guyana had the BEST Christmas EVER. Wait till yuh see New Year's Celebration. Bruk it Up, Bruk it Up, Bruk It Up tonight at Players. Dem Gals sweet Laka Sopadilla Bhai. Yuh coming. Me and cobra pun dem baxside tonight.

That is why GOD loves Guyana. We did not receive help but we are willing to help others. Read the Bible, Koran or Bhagwat Gita and you will understand why Bhai. Say Guyana, say sweet sweet Guyana.

You're making no sense whatsoever. You're like of those rats following the pied piper. I see a cliff looming in the distance, bai. you still have time to make an about face

Bhai, This is not Rocket Science. Guyana is in a very good position to help it's neighbors with regards to Flooding, Agriculture and rebuilding from a disaster. Remember how we rebuild after dem 28 dark years.

Stay on course. we have a serious flood problem that needs to be remedied. take care of that first, then help those who may need assistance to the best of our ability. Your should not be making comments on this thread, after all, you have not seen guyana since 1992.

The solution is in the making. A BIG BIG Canal is in the works but dat will not help GT if people cant clean up their acts.