GDF to increase number of soldiers; People's Militia to be re-established- Granger

FLASH BACK: President David Granger inspecting a GDF Guard of Honour at his inauguration. FLASH BACK: President David Granger inspecting a GDF Guard of Honour at his inauguration.

President David Granger has announced
plans to increase the number of regular soldiers,
reintroduce the Guyana People’s Militia
and beef up the air and marine wings of the Guyana Defence Force
as part of a five-year "total defence" strategy.

Addressing GDF Officers
at the army’s headquarters at Camp Ayanganna,
he said the GDF’s five pillars
must include recruiting more soldiers and reserves.

“The Force must be brought up to
the authorised establishment strength
to meet current and unforeseen challenges.

A study will be done to examine
how the ‘regular force’ could be augmented,”
said the Retired Brigadier and current Commander-in-Chief.

The President also announced that
the Guyana People’s Militia (GPM) would be re-established
in all 10 administrative regions
to render assistance in times of floods,
threats to public order and other emergencies.

“The ‘reserve force’ must be re-constituted and
maintained at a minimum of 50 per cent of the strength
of the ‘regular force,’ he said.

The Reserve was established in 1976 and
downsized by the previous
People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPPC)-led administration in 1997
into the 2nd Infantry Battalion.  
The GDF’s strength is estimated at about 2,000 persons.

He explained that beefing up
the regular and reserve components of the GDF
was part of a “Total Defence” strategy.

“This policy – Total National Defence –
emphasises the need for all the elements
and instruments of national power
to be combined to protect our territory.

This policy will, on implementation,
give our regular and reserve forces the resources
they need to perform their mission over the next five years.

The long-term objective is to ensure that
Guyanese will be able to depend on defence forces,
which will ensure the safety of the citizens
and the security of the country,” he said.

Granger said the Civil Defence Corps
is to be established to support the work
of the Civil Defence Commission in responding to
and managing disasters.

The President expects the GDF
to continue being a key player in defence diplomacy
by building on its participation
in several United States-sponsored Exercise Tradewinds
and contributions to disaster relief
in several Caribbean countries
like Antigua and Barbuda, Montserrat and Grenada
that had been hit by hurricanes over the decades.

“Guyana’s defence policy, as proposed 
in the BNSC Report,
should be in accord with the state’s foreign policy
and diplomatic posture.

Defence diplomacy contributes to building confidence
between armed forces and, in extreme cases,
to preventing conflict,
managing crises and
resolving disputes between states,” he said.

Eyeing a well-commanded,
well-trained and well-equipped force
that is multi-role, flexible and fully-integrated
with sufficient support weapons,
the President said the Air Corps and Coast Guard should be upgraded to provide continuous surveillance of
Guyana’s air, territorial and maritime borders and approaches
and support search-and-rescue services
to persons in distress.

Granger wants the Engineer Corps
to help restore defence and public  infrastructure.

“This Corps once had the capability
to contribute to the celebrated Mahdia-Annai
and Itaballi-Sand Landing road projects.

The non-completion of these projects
is partially responsible for
the underdevelopment of the hinterland,” he said.

The President’s restated that the National Cadet Corps
  would be re-established
to allow boys and girls between the ages of 12 and 18 years
in secondary schools to pursue part-time training
to prepare them for adult life.

The GDF has already announced
that the pilot schools identified for the Cadet Programme
include the New Amsterdam Multilateral
and the Stewartville Secondary.

Granger noted that the position of Adjutant General
has been restored to  allow a dedicated superior officer
to pay undivided attention to discipline,
the selection and recruitment of personnel,
promotions, career planning
and troops’ morale and well-being.

Now that the position of
Quartermaster General has been restored,
the President hopes that such a superior officer
will ensure that finance is provided
to improve  infrastructure
and ensure that equipment is acquired,
repaired or replaced,
that  troops’ living conditions,
meals and uniforms are adequate and
that munitions  and weapons are acquired
and supplied in a timely manner.

The position of Inspector General is meant
to ensure that the appropriate superior officer
is responsible for maintaining the Force
in a state of operational  readiness and
interoperability with fraternal Caribbean defence forces, he said.

“This will be achieved through the improvement of training methods and schools and the conduct of training exercises,” he said.

GDF to increase number of soldiers; People's Militia to be re-established- Granger

FLASH BACK: President David Granger inspecting a GDF Guard of Honour at his inauguration. FLASH BACK: President David Granger inspecting a GDF Guard of Honour at his inauguration.

President David Granger has announced
plans to increase the number of regular soldiers,
reintroduce the Guyana People’s Militia
and beef up the air and marine wings of the Guyana Defence Force
as part of a five-year "total defence" strategy.

Addressing GDF Officers
at the army’s headquarters at Camp Ayanganna,
he said the GDF’s five pillars
must include recruiting more soldiers and reserves.

“The Force must be brought up to
the authorised establishment strength
to meet current and unforeseen challenges.

A study will be done to examine
how the ‘regular force’ could be augmented,”
said the Retired Brigadier and current Commander-in-Chief.

The President also announced that
the Guyana People’s Militia (GPM) would be re-established
in all 10 administrative regions
to render assistance in times of floods,
threats to public order and other emergencies.

“The ‘reserve force’ must be re-constituted and
maintained at a minimum of 50 per cent of the strength
of the ‘regular force,’ he said.

The Reserve was established in 1976 and
downsized by the previous
People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPPC)-led administration in 1997
into the 2nd Infantry Battalion.  
The GDF’s strength is estimated at about 2,000 persons.

He explained that beefing up
the regular and reserve components of the GDF
was part of a “Total Defence” strategy.

“This policy – Total National Defence –
emphasises the need for all the elements
and instruments of national power
to be combined to protect our territory.

This policy will, on implementation,
give our regular and reserve forces the resources
they need to perform their mission over the next five years.

The long-term objective is to ensure that
Guyanese will be able to depend on defence forces,
which will ensure the safety of the citizens
and the security of the country,” he said.

Granger said the Civil Defence Corps
is to be established to support the work
of the Civil Defence Commission in responding to
and managing disasters.

The President expects the GDF
to continue being a key player in defence diplomacy
by building on its participation
in several United States-sponsored Exercise Tradewinds
and contributions to disaster relief
in several Caribbean countries
like Antigua and Barbuda, Montserrat and Grenada
that had been hit by hurricanes over the decades.

“Guyana’s defence policy, as proposed 
in the BNSC Report,
should be in accord with the state’s foreign policy
and diplomatic posture.

Defence diplomacy contributes to building confidence
between armed forces and, in extreme cases,
to preventing conflict,
managing crises and
resolving disputes between states,” he said.

Eyeing a well-commanded,
well-trained and well-equipped force
that is multi-role, flexible and fully-integrated
with sufficient support weapons,
the President said the Air Corps and Coast Guard should be upgraded to provide continuous surveillance of
Guyana’s air, territorial and maritime borders and approaches
and support search-and-rescue services
to persons in distress.

Granger wants the Engineer Corps
to help restore defence and public  infrastructure.

“This Corps once had the capability
to contribute to the celebrated Mahdia-Annai
and Itaballi-Sand Landing road projects.

The non-completion of these projects
is partially responsible for
the underdevelopment of the hinterland,” he said.

The President’s restated that the National Cadet Corps
  would be re-established
to allow boys and girls between the ages of 12 and 18 years
in secondary schools to pursue part-time training
to prepare them for adult life.

The GDF has already announced
that the pilot schools identified for the Cadet Programme
include the New Amsterdam Multilateral
and the Stewartville Secondary.

Granger noted that the position of Adjutant General
has been restored to  allow a dedicated superior officer
to pay undivided attention to discipline,
the selection and recruitment of personnel,
promotions, career planning
and troops’ morale and well-being.

Now that the position of
Quartermaster General has been restored,
the President hopes that such a superior officer
will ensure that finance is provided
to improve  infrastructure
and ensure that equipment is acquired,
repaired or replaced,
that  troops’ living conditions,
meals and uniforms are adequate and
that munitions  and weapons are acquired
and supplied in a timely manner.

The position of Inspector General is meant
to ensure that the appropriate superior officer
is responsible for maintaining the Force
in a state of operational  readiness and
interoperability with fraternal Caribbean defence forces, he said.

“This will be achieved through the improvement of training methods and schools and the conduct of training exercises,” he said.

Knucklehead,

How about balancing the military for starters?  If Indians dont want to join, they should be conscripted (drafted)....its a bloody disgrace that we cannot balance such an important institution of power.

Originally Posted by VishMahabir:

Knucklehead,

How about balancing the military for starters?  If Indians dont want to join, they should be conscripted (drafted)....its a bloody disgrace that we cannot balance such an important institution of power.

Banna you mad or what? Anytime the Govt does something regarding the indians we hear the cry "ethnic cleansing"

Ask buddy yugi if he agrees with your statement.

Knucklehead,

let's hear from Indian Guyanese regarding Vish Mahabir stupidness

Knucklehead,

let's hear from "Indian" Guyanese regarding Vish Mahabir stupidness

Aya na beat up vish too much....

Vish na stop $hit since May 11th,

He still pon de Latrine....

he need a big plug....

his exhaust pon fire

and Rohee Water Cannon Bruck up

But Yuji, Nehru, Cobra & Skeldon

Bring a Barrel of wata from Berbice

HELP ON THE WAY

Knucklehead,

Banna you mad or what? Anytime the Govt does something regarding the indians we hear the cry "ethnic cleansing"

Putagees never join the VF or the GDF. And a full blooded putagee was never in the police force. So if indians doan care to join, suh what.

Knucklehead,

Redux, A.K.A. the long standing GNI racist),

Well, why cant we hear from YOU regarding your already seemingly biased "stupidness", judging by your language?. All over the world, there is a call for police to reflect the makeup of the community....if you live in the US, you would know what I mean, but I don't have the time to get into this now.

If we are going to bridge the racial gap in Guyana, Indians should also share the burden of defending the nation, like others.

Why is it that you become giddy when Indians talk about a balanced force. From what I have read, the force was balanced when the Kabaka took over the country. Its not an exclusive club for Africans, and if it is considered as such, we need to change it and destroy this myth.  As it stands, it perpetuates the myth that Indians are peaceful people and are not cut out out for military work....but times are changing...the majority of people in Guyana are young people. The new initiatives now touted by Granger creates these windows of opportunity for Indians, Amerindians, etc to balance the forces. 

There have been the age old arguments that Indians do not want to join (arguments made by even confused Indians, I might add) and that the PPP could not do it (This is why I suggested a draft). In the 1960s, there were clear evidence of discrimination, and since Africans were urbanized they got first dibs on recruitment. No political leader has effectively  tried to change this situation because it served their purpose, but it also created a monster in the police force (death squad and all). 

Then there is the UN report which Burnham shelved, a report that recommended balancing the forces.

Then there was the Discipline Commission, of which Granger was a member. It recommended modernization, balancing, and other things for the discipline forces.

So, over to you banna...lets hear about your "stupidness"....tell us why Indians should not join the forces....

Last edited by VishMahabir
Knucklehead,

Well, why cant we hear from YOU regarding your already seemingly biased "stupidness", judging by your language?. All over the world, there is a call for police to reflect the makeup of the community....if you live in the US, you would know what I mean, but I don't have the time to get into this now.

If we are going to bridge the racial gap in Guyana, Indians should also share the burden of defending the nation, like others.

Why is it that you become giddy when Indians talk about a balanced force. From what I have read, the force was balanced when the Kabaka took over the country. Its not an exclusive club for Africans, and if it is considered as such, we need to change it and destroy this myth.  As it stands, it perpetuates the myth that Indians are peaceful people and are not cut out out for military work....but times are changing...the majority of people in Guyana are young people. The new initiatives now touted by Granger creates these windows of opportunity for Indians, Amerindians, etc to balance the forces. 

There have been the age old arguments that Indians do not want to join (arguments made by even confused Indians, I might add) and that the PPP could not do it (This is why I suggested a draft). In the 1960s, there were clear evidence of discrimination, and since Africans were urbanized they got first dibs on recruitment. No political leader has effectively  tried to change this situation because it served their purpose, but it also created a monster in the police force (death squad and all). 

Then there is the UN report which Burnham shelved, a report that recommended balancing the forces.

Then there was the Discipline Commission, of which Granger was a member. Id recommended modernization, balancing, and other things for the discipline forces.

So, over to you banna...lets your stupidness.

ahmmm cockroach . . . tell me nah

since blackman and Amerindian joining without coercion, how u plan to implement a draft for East Indians alone?

dis is fascinating . . . de madness descending pan abee

lol

Knucklehead,

Putagees never join the VF or the GDF. And a full blooded putagee was never in the police force. So if indians doan care to join, suh what.

First..Guyana probably had 25 putagees in the country

Second..two of my relatives were in the GDF...anta knows one of them.

A couple of my Uncles were also in the Police force. So you really do not know anything, do you?

Furthermore, speak to Vish, he's the guy who speaks about Indians being conscripted. I couldn't give a rats arse if they too lazy,racial or soft to join the forces.

Rohee buy this Scrap Iron

and Claim it will be safe

fuh Couple Indian who can operate um...

But look how Rohee

Balance De Force

Them Coolie Bhai had to abondon

De wata Cannon....

and Switch to a Donkey Cart....

LOOK ROHEE GOT THEM LIKE 4 DANKEY...

Knucklehead,

First..Guyana probably had 25 putagees in the country

Second..two of my relatives were in the GDF...anta knows one of them.

A couple of my Uncles were also in the Police force. So you really do not know anything, do you?

Furthermore, speak to Vish, he's the guy who speaks about Indians being conscripted. I couldn't give a rats arse if they too lazy,racial or soft to join the forces.

seignet, i gat wan name for u

Cap't Roland DaSilva of Rupununu uprising and New River Triangle fame (former GAC pilot)

believe u me, he is wan "full blooded putagee"

Knucklehead,

Then there was the Discipline Commission, of which Granger was a member. Id recommended modernization, balancing, and other things for the discipline forces.

since blackman and Amerindian joining without coercion, how u plan to implement a draft for East Indians alone?

lol

Banna, Do some research...how you think they doing it in other places? Look at places like Israel and Switzerland for starters....if every commission in Guyana so far (I can think of 3) has recommended that it be done, then it is up to the government to find a way to do so...dont blame it on the Indians by saying that they dont want to join (the PPP is guilty of doing this also)...government has to provide the incentive (if not by consctiption) to ensure that this be done. NYC has taken innovative steps to ensure representation, Baltinmore is doing so now...

I would argue that a balanced force is one step closer towards bridging the racial gap. 

I have heard stupid arguments in the past that blacks want to maintain the forces as their "kith and kin"...this is an even more reason for balancing....our institutions should reflect our population...fair and simple. 

Knucklehead,

lol

Banna, Do some research...how you think they doing it in other places? Look at places like Israel and Switzerland for starters....if every commission in Guyana so far (I can think of 3) has recommended that it be done, then it is up to the government to find a way to do so...dont blame it on the Indians by saying that they dont want to join (the PPP is guilty of doing this also)...government has to provide the incentive (if not by consctiption) to ensure that this be done. NYC has taken innovative steps to ensure representation, Baltinmore is doing so now...

I would argue that a balanced force is one step closer towards bridging the racial gap. 

I have heard stupid arguments in the past that blacks want to maintain the forces as their "kith and kin"...this is an even more reason for balancing....our institutions should reflect our population...fair and simple. 

lout, u were the one making stupid suggestions about conscripting Indians against their will if they doan want to join the army

yuh stupidness blow back in yuh face and now u ketching sense

g'wan dahside with yuh idiocy