AG raps Ramjattan for ‘unsubstantiated and reckless’ allegations

– Says Finance Minister acted in ‘absolute’ compliance with laws

ATTORNEY-General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Anil Nandlall, yesterday, took the Leader of the Alliance For Change (AFC), Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, to task for “unsubstantiated and reckless” allegations.

Dr Ashni Singh, Minister of Finance

Dr Ashni Singh,

Minister of Finance

The AG’s response follows the publication of an article in the Kaieteur News, on Monday, under the headline ‘Illegally’ spent $4.5B…Govt. interfering in police’s investigation of Ashni Singh’.

According to Nandlall, the AFC Leader has no evidence to support his allegations; he also charged that had he legitimate grounds for his comments, he would have indicated as such.

“Mr. Ramjattan has, once again, characteristically failed to provide a scintilla of evidence to support his wild allegations that Government has interfered, or is interfering, with a report filed with the Guyana Police Force,” Nandlall said, adding, “One expects that Mr. Ramjattan would have named the Government functionary who is guilty of this alleged interference or he would have identified a person or persons in the Police Force whose work was the subject of this alleged interference.”

The AG stressed that no such information was disclosed.

ACTED IN COMPLIANCE
Nandlall highlighted that the Finance Minister acted in “absolute” compliance with the law when he restored the controversial $4.6B of monies cut from the 2014 national budget.

“I maintain most resolutely that the Minister of Finance, Dr. Ashni Singh, acted in absolute compliance with the relevant constitutional provisions as interpreted by the Honourable Chief Justice in a written ruling issued on January 29th 2014 and that at all times he acted upon the directions of the Cabinet, chaired by His Excellency, the President,” he said.

The AG added that it is interesting to note that the exact action that is being challenged by the Opposition presently, were taken in 2012 and 2013.

‘Mr. Ramjattan has, once again, characteristically failed to provide a scintilla of evidence to support his wild allegations’ – AG Anil Nandlall

“These very actions were supported by Mr. Ramjattan in the National Assembly and the Hansard will easily so confirm. Perhaps it is of even greater significance that I point out that these restorations of budget cuts by the Finance Minister took place while the case was being argued before the Chief Justice. Not once during those arguments or even in the press did Mr. Ramjattan or any member of the Opposition, for that matter, made any contention that the criminal law was violated,” Nandlall said.

INEXPLICABLE SLUMBER
He questioned whether it is that the Opposition has awakened from some “inexplicable” slumber.

The AG said, “Mr. Ramjattan now expects the Police to investigate an alleged crime that he himself took two years to realise is a “crime” and moreover, which he voted in support of, in the most premier law-making institution of the land.

“Before making these inane assertions, Mr. Ramjattan should really consider the real possibility that the Police may not be able to investigate that which does not exist. He may be familiar with the Latin Maxim ex nihil nihilo fit- ‘out of nothing cometh nothing’.”

Nandlall contends that that modus operandai of the Opposition is plain. “So long a process does not yield the result which is consistent with their expectations and political agenda, they denigrate the process and they subject those engaged in the process to vile and vulgar verbal assaults,” he said.

To support this contention, he highlighted that:
* The Linden Commission of Enquiry did not meet their expectations and political agenda; they condemned the Commission and criticised the Commissioners;
* The Chief Justice did not rule in their favour; they attacked the independence of the Judiciary and “cuss out” the Judges; and
* The Walter Rodney COI is causing some of them political discomfort; they denigrate the inquiry and condemn the Commissioners.

“Now that the Police investigations do not satisfy Mr. Ramjattan’s whims and fancies; he abuses the investigators and attacks the investigation process. Unfortunately, an irresponsible press offers coverage,” he concluded.

Source - http://guyanachronicle.com/ag-...eckless-allegations/

Desperation: -

A state of despair, typically one that results in rash or extreme behavior.

I love to deal with people suffering from desperation.  I am a qualified behavioral expert.  SCUD Missile in coming!!!

Interesting personal advice.

It wasn't intended to be too personal for you, hope you didnt take it that way.

Political issues are the focus on this forum of GNI rather than your constant infantile expressions.

Ramjattan should know better that to go around and making allegation without proper consultation. Guyanese people are tired with lies from their political leaders. Election time is near and I haven't heard the AFC plan for Guyana or to the people. Ramjattan is sinking his own ship.

Political issues are the focus on this forum of GNI rather than your constant infantile expressions.

lol - 

Like a sensing a bit of moisture dere, tek a look and leh me know if you are ok.

lol - 

Like a sensing a bit of moisture dere, tek a look and leh me know if you are ok.

why the personal attacks on DG? If you disagree, then just state your case

Originally Posted by raymond:

lol - 

Huh? D_G started the personal attack first in this thread. 

Originally Posted by Mars:

lol - 

are you blind?

lol - 

are you blind?

No I'm not. Have you washed the booboo out of your eyes for the day yet?

DG,

I ignore them.

Desperation is kicking in for the opposing posters. Many of them will have to buy a piece of rope after the PPP wins a majority with 52 percent.

DG,

I ignore them.

Desperation is kicking in for the opposing posters. Many of them will have to buy a piece of rope after the PPP wins a majority with 52 percent.

Their constant inadequacies are addressed, as apt.

I don't think Raymond is doing enough to curtail the personal attacks. Some posters think it's their right to attack a person without provocation, and that is very unfortunate on this board.

Nehru is the biggest culprit in this regard and you join in to defend him whenever the scud missiles are launched, so what are you whining about?

D_G launched the first attack on another poster in this very thread and Raymond did nothing even after I alerted him to his erroneous assumptions. 

DG,

I ignore them.

Just got back from Home Depot and they have nylon rope on sale.

Nehru is the biggest culprit in this regard and you join in to defend him whenever the scud missiles are launched, so what are you whining about?

D_G launched the first attack on another poster in this very thread and Raymond did nothing even after I alerted him to his erroneous assumptions. 

you have yet to show me DG's persoanl attack

You want me to do your wuk fuh you now.

Go and look for yourself.

D_G got precisely what he deserved.

And if you were looking hard enough, you'll also see that Nehru launched an unprovoked attack on the Horse Man, but you were quick to jump and blame the Horse Man.

STOP crying you baby.

you making the claim, so provide the proof instead of all the fake bluster

D_G has one played out line that he constantly blabbers on this forum. It's always about someone bellowing in the mirror. Keeping that in mind, what do you think he meant when he said "Interesting personal advice." to Horse Man in response to a photo which reads "Go sit in the corner, Dumbass." In effect, he's telling Horse Man that he's giving himself personal advice to go and sit in the corner because he is the dumbass. You can't be that dense if you don't see this clearly and I have to point it out for you.

Look earlier and you'll also see Nehru saying "Did you look in the Mirror before you went and sit in the corner?" in reference to the same photo which reads "Go sit in the corner, Dumbass." In effect, he's telling Horse Man that he's the dumbass who went to sit in the corner. Again, You can't be that dense if you don't see this clearly and I have to point it out for you.

You're not being fair to accuse Horse Man of being the first to start the personal attacks when it's blatantly clear that he was attacked by TWO other posters. 

D_G personal attacks are in his sarcasm. He likes to mock other posters with his one line dribbles. I am no saint.