Attorney General Anil Nandlall's appeal challenging  an earlier ruling of Chief Justice (CJ) Ian Chang against the appointment of Town Clerk (TC) Carol Sooba commenced today in Court of Appeal. However the highlight of today's proceedings was an exchange between Alliance for Change(AFC) Chairman Nigel Hughes and Appeal Court Judge Cummings. Hughes is representing Royston King, the respondent, and was upbraided by Justice Cummings for his comments in reference to AG Nandlall.

This is not the first time the AFC Chairman's legal conduct his been the subject of scrutiny as similar actions by commissioners at the Linden Commission of Inquiry led to his walk out and subsequent return.

The AG is appealing the case on the grounds that the CJ would have erred in his ruling and further, made a judgment, “against the weight of the evidence.” He is asking the Appeal Court to set aside the order made by the CJ on December 13, 2013, which requested the Local Government Minister to explain the appointment of Carol Sooba as Town Clerk. The Attorney General says that the plaintiff is dissatisfied with the CJ’s ruling in its entirety.
He said that the CJ “erred and misguided himself in law” when he ruled that the Minister had no power to appoint Sooba as Georgetown’s Town Clerk under the Municipal and District Councils Act Chapter 28:01.
The AG argued, also, that the CJ’s ruling was “misconceived and wrong in law” when he misdirected himself in finding that Section 95 of the Municipal and District Councils Act, – which speaks to the convening of a Local Government Service Commission, -came into operation in the absence of any evidence of that being done, and in the face of evidence which tend to establish that the Commission was never convened. The AG believes therefore, that the CJ made his ruling against the weight of the evidence before him.e

extract from http://www.newguymedia.com

Originally Posted by Conscience:
The AG argued, also, that the CJ’s ruling was “misconceived and wrong in law” when he misdirected himself in finding that Section 95 of the Municipal and District Councils Act, – which speaks to the convening of a Local Government Service Commission, -came into operation in the absence of any evidence of that being done, and in the face of evidence which tend to establish that the Commission was never convened. The AG believes therefore, that the CJ made his ruling against the weight of the evidence before him.

It is noted quite clearly in the legislation that ...

1. The Local Government Service Commission can recommend a person for a position, subject to the approval of the Minister.

2. In the absence of Local Government Service Commission, the Minister can appoint an individual to a position.

Had the PPP any sense they would let the fat cow take a walk and ease the tensions. However, they are of the old power obsessed crowd working from the Marxist vanguard party praxis so they cannot see other means than autocracy. Unfortunately, they are digging a hole for themselves. Aggravating an already incensed anti PPP faction will only serve to strengthen the will to kick them from office. They are fighting a losing battle. Autocracy is of a dead era. They will be interred with its bones.

Both Councie & De Ole Fool full of Bull$hit....According to Councie De Honourable Justice Cummings ready to reverse the Chief Justice Decision.. Councie believe these are the days of House Of Israel Justice.
Originally Posted by Conscience:
The AG argued, also, that the CJ’s ruling was “misconceived and wrong in law” when he misdirected himself in finding that Section 95 of the Municipal and District Councils Act, – which speaks to the convening of a Local Government Service Commission, -came into operation in the absence of any evidence of that being done, and in the face of evidence which tend to establish that the Commission was never convened. The AG believes therefore, that the CJ made his ruling against the weight of the evidence before him.

It is noted quite clearly in the legislation that ...

1. The Local Government Service Commission can recommend a person for a position, subject to the approval of the Minister.

2. In the absence of Local Government Service Commission, the Minister can appoint an individual to a position.

Could someone explain to this octogenarian that this is why/how we have PPP/C nincompoops cronies in key decision making positions.

Nothing but delay tactics from the PPP.  They are very godd at this.  The inevitable will be Shuba has to GO!.

But Hammie wuss!

smartman outsmart heself . . . talking out of both sides of yuh ass

Gilbakka manners yuh good pan de other thread https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/so...8#384808377551344918 . . . now u trying to salvage some 'dignity'

lol

Eh Eh, Redux ah fallow me.  Interesting.

There’s little REDUX ak TK has done to prove he is wothy of public office.  He spend his life on this 100 member GNI all day blogging.  What a wasted life.

Get down into GT behind Granja, you new lord and help the people.

PPP then ROAR then AFC then PNC.  Where next.  La Repentir Political Party.

What a GRASS HOPPER.

Eh Eh, Redux ah fallow me.  Interesting.

There’s little REDUX ak TK has done to prove he is wothy of public office.  He spend his life on this 100 member GNI all day blogging.  What a wasted life.

Get down into GT behind Granja, you new lord and help the people.

PPP then ROAR then AFC then PNC.  Where next.  La Repentir Political Party.

What a GRASS HOPPER.

typical coward . . . u need a TARGET to detract from the EXPOSURE and blows u tekkin

u choose TK because he ain't here and u overmatched

but my whip will be on your monkey ass as long as u on GNI . . . no matter what nic u use

Redux do you think TK made a good decision to join the PNC?

If you think it was a good decision.....I have a follow up Question for you.

(i) i am unaware that TK joined/is a member of the PNC

(ii) if he in fact made such a move, given his political pedigree, i happen to believe such a decision would have been made with the highest patriotic motives in mind

much more than that i cannot say because i don't know the man other than as a public intellectual whose views converge with some of my own regarding the PPP tyranny

anything else?

Redux well PNC had TK picture posing together all over

saying he Joined them after he resigned from the AFC.

As far as I know TK was encouraging others to do the same....

and I do not think he is getting anywhere with his request so far....

so this much Hyped up PNC move is seen as a Big Failure

WHAT MAKES TK A POLITICAL PEDIGREE????

Stop fooling yuh self or lieing....

Does TK have a Political Following - Grassroot or otherwise????

Is TK .....a Jagan? ..... a Rodney?.... a Ravi Dev?....a Peter Daguiar?

.......or a Burnham????

TK is a good economist,

even if he made a bad decision in his choice

or choices of supporting political parties. 

My concern is some felt we would have seen changes in the PNC

when TK made that plunge.....

I have not seen any positive change.....

Have you seen any that you can share with us?????

The PNC is the PNC....

it can become more popular if Guyanese see change...

everyone know the PPP today is Corrupt.....

but why would we want to join with the PNC.... 

or encourage others to support the PNC .....

if the PNC is not willing to come clean,

and refuse to accept their past mistakes and

promise to they will never operate like they did in the past.

Although the PPP is a disaster today.....

do you know... now..

if the PPP decides to come clean,

and willing to accept their past mistakes, .....

and today start jailing all those who thieving ..... 

and promise to they will never operate like they did in the past......

they will stand a chance of becoming a majority Govt again.

You do not Join the Devil....

or Support evil....

it is better you stay far from both the PPP & PNC....

and work to bring change in the future.....

if the PPP & PNC refuse to clean up their act...

the will suffer .....

The PNC did not believe they could be removed in 1992....

The PPP do not believe the could be removed now either...

so let them keep believing the own Guyana....

Every Dictatorship will fall....

And the Bottom Line is TK made a Blunder with the PNC...

and the PNC has not Changed.....

and it seems the PNC is not willing to change soon....

they are just as evil as the PPP......

Jalil, i don't know what u mean by the above statement(s)

Furthermore, it is my understanding that TK did indeed leave the AFC, and his small group was talking with APNU about forming a broad, pro-Guyana, progressive alliance  . . .

that is a far cry from joining PNC

anyway, please elaborate on the "positive change" u expected from APNU when Tarron and the others quit AFC

please doan tell me u wanted them to "apologize" fuh historical Burnham, because that would expose u as a hypocrite for not demanding the PPP cease and  "apologize" for their ONGOING crimes against the people [SUICIDE ain't gonna happen, and u know it]

APNU/PNC is not committing crimes against the people on a daily basis like the PPP is doing . . . therefore, my politics at this time is anti-PPP since it is they who wield dictatorial power

all this other stuff (Rodney COI; apology from PNC) is a cynical sideshow for incumbent propaganda purposes . . . i want no part of it

Read again....

Furthermore, it is my understanding that TK did indeed leave the AFC, and his small group was talking with APNU about forming a broad, pro-Guyana, progressive alliance  . . .

(TK Group is himself and 2 others...

CN Sharma got more than 2 followers and

Sharma or no one followers will lie and

say he is a Pedigree Politician)

that is a far cry from joining PNC .....

(that's not how it appeared

in the Press or from Congress Place.

Granger was very boastful and excited at this catch)

anyway, please elaborate on the "positive change" u expected from APNU when Tarron and the others quit AFC.

I think it is reasonable to expect

Granger and the PNC to say...

"50 years of Corruption and Mismanagement

of the affairs of our Beautiful Country Guyana is too much...

Both parties abused opportunities that was handed to them....

Our Party the PNC, Rigged Elections,

Murdered, Rape, Destroyed Property

and used the Army, Police, Milita, National Service

along with Black House of Isreal thugs

to massacare Indian Guyanese to stay in power.

These things done by the PNC are Wrong, 

we would like to apologize to all Guyanese

especially the Indians who suffered

under Burnham and Hoyte PNC Govt,

at this time we would support Justice....

All PNC Thugs and Criminals who commited any crime

and are still alive should be charged

and jailed if guilty immediately....

WE MUST NOT CONTINUE TO BE WRONG & STRONG.....

please doan tell me u wanted them to "apologize" fuh historical Burnham, because that would expose u as a hypocrite for not demanding the PPP cease and  "apologize" for their ONGOING crimes against the people [SUICIDE ain't gonna happen, and u know it].......

Yes we want an apology from the PNC

for 28 years of crime, corruption & Thiefing

Under Burnham and Hoyte Govt. 

(And Yes .... Now) APNU/PNC is not committing crimes

against the people on a daily basis like the PPP is doing . . .

therefore, my politics at this time

is anti-PPP since it is they who wield dictatorial power

.....Just like/ or worst than the PNC did between 1964-1992

AFTER PNC APOLOGY

GRANGER & THE PNC SHOULD THEN SAY.....

THE PNC HOPES THE

PPP NOW APOLOGISE FOR ALL THE CRIME,

CORRUPTION, DRUGS, THIEFING

& SMUGGLEING THE HAVE DONE

TO THE GUYANESE NATION TOO.

THE PNC ALSO HOPE THE

PPP JAIL THE CROOKS AMONG THEM TODAY ...

FROM TOP TO BOTTOM...

AND STOP LIEING ABOUT THEIR HONESTY.

all this other stuff

(Rodney COI; apology from PNC)

is a cynical sideshow for incumbent propaganda purposes . . .

i want no part of it.....

Like TK.....Why???

Yuh do not think in the future

PNC would look good with some Indian Support????

or You and Dem Black Thugs thinking the same way....

Just Foooook dem coolie.

Blackpeople always wrong & STRONG

Read again....

(TK Group is himself and 2 others...

CN Sharma got more than 2 followers and

Sharma or no one followers will lie and

say he is a Pedigree Politician)

that is a far cry from joining PNC .....

(that's not how it appeared

in the Press or from Congress Place.

Granger was very boastful and excited at this catch)

anyway, please elaborate on the "positive change" u expected from APNU when Tarron and the others quit AFC.

I think it is reasonable to expect

Granger and the PNC to say...

"50 years of Corruption and Mismanagement

of the affairs of our Beautiful Country Guyana is too much...

Both parties abused opportunities that was handed to them....

Our Party the PNC, Rigged Elections,

Murdered, Rape, Destroyed Property

and used the Army, Police, Milita, National Service

along with Black House of Isreal thugs

to massacare Indian Guyanese to stay in power.

These things done by the PNC are Wrong, 

we would like to apologize to all Guyanese

especially the Indians who suffered

under Burnham and Hoyte PNC Govt,

at this time we would support Justice....

All PNC Thugs and Criminals who commited any crime

and are still alive should be charged

and jailed if guilty immediately....

WE MUST NOT CONTINUE TO BE WRONG & STRONG.....

please doan tell me u wanted them to "apologize" fuh historical Burnham, because that would expose u as a hypocrite for not demanding the PPP cease and  "apologize" for their ONGOING crimes against the people [SUICIDE ain't gonna happen, and u know it].......

Yes we want an apology from the PNC

for 28 years of crime, corruption & Thiefing

Under Burnham and Hoyte Govt. 

(And Yes .... Now) APNU/PNC is not committing crimes

against the people on a daily basis like the PPP is doing . . .

therefore, my politics at this time

is anti-PPP since it is they who wield dictatorial power

.....Just like/ or worst than the PNC did between 1964-1992

AFTER PNC APOLOGY

GRANGER & THE PNC SHOULD THEN SAY.....

THE PNC HOPES THE

PPP NOW APOLOGISE FOR ALL THE CRIME,

CORRUPTION, DRUGS, THIEFING

& SMUGGLEING THE HAVE DONE

TO THE GUYANESE NATION TOO.

THE PNC ALSO HOPE THE

PPP JAIL THE CROOKS AMONG THEM TODAY ...

FROM TOP TO BOTTOM...

AND STOP LIEING ABOUT THEIR HONESTY.

all this other stuff

(Rodney COI; apology from PNC)

is a cynical sideshow for incumbent propaganda purposes . . .

i want no part of it.....

Like TK.....Why???

Yuh do not think in the future

PNC would look good with some Indian Support????

or You and Dem Black Thugs thinking the same way....

Just Foooook dem coolie.

Blackpeople always wrong & STRONG

iii think i just smoked u out . . .  hmmmmm?

Guess you did....I don't smoke Crack or do Drugs....Leave that to De 3 Man Pedigree PNC Group....who Support "Wrong & Strong Behavior + Election Rigging + Savage & Deadly attacks on Coolie"......You need to Stop Smoking that Pedigree Crack......HAPPY MOTHERS DAY GAL