Agriculture Month 2013 launched - Jagdeo Initiative to be continued

Agriculture Month was officially launched today at the Ministry of Agriculture by Minister of Agriculture Dr. Leslie Ramsammy under the theme “Linking the Caribbean for Regional Food and Nutrition Security and Rural Development”.

In observing Agriculture Month, Guyana is joining with the Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO) to celebrate World Food Day and the 12th Caribbean Week of Agriculture.

Minister Ramsammy highlighted that over the years Guyana has hosted Agriculture Month. It has been successful and it has not only touched the lives of Guyanese but persons around the world. He added that Agriculture continues to be the foundation and social development built in the country.

“Guyana is known for its agriculture. We have historical impacts on people around the world. The best known products in Guyana are in fact our agricultural products and it is not a new thing. What is new about the impact we have made is that in some areas we are improving our products and in some areas we are adding new products”, pointed out Minister Ramsammy.

He added that the Ministry will reaffirm the commitment and belief that Guyana will be known for many more things than just sugar, rum and rice.

More products will be added so as to produce more in the country for the people. Most of the products that Guyana has been importing are now produced locally such as broccoli and corn. Guyana has also been exporting more fruits and vegetables than before.

According to Minister Ramsammy, Guyana is known for being a food secure nation and is working to ensure that the country produce higher quality agriculture products that are more nutritious.

“This year, on World Food day we highlight that the Agriculture sector works closely wit the Ministries of Health and Education to keep our children healthy, keep our people healthy”, he added.

The Ministry has been looking at systems that supports from the farm to the table and this year persons from the University of the West Indies, among persons from other countries are coming to work with the Ministry.

“We would want to host a Caribbean week of Agriculture that everybody will say that it will be difficult for us to beat Guyana and when they get it right we will host it again and set new standards and that’s what Guyana does all the time”, said Minster Ramsammy.

During the week of Caribbean Week of Agriculture, the Ministry will also be signing a number of agreements. Highlighting that the Jagdeo Initiative will be continued, the Minister highlighted that the Caribbean needs to know about this flagship programme.

World Food Day is on October 16 and will be hosted at Mon Repos with a celebration of a Cassava Festival while Caribbean Week of Agriculture begins on October 6.

Agriculture Month was officially launched today at the Ministry of Agriculture by Minister of Agriculture Dr. Leslie Ramsammy under the theme “Linking the Caribbean for Regional Food and Nutrition Security and Rural Development”.

In observing Agriculture Month, Guyana is joining with the Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO) to celebrate World Food Day and the 12th Caribbean Week of Agriculture.

Minister Ramsammy highlighted that over the years Guyana has hosted Agriculture Month. It has been successful and it has not only touched the lives of Guyanese but persons around the world. He added that Agriculture continues to be the foundation and social development built in the country.

“Guyana is known for its agriculture. We have historical impacts on people around the world. The best known products in Guyana are in fact our agricultural products and it is not a new thing. What is new about the impact we have made is that in some areas we are improving our products and in some areas we are adding new products”, pointed out Minister Ramsammy.

He added that the Ministry will reaffirm the commitment and belief that Guyana will be known for many more things than just sugar, rum and rice.

More products will be added so as to produce more in the country for the people. Most of the products that Guyana has been importing are now produced locally such as broccoli and corn. Guyana has also been exporting more fruits and vegetables than before.

According to Minister Ramsammy, Guyana is known for being a food secure nation and is working to ensure that the country produce higher quality agriculture products that are more nutritious.

“This year, on World Food day we highlight that the Agriculture sector works closely wit the Ministries of Health and Education to keep our children healthy, keep our people healthy”, he added.

The Ministry has been looking at systems that supports from the farm to the table and this year persons from the University of the West Indies, among persons from other countries are coming to work with the Ministry.

“We would want to host a Caribbean week of Agriculture that everybody will say that it will be difficult for us to beat Guyana and when they get it right we will host it again and set new standards and that’s what Guyana does all the time”, said Minster Ramsammy.

During the week of Caribbean Week of Agriculture, the Ministry will also be signing a number of agreements. Highlighting that the Jagdeo Initiative will be continued, the Minister highlighted that the Caribbean needs to know about this flagship programme.

World Food Day is on October 16 and will be hosted at Mon Repos with a celebration of a Cassava Festival while Caribbean Week of Agriculture begins on October 6.

Guyanese from all walks of life must remember and understands the importance of agriculture. Agriculture is the fuel that sustained human survival of food globally. Guyana is blessed with the golden soil that grows some of the finest produces that satisfy our subsistence and our neighbors in the Caribbean. This is something we need to do more often and to encourage more people in the agriculture sector.

Yes Sir. GOD BLESS GUYANSA.

I have always maintained that my return to Guyana is to invest in Agriculture. Me Daddy was a farmer and a very good one at it. God blessed his soul. Some of the produces he reaped in his time cannot be seen in markets in Richmond Hill. He used one jackass cart to fetch one pumpkin at a time in the old days. That should give you an idea what I am talking about.

Nehru, when you bin nah pick fair ah town, me bin nah get godey fuh fetch wateamilla in Berbice. 

I have always maintained that my return to Guyana is to invest in Agriculture. Me Daddy was a farmer and a very good one at it. God blessed his soul. Some of the produces he reaped in his time cannot be seen in markets in Richmond Hill. He used one jackass cart to fetch one pumpkin at a time in the old days. That should give you an idea what I am talking about.

Nehru, when you bin nah pick fair ah town, me bin nah get godey fuh fetch wateamilla in Berbice. 

Oh I love Watermellon BUT I rather pick Fair ah GT.

You like to do what .. ??

Nehru was involved in an exhibition fair of a different nature similar to Guyexpo. He has done a tremendous contribution to his country that made women realize their exhilaration.