November 4 2019

President David Granger is assuring Guyana that agriculture will remain the primary focus of the countrys economy, despite the emergence of the lucrative oil industry.
Appearing as a guest on Kaieteur Radio last Friday, Granger was asked, “Where do you see agriculture in the entire scheme of things in the oil and gas economy?”
The President responded that oil cannot be depended on to provide the food needed to feed the nation. “You cant drink oil; you have to eat food.” Agriculture, he ensured, has always been and will remain the mainstay of the countrys economy.

Granger noted that Guyanese may fear that Government would merely concentrate on the petroleum industry, to the exclusion of others.On this regard, he pointed out that the petroleum industry does not employ many people.“Guyanese would be well advised to go into producing food,” the Head of State said.“Food is essential on a daily basis and our trust will be to continue food production. I would like to encourage more Agro-business, in which people process the foods and not allow the foods to spoil.” He noted that solar energy can be used to provide the electricity for agro-processing. In Indigenous communities, he added, this initiative has been executed.

In terms of upward mobility in the Agricultural Sector, the President encouraged that Guyanese have to manufacture more and the exports need to be increased.
“You would have great faith and great hope in the ability of this country to be a zone of major agricultural processing and exportation. And the Caribbean Community is hungry for the foods that we could produce… Any fruit, any vegetable, any animal product, I am confident that we can market in the Eastern Caribbean. We have to learn more about packaging. We have to learn more about exploiting those markets in the Caribbean.”

He also expressed that he hopes the business community puts more investment and infrastructure into manufacturing.The Head of State indicated that the governments Decade of Development Plan, which is intended to begin from 2020 was established to put oil revenue into “certain directions”. He expressed optimism that this plan will have positive benefits for Guyana.With respect to agriculture, he pointed out that this significant sector has been catered for explicitly in the plan.

Positive message. I hope, if the win, they pursue some of their FCH policies of the past they can bring the wealth of oil to the people in a productive manner!

This was a clever message to the Indian community that their traditional contribution to Guyana remains intact!

Guyana is not making the Nigerian mistakes!

Positive message. I hope, if the win, they pursue some of their FCH policies of the past they can bring the wealth of oil to the people in a productive manner!

This was a clever message to the Indian community that their traditional contribution to Guyana remains intact!

Granger talks shit all the time. Did they not promise that the sugar factories will remain running? Granger is gearing the economy for his PNC supporters. How many black people do agriculture? Most of the farming is done by Indians. Is he trying to throw condensed milk in the coolies' eyes again?

It's not a Nigerian mistake. It's the culture of corruption when they see money coming and they are in power. Granger would be no different.

If the $ 25,000 signing bonus is an indication, then the PNC has proven to be a corrupt organization. They attempted to steal the money but was caught red handed. That was probably their intended election campaign slush fund. 

If the $ 25,000 signing bonus is an indication, then the PNC has proven to be a corrupt organization.

They attempted to steal the money but was caught red handed. That was probably their intended election campaign slush fund. 

Where you dig that from ??

Bai, don’t start defending the PNC early this morning. You can regain a little credibility when you stop defending PNC thieves and crooks. 

Not defending , just asking about "$ 25,000 signing bonus" where did that come from  and when did that occurred ?

Lets test credibility.

O rass DJ, like you have shaart memory. It was 18 and the other seven was given under d table to an overseas account.

PPP gun send dem rass To jail. Ali sharpening he cutlass for dem rass. Me inside sources tell me dat many of the cases against dem PNC thief men already in place, just waiting on the election now !

PNC thief and left many trials, some leading to Panama. Hey Hey Hey

O rass DJ, like you have shaart memory. It was 18 and the other seven was given under d table to an overseas account.

PPP gun send dem rass To jail. Ali sharpening he cutlass for dem rass. Me inside sources tell me dat many of the cases against dem PNC thief men already in place, just waiting on the election now !

What you talking about 18 what ?  the rest is like you in dream land.

Dude, every government attempts to alleviate needs and basic to those are food shelter and comfort. Burnham's strategy was socialist conditioning and regimentation through subjugating individual freedoms to group identity via his cooperative schemes. It was doomed to fail. Renewing such strategies that supplants personal identity is bound to fail again. Granger has no ideas hence his recycling of the same failed policies of Burnham. We need governments providing the basic infrastructure and conditions for business to grow not pretending they know how to start and manage businesses. Look how well we have done with our basic industries from the inception of the state. All 10 areas has failed miserably.

You are not that naive I hope. The Gadaha talk is friggin cheap. Oil money will be spent like play money. The PNC CANNOT/WILL NOT know how to invest and grow Guyana!!

Well, politicians use state funds in every country to enhance their cause. 
Look how Biden son earned millions without any experience when his dad was VP. People have to settle for the better of the evil political parties. It’s always best to work worth the devil that you know. 
Look how Shuman showed up naked in front of granger for some PNC soup !

Dude, every government attempts to alleviate needs and basic to those are food shelter and comfort. Burnham's strategy was socialist conditioning and regimentation through subjugating individual freedoms to group identity via his cooperative schemes. It was doomed to fail. Renewing such strategies that supplants personal identity is bound to fail again. Granger has no ideas hence his recycling of the same failed policies of Burnham. We need governments providing the basic infrastructure and conditions for business to grow not pretending they know how to start and manage businesses. Look how well we have done with our basic industries from the inception of the state. All 10 areas has failed miserably.

As long as cheap power becomes the norm, Guyana will sprout.  But the government has to have sensible policies on agro and other areas!

I would not embrace all of the past policies or use the same approach.  Guyana is now even importing fruits while Guyanese farmers remain in abject poverty selling themselves and daughters for a plate of rice!

Ayuh like talk sheer skont but don’t know WTF happening to poor people!!

As long as cheap power becomes the norm, Guyana will sprout.  But the government has to have sensible policies on agro and other areas!

I would not embrace all of the past policies or use the same approach.  Guyana is now even importing fruits while Guyanese farmers remain in abject poverty selling themselves and daughters for a plate of rice!

Closing the sugar factories with no alternative way for employment for sugar workers is causing tremendous hardships on families.   Some young couples are having difficulty keeping their houses and needs help for their children to go to school. Many plant kitchen gardens for basic survival, but they cant sell much, because others are doing the same.   

There don't seem to be any end to this shit and unemployed sugar workers will continue to have a much harder time. Until an atmosphere for  employment is created.  

Tola posted:

Closing the sugar factories with no alternative way for employment for sugar workers is causing tremendous hardships on families.   Some young couples are having difficulty keeping their houses and needs help for their children to go to school. Many plant kitchen gardens for basic survival, but they cant sell much, because others are doing the same.   

There don't seem to be any end to this shit and unemployed sugar workers will continue to have a much harder time. Until an atmosphere for  employment is created.  

Ok.  I tek dah wan pon the chin.  But izz ayuh AFC hero seh deh shut in down!

Coalition must go!!😁

Dr Irfan will never make such a heartless move!

You expect a gadaha to create employment???

For now others can do it with small business. Not much, but it can help.

Some NGOs are spread thin with request for help, but the need is so great.  So overseas help from relatives/friends is very important.  

Very funny. He shuts down Sugar and Rice as soon as he got into office and now claiming Agriculture will still be there. Indians have to be silly to believe him. Even blacks don’t do Agriculture, they are sitting waiting for free oil money. 

Tola posted:

Ok.  I tek dah wan pon the chin.  But izz ayuh AFC hero seh deh shut in down!

Coalition must go!!😁

Dr Irfan will never make such a heartless move!

Its not meant for you chin. But as  you know, when it comes to politics, sometimes its important that anyone doing volunteer work with all races, is  to stay neutral, because governments change. We tried that, but the politics came to us.  Our area had Peace Corps and African families, that we could not ignore.